Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid 19 Part XXX-113,332 ROI(2,282 deaths) 81,251 NI (1,384 deaths) (05/01) Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,474 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

So the most restrictive nation since last March is now the worst in terms of cases?

Perhaps unnecessary suppression and relaxation causes these issues?

If only we relaxed in line with Europe

Most restrictive? Source please.

If only we had relaxed like Spain or France or the UK you mean?

Starting to seriously worry about you Fintan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,997 ✭✭✭✭bilston

Ficheall wrote: »
    By the end of last January it was clear covid was going to be a problem, and there was a fear that people wouldn't take it seriously enough until it was too late. It feels like that again.

Nurses on the UK news talking about how the number of previously healthy 20/30 year olds they're seeing with breathing difficulties is on the up.. And unaffected people over here claiming it's overblown and nothing to worry about.

This thing is going to get worse before it gets better, vaccines or not.

The rise of younger patients in hospital may well be down to the fact that the virus is spreading amongst the younger population at the moment faster than before, however as we've seen before it will eventually reach the older population and that is when the serious problems will begin...I think it explains the UK governments policy on one vaccine dose. I think they fear there is a potential catastrophe on the cards and they are panicking. The same could well happen in Ireland snd across Europe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 423 ✭✭AutoTuning

I don’t really really think that has anything to do with it. If you look at Ireland, the U.K. and the United States, the biggest issue that would mark them out from much of Continental Europe is how we just celebrated Christmas.

Ireland does 50% of retail spending historically in the weeks ahead of Xmas. We melted down the postal service with online shopping. We normally go off our rockers with Xmas parties that begin in about September!

In much of the rest of Europe, Christmas isn’t the commercialised hardcore party and shopping season we have turned it into.

That’s what’s likely caused our enormous spike.

We’ve now wasted months and months of hard work by going on the tear for Xmas.

It’s like the way we binge drink. We don’t do Xmas by halves and by the looks of it couldn’t cool it off this Xmas either.

Yes the virus has done it, but we are surely intelligent enough to outsmart a tiny bundle of RNA, even if it means going against our social instincts for 1 Christmas?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 865 ✭✭✭jams100

hmmm wrote: »
    But at a huge economic cost. I know we all want the figures to go down, but you get to a point of diminishing returns on restrictions where you are (e.g.) telling business that are mostly outdoors to close, or telling shops they can't run a bare-bones click and collect service.

You could just as easily say that people working at home are a risk because they may require visits from broadband engineers, and we should be turning off all broadband services to reduce the risk. Suspend all post because the postman might have breathed on the envelope. Close all supermarkets and give everyone a sack of turnips for the month.

Ridiculous scenarios, but you might see my point.

Probably one of the best posts I've seen on this forum, at this point people would do anything they think could possibly help reduce transmission (understandably i guess) despite the lack of evidence that there was even any transmission from said activities in the first place.

I have a feeling we'll be in the current restrictions for the next 8 weeks. I do worry what might happen if this virus mutates again and vaccine becomes ineffective (which i know is unlikely).

Gyms, golf clubs all looking for membership renewals in January, are people going to pay for something they can't use?

Separately, does anyone have any idea about the suicide rate? I fear what that number maybe.

Hopefully with more vaccine approvals this sorry story is coming to an end

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,243 ✭✭✭MOR316

I hope so.

That's where all of this is heading. Me, and the rest of us lockdown-loving psychopaths, are really just trying to get you all to apply condoms before a meal.

News for you pal, you can't control what other people do.

Rant and rave all you want on Boards.ie, you're not making a difference

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,137 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

Wolf359f wrote: »
    Guess that person on Reddit didn't read the small print:

Still pretty tiny numbers though if your under 44 or even 65 with underlying conditions or not. We are allowed to take some positives from this, we don't have to look for the worst in any data.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,621 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

GreeBo wrote: »
    If they are so basic (and I'd strongly argue that) how are so many people surviving without them?

People existing is different to species survival.

To continue as we are with Ireland’s current vaccine plan no new people will meet for 4 years.

I’m only trying to articulate that I understanding what’s been occurring

I understand that others dont

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,059 ✭✭✭✭spookwoman

When I first joined Boards, a post like this was not within the boundaries of my expectations.

When posts like 0 people under the age of 65 have died in the last 6 months and such since the start it's hand to just be able to pull the numbers up in minutes :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,677 ✭✭✭Happydays2020

Strumms wrote: »
    If you want support pick up the phone, just keep people not from the same household the fûck away from each other.

This is approved. What is your problem with it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,038 ✭✭✭Polar101

JP Liz V1 wrote: »
    Would it be worth a curfew from 7pm or 8pm and closing off licences until the end of January, really make it a dry January or is it too late

A curfew isn't something that's possible to enforce - realistically.

(Personally, I'd break it - I tend to go grocery shopping after 8pm because of shift work)

House parties are already "banned" in the restrictions, obviously those who will have them won't be deterred by that.

Banning alcohol sales - even if the government decided to do that (which I don't think they would), that'd just create a black market for alcohol or people would drive to NI.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 423 ✭✭AutoTuning

To continue as we are with Ireland’s current vaccine plan no new people will meet for 4 years.

The vaccine plan is that it will rapidly accelerate as more supplies and more vaccines arrive. Moderna will be soon, The AstraZeneca vaccine will appear as will the Janssen/J&J one fairly soon.

I’m beginning to think we probably should have thrown a lot more money at the vaccines though, given the economic costs of slow rollout.

niallo27 wrote: »
    Still pretty tiny numbers though if your under 44 or even 65 with underlying conditions or not. We are allowed to take some positives from this, we don't have to look for the worst in any data.

Niall it’s important to remember that young people do stupid things that have far greater risk than contracting Covid which has minimal chance of illness.

Realistically, athletes or even contact sports wouldn’t exist if young people were so conscious of their own personal well-being

If you want support pick up the phone, just keep people not from the same household the fûck away from each other.

That's a bit harsh on an elderly gentleman living on his own who may see nobody for months, is that what we have turned into as a country. A shower of miserable bastards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,399 ✭✭✭Wolf359f

Ok but 42 deaths is not zero deaths. There is a massive difference.

spookwoman wrote: »
    When posts like 0 people under the age of 65 have died in the last 6 months and such since the start it's hand to just be able to pull the numbers up in minutes :D

How many have died under 65 in the last 6 months. I can't open that on my phone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,083 ✭✭✭MrMusician18

hmmm wrote: »
    But at a huge economic cost. I know we all want the figures to go down, but you get to a point of diminishing returns on restrictions where you are (e.g.) telling business that are mostly outdoors to close, or telling shops they can't run a bare-bones click and collect service.

You could just as easily say that people working at home are a risk because they may require visits from broadband engineers, and we should be turning off all broadband services to reduce the risk. Suspend all post because the postman might have breathed on the envelope. Close all supermarkets and give everyone a sack of turnips for the month.

Ridiculous scenarios, but you might see my point.

It's not the activities themselves that are the problem, it's the ****ing eejits doing them. Training on your own is fine, or click and collect or indeed any other of these solitary pursuits. The problem is not enough are doing them solitary - they are doing click and collect but meeting their friends in town. They are going to the gym solo but taking a bus. They are going to garden centres but standing on top of the person in front of them at checkout.

The real problem is that the thickos and/or the selfish make up majority of this country. And it looks like these selfish clowns are going to collapse the health service at the end of January.

AutoTuning wrote: »
    The vaccine plan is that it will rapidly accelerate as more supplies and more vaccines arrive. Moderna will be soon, The AstraZeneca vaccine will appear as will the Janssen/J&J one fairly soon.

I’m beginning to think we probably should have thrown a lot more money at the vaccines though, given the economic costs of slow rollout.

Ignoring the economic catastrophe coming in the next few years in Ireland, the current measures since March have cost €3 million per hour.

Every day is critical

The HSE won’t improve in my lifetime that’s for sure

It's not 42 off the CSO website which is what you should be using but still 42 deaths in a nation of 5 million over 6 months. Its pretty low isn't it would you not agree.

AutoTuning wrote: »

Similar to our testing system which everyone complained about, it started from scratch and so will the vaccine. People think because only 500 (random number) we vaccinated in a week, that will stay static forever. It won't it will be scaled up.
    Mass vaccination is not new in the country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 865 ✭✭✭jams100

That's a bit harsh on an elderly gentleman living on his own who may see nobody for months, is that what we have turned into as a country. A shower of miserable bastards.

Tunnel vision for some people. You can't have any other problems these days except for covid it seems. I guess that person is in the bracket that doesn't need a support bubble

One of my mams friends lives on her own her mother passed away a few years ago and she suffers from depression. So people like this aren't allowed any human interaction. Have a f**king heart. There's probably alot of people out there in a similar scenario with zero quality of life. I do worry when this is all over the damage we're doing to people.

Wouldn’t mind that minor discrepancy on an anonymous online forum.

Fairly certain we were told even with restrictions Ireland would see 30k excess deaths by year end last March.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,038 ✭✭✭Ficheall

...the CSO website which is what you should be using...
    So not some bloke on reddit?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,150 ✭✭✭TonyMaloney

It's not 42 off the CSO website which is what you should be using but still 42 deaths in a nation of 5 million over 6 months. Its pretty low isn't it would you not agree.

Niall, over the last six months we suppressed the virus to **** with restrictions that you moaned about every single ****ing day.
    We've recently stopped suppressing it and we're now one of the worst covid hotspots on the planet.

There's going to be further deaths in all sorts of age categories because of this

The CSO website website listed figures under 5 as .. with an *
    It;s not accurate with figures under 5, the daily HPSC reports list all deaths, thats what you should be using.

42 deaths in a population of 5 mil is low yes, but if we had a serial killer targeting under 65's with 42 deaths already.... well there would be public outcry, people would be terrified. Because it's a virus.... those deaths seem to be acceptable to you.

Only if you don and gloom it and assume no other vaccines and no increase in production/deliveries.
    We will be out of this in under a year, must likely restrictions reducing from march.

Btw, existing is a prerequisite to survival, very hard for a species to survive if it can't exist, compare annual flowers to perennials, one goes dormant to ensure survival. These other goes out in a blaze of glory.

Better to let him visit his grandkids and then kill off all his elderly neighbors?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,059 ✭✭✭✭spookwoman

How many have died under 65 in the last 6 months. I can't open that on my phone.

since the 1/7/2020 43 certified. There will be more because it can take long time for deaths to go through the system.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,266 ✭✭✭Juwwi

Ignoring the economic catastrophe coming in the next few years in Ireland, the current measures since March have cost €3 million per hour.

Every day is critical

The HSE won’t improve in my lifetime that’s for sure

3 million per hour hour since March ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91,073 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Scared ? No just infuriated by the behavior of absolute tossbag idiots who wouldn’t wait for the next lift.

I’m there because I need and want to be.

My situation has nothing to do with the incident you refer to in the US...

No, it’s not Ebola, thanks for checking.

It is one person per lift unless two together from the same household, some people have just no cop on and common sense

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,038 ✭✭✭Ficheall

Fairly certain we were told even with restrictions Ireland would see 30k excess deaths by year end last March.
    I'd be interested in a link to that if you have it.