Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid 19 Part XXX-113,332 ROI(2,282 deaths) 81,251 NI (1,384 deaths) (05/01) Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,229 ✭✭✭✭normanoffside

Stheno wrote: »
    Something like 65% of cases the past few.days seem to be under 45 which may be contributing

Exactly 65% of our population is under 45

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 872 ✭✭✭Sofa King Great

The ‘Monday Morning Quarterbacking’ here is gas.

The gamechanger in terms of infection rates is the new more contagious variant.

That wasn’t and could never have been foreseen in early December.

No it isn't. They have come out and said that only accounts for c. 10% of cases

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,216 ✭✭✭khalessi

GooglePlus wrote: »
    90% of new cases aren't the UK variant here in Ireland

Yeah I get that but we just had 30000 back from UK over Christmas with an unexpected varient, they have said the regular virus is lost in the community and track and tracing overwhelmed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 69 ✭✭messin doorman

Fact: NPHET can’t save us from covid.

Recommendation: forget NPHET. Educate people about risks and let them decide what to do and what not to do. Let it be. Let those who want to cocoon do so. Let those who want to go bananas do so (they will anyway). And let those who want to live and do so cautiously, do so. Let the mandarins in hse worry about surges etc. That’s their job. Can’t replace a medical problem with a medical plus societal plus economic problem

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,137 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

ElJeffe wrote: »
    A full lockdown as suggested at the start of December would have reduced plenty of people from getting it. We should have went hard and heavy last week also when it was obvious things where going off the rails but even now we fanny around pretending we are taking action.

People like Jim O'Callaghan and other politicians put pressure on on behalf of special interest lobby groups to open everything up. I actually remember him doing at least 4 radio and TV gigs in one day shilling on behalf of them weeks ago.

If anger is warranted (and it is imo) it's at people of his ilk.

We were already in level 5 lockdown at the start of December though, case numbers were lowish and hospitals were empty. Even the most pessimistic nphet leader in Tony didn't think we should lockdown further.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,888 ✭✭✭✭Goldengirl

khalessi wrote: »
    Dealing with someting that just got more deadly to young people if what is happening in UK anything to go by.

The argument of I will do what I want it only kills old people is on its way out the door.

This is what I was talking about a few hours ago .
    More young people sick and being admitted in Dublin last couple of days .
    If this is the new variant is it the same as that which has caused severe illness in South Africa in younger age groups ?
    We will obviously have to wait for a week or so to see if so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,395 ✭✭✭mcburns07

Inform yourself before opening your piehole :rolleyes:

https://twitter.com/CillianDeGascun/status/1345139326863224838

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,150 ✭✭✭TonyMaloney

niallo27 wrote: »
    I have only left the house for exercise since Christmas along with the family and I presume your even more cautious. If we get it then no restrictions will stop people getting it.

No, I was a lot less cautious than that.

I met up with my immediate family over Christmas. 3 households technically, but 1 household stayed in an airbnb for 10 days prior.
    I'm hopeful we're ok, but you never know with this ****.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 725 ✭✭✭ElJeffe

It's only responsible for 10% so yeah that's gas alright.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 12,398 Mod ✭✭✭✭igCorcaigh

MOR316 wrote: »
    Instead of arguing with strangers on here, would we not be better off just focusing on what we can do, each of us as individuals, to better the current situation no?

I had a bit of strong words with my 75+yo mother.
    She had been visiting her brother (living alone, in fairness it's hard).

She said that's the last social visit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,462 ✭✭✭landofthetree

Of course it could. Viruses mutate all the time.

What our government needs to do now is have a contingency plan in place if the vaccines don't work. They will know in a couple of months when we see if it works in Israel.

If they don't work it time to seal borders and go the covid zero route. What's the alternative?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,216 ✭✭✭khalessi

Goldengirl wrote: »
    This is what I was talking about a few hours ago .
    More young people sick and being admitted in Dublin last couple of days .
    If this is the new variant is it the same as that which has caused severe illness in South Africa in younger age groups ?
    We will obviously have to wait for a week or so to see if so.

Yep know of couple of hospitals here with ex colleagues nursing in them and chaotic because of increase of very sick patients.. Cousin is DFB and spent last few days in and out of houses with parties collecting patients and A/e over ran so he had to wait with patient in ambo. That is not a new thing, but the numbers were mad he was saying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 293 ✭✭Tpcl20

After Gavan Reilly quoted Cillian De Gascun earlier saying that the dominant strain can't be considered the primary reason for the rapid rise in cases because it's only been found in 10% of the small sample they selected, now all the journalists are hopping with the news that it is the government's bad choices to open up retail, keep schools in for the days before Christmas and ignore all the warning signals, that has in fact caused this surge.

https://twitter.com/CillianDeGascun/status/1345136412723712006?s=20

https://twitter.com/gavreilly/status/1344973959041871873?s=20

https://t.co/lqWhPmoAJz https://twitter.com/newschambers/status/1345143440242339842?s=20

https://twitter.com/FergalBowers/status/1345145909898842112?s=20

Rt'd by Ingrid Miley, Micheal Lehane as well as far as I can remember.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 725 ✭✭✭ElJeffe

We were already in level 5 lockdown at the start of December though, case numbers were lowish and hospitals were empty. Even the most pessimistic nphet leader in Tony didn't think we should lockdown further.

Publicly yes.

Recommendation: forget NPHET. Educate people about risks and let them decide what to do and what not to do. Let it be. Let those who want to cocoon do so. Let those who want to go bananas do so (they will anyway). And let those who want to live and do so cautiously, do so. Let the mandarins in hse worry about surges etc. That’s their job. Can’t replace a medical problem with a medical plus societal plus economic problem

Hold firm. Patronizing ****in drivel.

I’d replace it with: hse do some work for once

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

The prevalence of the new variant is pretty low as measured in genome batch testing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,137 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

igCorcaigh wrote: »
    I had a bit of strong words with my 75+yo mother.
    She had been visiting her brother (living alone, in fairness it's hard).

She said that's the last social visit.

Ah jaysus that's harsh, you mean he is living alone with no visitors.

What’s the context?

A ward of children in hospital and contracting Covid?

A ward of children contracting the disease in the community and subsequently requiring hospital care?

There is a magnitude of difference

Maybe listen to the clip again and you will understand .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,399 ✭✭✭Wolf359f

igCorcaigh wrote: »
    What?

Doesn't maximising vaccine into arms at this stage have merit?
    I'm amazed!

The Guardian

Goes against the manufacturer's advice.
    Now if they were to do a trial and spread the second dose out to 12 weeks and see, that would be different. Well maybe the UK are doing a mass scale phase 3 trial at this point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 949 ✭✭✭Renjit

embraer170 wrote: »
    In one Belgian care home, 26 dead residents and 85 more who have tested positive following a pre Christmas event where a guest came in dressed as St Nicholas to offer presents.

https://www.theguardian.com/world/2020/dec/31/covid-outbreak-hits-belgian-care-home-after-santa-visit

84e1c8e6-4922-11eb-baa7-5eff71d822f1_web_scale_0.5730659_0.573066__.jpg?maxheight=460&maxwidth=638&scale=both

Looks like God has chosen virus this time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,677 ✭✭✭Happydays2020

I thought people could social bubble together.

It is a support bubble https://www.gov.ie/en/publication/3516d-support-bubbles/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 293 ✭✭Tpcl20

More tweets from journalists picking up this huge cock-up.

https://twitter.com/PaulQuinnNews/status/1345154035477848065?s=20

https://twitter.com/RobOHanrahan/status/1345145414786408449?s=20

https://twitter.com/colettebrowne/status/1345142838833647616?s=20

It doesn't matter that the government didn't know about the new strain at the start of December. It's not the reason for the rise in cases, the reopening of non-essential retail and especially the pub and restaurant sector as well as covid getting utterly out of control in schools is the cause of it.

https://twitter.com/MartinaBroe1/status/1345102369365897217?s=20

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 12,398 Mod ✭✭✭✭igCorcaigh

For now, yes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

I thought people could social bubble together.

It is a support bubble https://www.gov.ie/en/publication/3516d-support-bubbles/

They can! They also need to make sure as much as is possible to keep the bubble just that - a bubble not a bi-lateral relationship with extraneous people bolted on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,332 ✭✭✭ginoginelli

hmmm wrote: »
    I think if you're someone who is on these forums you're aware that it was not meant to be a "normal" Christmas.

But I think for many people it was seen as a "reward" for the previous lockdown, they were told the pubs and restaurants were open, and they were told we were going back into lockdown in January. So naturally people are going to try and make the most of it.

Most normal people don't watch the HSE press conferences, and are no longer listening to when the Taoiseach makes grand pronouncements from a podium. They're picking up snippets of news and are feeling their way through this using their "common sense".

It's a failure of psychology or common sense.

Messaging was abysmal. But there was and has always been an element that just hear what they want to hear.

Indoor hospitality and households are the last place you should be if you're doing your best not to catch covid. It's just common sense by now. But a sizeable minority still went out to these places.

Whether it was naevity, stupidity, peer pressure, or covid fatigue I dont know, but they should never have been given the opportunity to **** the rest of us over like this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,832 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

ElJeffe wrote: »
    Publicly yes.

Indeed, I always assume whatever restrictions the CMO is calling for are the maximum he thinks the government will get behind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,575 ✭✭✭WhiteMemento9

You sir can be the president of the new Covid County.

Man let me tell you. My baby daughter could do what is currently being done. Namely: “jeez Taoiseach there’s a bad virus out there so here’s our letter advising everyone to duck under the sheets”

I mean literally anything is better than a cycle of lockdowns.

Follow my plan above or alternatively do zero covid (not my first choice) but it’s better than the present.

Key point: departmental mandarins and overweight civil servants need to sweat for a few weeks and do some real work. Leave me the **** alone

You know I hate to give it to the feminists (because they are mostly c**ts) but Jacinta Arden deserves some credit

No it isn't. They have come out and said that only accounts for c. 10% of cases

With the greatest respect , that was small sample tested a week ago.
    The UK variant went from under 10% present in Kent to 67% of those testing positive in South East of England unless than a week !
    I would like to see results from Mr deGascun doing a bit more and frequent sampling at this stage ,as this just doesn't feel right .