Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid 19 Part XXX-113,332 ROI(2,282 deaths) 81,251 NI (1,384 deaths) (05/01) Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,845 ✭✭✭Antares35

cjyid wrote: »

Ride it out for the next few weeks.

Last thing we need is a lockdown baby boom :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

Ah I suppose it was going to get bad at some point especially around Christmas.

Yep, we'd hope that we'll hit the peak in the next week or so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,099 ✭✭✭prunudo

Seven day average is 1063 cases per day. It was 1176 on October 21st a number that will likely be topped in the days ahead.

Thank you. Positivity from swabs was very high earlier so I think you're right. Still think while we need to take action of some form, things aren't as bad as some posters would have us believe they are.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 12,391 Mod ✭✭✭✭igCorcaigh

Just by eyeing the charts, seems to be a doubling time of around 1 week.
    Similar to UK?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,787 ✭✭✭Lashes28

Jim_Hodge wrote: »
    The Louth figures are more influenced by the border than Dublin.

Of course it is. More people from Newry in Dundalk than anything else. But then non essential retail is closed up North and open down here. But no figures to show infections stemming from retail.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,419 ✭✭✭Cork2021

Just as a side note, Eileen needs to stay on the 6.1 news!
    Edit; she looks very much like Mary Regan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,796 ✭✭✭4Ad

My nieces mother just drove driving 20 miles to go into a shop to collect a handbag, a f##king handbag !!
    My niece tested positive earlier today and her Mother is waiting on a test, she should be self isolating not shopping !!
    Jesus wept.

I was in contact this niece on Christmas day, thats why I had to go for a test today !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,444 ✭✭✭✭Sardonicat

Gruffalux wrote: »
    We did all that stuff in the early days of these threads. Should fat people, those with diabetes or asthma and those who are wrinkled even bother with seat belts?

Only those at risk of crashing. In fact, those at risk from crashing should be prohibited from travelling in any form of motorised transport. Everyone else is grand. That is what those kind of age group,underlying conditions type arguments are analogous to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,243 ✭✭✭MOR316

Cork2021 wrote: »
    Just as a side note, Mary Regan needs to stay on the 6.1 news!

Thanking you, was googling trying to find out who she was...

For journalistic purposes, obviously...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 87 ✭✭mike8634

igCorcaigh wrote: »
    Just by eyeing the charts, seems to be a doubling time of around 1 week.
    Similar to UK?

Yes which means the mutant strain is a load of bull****

People had a great December, virus spread

My 9 month boards.ie virology degree isn't even needed for that :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 400 ✭✭bettyoleary

Locotastic wrote: »
    Do you mean we are all the one island/land mass???

Hate to point out the obvious but Northern Ireland is a completely separate country to the Republic of Ireland.
    Land mass but its still the same country no matter what your agenda.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,134 ✭✭✭caveat emptor

For those who think it's a conspiracy that Tony reads out different averages, I've calculated some so you can use whichever you like. They are all
    **** in fairness.
    • 14 day: 837
    • 10 day : 970
    • 7 day: 1034
    • 5 day: 1075
    • 3 day: 1018
    • 2 day: 1155
    • and finally the 1 day average.......1546

4Ad wrote: »
    My nieces mother just drove driving 20 miles to go into a shop to collect a handbag, a f##king handbag !!
    My niece tested positive earlier today and her Mother is waiting on a test, she should be self isolating not shopping !!
    Jesus wept.

I was in contact this niece on Christmas day, thats why I had to go for a test today !!

Hope you get a negative.

And this, folks, is why non-essential retail should be closed. Stupid, selfish people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,147 ✭✭✭✭Gael23

Wednesday is discharge day usually so numbers should drop tomorrow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,345 ✭✭✭Be right back

Jesus wept.

Delightful woman. Priorities? Hope your test is negative.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

AutoTuning wrote: »
    I’d very simply send a bill for the economic cost of the test if you couldn’t be arsed turning up for a scheduled test - €180 invoice in the post.

Would you send them out their test too? For personal use?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91,065 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Jesus wept.

I hope negative

I believe there is more covididiots this wave around

The point is, she went into a shop. If the 5km was in it might stop some folk doing that kind of thing. Although, someone coming out of self-isolstion for a handbag probably wouldn't care.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,767 ✭✭✭✭blade1

Cork2021 wrote: »
    Just as a side note, Eileen needs to stay on the 6.1 news!
    Edit; she looks very much like Mary Regan

Eibhlin?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91,065 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

igCorcaigh wrote: »
    1,546 new cases. 9 additional deaths.
    bennyl10 wrote: »
    9 deaths
    1546 cases
    1546 cases 9 deaths

Is that a daily record, most for ROI :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 754 ✭✭✭Locotastic

Land mass but its still the same country no matter what your agenda.

Except that it's not the same country, they are two separate countries and very different in many ways.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,243 ✭✭✭MOR316

blade1 wrote: »
    Eibhlin?

That's her...

Does she have a fan thread by any chance?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,367 ✭✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

Jesus wept.

My God man!...you need more exclamation marks than that!!!!!!

What are they doing in the Hyacinth House?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 166 ✭✭Harpon

Ah I suppose it was going to get bad at some point especially around Christmas.

Exactly, we are in the worst wave and the worst couple of months of the pandemic, and still the hospitalisation and death numbers are pretty minuscule in terms of the overall population. Some perspective is needed. Once we get to the middle or end of February we are in the clear. Weather will be getting better, a good chunk of the population will have immunity from having the virus already, all the at risks groups will have had the vaccine, the country will be able to open up again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 166 ✭✭Harpon

Lashes28 wrote: »
    I'd ban alcohol just to cause chaos for the craic

South Africa have done just that, and made masks compulsory outdoors now, both good ideas imho

Sardonicat wrote: »
    The point is, she went into a shop. If the 5km was in it might stop some folk doing that kind of thing. Although, someone coming out of self-isolstion for a handbag probably wouldn't care.

the 5KM thing is ridiculous. It means MORE of us are crushed in smaller spaces, especially in built up areas! I hike in the mountains, on my own, I go to forests, I swim in the sea..... all outdoors, all healthy.
    In level 2 and Level 5 in the Summer I had to pound the pavements in my local housing estate and the streets round me, bumping into people with kids, dogs, buggies, bikes.... often having to get onto the road to create some space. The local beaches were like walking down Grafton Street......
    It was far more dangerous for everyone in terms of virus spread and will be the same again. This does not work in built up areas!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 725 ✭✭✭ElJeffe

bennyl10 wrote: »
    47 hospitalisations in 24 hours

Those of ye making a joke and saying “well those restrictions are stupid”

Take a hard look in the mirror and a big bottle of cop on! This is getting bad quickly

Those numbers will make no difference to the self entitled

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,419 ✭✭✭Cork2021

blade1 wrote: »
    Eibhlin?

Yeah can’t get it right but either way she stays I watch the 6.1 simples!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,059 ✭✭✭✭spookwoman

No Epidemology reports yet. HSE operations report for the 27th was releases and report updated. Trolley watch also updated this morning

29-12-2020-p1.jpg
    29-12-2020-p2.jpg
    29-12-2020-p3.jpg
    29-12-2020-p4.jpg
    29-12-2020-p5.jpg
    29-12-2020-p6.jpg
    29-12-2020-p7.jpg
    29-12-2020-p8.jpg

• How about changing the approach the next time we reopen and close off licences and leave the pubs go about their business with measures in place as a controlled environment.

Household transmission and loose inhibitions with alcohol on board is the spark that is fueling the fire.