Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid 19 Part XXX-113,332 ROI(2,282 deaths) 81,251 NI (1,384 deaths) (05/01) Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,015 ✭✭✭kingshankly

Northern Ireland must be near the worst country in the world at this stage

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,251 ✭✭✭speckle

Stheno wrote: »
    Thats not good news

Would not have wanted it to be more transmittable AND nasty. So middling we know what we are up against re meds and treatments. And we know who is higher risk and who is not.

...need to keep contacts low and not too long/ out of small dark crowded unventillated areas. To keep people out of hospital /ICU. Aswell as keeping it out of care and nursing homes.

And away from people when vacinated(unless new data comes available )so they dont become asymtomatic carriers until natural and vaccinated community/herd immunity is on the way to be reached.

You all know what to do and dont need a level or medic or td to tell ye. Be your own leader.
    Seo é.

Ps Steno not directed at you personaly :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,443 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 325 ✭✭BobbyMalone

"the inspirational Annie Lynch from the Liberties"...notes gap between 'inspirational' and 'Annie' as he went off to look for her name. I guess it has a better ring to it than "the unspiring John from Drumcondra".

https://twitter.com/paulreiddublin/status/1343915275763249153

Well, of course it has a better ring to it than describing somebody as 'uninspiring'! The inspirational Annie Lynch from the Liberties = The inspirational John from Drumondra.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

All the conflicting data is confusing, guess it will take time to get clarity

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,846 ✭✭✭FishOnABike

Oxford vaccine unlikely to be rolled out in EU in January as EMA look for more data on ‘quality’ of vaccine

https://amp.independent.ie/irish-news/health/oxford-vaccine-unlikely-to-be-rolled-out-in-eu-in-january-as-ema-look-for-more-data-on-quality-of-vaccine-39910182.html?__twitter_impression=true

EU red tape holding us back while the Brits will be finished vaccinations by Easter.

Just goes to show you can't please everyone.

Don't follow all the regulatory steps for approval and some complain about a rushed vaccine.

Follow all the regulatory steps for approval and others complain of red tape holding us back.

The regulatory process has been developed and improved by experience over time to ensure medicines are safe and effective. Following the approval process isn't optional, it's a necessity.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 12,401 Mod ✭✭✭✭igCorcaigh

Founder effect? Has that been ruled out?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,443 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

All the conflicting data is confusing, guess it will take time to get clarity

Yup absolutely

• Site Banned Posts: 5,975 ✭✭✭podgeandrodge

Well, of course it has a better ring to it than describing somebody as 'uninspiring'! The inspirational Annie Lynch from the Liberties = The inspirational John from Drumondra.

You're correct of course. Poor John (not very inspiring if you knew him!). Still not clear why Anne is inspiring herself though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,677 ✭✭✭Happydays2020

growleaves wrote: »
    You mean we need to close non-essential retail in order to terrorise people? Isn't that what RTE is for?

I love when people on here discuss the PR techniques they prefer. Shouldn't you leave habitual dishonesty to the PR experts?

Perhaps sticking to truth would increase credibility, particularly in the long term?

I doubt if the people who work in these shops or run them appreciate having their living destroyed just to make an impression on normies.

It should not be the case but that is where we are now today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,137 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

It should not be the case but that is where we are now today.

It didn't work before so why would it work now.

niallo27 wrote: »
    It didn't work before so why would it work now.

This is my opinion. Unfortunately I think after months of NPHET being the boy who cried wolf, the wolf is now on the doorstep and something additional may be needed. Just an opinion - maybe I am completely wrong or maybe I am not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 325 ✭✭BobbyMalone

You're correct of course. Poor John (not very inspiring if you knew him!). Still not clear why Anne is inspiring herself though.

Because she's the first one to get the vaccine? This would inspire people to feel hopeful, I'm guessing.

This is my opinion. Unfortunately I think after months of NPHET being the boy who cried wolf, the wolf is now on the doorstep and something additional may be needed. Just an opinion - maybe I am completely wrong or maybe I am not.

That's fair enough, I just think closing retail and putting 100s of thousands out of work to prove a point to be completey excessive.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 875 ✭✭✭mean gene

Northern Ireland must be near the worst country in the world at this stage
    Can't do anything up there with the DUP calling the shots

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,251 ✭✭✭speckle

yep still more data needed... interesting info there re Denmark and this new varient not overtaking.. Found this interesting also

https://joshualoftus.com/posts/2020-12-28-is-the-new-variant-of-covid-really-more-transmissible/

More data needed and keep an eye on Kilkenny as first place outside of Dublin that it has been sequenced(not necessarily the only spot)

So still a potential founder/s possible or behavioural or just a lucky virus. Maybe an equillibruim being found ...would be great if it was a 'Last Hurrah' (forgotten long techinical name) before it just becomes another ordinary endemic virus especially if it manages to wipe infuenza off the floor in its wake.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

That's fair enough, I just think closing retail and putting 100s of thousands out of work to prove a point to be completey excessive.

What's the alternative? Put a curfew in place? Have police checkpoints enforcing it?

That might reduce parties

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 14,648 Mod ✭✭✭✭marno21

Perhaps the alternative hypothesis (that the increased spread is due to the UK opening pubs and restaurants in London, in winter which provides ideal conditions for viral spread and also sees people indoors more in poorly ventilated conditions due to the weather; while the country had 20k cases per day and the scientists said this wasn’t going to end well and calls to move London to Tier 3 were ignored until it was no longer possible not to) may hold some water.

Same craic in Ireland. Opening restaurants and seeing people massively increase their contacts, especially indoors, and keeping schools open in December which provides the best conditions for the virus to spread while the country was still recording 300 cases per day. It was only ever going to end one way, it’s just most of us didn’t see it happening this rapidly.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 12,401 Mod ✭✭✭✭igCorcaigh

Positive Swabs
    in the last 24 hours

Positivity Rate
    14.54%
    in the last 24 hours

I agree that it should not be needed. But I think it may be abs the blame for that lies squarely with NPHET.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,780 ✭✭✭✭ninebeanrows

Unfortunately very high numbers likely next few days and this will lead government decision making

I fear they will shut non-essential retail tbh but assume click and collect will continue.

If you look at things from a simple perspective, if everything is shut and the only place you can stay warm and grab a coffee is in a shopping centre, this is going to attract crowds. Was by one yesterday and it was fairly packed with teenagers and younger people, very few older people around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,150 ✭✭✭TonyMaloney

Positive Swabs

Positivity Rate
    14.54%

Swabs Completed

Awful. Testing still not where it should be too

igCorcaigh wrote: »
    Positive Swabs
    in the last 24 hours

Positivity Rate
    14.54%
    in the last 24 hours

Christ

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,190 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

Will there be a presser today? If so what time?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,667 ✭✭✭Downlinz

Non-essential retail closing this week is all but a certainty at this stage. The question is whether they go any further and tackle the schools, even the UK aren't bringing back non-exam classes in secondary.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 14,274 Mod ✭✭✭✭pc7

Positive Swabs
    in the last 24 hours

Positivity Rate
    14.54%
    in the last 24 hours

And with a decent backlog it’s brewing for a big number before NYE, which might help people curb plans for gatherings

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,780 ✭✭✭✭ninebeanrows

Unfortunately non-essential retail is goosed with numbers like these

Downlinz wrote: »
    Non-essential retail closing this week is all but a certainty at this stage. The question is whether they go any further and tackle the schools, even the UK aren't bringing back non-exam classes in secondary.

I wonder would they shut construction before schools?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,790 ✭✭✭Benimar

Positive Swabs
    in the last 24 hours

Positivity Rate
    14.54%
    in the last 24 hours

Sweet fcuk :eek:

What's the alternative? Put a curfew in place? Have police checkpoints enforcing it?

That might reduce parties

Yes curfew, not sure why it hasn't been suggested by government. 10pm to 6am if it means retail open, I'm all for it.