Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Dominance of Dublin GAA *Mod warning post#1*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,793 ✭✭✭tritium

the kelt wrote: »
    Why who said I’m not open to the superb management of Jim Gavin et all being a factor in the footballers success?

It backs up my point, when the hurlers had a superb manager in place they were successful at senior level and haven’t had one since

The point I’m making is I don’t understand why there’s this attempt to rewrite history by forever claiming “well the hurlers haven’t won everything, explain that then”

Fair play to Dublin, they have made the most of every penny afforded to them, it’s a GAA problem, not Dublins but let’s at least admit an issue with funding exists. How much difference it made is basically a matter of debate because in reality we will never know.

You don’t understand why posters bite back at the suggestion that an exceptional manager and players bought success?

No one on this side of the argument seems to disagree that dublin got good funding, albeit needed after years of underachieving and neglect. The problem is the bull**** spinning to make out something that isn’t there, even while work is being done to rebalance funding. Too many posters would prefer to blame dublin for the gaas problems than acknowledge the much longer term imbalance or indeed ask their own county board to take a long look in the mirror

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,116 ✭✭✭Enquiring

tritium wrote: »
    Ah ah not so fast, under that model per capita becomes the only way to look at funding since you want to focus on your resource pool. By that yardstick:

https://sportforbusiness.com/is-dublin-gaa-funding-fair-and-proportionate/

Which indicates that the GAA have already addressed many of the issues and in fact are pumping funding elsewhere.

Now I appreciate that your conspiracy theory requires outrage if Meath don’t now get €10 million handed to them and start winning Leinster titles overnight, but in reality that’s not actually realistic on so many fronts

Not so fast yourself! Why are you ignoring 2 decades of funding? And why are you ignoring that it's double the amount spent on coaches than the number mentioned there?

In 2007, Dublin were spending 3 million on developing players while some counties were spending 7,500! Care to work out the percentages of that? That level of imbalance or close to it was repeated for nearly 2 decades.

This is all before we look at the sponsorship money gained off the back of the new found success. 6 million from Vodafone, 1 million a year from Aig. Total sponsorship reaches huge figures.

You don’t understand why posters bite back at the suggestion that an exceptional manager and players bought success?

No one on this side of the argument seems to disagree that dublin got good funding, albeit needed after years of underachieving and neglect. The problem is the bull**** spinning to make out something that isn’t there, even while work is being done to rebalance funding. Too many posters would prefer to blame dublin for the gaas problems than acknowledge the much longer term imbalance or indeed ask their own county board to take a long look in the mirror

Can you come up with a reasonable explanation as to why Dublin received over 12.5 times the level if funding Cork received?

• Site Banned Posts: 1,463 ✭✭✭RIGOLO

It's hard to believe you wrote all this muck sober, or are you in another time zone?

Suck it up buddy.. The Dubs couldnt win an ALL-IRELAND , afraid to step outside Croker to take on their opponents .

History books are written about great men, great civilisations, great empires that went outside their home turf to wage war and battle and return with the spoils of victory.
    In general these armies left their women folk at home to look after the homestead, The Dubs are a bit like that. Let the womenfolk play at home, sure they couldnt hack it going into the enemies fortresses and having to fight for the ball there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,893 ✭✭✭the kelt

You have posters here who claim Dublin hurlers have had no success, actually typed the words zero success and said that’s a fact! So indeed bull**** spinning to make out something that isn’t there is indeed a problem.

So you do understand why posters bite back at that for example?

And I’ve been pretty consistent in my posting that this problem is neither Dublins fault or their problem or on Dublin to resolve, again as I’ve said previously that’s why I don’t like Ewan Mc Kenna because he makes it all about Dublin.

But let’s not pretend there isn’t an actual problem as many are trying to make out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,385 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

Can you explain how you see mismanagement of the dublin hurlers as the reason for their failures but you’re not open to the superb management of the dublin footballers being the reason for their success?

Genuine question since they compete with the same county and have the same resources available

There are a few issues that make hurling slightly harder. Hurling is more dependent on skill with a finer tuned hand eye coordination. I come from a non hurling county and live in a hurling. I have two sons 5 years apart. Both got hurleys at virtually the same age and more or less started hurling at the same age. Eldest never really mastered it even though he tried and still.plays at a junior level. Youngest is a superb hurler. You have to pick up a Hurley at 2-4 years of age to master the skill.

Next young lads will always concentrate on the strongest sport in the county. Unless parents push the weaker sort in the county it is unlikely a player will achieve the skillset. You also have the issue that football club is compatible with soccer and rugby. Fir younger players that soccer and rugby is there first choice football is fairly compatible and they can switch over and back into there late teens. Unless hurling is you primary sport you will not master the skillset

Next you go to academy level. I am not sure at what numbers Dublin set there underage academy's. But with any primary sport in a county younger players will opt for that sport first. I am not sure how many underage teams at county level Dublin opt for most counties have A&B Cork is looks my at District academy's due to county size so it could see Academy's hem with 4-5. Now these academy's put pressure on younger players to opt for a single sport. Football or hurling at some stage definately before.minor. Scheduling make it harder to opt as a player for a dual academy system.

So in Dublin case the top 50+ young players will opt for football. Most priotize it over football. This happens in every county. Coaches whisper on young players and parents ears. Even if this young player struggles through all this you come to the U20/senior structure where you definitely have to choose.

You option if you make the football team history tells that you will win multiple All Ireland medals, if you opt for hurling history tells you different.

Dublin have to buy in hurling management and coaching from outside the county. I think A cross the GAA only 2-3 managers from outside a county have won an All Ireland, McGee and Cregan with Offaly after that I think less than ten managers have won even provencial titles with another county. All of these I think were with primary sports in a county not secondary.

County Boards and clubs will will opt for to plough money into primary sport. Hurling is a much more expensive sport to play. Our club sliotar costs Inthe thousands is virtually10 time our football costs in the hundreds ever year.

Slava Ukrainii

Enquiring wrote: »
    Can you come up with a reasonable explanation as to why Dublin received over 12.5 times the level if funding Cork received?

Because they were in real danger of being lost to the GAA if something wasn’t done to develop the game amongst the kids in dublin

Every county has it's own issues. At the same time of this special fund for Dublin only, we had 6 counties emerging from a 30 year war. These counties had far more issues than Dublin. Remember, Dublin had won an All Ireland a few years before and were regular winners of the Leinster championship.

The key thing here is that this fund was ring fenced for Dublin. Why was the development of Gaelic games in Dublin put ahead of all other counties?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23 Deathknell

Every county has it's own issues. At the same time of this special fund for Dublin only, we had 6 counties emerging from a 30 year war. These counties had far more issues than Dublin. Remember, Dublin had won an All Ireland a few years before and were regular winners of the Leinster championship.

The key thing here is that this fund was ring fenced for Dublin. Why was the development of Gaelic games in Dublin put ahead of all other counties?

The narrative - was as pointed out - They kids were being lost to the GAA. How serious this situation is or was, was never quantified as far as I can see. It was a feeling more than anything else. If it was genuinely the case, that youngsters were negative on GAA, then it needed to be tackled, no issue whatso-ever with that.
    The truth is, Rugby & Soccer will always be competitive, especially so in Dublin. I guess, the real benefit was to put GAAA programs in those traditionally R/S schools. I dont know how successful that has been.
    Basically, there was an over-reaction to underperformance by Dublin. They still had 20+ All Irelands despite this competition.

The GAA is set-up as a county system, and its real selling point is that - however, demographics, urbanisation and availability of work, dont care.
    The GAA may have to face facts - that Dublin has and will always now be, a province, playing counties.

Deathknell wrote: »
    The narrative - was as pointed out - They kids were being lost to the GAA. How serious this situation is or was, was never quantified as far as I can see. It was a feeling more than anything else. If it was genuinely the case, that youngsters were negative on GAA, then it needed to be tackled, no issue whatso-ever with that.
    The truth is, Rugby & Soccer will always be competitive, especially so in Dublin. I guess, the real benefit was to put GAAA programs in those traditionally R/S schools. I dont know how successful that has been.
    Basically, there was an over-reaction to underperformance by Dublin. They still had 20+ All Irelands despite this competition.

The GAA is set-up as a county system, and its real selling point is that - however, demographics, urbanisation and availability of work, dont care.
    The GAA may have to face facts - that Dublin has and will always now be, a province, playing counties.

The problem now is that looking at the situation solutions are limited. You have 3+ advantages Dublin have at present.

Larger player base and population base

Funding and the ability to use finding from the point of first any successful team attracts funds andd GAA is finding Dublin on a per capita basis as well as larger clubs find it easier to access discretionary funding such as facilities grants and central co funded coaching.

Better access to sports facilities whether it is gyms or pools for recovery.

Compact county that allows players to easier access training

Croke Park now virtually a home venue even though considered neutral.

Because of finance and location county and teams have access to better and more technical sports and medical innovation in regards to sport.

The big question is how to counteract that. Any solution will take a decade to start to achieve results. The GAA may have to consider that either Football or Dublin are a victim of there investment in Dublin's success.

It was interesting that about 2 years ago I heard GAA administrator's speak about protecting there investment in Dublin and replicating this model elsewhere. The problem any such plan has a long lead in time. I. The last two years they have still differed about thinking similar funding structure would save the situation.

However they do not understand the same structure cannot be replicated outside of a large urban structure. It interesting that Get Heagerty was the only player from a Limerick city club that started for Limerick in the All Ireland final. I know it a bit of an outlier as the two Casey brothers from Na Piarsaigh were unlucky one just losing his place the other losing through injury. Across the country the present funding structure will not impact rural clubs which are critical to most county player numbers.

Slava Ukrainii

Mate you have no interest in the actual answer and apparently zero knowledge of dublin, you just want to bury yourself in your ****e conspiracy theory. I watched playing fields my friends trained on torn up to stick down apartments. If you read the article I quoted from earlier you’ll see the costs dublin clubs faced to buy or rent space to train on- a multiple of what anyone else paid. I saw friends forced out of dublin because they couldn’t afford to buy or rent here. You ****e on about what Bertie did for dublin, what Bertie did was crap on dublin, and the government and to an extent the GAA did nothing for years until they realised it was going to cost them money and votes in the long run. That’s why they put money in to help dublin, because they’d basically broken it in the first place to the extent that it went from being just a GAA joke to an actual laughing stock.

Dublin helped themselves too by getting their house in order, including realising their commercial value. Something many of their neighbors seem still unwilling to do. They shouldn’t have to justify that to anyone

There are other parts of the country that could do with funding too at this point or they’ll have similar problems down the line- Meath and Kildare need help with structures no question. Cork are huge underachievers in the men’s games. The GAA appear to realise and be working on it. However we should never go back to the old status quo where a few counties played the system and pretended everything was grand

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,469 ✭✭✭ShyMets

RIGOLO wrote: »
    Suck it up buddy.. The Dubs couldnt win an ALL-IRELAND , afraid to step outside Croker to take on their opponents .

History books are written about great men, great civilisations, great empires that went outside their home turf to wage war and battle and return with the spoils of victory.
    In general these armies left their women folk at home to look after the homestead, The Dubs are a bit like that. Let the womenfolk play at home, sure they couldnt hack it going into the enemies fortresses and having to fight for the ball there.

A truly bizarre post. I'm still not sure what great armies and victorious generals has to do with Dublin Gaa.

Mate you have no interest in the actual answer and apparently zero knowledge of dublin, you just want to bury yourself in your ****e conspiracy theory. I watched playing fields my friends trained on torn up to stick down apartments. If you read the article I quoted from earlier you’ll see the costs dublin clubs faced to buy or rent space to train on- a multiple of what anyone else paid. I saw friends forced out of dublin because they couldn’t afford to buy or rent here. You ****e on about what Bertie did for dublin, what Bertie did was crap on dublin, and the government and to an extent the GAA did nothing for years until they realised it was going to cost them money and votes in the long run. That’s why they put money in to help dublin, because they’d basically broken it in the first place to the extent that it went from being just a GAA joke to an actual laughing stock.

Dublin helped themselves too by getting their house in order, including realising their commercial value. Something many of their neighbors seem still unwilling to do. They shouldn’t have to justify that to anyone

There are other parts of the country that could do with funding too at this point or they’ll have similar problems down the line- Meath and Kildare need help with structures no question. Cork are huge underachievers in the men’s games. The GAA appear to realise and be working on it. However we should never go back to the old status quo where a few counties played the system and pretended everything was grand

There is truth in this. Dublin have shown what can be done when you get your house in order. The effect is enhanced because of the in-built advantages.
    What is becoming obvious, is that their success is now showing up the lack of planning and dis-organisation of others.
    And yes - the GAA had and do have a very laissez faire attitude to the inherent dis-advantage of more remote and under populated counties that have no hope of All Irelands

Counties that really have questions to answer - IMHO

Meath, Kildare, Louth, Wicklow - All have had serious population increases in line with Dublin and should be benefitting from that. Note, all are Leinster counties. They should be under micro management from the Croke Park until they get their **** together.

I think the traditional Hurling counties are in an arms race to keep up with their neighbours - This will keep Dublin off the top-table for a while.

Counties that - are doing their best and need real help in my opinion:
    Fermanagh, Laois, Longford, Westmeath, Offaly, Derry, Antrim, Sligo, Leitrim, Roscommon, Carlow.

Not exhaustive or neccessarily accurate, but a good start.

I also think there is some merit in allowing easier transfer of players from stronger counties to wekaer only. This could start with Dublin players and a granny rule.

The only other solution (FB at least) here is the one that dare not speak its name. Its a natural endpoint to urbanisation.. Professionalism.

Is this a joke? A long post crying and whinging with absolutely zero evidence to back anything up. Painting Dublin as some economic backwater. Cop onto yourself. The only counties who have had desperate situations to deal with is the 6 counties where some were murdered going to training, regularly beaten and harassed, had grounds attacked, had army bases surrounding them.

Dublin faced ordinary issues that other counties also faced. There is no valid reason for them getting special treatment. The GAA approved it as it was a business decision for them. They could make money off their investment. They did this at the cost of everywhere else. It should have been a countrywide program. It is a major scandal that it was allowed to happen and it has to be corrected.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 11,591 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hammer Archer

Counties that really have questions to answer - IMHO

Meath, Kildare, Louth, Wicklow - All have had serious population increases in line with Dublin and should be benefitting from that. Note, all are Leinster counties. They should be under micro management from the Croke Park until they get their **** together.
    Again, the vast majority of these population increases came from Dublin families. 99% of these families who had any interest in GAA continued to support Dublin. Some were even close enough to continue playing with their clubs in Dublin. A number of those younger players who did play with clubs in their new county ended up playing for Dublin underage e.g. Mick Deegan from Ashbourne, Glenn O'Reilly & Shane Clayton from Ratoath (though both transferred to Dublin clubs) and Mikey Quinn from Eadestown.
    If you're a young lad and talented enough, who are you going to choose to play for? The county you've grown up wearing the jersey and supporting and watching them winning everything on offer or the relatively unsuccessful county you live in? Of course there are exceptions to this. The captain of our Leinster minor winning side in 2006 was a Dublin fanatic. However, his view was that he's living and playing club football in Meath, so it was only right that he'd play for Meath. But those exceptions are few and far between and it's a problem that the likes of Dublin do not have.

The only other solution (FB at least) here is the one that dare not speak its name. Its a natural endpoint to urbanisation.. Professionalism.

Professionalism because of team and squad sizes, as well as trying to organise academy's and player development would only support sub ten teams in a country the size of Ireland. I expect in reality you be looking at a team in Connaught, two at most in Munster, Ulster and Leinster and maybe 3 in Dublin. However if Football went professional Hurling it would have serious implications for hurling which would struggle to follow the professional model.

The day GAA goes professional is the day they can apply for planning for apartments in CP as it will.only be 10 years away

Slava Ukrainii

Again, the vast majority of these population increases came from Dublin families. 99% of these families who had any interest in GAA continued to support Dublin. Some were even close enough to continue playing with their clubs in Dublin. A number of those younger players who did play with clubs in their new county ended up playing for Dublin underage e.g. Mick Deegan from Ashbourne, Glenn O'Reilly & Shane Clayton from Ratoath (though both transferred to Dublin clubs) and Mikey Quinn from Eadestown.
    If you're a young lad and talented enough, who are you going to choose to play for? The county you've grown up wearing the jersey and supporting and watching them winning everything on offer or the relatively unsuccessful county you live in? Of course there are exceptions to this. The captain of our Leinster minor winning side in 2006 was a Dublin fanatic. However, his view was that he's living and playing club football in Meath, so it was only right that he'd play for Meath. But those exceptions are few and far between and it's a problem that the likes of Dublin do not have.

Which is the exception? Talented youngsters opting to play for Dublin, or vice versa? I think that particular issue needs to be quantified, before we can make pronouncements.
    I disagree with your assessment that:
    Again, the vast majority of these population increases came from Dublin families. 99% of these families who had any interest in GAA continued to support Dublin.

I do not know the proportion - But 99% of those people being from Dublin - That would be physically impossible. Otherwise Dublin would have dropped in population, unless you believe that the culchies are pushing Dubs out of their own county.
    Many of those families, must have come from other counties to live close to their work in Dublin. Ergo - ripe for the picking by Meath, Kildare, Louth and Wicklow.
    Those counties have questions to answer, not because the odd fella opts to play for Dublin, because not enough of the people that moved there, from Dublin, Mayo, Galway, Clare, Cork, Wexford, the North and the 'new Irish' are playing GAA there. Why are they not out fishing for these kids. Maybe they are but its not working, I'd like to see actual facts.

Either way, my point is - they should be being asked to answer those exact questions.

Professionalism because of team and squad sizes, as well as trying to organise academy's and player development would only support sub ten teams in a country the size of Ireland. I expect in reality you be looking at a team in Connaught, two at most in Munster, Ulster and Leinster and maybe 3 in Dublin. However if Football went professional Hurling it would have serious implications for hurling which would struggle to follow the professional model.

The day GAA goes professional is the day they can apply for planning for apartments in CP as it will.only be 10 years away

I tend to agree.
    3/4 for Dublin
    1 for Cork, Galway, Limerick, Waterford, Derry, Belfast - Possibly Athlone/ Carlow, Laois, Kilkenny - Amalgamations would occur.

Ironically - Hurling - could actually benefit IMHO. After 100 years its still only a sport played by 8-10 counties at the HIGHEST standard.
    You could have 2-3 pro teams north of the Dublin/ Galway Rd.

Look - its speculation and we are still along way from that - but it might be the ultimate end point if the county system is busted by urbanisation.

The other hope - is that this Covid thing, allows people to work from their homes and they dont have to move to the cities, and the trend to urban centres is stopped or reversed even. .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,192 ✭✭✭Cilldara_2000

+1 on this. "You should be doing better because of your population increase" is a nonsense argument when almost all the population increase is expat Dubs.

In 2011, the population of Kildare was 208,783. In 2016 it was 220,693. The population born in the county in 2011 was 80,993, in 2016 it was 80,304. The overall increase makes a difference at club level - figures about Kildare being right near the top of the list of counties with more teams operating have already been posted but this does not translate into either more support or success for the county team. It's great for a club to have loads more underage teams but when all these young lads are coming in wearing Dublin jerseys, it does nothing for the county.

Also, the argument that Kildare are making a complete mess of things is also nonsense. In recent years we have gone toe to toe with Dublin at minor level and won more than our fair share of Leinster minor championships.

Not that long ago we went toe to toe with the top counties at senior level too. It literally broke the county financially. It's no surprise that things fell apart at senior level thereafter when austerity was imposed and I'm not going to say the Kildare couldn't do much better on and off the field but ultimately I'm not going to take supporters from counties funded to the hilt, regardless of the source of the funds, knocking Kildare, Meath et al for not making a purse from a pig's ear. Every problem is easier solved when you can throw loads of money at it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,350 ✭✭✭ooter

Was geezer getting paid when he was at the wheel in Kildare?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,675 ✭✭✭✭salmocab

+1 on this. "You should be doing better because of your population increase" is a nonsense argument when almost all the population increase is expat Dubs.

In 2011, the population of Kildare was 208,783. In 2016 it was 220,693. The population born in the county in 2011 was 80,993, in 2016 it was 80,304. The overall increase makes a difference at club level - figures about Kildare being right near the top of the list of counties with more teams operating have already been posted but this does not translate into either more support or success for the county team. It's great for a club to have loads more underage teams but when all these young lads are coming in wearing Dublin jerseys, it does nothing for the county.

Also, the argument that Kildare are making a complete mess of things is also nonsense. In recent years we have gone toe to toe with Dublin at minor level and won more than our fair share of Leinster minor championships.

Not that long ago we went toe to toe with the top counties at senior level too. It literally broke the county financially. It's no surprise that things fell apart at senior level thereafter when austerity was imposed and I'm not going to say the Kildare couldn't do much better on and off the field but ultimately I'm not going to take supporters from counties funded to the hilt, regardless of the source of the funds, knocking Kildare, Meath et al for not making a purse from a pig's ear. Every problem is easier solved when you can throw loads of money at it.

Where is the Dublin population increase coming from so? They can’t be all Dubs, surely a lot are coming from other counties as well as abroad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 255 ✭✭TXPTGR1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,527 ✭✭✭tobefrank321

Seriously you embarrass yourself with stuff like this. Take a look at Dublins record pre 2011- neglected serial underachievers and the butt of the rest of the countries jolkes

Thanks for admitting Dublin couldn't win an AI without vast sums of money.

Tells us what we all know, GDF made a massive difference for the serial "underachievers".

Bought success, even you admit it :)

Utter nonsense.

But again you concede Dublins success was bought with huge sums of money.

Its 6 years since Kerry won an AI when you'd expect them to win one every 3-4 years.

Will the GAA pump millions into Kerry to get them winning AIs? Of course they fckin won't.

Its sad that Dublin "volunteers" have to be paid whereas every other county is expected to do it for free.

Dublins success came through massive GDF. Bought success in amateur sport!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,192 ✭✭✭Cilldara_2000

salmocab wrote: »
    Where is the Dublin population increase coming from so? They can’t be all Dubs, surely a lot are coming from other counties as well as abroad.

The same figures for Dublin:

2011 total: 1,244,745
    2016 total: 1,318,033
    Increase: 73,288

Born in county 2011: 830,702
    Born in county 2016: 880,457
    Increase: 49,755

Source: https://data.cso.ie/table/E2040

So 67.9% of the increase was people born in Dublin. For Kildare it was actually minus 5.8%.

The same figures for Dublin:

2011 total: 1,244,745
    2016 total: 1,318,033
    Increase: 73,288

Born in county 2011: 830,702
    Born in county 2016: 880,457
    Increase: 49,755

Source: https://data.cso.ie/table/E2040

So 67.9% of the increase was people born in Dublin. For Kildare it was actually minus 5.8%.

Some interesting stats there. I think it's telling that those pointing out the Dublin advantages can back it up with real data and evidence while those in favour of the funding disparity only have deflection but no actual data to justify why they think Dublin should have been grossly over funded.

Clearly it's not Kildare or Meaths or any other counties fault that they were neglected in favour of Dublin. All Leinster counties have suffered through no fault of their own and then get insulted and abused for pointing it out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,585 ✭✭✭ArielAtom

salmocab wrote: »

The population increase in Dublin is foreign nationals and country folk moving to Dublin, so similar to the Meath and Kildare situation with population growth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,675 ✭✭✭✭salmocab

ArielAtom wrote: »
    The population increase in Dublin is foreign nationals and country folk moving to Dublin, so similar to the Meath and Kildare situation with population growth.

Really I’d wonder why there seems to be buy in from second generation kids from parents outside of Dublin and apparently isn’t from kids of Dubs living in Kildare as the poster said. That seems like a breakdown of some sort.

ArielAtom wrote: »

This is just embarrassing. Data was produced to show that you just made this up. You'll probably continue to repeat it though even though you know it's untrue.