Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Opening of "No-Food" pubs pushed out again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,471 ✭✭✭MOH

Russman wrote: »
    I'm sure some are safer than others, but to say anyone who suggests that a relatively poorly ventilated space, with people in close proximity, consuming alcohol, might not be safe in the midst of this pandemic, given what we know about the spread of it, is deluded and clearly has it in for pubs is surely a bit off the wall.

Any thoughts as to why most European governments have closed bars and indoor dining ?

Any thoughts as to why most European governments allowed all restaurants and pubs to open throughout the summer without having significantly higher infection rates than us - the only country to keep the pubs closed?
    Or why our own figures show no appreciable worsening of the pandemic during the first month after restaurants and food pubs opened in June? (versus a 50% increase in the three weeks after schools opened at the end of August).
    Anyone who keeps insisting that the alcohol is the primary factor in spreading covid despite absolutely zero evidence to this effect is clearly deluded and has it in for pubs.

I think you'd be fooling yourself thinking that most pubs will abide by the restrictions to the point they wouldn't cause an issue. Yes, some might.. But many won't. Every time the country starts to open up again the pubs are jammed to the rafters. Drunk people don't have the same mentality and same boundaries attached as when they're sober and who's going to enforce the guidelines in every pub in the country? You can expect door staff to be everywhere at once, can't rely on people to social distance themselves, can't expect the guards to be in every pub in the country and the bar staff definitely can't do it! While it could be said of any business its obvious alcohol is a major factor in the spread of covid.

I don't know where all these pubs jammed to the rafters are. Nearly all the ones around me have strict limits on numbers and everyone is well behaved. I can think of one, maybe two, which have been open for most of the time, have blatantly flouted the takeaway drinks rules, and anecdotally have been wedged. But since they serve food they've been mostly open. I wouldn't shed any tears if they were shut down, but I've seen the guards show zero interest in them - there's probably a retired superintendent who owns the pubs.

There's also at least three I reckoned back in April would be safe spots when they reopened - older crowd, spacious, well ventilated, one has a huge beer garden and was proactively implementing a lot of the safety requirements even before they closed in March. But since they don't do food, they never reopened. Probably never will.

So instead of allowing all pubs to open with the same restrictions, time limits, etc, and punishing the ones that break that, the genius solution is to arbitrarily make a distinction that permanently closes hundreds which have done nothing wrong and actually rewards the ones which work around the rules.

Looking forward to the ban on private cars, because of the small number of people who drink and drive.
    If its not in pubs its house parties at home. It's so sad and devastating to many business owners up and down the country but leaving pubs and restaurants open.. Where people can mingle.. Is obviously gonna add to an upsurge in cases.
    I've been disturbed by more house parties nearby during the lockdowns than in total during the five years I've lived in this apartment. How do you think contact tracing works there?
    Bunch of people go out to a pub or restaurant following the rules, there's no incentive for them not so share details if one of them later tests positive.
    You think somebody who had a house party is going to say "ah yeah I had ten mates over the weekend before I tested positive, here's all their contact details?"
    They are in me arse. The notion that people aren't mingling any when pubs and restaurants are shut is ridiculously naive. Except with zero controls.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,419 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

I’ve yet to see, even a video, of a pub jammed to the rafters since March of this year.

Hi Jess Brennan, welcome to Boards.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,559 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

I’ve yet to see, even a video, of a pub jammed to the rafters since March of this year.

There's been a good load. Presume you're not on social media, or else don't have many active friends on it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,983 ✭✭✭Russman

MOH wrote: »
    Any thoughts as to why most European governments allowed all restaurants and pubs to open throughout the summer without having significantly higher infection rates than us - the only country to keep the pubs closed?
    Or why our own figures show no appreciable worsening of the pandemic during the first month after restaurants and food pubs opened in June? (versus a 50% increase in the three weeks after schools opened at the end of August).
    Anyone who keeps insisting that the alcohol is the primary factor in spreading covid despite absolutely zero evidence to this effect is clearly deluded and has it in for pubs.

Maybe we could have opened in the summer, maybe we should have opened, but here's the thing, we didn't. That doesn't mean its ok to open now.

Our own figures were increasing during the summer but from a very low base. I agree it really kicked off at the end of August, whether that's just the nature of epidemics or due to the schools, I've no idea.

I don't think anyone is suggesting alcohol is the primary factor in the spread. People congregating and mixing is the factor and pretty much the only factor. Contact tracing doesn't go back far enough to catch where most cases were seeded anyway.

But sure look, maybe most of the public health experts and virologists around the world are wrong and its all a dastardly plan to hammer pubs and not get any tax revenue from the thousands of closed venues. Mind you I'd have thought governments would have come up with something simpler if they wanted to get at publicans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,114 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Russman wrote: »
    Maybe we could have opened in the summer, maybe we should have opened, but here's the thing, we didn't. That doesn't mean its ok to open now.

Our own figures were increasing during the summer but from a very low base. I agree it really kicked off at the end of August, whether that's just the nature of epidemics or due to the schools, I've no idea.

I don't think anyone is suggesting alcohol is the primary factor in the spread. People congregating and mixing is the factor and pretty much the only factor. Contact tracing doesn't go back far enough to catch where most cases were seeded anyway.

But sure look, maybe most of the public health experts and virologists around the world are wrong and its all a dastardly plan to hammer pubs and not get any tax revenue from the thousands of closed venues. Mind you I'd have thought governments would have come up with something simpler if they wanted to get at publicans.

It's quite to clear to most that the anti-alcohol lunatic is not in government.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

Berlin Bar had about 25/30 people in it. It was far from jammed to the rafters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 529 ✭✭✭lukas8888

First pub closed for non compliance with food regulations despite repeated warnings from Gardai. Somewhere in the North West,odds on it's Ireland's most lawless county Donegal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,550 ✭✭✭ShineOn7

Lol

Did her "brand" recover from that Berlin D2 gig she promoted?

Did it ever suffer in the first place?

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 56,749 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

There's no reasoning with these lockdown curtain twitching fanatics

Mod:

Don't post in this thread again. If you can't get your point across without resorting to name calling then your comments are not welcome here. Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,492 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Its like going around asking 'any room in the inn' and by god it will get worse the next week

PTH2009 wrote: »
    Its like going around asking 'any room in the inn' and by god it will get worse the next week

Are you really gasping that much for a pint during a once in a century pandemic?

Can you not just get a nice drinks order to the house and settle in like the vast amount of sensible people are doing?

I just don't understand the Pubs desperation of some and I don't ever want to feel it

ShineOn7 wrote: »
    Are you really gasping that much for a pint during a once in a century pandemic?

Can you not just get a nice drinks order to the house and settle in like the vast amount of sensible people are doing?

I just don't understand the Pubs desperation of some and I don't ever want to feel it

Maybe some don't like drinking too much at home and want an escape for a few hours

PTH2009 wrote: »
    Maybe some don't like drinking too much at home and want an escape for a few hours

"escape"?

If you need to "escape" the house then go for a lovely wander in the fresh air, you'll feel great after it

Not in a poorly ventilated Pub where the rules are most likely being flouted

Again, the only word that comes to mind seeing some moaning over the pubs is desperation. And I don't get it at all

This is not a normal year nor a normal Christmas

Some need to get that written on T shirts as presents this year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,203 ✭✭✭✭hmmm

The best thing the vitners can do now is encourage people to get vaccinated. That's what gets us out of this. Pubs are not reopening, the figures don't allow it. Not their fault, and government should be doing what they can to bail them out (within reason).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,742 ✭✭✭saabsaab

"escape"?

If you need to "escape" the house then go for a lovely wander in the fresh air, you'll feel great after it

Again, the only word that comes to mind seeing some moaning over the pubs is desperation. And I don't get it at all

This not a normal year nor a normal Christmas

Great idea for a T shirt. 'I survived Covid 19 in 2020"

"escape"?

This not a normal year nor a normal Christmas

Outside of work/shopping do go out for walks and daily exercise. I follow the regulations

No point in locking yourself away if normal activities can be done and in a safe manner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,541 ✭✭✭recyclebin

saabsaab wrote: »

There's absolutely no slogan that can't be found on a t shirt these days ;-) https://www.etsy.com/ie/market/corona_shirt

il_794xN.2413705704_oxks.jpg

recyclebin wrote: »

Just a sample of the text in that article
    In the Dublin region, a premises was inspected at 10.30pm and 180-200 people were present, no food was being served and there was no social distancing.

Another premises was inspected at 01.30am with 25 people inside as fresh pints were being pulled, there was no social distancing and no food was being served.

And this is just the ones that were caught. I'd imagine Publicans all over the country are going to be responsible for many, many cases if this wankery is anything to go by

Has the Wexford Publican who had a 3 day Wake (complete with a fcuking marquee) had his doors closed yet I wonder?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,537 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

Has the Wexford Publican who had a 3 day Wake (complete with a fcuking marquee) had his doors closed yet I wonder?

investigation ongoing apparently.
    hopefully he will be dealt with hard.

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

investigation ongoing apparently.
    hopefully he will be dealt with hard.

The Publican needs to be made a huge example of

Last I read, the case count because of that Wake was at 150 and at least one fatality

Imagine, not wanting to sit in, alone, over the festive period. Desperate feckers. I’ll go out Xmas Eve, and please god, St Stephens Day rather than sitting in alone, watching the walls close in on me and my thoughts getting on top of me. Not everyone has a happy family.

saabsaab wrote: »

“I’m one of the 99.6%”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,997 ✭✭✭✭retalivity

I was in the pub last Monday, Thursday, Friday & Saturday. It was great. Drinking cans sitting in with your OH is not comparable to sitting in having a few pints with them and family and friends in front of a fire. Had dinner each evening as well, and sat in different places for anywhere between 1.5 and 4 hours.
    Having this Stasi bollocks of wanting pubs named, shamed and closed down as the tables weren't more than 2m apart, or someone sat at a table for 1h46m, or their sandwiches weren't of a sufficient length or whatever the latest advice from nphet is, can go and sh1te.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,209 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

retalivity wrote: »
    I was in the pub last Monday, Thursday, Friday & Saturday. It was great. Drinking cans sitting in with your OH is not comparable to sitting in having a few pints with them and family and friends in front of a fire.
    Having this Stasi bollocks of wanting pubs named, shamed and closed down as the tables weren't more than 2m apart or their sandwiches weren't of a sufficient length or whatever the latest advice from nphet is, can go and sh1te.
    Damn health and safety standards its ruining the pubs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,656 ✭✭✭JeffKenna

I was in the pub last Monday, Thursday, Friday & Saturday. It was great. Drinking cans sitting in with your OH is not comparable to sitting in having a few pints with them and family and friends in front of a fire. Had dinner each evening as well, and sat in different places for anywhere between 1.5 and 4 hours.
    Having this Stasi bollocks of wanting pubs named, shamed and closed down as the tables weren't more than 2m apart, or someone sat at a table for 1h46m, or their sandwiches weren't of a sufficient length or whatever the latest advice from nphet is, can go and sh1te.

Ah here, let the rest of us get a booking and stop hogging the pub!

Well, you can pat yourself on the back for enjoying yourself in the new year when cafes, restaurants, pubs and coffee shops are closed for the next three months or so.

“I’m one of the 99.6%”
    Having this Stasi bollocks

Mark Twain — "Never argue with a fool, onlookers may not be able to tell the difference"

I'm going to take his advice and head back to the Vaccines thread where there's always intelligence and optimism

Versus here; where man-children are almost crying because their "playground" is closed and they refuse to understand why it needs to be

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

well now Christmas Eve is ruined, pubs closed at lunchtime :( ,
    thank christ I have a booking for tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 591 ✭✭✭vafankillar

well now Christmas Eve is ruined, pubs closed at lunchtime :( ,
    thank christ I have a booking for tomorrow.

was it announced they're closing before christmas eve? brilliant if so