Post pics of your watches Part II

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 711 ✭✭✭Pablo_Flox

And that is a wrap for the working year!

TYt4mMFl.jpeg

Thanks god.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 870 ✭✭✭barney shamrock

Nice brew that 51 IPA.
    Only discovered it a couple of weeks ago.

My favourite beer at the moment. Quality stuff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,446 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

Pablo_Flox wrote: »
    My favourite beer at the moment. Quality stuff

The Tropical IPA at 7.5% is delicious, if not luscious (and to be drank responsibly)

I really like the SBBN015 crystal and handset, the depth of dial, the rehaut and of course the movement. A classic all round. For a watch that is designed like a tank it has some great quirks in the finish. For example the polished (very short) lugs, against the brushed steel of the tuna can. Also back when they made this Seiko knew how to make a case back and sign a crown (in pointlessly gothic script, to wit).

I generally wear it on an OEM strap for one of the higher end tunas. Extremely pliable and comfortable and has worn well over the 10 or so years I've had the watch.

uBM9qJB.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60,643 ✭✭✭✭unkel

Brilliant watch. If only they would make one that is really blue...

"Make no mistake. The days of the internal combustion engine are definitely numbered" - Quentin Willson, 1997

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 169 ✭✭Dev1234

Not finished for the year just yet but a bit of a sh1t show in work this week so unwinding!!!

536568.jpg

Dev1234 wrote: »
    Not finished for the year just yet but a bit of a sh1t show in work this week so unwinding!!!

My Man!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,587 ✭✭✭Ryath

Rust Bucket would be a better match!
    536570.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,882 ✭✭✭Deep Thought

BurntAsh wrote: »
    Don't get your hopes up too high. I've been checking in on their used watches page every couple of days since the summer sale and there hasn't been a thing added since.

They have their Christmas calendar going.. some deals to be had, though a lot sell out quickly

https://www.stowa.de/en/Christmas+sale/

The narrower a man’s mind, the broader his statements.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 121 ✭✭oknepop

ecoli3136 wrote: »
    I really like the SBBN015 crystal and handset, the depth of dial, the rehaut and of course the movement. A classic all round. For a watch that is designed like a tank it has some great quirks in the finish. For example the polished (very short) lugs, against the brushed steel of the tuna can. Also back when they made this Seiko knew how to make a case back and sign a crown (in pointlessly gothic script, to wit).

I generally wear it on an OEM strap for one of the higher end tunas. Extremely pliable and comfortable and has worn well over the 10 or so years I've had the watch.

Great to see another tuna, let alone a 015! I've had mine about 5 years now.
    They really did go over the top with odd little details on what's a "tool watch". The day disc is white, but the date disc is silver....why?!?! Nice touch either way. Takes straps well, but the OEM bracelet is the way to go I think.

Squale 60 atmos today. Not a great pic, and think it would look better on a plain black strap. Am I right in saying this used to belong to someone here?

omHHNZ3.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60,643 ✭✭✭✭unkel

oknepop wrote: »
    Squale 60 atmos today. Not a great pic, and think it would look better on a plain black strap. Am I right in saying this used to belong to someone here?

Yes you're right. Was on adverts earlier this year iirc, from one of the regulars in here, Thelizardking1. Beautiful watch, I made an offer on it myself, pretty close to his asking price, but he wanted the full whack and I'm sure he got it :D Was that you who outbid me? :D

"Make no mistake. The days of the internal combustion engine are definitely numbered" - Quentin Willson, 1997

oknepop wrote: »
    1968 king seiko with a 4502 hand wound movement. Oldest watch in the collection.

I love King Seiko's - thing is I have zero ideas about pricing. Anyone care to guess values of these?

5625-7110

44-8000

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,725 ✭✭✭micks_address

CarProblem wrote: »
    I love King Seiko's - thing is I have zero ideas about pricing. Anyone care to guess values of these?

5625-7110

44-8000

They seem high. I bought my lord marvel for about 500 euro

Based on limited ones for sale online I thought similar

Was a lovely one on Chrono 24 from a private seller, was already sale agreed when I saw it however

This one would come in at c$550 assuming I get hit for VAT

Probably need to factor in cost of a service also

And now that I can post pictures here's my Oris Clean Ocean

536634.jpg

- maybe Wibbs can embed?

No. Feck off :-)

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,351 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Was a lovely one on Chrono 24 from a private seller, was already sale agreed when I saw it however
    Personally and my personal opinion of course, while I'd peruse Chrono24 for the craic, aside from the occasional private seller with realistic values it's stuffed with dealers who appear to be smoking crack when it comes to "values". Massively overpriced for vintage in my experience. Triple that for German dealers(or private sellers actually). And it's not as if you get any more protection than ebay paying with paypal and chances are extremely high you'd need to factor in a service anyway.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,725 ✭✭✭micks_address

Just arrived this evening... bit of a saga re delivery..wrist shots Monday.

Sinn 556a rs

PXL-20201219-194418782.jpg
    PXL-20201219-194347311.jpg
    PXL-20201219-194410745.jpg
    PXL-20201219-194337200.jpg
    PXL-20201219-194312718-MP.jpg
    PXL-20201219-194300782.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,043 ✭✭✭mad m

wrist shots Monday.

Bit of a Sinn not too.:rolleyes:

I’ll get my coat!

unkel wrote: »
    Yes you're right. Was on adverts earlier this year iirc, from one of the regulars in here, Thelizardking1. Beautiful watch, I made an offer on it myself, pretty close to his asking price, but he wanted the full whack and I'm sure he got it :D Was that you who outbid me? :D

I think I bought it off the guy who got it from thelizardking1, if it didn't change hands even more times between that sale and when I got it! Great watch, but definitely the opposite of discrete and understated. Doesn't get a lot of wrist time.

5625-7110

44-8000

Maybe I'm out of touch, but I wouldn't pay more than 500 for a really nice one with a tidy case and dial. Even that's a bit steep. The automatics tend to fetch higher prices. I think for closer to a grand you'd be able to get something a bit more unique like a KS special chronometer or a vintage GS.

Edit:
    This one would come in at c$550 assuming I get hit for VAT

Probably need to factor in cost of a service also

The caseback isn't original to that watch, and there seems to be a bit of corrosion on the edge of the dial. No pics of the movement either so I'd personally pass, but as with everything on ebay it's a bit of a gamble (got my KS on ebay though). Has the original buckle which is a nice touch, as these tend to go for 50-100 on their own.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 945 ✭✭✭njburke

Onkepop, '68 King Seiko.

A Beauty, what size ?.
    Great to have a recent service. A second a day is amazing. I've a newish doxa on, that's running at +10 today, hoping it'll settle down if I wear it.

I picked up a July 68 serviced Seikomatic P for my brother's 50th birthday. He was thrilled and it's his daily wear. He has had people ask about it. It's styling is business like but with an unusual texture on the bezel. If I can find a photo I'll drop it in here.

481171.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,581 ✭✭✭Cyclingtourist

Something of a Christmas vibe about this Vostok 'Operation Desert Shield'.

536703.JPG

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,067 ✭✭✭Lorddrakul

Indeed, nothing says Christmas like a ropey commemorative piece for an invasion.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 13,071 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

Bit of cold war irony going on there CT:confused:? Enjoy it in these interesting times.

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

njburke wrote: »
    Onkepop, '68 King Seiko.

A Beauty, what size ?.

About 36.5mm. That seikomatic looks great, interesting bezel!

69 bellmatic today. Gold plated case with a grey linen dial, which can be hard to photograph. Think this would've come on a gold coffin bracelet, but I've never seen a gold one come up - only plain steel.

KpwcPLL.jpg

Its got a tree, but its the wrong shape.

Very nice bell, I was on the hunt for two birth year seikos, 68 and 69. In the end I got a '73 bellmatic that came with a great receipt from the last service, the watchmaker advising it was a collectable classic in the late ninties. It's on a steel coffin link, which as luck had it fitted me like a glove
    For my 69 birthyear, I picked up a 69 accutron.
    536721.jpg

My brother was over this morning, so I wore it so he could listen to the hum. It's strap is awful and it's rate isn't great, but I'll sort that after I have the Lip fixed up. Goal next year is to have all watches in the watch box running well, some are currently wounded.

Here's the three vintage seikos, including the 68 for the brothers 50th.

481172.jpg

New Watch Day - NTH Barracuda Vintage Black

4Tom9znl.jpeg

I enjoyed my polar white NTH so much I went and bought the Vintage Black version. It's hard to take a picture that does it justice, but in the sunlight it is beautiful. Very happy with it.

Also - I can neither confirm or deny that I have another NTH on the way...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,043 ✭✭✭mad m

WW1 era solid silver officers Trench watch housed in a 1915 dated silver case, It is The A.S. " Adolf Schild" 15 Jewel savonette movement is working superbly keeping excellent time , it is beautiful, and a very practical timepiece .

A really nice large size example with a period band & lovely patina on the crystal , the crystal has "yellowed" giving the white dial look a great patina or yellow hue.

Bought on fleabay recently, Mrs MadM took a shine to it immediately and wears it daily now.

536779.jpg

https://ibb.co/fNwzSSs
    https://ibb.co/Ssz1m1f

@wibbs...Thanks for embedding pics