If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Galway GAA Discussion Thread #2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,893 ✭✭✭Happyilylost

Ah. He did bring his cards for the second half. Thought he left them in the dressing room.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,326 ✭✭✭threeball

Very impressed with our back 6. All good hurlers, well on top and picking out great passes to the forwards

Ah. He did bring his cards for the second half. Thought he left them in the dressing room.

Don't know how they'll get out of this game with 15. Constant high tackles

benji79 wrote:
    Is that lynsky a bit of a clown lads?

Passion is passion. Whatever about his antics his teams play nice expansive hurling.

Aidan Ryan..... I wouldn't of been quick to run in on top of him one on one when he was in goals...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,577 ✭✭✭sgthighway

benji79 wrote: »
    Is that lynsky a bit of a clown lads?

I know little about him bar he was a successful minor manager. Can’t say I’ve taken to him there tonight. Or the guy with him

Jeffrey is around a long time. Good with the young lads. Same as Mattie Murphy. Will be good gor underage but will probably never be successful Senior Manager.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 121 ✭✭terryrogers

It's depressing to see such cynicism from young lads when 5 pts up with a minute to go. When it's being coached into teams like so then there's nobody to blame only the coaches for the impending back card in hurling

Good enough to win it without that cynical sh1t. I hope they do something about it next year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,577 ✭✭✭sgthighway

Gal v Dub in both u20 finals.

Just a small note. Number 6 for Galway Conor Flaherty will be playing in goals for Galway vs. Dublin. Fine young man who unfortunately suffered a tragic loss earlier this year. Himself and another lad have set up a gofundme to raise funds Pieta House. To even be playing on a pitch is a testament to this young fella. If anyone can donate anything small I'm sure it would be greatly appreciated. Hope the link works.

https://www.gofundme.com/f/goodluck-to-the-goldilocks-for-pieta-house?utm_source=customer&utm_campaign=p_cp+share-sheet&utm_medium=copy_link_all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 518 ✭✭✭benji79

That foul by no 11 was bad. Whipping a players legs from behind with hurley is ugly to see
    At end of day until there’s a fitting punishment in place all teams will do it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,899 ✭✭✭Robson99

It's depressing to see such cynicism from young lads when 5 pts up with a minute to go. When it's being coached into teams like so then there's nobody to blame only the coaches for the impending back card in hurling

Kilkenny were just as cynical every time galway ran at them. Can't blame galway when it was being done to them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,199 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

Great win for the hurlers.

Bad night for the minor footballers. Lost by 8.

Dublin and Wexford is on YouTube. 13mins left.

Dublin giving a trimming to Wexford.

Wouldnt it be tragic is Dublin beat us despite all our dominance at minor.

To be honest it's probably only a matter of time before they ruin the hurling as well. If the football is anything to go by, the minor grade isn't reflecting the U20/Senior dominance, so this is the grade we're likely to see them progress and not minor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,199 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

Dublin and Wexford is on YouTube. 13mins left.

Dublin giving a trimming to Wexford.

Wouldnt it be tragic is Dublin beat us despite all our dominance at minor.

To be honest it's probably only a matter of time before they ruin the hurling as well and if the football is anything to go by, the minor grade isn't reflecting the U20/Senior so this is the grade we're likely to see them progress and not minor.

Saw some of the Dubs against Offaly last week and they weren't hectic. Not sure are they way better tonight or maybe Wexford are just poor.

Hopefully its just that Wexford arent you to much.

But the impending doom is coming at some point over the next 5-10 years.

Someone put up the number of teams at senior/U20 and underage in the other thread and they have over 900 kids teams so they're going to start blowing everyone else away at some point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

Tomo Culhane is some footballer.

Nought we didn't already know.

We should be 4 or 5 points up here yet we're level. The galway lads are better footballers but the decision making is lacking. Too many 60/40 passes where a hand goes in and breaks up the attack or taking the ball into contact. Ref happy to let the dubs systematic fouling go unpunished too which has now cost us a player.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,357 ✭✭✭✭RMAOK

It seems like it's a bit harder for Galway to get frees as opposed to Dublin....

RMAOK wrote: »
    It seems like it's a bit harder for Galway to get frees as opposed to Dublin....

Nearly every Dublin tackle is a foul. Hand left in and either sling off the waist to slow his progress or grab an arm . Seniors do it too but its never pulled. Limerick are at it in the hurling too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,852 ✭✭✭spurshero

threeball wrote: »
    We should be 4 or 5 points up here yet we're level. The galway lads are better footballers but the decision making is lacking. Too many 60/40 passes where a hand goes in and breaks up the attack or taking the ball into contact. Ref happy to let the dubs systematic fouling go unpunished too which has now cost us a player.

Surely that was a clear cut free where Cathal sweeney got hurt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,361 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

Nearly every Dublin tackle is a foul. Hand left in and either sling off the waist to slow his progress or grab an arm . Seniors do it too but its never pulled. Limerick are at it in the hurling too.

It's only Dublin and Galway are so innocent. Sat enough times in Salthill, Tuam and Croker to know that ye are quite proficient at dishing out the sly digs also. And that goes for your hurlers too.

spurshero wrote: »
    Surely that was a clear cut free where Cathal sweeney got hurt

Fouled twice. Once with two hands over the shoulder and the second where the hand was left in. Refs just want to let the game flow and let teams away with any auld sh1te. Constant hands on the back and pushes to. Blatant one at the end there where the galway player nearly fell on his face as a result but not even a sign of a free.

The backs are doing very well imo. At least, in the main, they're attacking the ball. Not this thing of sitting back and letting the attacker get the ball and then try and stop him.

Good idea to push up on the kick outs. No doubt Dublin will do that in the second half when they have the breeze.

Fann Linn wrote: »
    It's only Dublin and Galway are so innocent. Sat enough times in Salthill, Tuam and Croker to know that ye are quite proficient at dishing out the sly digs also. And that goes for your hurlers too.

Dublins aren't even sly its just constant fouling thats not being reffed You can wear the blue tinted glasses all you want but its clearly fouling. And if you want to see what gakway people think of cynical play have a look up the page at our reaction to the u20 hurlers last night. Dubs on the other hand are quite happy to excuse away their teans behaviour.

IMO a three point lead is not reflective of Galway's supremacy in the first half.

The backs are doing very well imo. At least, in the main, they're attacking the ball. Not this thing of sitting back and letting the attacker get the ball and then try and stop him.

Good idea to push up on the kick outs. No doubt Dublin will do that in the second half when they have the breeze.

Aodan Mac Gearailt later in the half said the wind was assisting Dublin.:confused:

It must be swirly one.

We should be pushed up regardless of the breeze. Conceding kickouts is a one way street to failure. We're doing well all over if we could tidy up the decisions and stop taking the bloody ball into contact.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,361 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

Dublins aren't even sly its just constant fouling thats not being reffed You can wear the blue tinted glasses all you want but its clearly fouling. And if you want to see what gakway people think of cynical play have a look up the page at our reaction to the u20 hurlers last night. Dubs on the other hand are quite happy to excuse away their teans behaviour.

Your team is winning. Both teams are trying to play in poor conditions and a cut up pitch and there are only 5/6 posts relating to the actual match and all of them are blaming Dublin on fouling.
    I think ye are playing the victim here lads.

seligehgit wrote: »
    Aodan Mac Gearailt later in the half said the wind was assisting Dublin.:confused:

It must be swirly one.

Yes I thought the commentators said Dublin had the breeze in the first.

seligehgit wrote: »

It must be swirly one.

Yeah, it seems a hard one to pin down (the wind). Some flags seem to be blowing towards the canal end while others seem to be blowing towards the hill :confused: