Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mayo GAA Discussion - Part 4

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,441 ✭✭✭wirelessdude01

PressRun wrote: »
    Will we release Keegan??

For what?

Personally I don't think he has the conditioning or indeed the legs this year to do what we have seen in previous years. Mullin has been given the old Zippy role that allows some licence to attack. Keegan has to stay and mind. He might not like it but that's the scenario.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

Well the day we've all been waiting for is finally uponst us.

It's has seemed like an eternity.

It's time for one final battle cry.

Very best of luck to the lads.

We'll be very proud of them irrespective of the result as they as always will leave it all on the field.

Muigheo Abu!

Lovely article with the great Paddy Prendergast.

Craving for the mantle to be finally passed onto another generation after all these years.

'Do you think that prayer would make a difference?' - Mayo's All-Ireland survivor (94) hoping for one more win

https://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/do-you-think-that-prayer-would-make-a-difference-mayos-all-ireland-survivor-94-hoping-for-one-more-win-39879858.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,225 ✭✭✭charolais0153

km79 wrote: »
    Fionn mcdonagh was the name I was looking out for ?
    What’s Ciaran Treacys story this year too. He must be injured ?
    James Durkan just isn’t good enough for this level of opposition

F mcD injured is he not, I agree on durcan, 2 flukey goals are all he's really done

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,630 ✭✭✭Squatman

F mcD injured is he not, I agree on durcan, 2 flukey goals are all he's really done

Il take flukey.... from the programme it has been 2016 since Aos scored a goal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,781 ✭✭✭muddle84

The head and the heart are not expecting the same outcome here at all, but as always I'm going with the heart!!

Maigh Eo Abú

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,585 ✭✭✭happyoutscan

Surprisingly calm about today, but moreso because I'm firmly in the camp that there is very little chance of an upset today.

Of course there is always a chance, but I just think there are too many variables that have to fall our way for it to happen.

Stranger things have happened though. Best of luck to the team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,441 ✭✭✭wirelessdude01

Surprisingly calm about today, but moreso because I'm firmly in the camp that there is very little chance of an upset today.

Of course there is always a chance, but I just think there are too many variables that have to fall our way for it to happen.

Stranger things have happened though. Best of luck to the team.

Realistically we need an average rating across our team of 9+ and Dublin need to be about 8 plus we need that little bit of luck to fall our way as well.

When it reads like that, I tend to think 'we can f*cking do this'.

But then my mental shock-absorber tells me to cop the f*ck on, it can't handle any more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,424 ✭✭✭✭km79

Absolutely
    And in a one off game between two relatively closely matched teams it’s impossible
    Dublin have played NOTHING in almost a year
    We need to start well and try and catch them cold for a couple of goals instead of playing catch up . If we fall even 4/5 behind early we are in trouble .
    Let’s bring the chaos
    Horanball
    Choo choo im on board
    Let’s roll baby

Yes I am getting excited :D

Read the article.

It's a very very disappointing attitude and disrespectful.

Not sure if he was misquoted.

Otherwise the ultimate of clickbait.

If these are the true thoughts of Doctor David Hickey he's better to keep them close to his chest than express same in public.

Can he not simply glow in the aftermath of a 5 in an row as opposed to going at it for a county that have experienced a real dearth of real success?

seligehgit wrote: »
    Read the article.

It's a very very disappointing attitude and disrespectful.

Not sure if he was misquoted.

Otherwise the ultimate of clickbait.

If these are the true thoughts of Doctor David Hickey he's better to keep them close to his chest than express same in public.

Can he not simply glow in the aftermath of a 5 in an row as opposed to going at it for a county that have experienced a real dearth of real success?

The fact he asked at the very start when it would be published tells me a lot about his character and that he wasnt misquoted

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,187 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

I think Dr Hickey was asked write a piece of clickbait and he duly obliged.

I think Dr Hickey can go and **** himself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,052 ✭✭✭flasher0030

Don't know anything about that chap, but comes across as a very uneducated individual who has grown up with some chip on his shoulder.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,645 ✭✭✭paddy no 11

Wishing ye all the best for later today

Don't think midfield and corner backs are set up for a win

On the flip a fully fit coc is a much better player than the dubs have played in the last 3 years and the other 2 in the full forward line means he will have space

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=vqRnXgvyScA

This is all we need to watch until 5pm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭naughto

Don't know anything about that chap, but comes across as a very uneducated individual who has grown up with some chip on his shoulder.

And With a silver spoon in his mouth

Anybody receive their digital programme yet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 617 ✭✭✭franklyon

Is a hard copy available in Centra or Super Valu?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,781 ✭✭✭muddle84

Anybody receive their digital programme yet?

I downloaded it there now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,852 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

I think Dr Hickey can go and **** himself.

Hickey was always a bit "out there" in his views.

Not worth worrying about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,198 ✭✭✭PressRun

For what?

Personally I don't think he has the conditioning or indeed the legs this year to do what we have seen in previous years. Mullin has been given the old Zippy role that allows some licence to attack. Keegan has to stay and mind. He might not like it but that's the scenario.

Is he doing a good job of minding?

I think it's debatable what we're actually getting out of leaving him in the corner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,048 ✭✭✭Bunny Colvin

Someone like that hasn't a clue what the GAA really means. I bet he loves the prawn sandwiches in the premium level.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,953 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

Did you get a further email this morning?

No you 'purchase' the downloaded copy and use the coupon email you received from the physical purchase email. So it does not cost anything.

Then you have to put in a password to access the pdf.
    My bank is not as secure as that. Book of Kells stuff!

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,953 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

Dublin v Mayo team line ups offical programme.

If anyone wants to print it off and go marking the official programme while they are watching (one draw back of a download)

BjhSF2b.png

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 820 ✭✭✭RedDevil55

Someone like that hasn't a clue what the GAA really means. I bet he loves the prawn sandwiches in the premium level.

He was part of the Dublin backroom team recently.

franklyon wrote: »
    Is a hard copy available in Centra or Super Valu?

Supervalu Westport had some but sold out, some left in Centra out the Quay.

Any suggestions/links to a good podcast to pass the time?