Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Wokeism of the day *Revised Mod Note in OP and threadbanned users*

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,907 ✭✭✭Stevieluvsye

Feisar wrote: »
    It's a fairly universal symbol of solidarity/resistance.

Black power. That's what it is about. But i'll say that a lot of people haven't a clue what it is supposed to be about

If the hand was open and held at 45degrees, it would be fascist and considered highly offensive/racist.

Pick -n- mix racism.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,128 ✭✭✭Tacitus Kilgore

If the hand was open and held at 45degrees, it would be fascist and considered highly offensive/racist.

Pick -n- mix racism.

The origins of both salutes are rooted in racism for sure. You're not wrong.

Only thing is, one of them came from the oppressor, the other - from the oppressed. There's a bit of a difference like.

Jez lads ye really do have a quare view of racism in here..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 680 ✭✭✭ingalway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,606 ✭✭✭Quantum Erasure

Jez lads ye really do have a quare view of racism in here..

Not really. Just because it was used in the past as a gesture of solidarity and defiance for justifiable reasons, doesn't mean that it signifies the same thing today. Sure, Black people could be using it to show their resistance to discrimination.

At the same time, it could, just as easily, be used to show Black supremacy, the same as many White supremacy groups use the same gesture.

I'm always amazed at the lengths that people go to ignore the behavior that went on throughout the BLM protests in the US. The armed Black militia in uniforms (or without) shouting slogans of Black power and their contempt for white people.

The sad truth is that the raised fist has been taken further than it originally meant to be. The Black Panthers used it, and they were something of a "dodgy" organisation, but they lived in dangerous times. However, we have groups associated with BLM, whether they're chapters or completely independent, using the salute while promoting the view of Black power... in a way that is very similar to the White supremacy groups.

Now, no doubt, you'll find excuses and justifications for all this, or dismiss it entirely. I've seen so many posters twisting themselves into knots to avoid acknowledging any negativity at all, that might be connected to the Black rights movements.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,907 ✭✭✭Stevieluvsye

Not really. Just because it was used in the past as a gesture of solidarity and defiance for justifiable reasons, doesn't mean that it signifies the same thing today. Sure, Black people could be using it to show their resistance to discrimination.

At the same time, it could, just as easily, be used to show Black supremacy, the same as many White supremacy groups use the same gesture.

I'm always amazed at the lengths that people go to ignore the behavior that went on throughout the BLM protests in the US. The armed Black militia in uniforms (or without) shouting slogans of Black power and their contempt for white people.

The sad truth is that the raised fist has been taken further than it originally meant to be. The Black Panthers used it, and they were something of a "dodgy" organisation, but they lived in dangerous times. However, we have groups associated with BLM, whether they're chapters or completely independent, using the salute while promoting the view of Black power... in a way that is very similar to the White supremacy groups.

Now, no doubt, you'll find excuses and justifications for all this, or dismiss it entirely. I've seen so many posters twisting themselves into knots to avoid acknowledging any negativity at all, that might be connected to the Black rights movements.

Don't waste your time. Sure this is the woke thread

It took me.. what? 3 minutes to type that up. It's not a chore.. and this kind of stuff should be resisted.

We've seen what happens to society when such movements and the messages they promote aren't resisted (radical feminism, toxic masculinity, etc). Nah. Stand up, and argue what you perceive to be wrong. Ignoring it will simply ensure that your descendants will have to live under it too.

If we want a country free of the racial/social stresses that the US and the UK has, we need to balance the scales and stop pandering to this rubbish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,906 ✭✭✭Feisar

Currently yes, however it’s history is more varied:

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Raised_fist

First they came for the socialists...

It took me.. what? 3 minutes to type that up. It's not a chore.. and this kind of stuff should be resisted.

We've seen what happens to society when such movements and the messages they promote aren't resisted (radical feminism, toxic masculinity, etc). Nah. Stand up, and argue what you perceive to be wrong. Ignoring it will simply ensure that your descendants will have to live under it too.

If we want a country free of the racial/social stresses that the US and the UK has, we need to balance the scales and stop pandering to this rubbish.
    Yes, I brought up the "silent majority" point earlier and how it allowed a pro-brexit vote to be passed, another poster instead of commenting on the silent majority point, diverted attention onto what he thought my opinions are about brexit (and getting it completely wrong)!

Resisting extreme"woke-ness" is every bit as important as opposing extremism, in reality woke is another form of extremism where minority views are forced into the mainstream and all opposition is bulldozed out of the way using tactics such as comparing opponents to fascists.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,332 ✭✭✭V8 Interceptor

[/LIST]
    retalivity wrote: »
    As long as it takes for you to stop being a fascist dammit

Oh deary me

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,748 ✭✭✭ExMachina1000

[/LIST]

Oh deary me

He did a hate speech i believe .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,215 ✭✭✭✭ILoveYourVibes

Laws are about to be passed halting the spread of hate speech online in Ireland now in the next few days.

I wonder will it affect boards?

He did a hate speech i believe .

On 2nd thoughts I think he might've been joking.

Laws are about to be passed halting the spread of hate speech online in Ireland now in the next few days.

I wonder will it affect boards?
    Extreme censorship will be the most likely outcome, no one wants to risk a criminal conviction by being too "relaxed" with what is or isn't hate speech, this is such a subjective matter.

All it needs are a few Karen's to flag something for it to be added to the "banned" list.

How can they do this without amending the Constitution?

Extreme censorship will be the most likely outcome, no one wants to risk a criminal conviction by being too "relaxed" with what is or isn't hate speech, this is such a subjective matter.

All it needs are a few Karen's to flag something for it to be added to the "banned" list.
    I for one welcome our new Karen over lords!

I SAY ladies ...you do look well! Kisses arse! :)

I for one welcome our new Karen over lords!

I SAY ladies ...you do look well! Kisses arse! :)

I wouldn't be in such a rush if I were you. You've come out with some really oddball comments in threads which could be interpreted as being 'suspect'.

This is the problem with such things. Agendas will decide what/who gets censored, and punished for their words...

Stepping point my hole, that's horseshīt, frankly.

That's the aul gay marriage argument "sure what's next, lads marrying horses wha?".

That's actually been vindicated. Since gay marriage abortion has been brought in, they're trying to overturn the citizenship referendum and now they're forcing so-called hate speech laws on us.

Given them an inch...

You've come out with some really oddball comments in threads which could be interpreted as being 'suspect'.

I can throw even balls!;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,948 ✭✭✭Montage of Feck

“One sometimes gets the impression that the mere words ‘Socialism’ and ‘Communism’ draw towards them with magnetic force every fruit-juice drinker, nudist, sandal-wearer, sex-maniac, Quaker, ‘Nature Cure’ quack, pacifist, and feminist in England.”

― George Orwell, The Road to Wigan Pier

🙈🙉🙊

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,105 ✭✭✭Kivaro

How can they do this without amending the Constitution?
    The same way they are trying to reverse the 27th amendment (anchor babies) to the Constitution that 80% of us voted for.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,313 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Cultural appropriation. Ah yeah, here we go again... Sometimes there's a point to be made over clumsy nicking of cultural bits and bobs and Lord knows indigenous peoples can have good reasons for being twitchy about such things, but having a meltdown over it? No.

In my brief time with twitter a couple of years ago I saw a tweet by a Chinese American guy ranting about cultural appropriation by the usual boogeyman of White Westerners. I pointed out in reply that in the accompanying pic of him in his room, about the only thing in the picture that was Chinese was him and the rest was "appropriated" and mostly from the West, including the glasses perched on his offended nose. This didn't go over well.

Never mind that I thought the current western ideal for some was a melting pot of diversity with free exchange of ideas, fashions even totems? Apparently not or only OK in one direction.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

Wibbs wrote: »
    Never mind that I thought the current western ideal for some was a melting pot of diversity with free exchange of ideas, fashions even totems? Apparently not or only OK in one direction.
    A melting pot, yes.
    However, melting pots also separate out as well as meld together, the issue is who controls the sieve being used to "syphon off" the bad stuff!
    All I see is culture replacement as opposed to culture integration.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,452 ✭✭✭1800_Ladladlad

During the holiday season, HO HO HO is yet another reminder of the patriarchy and the fight against oppressive language directed towards women on OnlyFans ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,943 ✭✭✭✭the purple tin

There's a period drama set during the early 1800s coming up on Netflix about a black duke :confused:
    I trhink the writers should have payed more attention during history class.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,078 ✭✭✭IAMAMORON

There's a period drama set during the early 1800s coming up on Netflix about a black duke :confused:
    I trhink the writers should have payed more attention during history class.

Othello ?