Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do dating 'leagues' exist?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,910 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

Feel her breath on my face,
    Her body close to me,
    Can't look in her eyes...

“It matters not what someone is born, but what they grow to be” - A. Dumbledore

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

What a lot of men don't realise is you don't need to be rich or have good looks to attract the most beautiful women.

Charisma and a man's behaviours can be far more powerful than looks and money. Women often say "there's just something about him". That doesn't come from nowhere, it comes from his charisma and behaviours.

The video below shows a dating coach discussing a video of himeself to his clients where he breaks down how he approached a woman who was with her Mother. It is educational and also quite amusing. I would encourage you to watch it.

A key lesson from the video is stop comparing yourself to other people, as a man, your job is to be yourself, express yourself, have fun and lead.

*Furiously scribbles down PUA codology before post is removed*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,430 ✭✭✭RWCNT

What a lot of men don't realise is you don't need to be rich or have good looks to attract the most beautiful women.

Charisma and a man's behaviours can be far more powerful than looks and money. Women often say "there's just something about him". That doesn't come from nowhere, it comes from his charisma and behaviours.

The video below shows a dating coach discussing a video of himeself to his clients where he breaks down how he approached a woman who was with her Mother. It is educational and also quite amusing. I would encourage you to watch it.

A key lesson from the video is stop comparing yourself to other people, as a man, your job is to be yourself, express yourself, have fun and lead.

The thing about all these dating coaches/pick-up artist people that I can't get to grips with is that it's all about appearances and the approaching/attracting part. I mean, obviously, being charismatic and coming across as a positive/fun/interesting person is going to attract people - but if you want to actually build a meaningful relationship then you're going to actually have to BE an interesting/positive/fun person, which is going to take decidedly more work than learning some swish techniques from a bloke on youtube.

Regarding the idea of wealth attracting people - this is of course true to some extent. There are gold-diggers around and I've also seen what money troubles can do for a relationship and I often feel women (almost always seems to be women) are unfairly called gold diggers/shallow for not wanting to date someone on a very low income with no signs of improving that. Also - I feel a lot of people tend to point to someone's money as the reason they have an attractive partner. In my experience, it's much more often their traits which led them to getting the money that were the attraction - drive, vision, passion for a particular avenue. I know a lot of not great looking men with successful businesses and attractive partners - it's often assumed the partner turned up after the money, when in fact the opposite is the case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,502 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

seamus wrote: »
    If you're in the market for a quickie, then physical attraction is largely the be-all and end-all.

For relationships, it's less of an issue. As we find ourselves more fond of another person, their physical attractiveness to us tends to grow.

The reverse is also true. People who are clearly objectively attractive can seem as sexually interesting as a wet towel if you don't like them as a person.

Money and attractiveness as factors in a relationship only matter as icebreakers, or if your criteria for a partner are very shallow.

If you're not physically a knockout (very few people are genuinely "ugly") and don't have overflowing pockets, then you need to work on your personality as your asset. Because long-term that's what'll get you a happy relationship with someone you want to fvck.

The 6'2" model with his own yacht might be able to bang a different airhead every week, but when he gets into his fifties he'll be a lonely old man surrounded by women half his age that he can't relate to.

Look even at Hugh Hefner. Infamous for his devotion to free love and polyamoury, even in his older years he sought a more sedate life with longer-term partners.
    Even Hefner is an outsider in terms of rich men and their trophy wives. Most of them are more like Trump. Married to women who are basically prostitutes that hate their guts.

am i mistaken or did you just imply that Melania Trump is a prostitute ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,540 ✭✭✭circadian

GarIT wrote: »
    Different people value different things. So people only like attractive people, some people only like funny people.

There are also people who won't date people earning under certain incomes or in a different class to them.

I've certainly had people ghost or end the conversation when I've said I'm from Tallaght (you couldn't tell by talking to me)

Tallaght?! Welcome to my ignore list...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,392 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

I never got the point in these stupid dating coaches. You say all the right things to get their interest, maybe even sleep with them, until they eventually find out you're a spineless uninteresting fraud without the courage of your own convictions. At least you got laid though I suppose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,679 ✭✭✭JeffKenna

I never got the point in these stupid dating coaches. You say all the right things to get their interest, maybe even sleep with them, until they eventually find out your're a spineless fraud without the courage of your own convictions. At least you got laid though I suppose.

I always thought they worked just by the act of getting guys out talking to/hitting on girls.

Real Social Dynamics. The successor to the Speed Seduction gig. Or the Seducation.Alt.Fast rubbish.

While there are minor nuggets of useful information to help understand women, and yourself, they're covered in piles upon piles of BS layered with NLP key words. Meh.

Keep it simple. Be honest with yourself and with your date. Don't be a dick. And don't compromise your values for sex. That's the only info you need to get started. It's not hard.. in spite of people thinking that it is...

I find people make the whole activity far more complicated/difficult than it needs to be... and then go looking for a messiah/guru to help them solve the problems, that they themselves created. And, Yes, I did the whole 9 yards of Speed Seduction, with Ross Jeffries, David D, Mystery, etc.. which is why I am saying it's over-complicated rubbish...

Nick Biddle, Just to add... pushing this crap on boards will have the thread shut down quick... Best avoid pushing this stuff, and be more circular with your discussion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,144 ✭✭✭✭anewme

I never got the point in these stupid dating coaches. You say all the right things to get their interest, maybe even sleep with them, until they eventually find out you're a spineless uninteresting fraud without the courage of your own convictions. At least you got laid though I suppose.

That crap does not work at all here. Seems to be an American theme.

There was one that someone put up here onetime and it was a weird guy coming up to and approaching women with all types of random creepy talk. It was so bad, it was cringey.

That one put up above is like one of those new adds on the TV and radio about stop sexual harrassment

If you approached the majority of Irish women like that, you'd have the Gardas called for stalking, or if I reference the Dublin Women accent thread, be belted over the head with something, and proper order.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 31,048 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

How weird must one's life be if their primary obsession is trying to get strangers to have sex?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,119 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

Being very attractive or rich is just getting interviews easier, really what most people realise as they age is that they want a personality and values more than anything.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,287 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

anewme wrote: »
    That crap does not work at all here. Seems to be an American theme.
    It doesn't exactly work there either, though their mating and dating market is quite different in many ways. Most of those PUA type vids are carefully edited(the women who told the weirdo to head off for a start), or are just entry conversations that go nowhere towards any action, or interactions with drunk women at last orders, a fave it seems of yer man in that vid(down the years I've deleted so many of those vids as a mod of different forums, but I have looked at a few of them out of curiosity) or quite simply faked. A lot of them have been exposed down the years as fake as fook.
    There was one that someone put up here onetime and it was a weird guy coming up to and approaching women with all types of random creepy talk. It was so bad, it was cringey.
    Very much so Anewme, but this stuff is marketed to and tailored for the demographic of usually young men who are introverted, socially awkward, all the way up to lads on the Asperger spectrum. So you see the creep and cringe, but almost by definition those lads won't. The reason many of them are struggling with chatting to women and/or dating in the first place is an inability to read social cues even basic ones. The guy in that no doubt soon to be gone vid comes across as "one of their own who did good", so that appeals even more to the market segment. Sells better. To me personally he comes across as very "off", hyper with no brakes concentrating on not being weird and failing. The idea of a complex "system" a cheat code for women also appeals to this demographic.

Is there a need or opening for help for guys like the above awkward lads? I'd say so, but at the moment their only options are the usual "go to counselling" which IMHO might be somewhat helpful, but too much of it is unproven soft science, or people giving the utterly useless advice of "just be yourself" or "what's for you won't go by you".

Or these PUA "gurus" who promise the earth appear to get resulst but keep guys coming back obsessively to sell stuff to them. Those training camps they have are crazy expensive. Like thousands per head kinda thing. The "free" youtube stuff is the advertising front for them. Standard shill the sucker first drink is free in the club type stuff. And that's before we get into the often well dodgy misogynist and right wing politics that whole PUA crowd tend to attract and often encourage.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,130 ✭✭✭Surreptitious

Are people that desperate to find sex? It isn't that difficult to be fair. I'm not even that great and still manage to have sex. These threads really bring out the dregs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,659 ✭✭✭con___manx1

GarIT wrote: »
    Different people value different things. So people only like attractive people, some people only like funny people.

There are also people who won't date people earning under certain incomes or in a different class to them.

I've certainly had people ghost or end the conversation when I've said I'm from Tallaght (you couldn't tell by talking to me)

your better off not having those judgmental ****s in your life anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,810 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

Jesus, PUA is a total cod - a kind of collective confirmation bias for lads who don't know their arse from their elbow, feeding on the insecurity of same..

It's total bollox, sold to desperados yearning to get their sticky hands on an actual woman. Sad beyond words!

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 57,043 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

Mod:

Thread cleaned up, don't feed the trolls folks. Thanks

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,287 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Most women see through that nonsense in a heart beat.
    Enough don't so it can work, though it's a numbers game. Which the PUA sellers rely upon. If you approach enough women you'll get some success, unless your vibe is axe murderer who wears women's skin for kicks. :D So those are the vids that are shown, otherwise it's fake or not an actual interaction. I've seen women mates of mine be apparently really pleasant with a guy chatting them up of a night out, where I'd be thinking ah right, she's pulled, only for her to come back to tell me jaysus let's get out of here. :D It's easy to forget that women as a group are very vulnerable and have been for tens of thousands of years, so can be very good at trying to mitigate risks in social situations. Risk avoidance that can be seen by some, even many men as a come on, triply so if he's on his sixth pint. AKA she hasn't punched me in the goolies so I'm in here. :D
    Jesus, PUA is a total cod - a kind of collective confirmation bias for lads who don't know their arse from their elbow, feeding on the insecurity of same.
    Pretty much.
    If you happen to meet someone and you hit it off with that person just relax have a laugh and see how it goes and if there is enough interest there the person you are interested in will make it breathtakingly easy for you to set the date or whatever.
    To be fair CoT for the demographic of guys you're talking about who get into this stuff what you just wrote there may as well be in ancient Greek. Plus it's actually not that helpful. Where do they meet? How do they meet? How does he relax. It's like saying to someone "just be confident" you may as well tell a broken leg to heal, or tell a clinically depressed person to cheer up. To a guy with social phobias, Aspergers, or just plain awkward neither of those things will happen too organically too often. That's why they turn to this self improvement stuff, or go off on the incel pathway and tap out entirely. Though at least the PUA types say it's not women it's you and you can improve, so it's proactive not passive like the incel crowd. Though the rest of it is mostly rubbish.
    It's total bollox, sold to desperados yearning to get their sticky hands on an actual woman. Sad beyond words!
    I'd say it's more appealing to genuinely lonely men, or at least they're the ones more likely to get drawn in and deeper in.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,457 ✭✭✭Airyfairy12

Some say they do and others don't. Basically can an unattractive, low earning guy score an attractive high earning woman?

Would you date a woman who earned much less than you and was unattractive?

Its the very same for women.

I think its natural to want to date people who you have things in common with and can share a similar lifestyle.
    If someone who is attractive, looks after themselves and is financially independent, enjoys a certain type of lifestyle it's only natural that they would want to date someone similar to themselves.
    When I dated a man who had a full time job and I was a broke student, it was difficult as financially I couldnt keep up with him. There where many times he invited me for meals, drinks, holidays abroad & weekends away with his family and friends that I had to turn down as I couldnt afford it.
    Ive also been the one earning more in a relationship and it was just as difficult, even though I offered to pay for him allot of the time it caused frustration.

With that said, It really comes down to personality and connection.
    If youre only focused on finding an extremely good looking woman with lots of money arent you the shallow, superficial one?
    Theres no point getting annoyed at these women for not liking you back when you yourself are only interested in looks and money.

I think everyone has an ideal partner in their mind but know deep down that it's not realistic.

I could dream my life holding out for a young Johnny Depp lookalike whose sensitive, funny, intelligent & charismatic with a fat wallet and a big lad in his pants but the chances of me meeting someone like that are unlikely, if I did meet someone like that, the chances of them wanting to be with me are low to say the least.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,858 ✭✭✭Church on Tuesday

Wibbs wrote: »
    Enough don't so it can work, though it's a numbers game. Which the PUA sellers rely upon. If you approach enough women you'll get some success, unless your vibe is axe murderer who wears women's skin for kicks. :D So those are the vids that are shown, otherwise it's fake or not an actual interaction. I've seen women mates of mine be apparently really pleasant with a guy chatting them up of a night out, where I'd be thinking ah right, she's pulled, only for her to come back to tell me jaysus let's get out of here. :D It's easy to forget that women as a group are very vulnerable and have been for tens of thousands of years, so can be very good at trying to mitigate risks in social situations. Risk avoidance that can be seen by some, even many men as a come on, triply so if he's on his sixth pint. AKA she hasn't punched me in the goolies so I'm in here. :D

Pretty much.

To be fair CoT for the demographic of guys you're talking about who get into this stuff what you just wrote there may as well be in ancient Greek. Plus it's actually not that helpful. Where do they meet? How do they meet? How does he relax. It's like saying to someone "just be confident" you may as well tell a broken leg to heal, or tell a clinically depressed person to cheer up. To a guy with social phobias, Aspergers, or just plain awkward neither of those things will happen too organically too often. That's why they turn to this self improvement stuff, or go off on the incel pathway and tap out entirely. Though at least the PUA types say it's not women it's you and you can improve, so it's proactive not passive like the incel crowd. Though the rest of it is mostly rubbish.

I'd say it's more appealing to genuinely lonely men, or at least they're the ones more likely to get drawn in and deeper in.

I'm firmly of the opinion that those with social phobias or awkwardness can meet and hit it off with women in a setting, not necessarily pubs/nightclubs but other spaces. Ideally with shared interests.

I'm not of fan of online dating but I'm sure any amount of relationships have come from people who where awkward or whatever finding someone online for example. Happened for a couple of fellas I would know of.

Granted there are some people, men and women, who just lack that awareness for whatever reason and will most probably see out the rest of their days single having never had relationships but I think in most cases folk will be fine if they just, well, take it easy and lets things develop as they may.

As for wanting to better yourself in life, you want to do that for yourself first and foremost in any event and keep good habits. If you are trying to better yourself just to attract women most likely you will fall back into bad habits after you meet someone.

Wibbs wrote: »
    It doesn't exactly work there either, though their mating and dating market is quite different in many ways. Most of those PUA type vids are carefully edited(the women who told the weirdo to head off for a start), or are just entry conversations that go nowhere towards any action, or interactions with drunk women at last orders, a fave it seems of yer man in that vid(down the years I've deleted so many of those vids as a mod of different forums, but I have looked at a few of them out of curiosity) or quite simply faked. A lot of them have been exposed down the years as fake as fook.

Yes, and no. The problem is that the PUA scene is mostly orientated around American cultural structure.

The thing is that American culture can often be very rigid in social status, whereby people are placed within set roles, which start in their teens but extend into their adulthood. You can see it in their high schools, where you will have the football guys, the quarterback, the cheerleaders, the cool girls, the geeks, etc. There are roles and categories which many people get assigned to and that affects how they develop. Further along, there are the host of competitive competitions such as beauty pagents, dance competitions, acting jobs, etc all of which focus on appearance, the promotion of a certain type of beauty, and "proper" behavior.

That feeds into how people interact with each other in dating, and interpersonal interactions. Roles shape the individual, and while they will have their own quirks, they'll also be conforming to set pieces of attitudes and behavior. Simple psychology, and observation can show the patterns that exist, and PUA seeks to take advantage of these patterns.

For Ireland, or Europe, though, is that we, typically, don't have the same emphasis on social roles, similar to what happens in the US. We're far more individualistic in how we develop, and while there are some common ways in which people might pursue their own future self, mostly we're independent of each other. In many ways, Europeans prize individuality far more than Americans do. The movie Grease is a great spin on all that US crap.. and it's still reasonably accurate today for many parts of America.
    Very much so Anewme, but this stuff is marketed to and tailored for the demographic of usually young men who are introverted, socially awkward, all the way up to lads on the Asperger spectrum. So you see the creep and cringe, but almost by definition those lads won't.

True enough. The PUA scene is based on manipulation, and the people who put out these courses are very focused on manipulating their consumer base to make sales.
    The reason many of them are struggling with chatting to women and/or dating in the first place is an inability to read social cues even basic ones. The guy in that no doubt soon to be gone vid comes across as "one of their own who did good", so that appeals even more to the market segment. Sells better. To me personally he comes across as very "off", hyper with no brakes concentrating on not being weird and failing. The idea of a complex "system" a cheat code for women also appeals to this demographic.

A cheat code, or an easy way to learn appeals to everyone. It's not only for this demographic.

And dating can be extremely confusing. Society tells you one way to behave, usually based on out-dated advice, while media suggests other ways. All of which needs to be implemented, under a state of a person lacking confidence, and disasters happen. I can remember my own attempts at dating, and while a lot of my failures came about from my own problems, there was also a lot of miscommunication by the women (or men) involved.

The problem is that understanding other people takes time to develop. We don't, naturally, understand that others are as messed up and confused as we are, so we approach dating from an angle of insecurity. Assuming that others are better informed than we are about their own internal processes, and thoughts. That others will never be confused about their own feelings and desires. Nope. Only the person seeking to start dating has those problems... which limits the ability to empathize with others, and seek answers out-of-the-box.
    Is there a need or opening for help for guys like the above awkward lads? I'd say so, but at the moment their only options are the usual "go to counselling" which IMHO might be somewhat helpful, but too much of it is unproven soft science, or people giving the utterly useless advice of "just be yourself" or "what's for you won't go by you".

Or these PUA "gurus" who promise the earth appear to get resulst but keep guys coming back obsessively to sell stuff to them. Those training camps they have are crazy expensive. Like thousands per head kinda thing. The "free" youtube stuff is the advertising front for them. Standard shill the sucker first drink is free in the club type stuff. And that's before we get into the often well dodgy misogynist and right wing politics that whole PUA crowd tend to attract and often encourage.

Ahh well, Wibbs, here we differ. I did the circuit for years. I went to the seminars by the "greats", in Ireland, the UK, and even in the US. I got to personally know many of the biggest "players" on the PUA scene, and while I agree that a large percentage (80%) is awful rubbish, there are some nuggets of gold in there.. and some of the guys involved in this, started the same as the guys they aim to teach. The problem being that this is a personality driven media industry, and these guys quickly come to believe their **** smells of roses.

My own "game" improved a million times from what I was like before I started the PUA (Although this was kinda pre-maintstream PUA). A lot of that was personal confidence, but that confidence happened because of the drills I did as part of the various courses. I didn't do any of the more negative and sadistic sides of PUA. It wasn't my thing, but I did focus heavily on the "Essential Skills" or the NLP side of things, with a greater interest in personal states, meditation, and holistic approaches to improving my own value in life. (all of which came as advice from people within the PUA community. There just wasn't any similar interest or availability of information when I was in Ireland. At least I wasn't aware of it.)

The PUA approach has limited value in Ireland or Europe. It's simply the wrong approach. It works, somewhat, for the US, because it's easy to find the wannabe beauty queen, and play her attitudes to direct her attention.. but as with most things in the US, it's incredibly superficial. Great for casual sex. Pretty awful for anything more worthwhile.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,876 ✭✭✭✭Dial Hard

Lads, allow me to solve the mystery for you once and for all:

https://twitter.com/RichyCraven/status/1333414889742807045?s=19

I'm not even joking.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,119 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

Dial Hard wrote: »
    Lads, allow me to solve the mystery for you once and for all:

https://twitter.com/RichyCraven/status/1333414889742807045?s=19

I'm not even joking.

I love how excited and chuffed girls are you to show you their pockets when they have them haha.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 134 ✭✭Henryq.

I feel sorry for them

My approach is to do nothing and wait for them to come to me

(assumes you're good looking)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 691 ✭✭✭jmlad2020

Henryq. wrote: »
    I feel sorry for them

My approach is to do nothing and wait for them to come to me

(assumes you're good looking)

Do you make sure your gym puffed biceps are showing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 134 ✭✭Henryq.

jmlad2020 wrote: »
    Do you make sure your gym puffed biceps are showing

No gym

It takes imagination plus good looks

You just imagine women are attracted to you and it happens

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,036 ✭✭✭growleaves

JeffKenna wrote: »
    I always thought they worked just by the act of getting guys out talking to/hitting on girls.

Yeah, placebo effect.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 31,048 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

growleaves wrote: »
    Yeah, placebo effect.

Maybe on a Pure Morning, after your Special K, once you get over your Teenage Angst and change your Taste In Men.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,036 ✭✭✭✭Panthro

Maybe on a Pure Morning, after your Special K, once you get over your Teenage Angst and change your Taste In Men.

I was once summoned to Come Home, so I turned approximately 36 Degrees and whistled a Song to say Goodbye.

Great day for the parish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,730 ✭✭✭Quantum Erasure

Panthro wrote: »
    I was once summoned to Come Home, so I turned approximately 36 Degrees and whistled a Song to say Goodbye.

Great day for the parish.

Nancy Boy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,215 ✭✭✭✭ILoveYourVibes

Some say they do and others don't. Basically can an unattractive, low earning guy score an attractive high earning woman?

This post tells me a lot about you. And you might not like what I have to say.

It tells me that you think everyone is as shallow as you.

You wouldn't date an unattractive low earning guy. So you can't imagine why others might.

That tells me you are shallow. You also think everyone thinks the same as you. Which tells me you can't relate and understand others as its fairly clear that other people don't think this way.

I am NOT suggesting you or anyone here is an INCEL or misogynistic. I haven't seen any evidence of this in your post.

But this video reveals several key points about elliot that relate to your post. It says that basically Elliot did everything he could to TRY and appear attractive. He pretended to be rich and focused on his appearance. And he really believed he was doing everything RIGHT to attract women. So much so he couldn't see what he was doing wrong. This is because he couldn't see how others felt and thought.

Not being able to understand people ..would be a huge barrier to dating imo.