Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Opening of "No-Food" pubs pushed out again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,471 ✭✭✭MOH

Pubs and restaurants have now been closed in most of Germany, and we still had 590 people die yesterday. The huge spike in numbers here is being linked back to people meeting in large numbers in these pubs and restaurants. The flippant attitude to visiting pubs in this thread is something that will come back to haunt them. Stay at home. You can have your cans sitting in front of the TV watching rubbish on Netflix. Your precious pubs can wait.

"Here"? "We"? So you're pontificating away on the filthy Irish country pubs and all the alcoholics who drink in them and you don't even live in the country?

And now unsourced rants about how pubs and restaurants are being blamed for a spike in number in a totally different country to the one this thread is discussing.

You're also for some reason blathering about German pubs and restaurants when this thread is specifically about pubs (again, in Ireland) which don't serve food.
    But since you want to go there: restaurants opened in Ireland at the end of June, with pubs serving food quickly following. Over the next month, Covid rates increased by .... actually, they didn't. At all. If anything they marginally dropped. (source).
    (Numbers then spiked over the August bank holiday, were slowly decreasing after that, and then schools started opening at the end of August. Within 2 weeks cases were up 20%, within 3 weeks 50%. And it was all upward form then. Normally I'd say that's somewhat circumstantial, and there's possibly other factors at play. But since the governments "evidence" that opening pubs is unsafe has pretty much the same basis, this now clearly meets the gold standard of proof).

Stay in Germany, sitting in front of your TV spouting rubbish. Our precious pubs will do fine without you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,469 ✭✭✭ShyMets

MOH wrote: »
    "Here"? "We"? So you're pontificating away on the filthy Irish country pubs and all the alcoholics who drink in them and you don't even live in the country?

And now unsourced rants about how pubs and restaurants are being blamed for a spike in number in a totally different country to the one this thread is discussing.

You're also for some reason blathering about German pubs and restaurants when this thread is specifically about pubs (again, in Ireland) which don't serve food.
    But since you want to go there: restaurants opened in Ireland at the end of June, with pubs serving food quickly following. Over the next month, Covid rates increased by .... actually, they didn't. At all. If anything they marginally dropped. (source).
    (Numbers then spiked over the August bank holiday, were slowly decreasing after that, and then schools started opening at the end of August. Within 2 weeks cases were up 20%, within 3 weeks 50%. And it was all upward form then. Normally I'd say that's somewhat circumstantial, and there's possibly other factors at play. But since the governments "evidence" that opening pubs is unsafe has pretty much the same basis, this now clearly meets the gold standard of proof).

Stay in Germany, sitting in front of your TV spouting rubbish. Our precious pubs will do fine without you.

Check out the OP's posting history. He has a history of being a WUM. Best to ignore

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,023 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

mikekerry wrote: »
    what law did he actually break?
    FFS

He likely was arrested for serving alcohol in socially distanced setting but without requiring the customer to buy €9 worth of food at the same time.

And then people try to claim that this country hasn't lost the run of itself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,601 ✭✭✭2ndcoming

Passing by a hotel this evening, fairly quiet it must said. In I went and found a publican invested with common sense. Volunteered I hadn't much of an appetite, would he look the other way for a few jars. Not a bother, says he, keep it under your hat. I'm on to my fourth pint and Guinness never tasted better. Everybody wins, they're ringing the till with my custom and not a morsel of food to be had. Second time in half a week I've been able to circumvent the arbitrary nine euro nonsense. And if it ruffles the feathers of a few bores here, I'm not the least bit sorry. Each to their own and all that jazz, where there's a will there's a way. My spidey sense detects a fictional word with the Guards imminent, I'll be sure to order a few more tall ones just in case.

I read all these verbose treatises in the voice of Old Mr Brennan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 633 ✭✭✭mikekerry

He likely was arrested for serving alcohol in socially distanced setting but without requiring the customer to buy €9 worth of food at the same time.

And then people try to claim that this country hasn't lost the run of itself.

Is there an actual law for this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,319 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

Ahahaha.

Amazing that theres consequences for not following rules.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,778 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

pjohnson wrote: »
    Ahahaha.

Amazing that theres consequences for not following rules.

What's the problem here? He made sure everyone was tested. Unless of course there's a problem with the reliability of testing....uh oh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,389 ✭✭✭xhomelezz

Was listening to that pub owner yesterday on newstalk. Don't know what was he expecting, stay open and test outside the pub?? Lol

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,078 ✭✭✭IAMAMORON

I have sympathy for him and fair play for putting it up to them and being ingenuitive with his approach.

But going on the Claire Byrne show yesterday morning was a bad bad idea.

There are plenty of publicans around the country playing the game correctly and getting in some sort of semblance of trade for them to get by on. Not ideal, but they are eaking it out.

But sticking your neck out as such just gives the haters and buzzkillers something to do. I am not surprised he got arrested, he left the cops with no choice. Cops are very good at turning their backs on something if they can, but allowing chunts like Claire Byrne to get involved and then thinking that it is going to turn out well is the work of a real imbecile, he won't try that again, you would hope.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,130 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

So it’s not safe to allow customers into a pub after testing them for Covid, but it’s grand to serve them a few pints once they pay at least 9€ for food regardless of whether they eat it or not?

What a joke of a country.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

Zebra3 wrote: »
    So it’s not safe to allow customers into a pub after testing them for Covid, but it’s grand to serve them a few pints once they pay at least 9€ for food regardless of whether they eat it or not?

What a joke of a country.

Exactly, I see a bar (was going to mention it, but too many twitchers on Boards) in town have started with an initiative where instead of paying €9 for a meal that you aren't going to eat, you can pay it and it'll go to the Temple Street Foundation as they found that the amount of food going to waste was criminal, with people ordering it and not eating it. Can't see it lasting. The curtain twitchers will be out in force.

I still haven't got a reply on the law he actually broke.
    Is there an actual law that he broke resuling in his arrest?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,351 ✭✭✭✭hynesie08

Another kip that's pretending to care about the rules that they've never followed. They'll be the first ones on Facebook moaning when pubs are closed again.

Expect further arrests !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,514 ✭✭✭showpony1

Logically any pub can open with 9euro entry fee in that case.
    You'd wonder who is in charge of these places that they plaster that all over their social media a week after being allowed reopen.

showpony1 wrote: »
    Logically any pub can open with 9euro entry fee in that case.
    You'd wonder who is in charge of these places that they plaster that all over their social media a week after being allowed reopen.

I believe technically they don't even have an onsite kitchen, it's attached to a neighbouring property.... Why would you actively bring attention to yourself......

I was out last Saturday. Went into the toilet and there was a bag with 3 meals left at the sink. 3 chicken wings.

My friend came out and said the same thing, nobody came back for them, he knew the staff so told them.

It was three lads who only wanted the drinks. The food was just left to be dumped.

Such a waste of food and money.

Seems we only elect muppets in this country compared to the rest of the developed world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭Scoundrel

IAMAMORON wrote: »
    I have sympathy for him and fair play for putting it up to them and being ingenuitive with his approach.

But going on the Claire Byrne show yesterday morning was a bad bad idea.

There are plenty of publicans around the country playing the game correctly and getting in some sort of semblance of trade for them to get by on. Not ideal, but they are eaking it out.

But sticking your neck out as such just gives the haters and buzzkillers something to do. I am not surprised he got arrested, he left the cops with no choice. Cops are very good at turning their backs on something if they can, but allowing chunts like Claire Byrne to get involved and then thinking that it is going to turn out well is the work of a real imbecile, he won't try that again, you would hope.

Exactly going on national radio and announcing your're going to break the law is foolish play the game offer some sort of food charge €9 for it and move on.

I was out last Saturday. Went into the toilet and there was a bag with 3 meals left at the sink. 3 chicken wings.

My friend came out and said the same thing, nobody came back for them, he knew the staff so told them.

It was three lads who only wanted the drinks. The food was just left to be dumped.

Seems we only elect muppets in this country compared to the rest of the developed world.

Bars in the UK need a substantial meal.
    NYC drinks only with indoor dining.
    Bars in France are closed
    Czech Republic had to close their bars because they were overrun.

So should we have left pubs completely open or completely closed?

Scoundrel wrote: »
    Exactly going on national radio and announcing your're going to break the law is foolish play the game offer some sort of food charge €9 for it and move on.

But what law did he actually break to get arrested?
    Correct me if I'm wrong but aren't they just guidelines.

But what law did he actually break to get arrested?
    Correct me if I'm wrong but aren't they just guidelines.

If they're just guidelines why isn't every pub ignoring them.......

hynesie08 wrote: »
    If they're just guidelines why isn't every pub ignoring them.......

Because people are compliant .
    If they all just got together and opened up but they will never get it together to do that.
    Nobody seems to have an answer to the law that was broke?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,687 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Not a fan of beggars but they could easily just brought the food out and gave it to them if there's any in the area

Because people are compliant .
    If they all just got together and opened up but they will never get it together to do that.
    Nobody seems to have an answer to the law that was broke?
    http://www.irishstatutebook.ie/eli/2020/si/352/made/en/print

This is the revised health act which bans pubs opening without a substantial meal....

As for what law he broke? Haven't seen the arrest report but I'd imagine it's something around the public order act.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,467 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

hynesie08 wrote: »
    http://www.irishstatutebook.ie/eli/2020/si/352/made/en/print

This is the revised health act which bans pubs opening without a substantial meal....

As for what law he broke? Haven't seen the arrest report but I'd imagine it's something around the public order act.....

Probably refused to give details or co-operate. A sure fire way to piss off a gardai enough to use public order act.

I'd imagine so, people don't realise just how far reaching section 24 is.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,078 ✭✭✭IAMAMORON

Scoundrel wrote: »

It ain't what you do... it's the way that you do it.

I might get away with streaking at the Hurling Final on Sunday. But if I tell everyone I am going to do it....

Before anyone gives out I plan on wearing a mask. I wouldn't dare bring the safety of the players into contention. They don't deserve that in fairness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,947 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

Im from near this pub and have worked in bars and hotels in the area for years, ive been on many premises when raided etc and names taken etc, never ever have i seen or heard of anyone getting arrested though, even though on occasions the Guards took some stick so im mad curious as to actually happened in Eileens.

He was on local and national radio yesterday morning broadcasting to all and sundry that he was going to be defying the regs and more or less defying the Guards to do something about it but in fairness he did chose his language carefully but it was obvious what the intent was. One big publicity stunt imo, the dogs on the street knew he wouldnt last the weekend

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,913 ✭✭✭Pintman Paddy Losty

The bars name is Oscars and I've already reported them to the Gardaí.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

I still haven't got a reply on the law he actually broke.
    Is there an actual law that he broke resuling in his arrest?

No idea. There was talk of legislation, no idea if it ever came in.