LUXOBARGE (sub5k) of the week/day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,241 ✭✭✭Lurching

Truckermal wrote: »
    That's class I really miss my one, I'm so sorry I sold it now..

For €1,500 you could be back in the game!
    If my decrepit TT died in the morning, I think I'd go for something like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,204 ✭✭✭selectamatic

5 years off vintage tax sounds great but walk into the tax office today and they'll still want almost 1500 quid for the year. And the nct has 3 months left. I'm going to stick with my gut on this. He'll not get anywhere near the current asking price. Its mental imo.

Almost anyone thinking of buying with a view to vintage tax won't be fully taxing it for the next 5 years.

6 months a year at best I'd be thinking. Garage it for the other 6.

While its not cheap at €3500 I would definitely say you're wrong to think its only worth a third of that or that he's a million miles off on price.

Especially considering how strong the market is at the moment for certain 90s cars. Of which large engined ones on the way to 30 are a part of.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,964 ✭✭✭fonecrusher1

While its not cheap at €3500 I would definitely say you're wrong to think its only worth a third of that or that he's a million miles off on price.

I'll agree a third of the asking price is a bit harsh but I think he'll be lucky to get more than 2k for it. New nct due in a few months, slightly goofy looking exhaust, I also suspect the wheels are in fairly poor condition. (One of them looks ****ed)

If it was pristine with a nice bit of NCT I'd agree with you. But its not.

It's worth what someone will pay for it.
    If someone snaps it up at that price, then fair play, but I doubt they'll get many enquiries.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,964 ✭✭✭fonecrusher1

That's class I really miss my one, I'm so sorry I sold it now..

Lad I used to work with had one of these too (pre 2008 model if i recall) and he sold it and got a CT200H and says he regretted it big time. Although i'd say he doesn't regret the difference in tax. :p

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 20,584 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sam Russell

Surely a Luxobarge is a car that one would not be surprised if it was driven by a chauffer. For example :

Jaguar XJ6 2003 136k miles 3 litre.

https://www.donedeal.ie/vintagecars-for-sale/jaguar-xj6-stunning/26692964

Having said that, the Japanese Ambassador is driven round in a top Lexus, and until recently until the new ambassador took over, the Swiss ambassador was driven around by his chauffer in a GWIZ - I kid you not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,586 ✭✭✭KevRossi

Lurching wrote: »
    Surely a Luxobarge is a car that one would not be surprised if it was driven by a chauffer. For example :

https://www.donedeal.ie/vintagecars-for-sale/jaguar-xj6-stunning/26692964

Having said that, the Japanese Ambassador is driven round in a top Lexus, and until recently until the new ambassador took over, the Swiss ambassador was driven around by his chauffer in a GWIZ - I kid you not.

Neither of them has a valid NCT, Jag ia over 12 months out, Lexus out 10 months. Buyer beware.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 20,584 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sam Russell

KevRossi wrote: »
    Neither of them has a valid NCT, Jag ia over 12 months out, Lexus out 10 months. Buyer beware.

I did not check the NCT status on the Jag, but it does look nice.

I know this is discussed here about once a week, but luxury doesn't depend on having a chauffeur for me. For me, it's executive level company cars and above, hence why I'd rule out the 520D. The GS300 is very borderline.

Well, I would be surprised to see a 520D driven by a chauffer with an ambassador in the back, but not an XJ6. It is not that it is driven by a chauffer, but someone with a chauffer would be happy in the back of that particular model. A slightly different test. Another test, would you rather being driven in it that driving it - a question of how comfortable it is overall, rather than road holding.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,308 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

As the NCT is due 09/02/2021 and they say "Needs a bushing in the rear for nct", I'm guessing that they tried to put it through an early NCT, but it failed?

As a rule, if they say "will pass the NCT with this one cheap part", I avoid. If it was a cheap fix, they'd have done it themselves! Came across a load of these chancers last time I was looking for a car.

the_syco wrote: »
    As the NCT is due 09/02/2021 and they say "Needs a bushing in the rear for nct", I'm guessing that they tried to put it through an early NCT, but it failed?

As a rule, if they say "will pass the NCT with this one cheap part", I avoid. If it was a cheap fix, they'd have done it themselves! Came across a load of these chancers last time I was looking for a car.

I've never bought a car without an nct where the seller swears its good to go just needs one or two bits done. Its just a rule I have. No matter how much the seller proclaims "it'll fly through!" If it'll fly through drive on and get it sorted and i'll make you an offer afterwards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 18,449 ✭✭✭✭elperello

If you are buying without NCT there should be no premium added to the price for the opinion of the seller on it's chances of passing.

If youthink it's worth a punt then go ahead and make an offer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,086 ✭✭✭✭Duke O Smiley

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/mercedes-benz-s320-cdi-low-mil-cheap-tax-top-spec/26733891?campaign=3

ODg3NDg2NzZiNzY4OTJkMTVlZTRmYzFhZDk5MWMxMWMv4s6qx9gcl1OZ-IDvPmzTaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b18xNjQ3NTQ0Nzl8fHw2MDB4NjAwfHx8fHx8fHw=.jpeg

NTkwZDQ0MGM5MGY1MjkwZDhhNzM4MzYxZWVmYTQ3NzPv-o0XtUa5bQjVatoohmyCaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b18xNjQ3NTQ0ODd8fHw2MDB4NjAwfHx8fHx8fHw=.jpeg

A curiously very well spec'd diesel S Class - heated and cooled seats front and back, night vision, adaptive cruise etc

S500 badges are ridiculous, and not sure how the owner has deemed the nearly 170k miles to be "low" - but it still could be worth checkin out for anyone in the market. Heap of alleged recent (and expensive) work done too

And only €750 tax!

Dreamer money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,685 ✭✭✭Padre_Pio

Dreamer money.

Not only S500 badge, but 500 number plate:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,575 ✭✭✭Rows Grower

Dreamer money.

But, but, but, night vision!

It has night vision!

Also looks like it was used as a mobile lap dancing venue, but it does have night vision.

"Very soon we are going to Mars. You wouldn't have been going to Mars if my opponent won, that I can tell you. You wouldn't even be thinking about it."

Donald Trump, March 13th 2018.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,818 ✭✭✭Tea drinker

Also looks like it was used as a mobile lap dancing venue,
    I'm a bit innocent, what gives it away?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,914 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

Id argue that 170k miles is low mileage for that type of car at that age.
    The 500 plate is a major problem though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,208 ✭✭✭jmreire

I did not check the NCT status on the Jag, but it does look nice.

Definitely! Really looks the part. I'm pretty sure that some Jaguar aficionado will snap it up pretty quick though, and take the chance on the NCT etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,715 ✭✭✭traco

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/mercedes-benz-s320-cdi-low-mil-cheap-tax-top-spec/26733891?campaign=3

A curiously very well spec'd diesel S Class - heated and cooled seats front and back, night vision, adaptive cruise etc

S500 badges are ridiculous, and not sure how the owner has deemed the nearly 170k miles to be "low" - but it still could be worth checkin out for anyone in the market. Heap of alleged recent (and expensive) work done too

And only €750 tax!

Not bad spec but not top top either. Rear seats have no heating or cooling as rear door pic only shows the electric window. If it had rear heating and cooling there would be the same switches in the rear door panel as the the front.

Distronic is good to have, night vison is grand and cool to have. It and the night vision could have been 5-6k alone. I really need to find an 07/08 options price list.

If all that work is done on the engine then it should be well sorted. I'd be verifying all reciepts though at that price but if everything was legit and well done then its a lot of car. Still a bit on the high side but if there is scope for negotiation then it could be worth a look.

I'm not a fan of the grey interior, but thats just me. A good clean might take the shine off it and improve it a lot. I'm making no comment on the 500 and AMG badge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,691 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

How is it e750 lads? Wasnt it 1200 from 2008 until.2010 or thereabouts? So buy this for 8 or an 07 for 3500k...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,166 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

Idbatterim wrote: »
    How is it e750 lads? Wasnt it 1200 from 2008 until.2010 or thereabouts? So buy this for 8 or an 07 for 3500k...

I can't figure that out either. according to motortax.ie it is in the 171-190 band but that engine puts out 225g/km

I checked it on the motor tax.ie car reg checker. It says e750 alright. I reckon it was a mistake made at registration a very beneficial one...

At that point though, spending near 8k, I'd just go and spend extra few k and get the facelift... reverse camera is handy ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,242 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

also the rear has no heated or cooled seats and they're the fixed rear seats. This was definitely bought by a lad who was driving the car on his own , wanted to impress the lads down the golf club but scammed the lower tax.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,043 ✭✭✭Truckermal

Same rate of tax as my fooking Laguna....:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,885 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

Same rate of tax as my fooking Laguna....:(

And double that of my daily.

Ugh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,204 ✭✭✭selectamatic

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/lexus-gs-300/26714163

OTE0ZWZjYWYzOGYzZmJmYTFmOWE1Nzg5YzIyNjg2ZmGSI44O6TX1F5AOLW_LdDfgaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b18xNjQ0ODU3MTB8fHw2MDB4NjAwfHx8fHx8fHw=.jpeg

Tidy looking Mk1 GS300 with NCT til next year and 1 previous owner

Needs a bit of de-skangering, but could be a nice buy for €3k if this is your sort of thing

Sold.

Next car if it's a 2010 etc on you can get decent power and reasonable motor tax in a petrol. Needle in hay stacks is the only problem short of importing. The thieving government scumbags can enjoy their last year or two of rip off motor tax from myself and mates, before we change and they'll be getting e390 etc instead of e1809.

Although the s500 from 2011 on 435bhp twin turbo, 1200 to tax and sits just below the e2350 rate, so contemplating that or s350 e570 tax and 306 BhP, 0-100 in 6.9 though, not bad for that barge, but would like bit more power

Will keep current car for another year or two, those cars I mentioned still losing several k a year in depreciation...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,017 ✭✭✭McCrack

Thieving government scumbags....

I thought re covid for example the State stepped in with decent pandemic supports for employees and also businesses with wage subsidy scheme and grants/tax breaks as is right

Some people must think money grows on trees and the same people that bemoan will gladly stick out and take with their little grubby hand from the "thieving government scumbags".