Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Trump vs Biden 2020, Day 64 of the Pennsylvania count (pt 5) Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,435 ✭✭✭✭hotmail.com

They only care because Trump or Boris is running the show. Doesn't seem like anyone gives a toss about Italy, Belgium etc. Must be no relations living in these countries.
    Bolsenaro was another one who was getting slated. Must be a few grannies living in Brazil.

It's very transparent. All show

Yeah I agree. How does anyone in Ireland give a toss about what's happening in South Dakota or Nevada.

It doesn't add up.

Death tolls are enormous in Belgium and Italy and I'm guessing many here haven't even bothered to look at the reasons for their death tolls.

Oh but Trump...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,748 ✭✭✭ExMachina1000

Yeah I agree. How does anyone in Ireland give a toss about what's happening in South Dakota or Nevada.

It doesn't add up.

Same posters will be giving out about plastic paddy Americans come March 17th!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 930 ✭✭✭one armed dwarf

Same posters will be giving out about plastic paddy Americans come March 17th!

Yeah, having concern for the wellbeing of relatives abroad is very much equivalent to this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,502 ✭✭✭✭astrofool

It doesn't add up.

Death tolls are enormous in Belgium and Italy and I'm guessing many here haven't even bothered to look at the reasons for their death tolls.

Oh but Trump...

There's an entire thread focusing on Sweden over on the COVID forum, along with discussions on lots of other countries (there is an Italian guy giving regular updates on Italy), given this is a US election thread, then people will of course be talking about how stupid trump is at being a president.

However, what is your point? That people only talk about US deaths as some sort of point scoring? That people can't highlight how badly the current US administration has done in response to a pandemic, and seemingly, doubled down on dealing with it in various stupid ways? If an Irish/French/Italian politician recommends injecting disinfectant and using UV radiation inside the body, you can bet it would have it's own thread somewhere (sarcastically I'm sure).

We'll see how Biden does by following the medical experts, however, I think we can all agree that it's almost impossible to do worse than the trump administration (post pandemic, the biggest problem Biden will have is dealing with the crazy amount of debt trump has built up with his useless big government low tax policies).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,926 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

There is a large pretence in Ireland that they care about the American death toll.
    I lived there, I have lots of friends and relatives there. I loved the country when I lived there. I may eventually reside there again, as a time share with Ireland.
    I care greatly about what's going on there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,474 ✭✭✭Obvious Desperate Breakfasts

Iv seen plenty of posts along the lines of "where are the Trump supporters gone hiding " etc. People want to keep the argument going. They have nothing else to talk about. Trump losing is bittersweet for them. Hes out but on the other hand there is now a hole in their daily routine.

Can’t speak for anyone else but, for me, Trump’s slow but steady retreat from news headlines has been a joy. I find him intensely irritating and I cannot wait until I don’t have to hear from him again.

Trump will live on forever in this thread and the few others on the site.
    You might not hear from him but you will always hear about him.
    Unfollow is surely your next step?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,019 ✭✭✭✭duploelabs

There's a distinct possibility he won't have any media presence at all for a few years, social or conventional, so there's always hope

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,474 ✭✭✭Obvious Desperate Breakfasts

I chose to write in this thread but apart from that, with him getting less headlines, it has become very easy to avoid him now which wasn’t the case for the last four years. He’s an attention-seeker so naturally he’ll still flap his gums from time to time but he won’t have the same elevated platform to do so. I am already noticing his increased absence and it is good. What a relief.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,376 ✭✭✭fly_agaric

They only care because Trump or Boris is running the show. Doesn't seem like anyone gives a toss about Italy, Belgium etc. Must be no relations living in these countries.
    Bolsenaro was another one who was getting slated. Must be a few grannies living in Brazil.

It's very transparent. All show

The leaders you mention got personally "slated" because of the nonsense they came out with during this pandemic & how they behaved [aside from their countries responses & how their leadership damaged them]. The whole shower of them caught the virus too. That didn't help.

Bit of a failure to understand others there.
    I think you are judging them by how you approach everything in politics (zero sum games, team blue wins, team red loses etc).
    As regards Irish people's interest in the US or UK response in particular the reasons for that are fairly obvious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,227 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Iv seen plenty of posts along the lines of "where are the Trump supporters gone hiding " etc. People want to keep the argument going. They have nothing else to talk about. Trump losing is bittersweet for them. Hes out but on the other hand there is now a hole in their daily routine.

Yeah, because no one had anything to talk about before 2016 and Trump is app anyone has spoken about since........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,285 ✭✭✭✭everlast75

*Checks thread title*

Umm.....

Elect a clown... Expect a circus

fly_agaric wrote: »
    The leaders you mention got personally "slated" because of the nonsense they came out with during this pandemic & how they behaved [aside from their countries responses & how their leadership damaged them]. The whole shower of them caught the virus too. That didn't help.

Bit of a failure to understand others there.
    I think you are judging them by how you approach everything in politics (zero sum games, team blue wins, team red loses etc).
    As regards Irish people's interest in the US or UK response in particular the reasons for that are fairly obvious.

None of the faux concerned posters have a history of anti Trump posting pre covid. Almost as if it's just a coincidence

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,227 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

eagle eye wrote: »
    Letting skiers home without self-isolating, letting Italian rugby fans come here, Cheltenham, not listening to NPHET when they recommended level 5 the first time?

That's a long way from ridiculing people for wearing masks, denying covid is an issue at all (despite knowing early on that it was a major one) , claiming hoax, abusing the head of the medical team on Twitter and in press conferences because he doesn't play down the pandemic and toe the line among a catalog of other **** blaming everyone and refusing to entertain any motion of responsibility himself.

Making mistakes is not even in the same conversation as that ****.

The whole system of American presidents not having to attend any level of government outside of their own cabinet of potential yes men they surround themselves with is stupid imo. They should be a +1 in the senate or the house and have to attend and be part of it, being subject to be questioned at times mo.

None of the faux concerned posters have a history of anti Trump posting pre covid. Almost as if it's just a coincidence

So he didn't have a good reputation prior to it? If anything his handling of the virus is a culmination of the actions during his presidency... He continued to make everything about himself.

I've called him a despicable racist a$$hole since before he announced his presidency, so personally I can't relate to that statement.

For others however, his gross incompetence brought him into sharp focus and has made him the poster boy of "how not to handle a pandemic".

Btw - do you solely come on here to slate people who criticise Trump? You don't defend him. Other than that, all I see is whataboutery...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,502 ✭✭✭✭astrofool

Anyone who knows about trump, knows he's an idiot since at least the 80's, his exploits at dwindling his daddy's money knows no bounds, and this is just his latest scheme to keep it going. The man is a moron.

But again, what is your point? That now more people know how much of a moron he is due to his inept handling of a pandemic, or that they're just using the pandemic to bash him needlessly, because otherwise he's great?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,044 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

LOL

Crying because Trump and Johnson get criticism.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,060 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

None? Check my posting history and admit you completely over reached with a sweeping statement once again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,376 ✭✭✭fly_agaric

I thought your "they" was wider than a few posters and encompassed all (or most) people who have been critical of the US response to Coronavirus but not as aware of or critical of death rate/failures in other countries (i.e. "they" in general focus on the US because they hate Trump).
    I don't bother to keep track of or remember other people's posts apart from ones where I've personally engaged with them, or perhaps "thanked" etc.

I criticised Trump pre-pandemic because he is objectively quite awful and should never have gotten within an asses roar of such a powerful position as US president. How he behaved and how his administration failed the US (and to some extent the whole world given how powerful & influential the US is) during this crisis illustrated how unsuited he was.

edit:His behaviour after the election is even more damning as regards unsuitability.
    It's very dangerous to give athoritiarians who have no respect for or belief in the "system"/democracy large amounts of political power. The US just about got away with it this time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,406 ✭✭✭PropJoe10

What are you even on about? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,963 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

Well I cant speak for anybody else but I've been calling him as arsehole since he ran in 2016.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,527 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

everlast75 wrote: »

The White House is the hottest disease zone in the world

Well I for one am shocked, given how serious trump & his team have been treating the pandemic all the precautions etc that they have been taking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,392 ✭✭✭✭Professor Moriarty

Rudy is 76 and doesn't look healthy at the best of times. Good luck to him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,615 ✭✭✭Cody montana

Pray for covid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 930 ✭✭✭one armed dwarf

Tbh I'd thought he already had it by now, he looked like **** a few weeks ago at that press event (melting hair dye one), then his son tests positive the next day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,926 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

Pray for covid.

That's despicable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,270 ✭✭✭Buford T Justice

No surprise there. Was only a matter of time really. Surprised it took as long as it did really.