Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Opening of "No-Food" pubs pushed out again

Wait till Stephens day and New years eve. There will be house parties all over the country. Come January when the numbers rise they will blame the pubs again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,036 ✭✭✭growleaves

MrStuffins wrote: »
    Nobody NEEDS house parties!

Well they do since house parties are a just way of seeing other human beings, which is a need. So they either need that or some close equivalent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,446 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

growleaves wrote: »
    Well they do since house parties are a just way of seeing other human beings, which is a need. So they either need that or some close equivalent.

House parties are one of myriad ways to see people.

That doesn't mean people NEED house parties.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,586 ✭✭✭Charles Babbage

Wait till Stephens day and New years eve. There will be house parties all over the country. Come January when the numbers rise they will blame the pubs again

No, they'll blame the gurriers at the parties.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 205 ✭✭Dayo93

Next sentence...

Night meet day.

If u can't get the context I'll say no more , ah bertie is it .......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33 didyoufart?

6 wrote: »
    LOL. No it won't.

House parties occur regardless.

And always house parties after pubs, always!

They will if they allow proper closing times.

Country pubs last drinks are meant to be 12.30 PM but usually serve till about 2.30AM.

The whole out the door thing at 11.30 with covid restrictions is just plain stupid, your going to go back to a house for drinks at that time. Pub

The weird thing is, these lads are going on like "People will have house parties anyway, so we should be allowed have a free for all in the pubs".

I might as well go rob a week's shop from my local Aldi. "Here, people are robbing stuff in loads of other shops, so I should be able to do it here".

The weird thing is, these lads are going on like "People will have house parties anyway, so we should be allowed have a free for all in the pubs".

I might as well go rob a week's shop from my local Aldi. "Here, people are robbing stuff in loads of other shops, so I should be able to do it here".

What point are you trying to make?

The whole out the door thing at 11.30 is just plain stupid, your going to go back to a house for drinks at that time

Or, if you're responsible, you're not.

And isn't that the argument being put forward? People should be trusted enough to frequent the pubs with no restrictions?

If what you're saying is true, that people will go to the pub, get drunk and then act the b*llocks, then pub restrictions need to be in place to save the rest of us from these idiots

Or, if you're responsible, you're not.

And isn't that the argument being put forward? People should be trusted enough to frequent the pubs with no restrictions?

If what you're saying is true, that people will go to the pub, get drunk and then act the b*llocks, then pub restrictions need to be in place to save the rest of us from these idiots

I don't think anyone mentioned a free for all in the pubs, enter the pub, social distance and have the social interaction and drink your nine or ten pints in a regulated environment and go home.

If pubs aren't open house parties going to be rampant .

Guards actually inspected pubs when they were open last.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 837 ✭✭✭John O.Groats

And guess what. They would be correct. Hopefully the new garda powers will be enforced over the Christmas/New Year period. If morons act iresponsibly let them suffer the consequences.

What's a gaurd going to do in all honesty. People have copped on and even installed IP cameras on their front and back doors and the house parties are generally in bungalows.

Id be surprised if they even did get in and probably only catch 0.0001% of house parties actually happening around ireland and that's from nosy neighbours complaining.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 915 ✭✭✭never_mind

PTH2009 wrote: »

He’s not wrong, in fairness... you go to a pub with mates... ah sure we will go back to mine etc

What's a gaurd going to do in all honesty. People have copped on and even installed IP cameras on their front and back doors and the house parties are generally in bungalows.

Id be surprised if they even did get in and probably only catch 0.0001% of house parties actually happening around ireland and that's from nosy neighbours complaining.

You seem to have a lot of inside knowledge about this. Been at a few of them yourself maybe?

I don't think anyone mentioned a free for all in the pubs

It's been mentioned loads of times on this thread.

never_mind wrote: »
    He’s not wrong, in fairness... you go to a pub with mates... ah sure we will go back to mine etc

And it's these people who are the reason we need to have these restrictions in place. The lads who will act the b*llocks in the pub!

Just because they act the maggot at home doesn't mean we give them carte blanche to do it in public places as well

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,612 ✭✭✭Gervais08

The Level 3 that we had in October where pubs with an outside space could open for 15 - are we going back to that ?

You seem to have a lot of inside knowledge about this. Been at a few of them yourself maybe?

There's house parties happening in every countryside, village, town, city in Ireland.

Yes I have been at plenty of them. Some with 50 plus in a house but generally around 20.

Usually try to get to two a week.

And it's these people who are the reason we need to have these restrictions in place. The lads who will act the b*llocks in the pub!

Just because they act the maggot at home doesn't mean we give them carte blanche to do it in public places as well

Ffs do you think every pub going person horses around with a jar in them ???

Idiotic suggestion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,637 ✭✭✭votecounts

Gervais08 wrote: »
    The Level 3 that we had in October where pubs with an outside space could open for 15 - are we going back to that ?
    nope. wet pubs closed until the new year or after lockdown 3

Ffs do you think every pub going person horses around with a jar in them ???

Idiotic suggestion.

No. But it doesn't take many. People are doing it up and down the country.

There's a post literally a few posts back from a fella saying he's going to two house parties a week. This is what I'm talking about.

votecounts wrote: »
    nope. wet pubs closed until the new year or after lockdown 3

Ridiculous that - that wanker Holohan and his “gastropub” ****e. He has zero clue about rural Ireland. Muppet he is.

No. But it doesn't take many. People are doing it up and down the country. Look at your fella for example....

See what I mean?

And the reason its happening is because the pubs or shut.

No. But it doesn't take many. People are doing it up and down the country.

Seen them all have you ?

Perhaps we should be reporting you for travelling to document this?

And the reason its happening is because the pubs or shut.

Yeah, I know!

If we can't trust people like you not to put us all at risk in private, we can't trust you to do it in public either.

There are too many people doing what you're doing and it's leading to tough decisions needing to be made.

Seen them all have you ?

I'm just taking this poster at his word.
    There's house parties happening in every countryside, village, town, city in Ireland.

Yes I have been at plenty of them. Some with 50 plus in a house but generally around 20.

Having trouble keeping up with the thread?

Really? Well then if this is true then no wonder cases have not fallen as quickly as they should have. Confirms what I thought all along. Anyway enjoy your house parties while you still can. On the law of averages you will eventually be rumbled but sure that won`t bother you will it?

I'm just taking this poster at his word.

Having trouble keeping up with the thread?

Not at all, point im trying to get across is would you rather people drinking in a regulated environment where the guards check up on for social distancing like the last time pubs were open or unregulated house parties?

Ridiculous that - that wanker Holohan and his “gastropub” ****e. He has zero clue about rural Ireland. Muppet he is.

And you think you do? Are you living in a rural area yourself?

Really? Well then if this is true then no wonder cases have not fallen as quickly as they should have. Confirms what I thought all along. Anyway enjoy your house parties while you still can. On the law of averages you will eventually be rumbled but sure that won`t bother you will it?

Rumbled by what, Covid? Probably already had it but wouldn't know as 80% of people who get it have extremely mild symptoms or are asymtomatic.

Not my fault the government made a **** of the nursing homes where 50% of deaths occurred