Opinions on onlyfans and adult entertainment industry

sasta le wrote: »
    The other lady pushing this Megan J Renee I've been told she does Onlyfans and Webcam girl and it's well know in Limerick.
    But looking at her Twitter and media bits she never mentions she is a sex worker

Why would she need to mention her occupation?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,192 ✭✭✭✭banie01

sasta le wrote: »
    The other lady pushing this Megan J Renee I've been told she does Onlyfans and Webcam girl and it's well know in Limerick.
    But looking at her Twitter and media bits she never mentions she is a sex worker

Are Megan J Renee, and Megan Sims one and the same?
    I mean Megan Sims is victimsalliance.ie's head of image based sexual abuse?

Well if doesn't mention it?
    Advertise it somewhere?

How else would people find her to avail of her service?
    Why was there a rush to remove onlyfans links from other social media?

And any opinion on the doxxing yet?

banie01 wrote: »
    Are Megan J Renee, and Megan Sims one and the same?
    I mean Megan Sims is victimsalliance.ie's head of image based sexual abuse?

Funnily enough, having seen pictures of the two of them..

I don't know..

They're both going for the aspiring porn star look, and look fairly similar..but couldn't tell you Tbh..

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,583 ✭✭✭sasta le

Well if she posts sexual images online herself she has to accept risk of them being seen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,202 ✭✭✭✭anewme

seamus wrote: »
    It's not, and there are valid frustrations here.

The archive contains identifiable information. When the group contacted the Gardai they were told not to look through it (as it may contain child porn), and that they should not contact anyone in it because that could compromise the investigation.

Now the Gardai have said that they can't do anything about it unless one of the people in the leak makes a complaint. But nobody who is in it, knows they are in it, because nobody has contacted them.

It's a "between two stools" kind of issue. Because at this stage it's probably considered a data breach more than anything else (which is outside the Gardai's remit), and there is no specific evidence nor complaint that anything in there was not permitted to be.

But you can understand the frustration. Imagine you found out that someone had been flying a drone over the country, taking pictures of people sunbathing in their back gardens and storing them along with location details. The first thing you'd want to know is whether you were in it, so you could make a complaint. But you wouldn't be allowed to know whether you were in it, in order to make the complaint.

Seeing as the Gardai have decided there is no child porn in it, it would make the most sense now for this victim's group to actually go through the archive and use the contact details therein to notify the people who are in it. It's legally grey (a Data protection issue at worst), but very unlikely to land them in any hot water.

Very good summary and that makes perfect sense.

The other side of it is that we can't see what the pictures actually are and how they were stored and commented on, so that would be another issue. If you thought all and sundry were commenting on a family photo or an instagram photo of your family member, you'd go legal on it. But you dont know, what you dont know, as you say.

The question now is will the new legislation cover both private photos and the Only Fans type of photos - it remains to be seen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

Only in Ireland

Porn stars complain about people looking at their photos on line ,
    Wonder what would happen if they cross matched the names from onlyfans with revenue to social welfare ,
    I'd hazard a guess none of them are one system and plenty are on another

So Harris has actually done far more than just say no victims identified.

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/crime-and-law/garda%C3%AD-receive-no-complaints-about-sharing-of-intimate-images-online-says-harris-1.4419358

Also of note.

That new charity's effort at a blockbuster...
    Has fallen flat on its face.
    Actual victims of such crimes as blackmail, coercive control and any other form of Sexual Image based abuse have been used as fodder by Linda Hayden and co in an effort to protect monetisation.
    They have been victimised in a new and insidious manner by people courting media while purporting to protect them.
    A travesty, and an actual injustice there that will be just ignored because if and when an issue does become apparent?
    Now it'll be what about the UCD200? What about the OnlyFans leak? Because neither had any substance on review and both will be used to dismiss further reports of actual harm.

Those who cheerled this effort, honestly!
    For the sake of a little critical review, thought and questioning?
    A lot of harm for the future, and victims being maligned could have been avoided.

https://twitter.com/teflondub/status/1331762330363944960?s=19

How many new subscriptions did she get with her social media I'm a little victim campaign

Nice to see you back, any opinion yourself?
    Or are you merely continuing to repeat what you seem to have been told to?

Any disputation to the inference your failure to address Linda doxxing a child lends?

As for throwing herself under a bus?
    I'm sure her actions have led to quite a few extra views on her Onlyfans.
    So hardly.

The only people thrown under the bus by conflating revenge porn with copyright infringement are the actual victims of blackmail, coercive control and abuse based on images they shared privately or had stolen from them.

Those are the people left wondering what credibility can be assigned to them now they may well be lumped in with onlyfans girls.
    The only people hurt are them, and they have my sympathy.
    I hope they bypass victimsalliance completely and engage with one of the professional women's and victim support services.

Earlier you said you knew of one instance of blackmail arising out of this?
    The Garda commissioner has said there is none, which is it?

Gatling wrote: »
    How many new subscriptions did she get with her social media I'm a little victim campaign

I get the feeling the lovely Megan has fallen under the influence of activist types..
    The BLM, direct provision in the bio..and the she/her too..

I get the feeling the lovely Megan has fallen under the influence of activist types..

Activism is grand, it's how change starts.
    Have no issue with that, and I'm parent to a kid is incredibly politically motivated and involved.
    I wouldn't get too bogged down in that aspect at all tbh.

Interestingly however, Andrew's tweet paste does confirm that Megan J Renee and Megan Sims are one and the same.
    The head of sexual image abuse at the newly minted victims advocacy service is a woman who produces porn.
    Not at all a difficult thing to reconcile when your counselling someone who's cloud account has been hacked and your personal photos shared.
    You are a victim of crime, she's lost a revenue stream.

Activism is grand, it's how change starts.
    Have no issue with that, and I'm parent to a kid is incredibly politically motivated and involved.

I dunno really..I think there can be a push to activism that isn't necessarily positive..Like, are we to seriously listen to this young one's input in writing law in this country..Yeah, she's personally affected, but like, she's "grown up" thinking the Kardashians were something to be aspired to..

Not only is she personally affected she is adamant she's a victim.
    When I say activism is grand, I should have qualified that a little more.
    It is if you can defend your stance, convince others what should or could be changed and build consensus towards changing that.
    Activism as a fashion accessory? Taking a stance without applying some critical thought to who, what, why, where, when or how?
    That's just idiocy ;)

There's no safe space or echo chamber allowed, you have to change minds not shout until people just switch off.

Now the gardaí are wrong btw ;)
    They are arranging support (always good) for anyone who wishes to make a statement.

Shocking, isn't it. Activist women. They'll be looking for the vote next.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,700 ✭✭✭Padre_Pio

She's just finding out what the music industry found out 20 years ago. If you put content on the internet, expect it to get stolen.

Nice to see you back, any opinion yourself?
    Or are you merely continuing to repeat what you seem to have been told to?

Any disputation to the inference your failure to address Linda doxxing a child lends?

As for throwing herself under a bus?
    I'm sure her actions have led to quite a few extra views on her Onlyfans.
    So hardly.

The only people thrown under the bus by conflating revenge porn with copyright infringement are the actual victims of blackmail, coercive control and abuse based on images they shared privately or had stolen from them.

Those are the people left wondering what credibility can be assigned to them now they may well be lumped in with onlyfans girls.
    The only people hurt are them, and they have my sympathy.
    I hope they bypass victimsalliance completely and engage with one of the professional women's and victim support services.

Earlier you said you knew of one instance of blackmail arising out of this?
    The Garda commissioner has said there is none, which is it?

You lied with your claim that I said that the NZ lad had it coming to him. I never said any such thing. You tried to justify your lie with some nonsense about what I didn't say. Apparently I'm supposed to deny something now in order to get a little honesty about what I actually said - the old 'Have you stopped beating your wife yet' technique.

And now you've added a further lie - that I'm somehow being 'told to' say things by somebody. As I said before, why you lie?

I've said very little about the NZ situation, because, funnily enough, I know very little about the NZ situation. I know that's a fairly novel approach round here on boards, but it works for me. I've seen your claims about IP address tracking, but (taking a leaf out of your book), I've seen no evidence of this myself so it clearly never happened.

The Garda Commissioner has NOT said that there are no instances of blackmail or harassment. He has said that Gardai have no reports

This might be a surprise to you, but her views on the law are just as important as yours.

Would be nice if they weren't all clones of each other with exactly the same set of beliefs about everything. The real rebels these days are the pro life Trump loving types.

You lied with your claim that I said that the NZ lad had it coming to him. I never said any such thing. You tried to justify your lie with some nonsense about what I didn't say. Apparently I'm supposed to deny something now in order to get a little honesty about what I actually said - the old 'Have you stopped beating your wife yet' technique.

And now you've added a further lie - that I'm somehow being 'told to' say things by somebody. As I said before, why you lie?

I've said very little about the NZ situation, because, funnily enough, I know very little about the NZ situation. I know that's a fairly novel approach round here on boards, but it works for me. I've seen your claims about IP address tracking, but (taking a leaf out of your book), I've seen no evidence of this myself so it clearly never happened.

The Garda Commissioner has NOT said that there are no instances of blackmail or harassment. He has said that Gardai have no reports

So the Gardaí are wrong and criminal activity in relation to this cache has occured?
    Well you'd better tell them then...
    Make them aware or do you need an explanation of what legislation the offender could be charged under?

Andrew this has been explained to you multiple times.
    There was no lie, the sentence you have issue with has a qualifier.
    Go back and re-read a few times should you still not grasp it fully.

Much like the Gardaí drawing an inference from someone's refusal to answer...
    Given how many times you refused to engage in whether you agreed Linda's actions were right.
    Inferring you agree with her actions is quite reasonable.
    If you wish to disavow me of the notion?
    Go back, pick any one of the multiple times you were asked and address it with something better than
    Honestly, if you're best argument is that the 16 year old lad might get a slap from his mammy if she's in a bad mood, you're on fairly shaky ground.
    because condoning a possible violent reaction is a bit extreme.
    You dodged and diminished the possibility of a violent reaction from the parents everytime it was raised.
    So let's try this instead.

What actual harm was imposed on the girls it is claimed that this boy shared images belonging to?
    I note that there is talk about mental trauma and self harm?

Let's imagine the doxxed NZ boy's mother didn't "just give him a slap"?
    Let's imagine she labelled her child a sex abuser?
    It's not a huge leap to think he might spiral into depression or self harm is it?

So I'll ask you again, what is your opinion of the actions Linda undertook in doxxing a child?

As for how she tracked the child down, I do know you mentioned earlier perhaps it was via twitter?
    That may well be.
    The mechanics of the how are important however?

If she parsed info such as usernames, twitter, web posting history and perhaps even an email header to lockdown the boys identity?
    That would be a quite impressive feat.
    No less wrong, and the problem I have with her undertaking it that way at all?
    Well, it's really down the wealth of talent brought to bear on the victimsalliance website.

If however she obtained the IP from discord?
    Discord has only 2 ways to do that, without it being disclosed by discord on foot of warrant.
    1 is to trick the targeted user to open an IP grabber.
    The other is to be the server admin.

So how the boy was located has a huge bearing on the whole story.
    But however she found him, from 12000 miles away she decided to identify and inform his family members of his alleged activity?
    Bit hypocritical, nah?

Isn't that precisely what she's advocating against?
    So I'd like to know how she sourced the boys ID?
    I"d like to know how she ensured it was the boy and not someone else at the home address?
    I'd like to know why a victims rights activist chose to abuse a child in the same manner she is professing to be against.
    I'd like to know what due process she afforded the child before she undertook the doxxing?
    I'd like to know why if there was evidence to doxx a child?
    Why that evidence was not passed to NZ police for prosecution.
    One can't be a victims right advocate for one class of victim whilst victimising another.

And not a lie regarding your opinions Andrew merely an observation.
    I could well be wrong, but unless you are "TonyDaDub"
    The Twitter link you posted without comment?

Well buddy,... That was someone else's opinion wasn't it?

Imagine your not bother to hear amnesty international wants them lose representation if they don't agree that women have penises and testicles , because it's considered far right hate speech

You might want to try that in English at some stage, ideally with a source to support whatever claim you are making.

Look it up yourself .

It's all self service these days

Look it up yourself .

It's all self service these days

I tried putting it through Google Translate but it came back with "Sorry, I can't make any sense of this pile of crap, but it looks like yer man has spent a bit too long hanging round with extreme right wingers".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,798 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

Conflating copyright infringement with sexual assault is f*cking moronic. It's extremely simple: If something was sent as a direct message to someone else, they have a reasonable expectation of privacy and the law should punish people who violate that. If it was published - whether to a selective audience or a general one - there should be a reasonable expectation that it will become publicly available.

The hijacking of the revenge porn issue by people who are pissed that the internet doesn't tend to respect copyright, and the attempts to conflate copyright infringement with sexual abuse, is absurd, obnoxious and frankly an insult to the victims of genuine sexual abuse, image-based or otherwise.

If somebody has a sex scene in a mainstream film - say, any bond movie ever produced - and that film gets torrented by millions of people, has that actor or actress suffered "image based sexual abuse"? They have in their bollix. It's a joke that we're even having this conversation, frankly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,798 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

It actually amazes me that victims' groups aren't distancing themselves from the copyright bandwagoners, to be honest. It must be extremely insulting and hurtful to a victim of having their intimate images shared publicly without their consent, to see people hijacking their cause for purely financially motivated reasons. F*ck them and what they're doing. The revenge porn issue is a serious one which needs to be addressed and those seeking to use it to sneak new copyright laws in through the back door are creating a serious risk of the whole issue being totally undermined and ridiculed in the eyes of the general public.

I tried putting it through Google Translate

Total fail but hey

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,115 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

It must be extremely insulting and hurtful to a victim of having their intimate images shared publicly without their consent, to see people hijacking their cause for purely financially motivated reasons

The behaviour of the latter may well have dissuaded the former from coming forward and weirdly nobody seems to be making that point publicly.

It's not helping I'd say.

You several twitter accounts making various claims of whats In this leaks including thousands of cp images and videos , nobody has come across anything online then the top guard says no cp found ,

Meanwhile the same twitter accounts operate on onlyfans streaming their porn that they want people locked up for 7 years for sharing images and videos they pay for .

Anyone who makes a claim in the future will be fobbed off ah sure didn't your on twitter say there was tens of thousands of images and videos leaked nobody could find what makes you any different

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,368 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

MAybe we need a ''Now you're talking to a teenage OnlyFans model'' thread.

It could be an in sight to that mind set .