Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid 19 Part XXVIII- 71,942 ROI(2,050 deaths) 51,824 NI (983 deaths) (28/11) Read OP

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 547 ✭✭✭BeefeaterHat

khalessi wrote: »
    Well they manage the school vaccination programme so this should be a piece of cake

Our vaccine task force have yet to even meet. The Uk have already started training their NHS staff and have gotten the army involved. All of Scotland could be vaccinated by spring.

Germany have already asked the 16 states to get the addresses for the vaccination centres picked out. Japan hope to have everyone vaccinated by Summer.

It's going to be 6-12 months of dithering and excuses while we look like the slow kid at the back of the class

hmmm wrote: »
    Yes. It's a once in a hopefully 100 year pandemic and people have to make sacrifices to avoid large-scale suffering - some more than others. This could have been like 1918 which killed younger people, and we'd have been asking older people to take care while asking the younger generations to shelter.

The large scale suffering hasn’t started just yet.
    But I agree that we do have to pay for all of this.

And we’ll all suffer.

Meanwhile, only about 2000 deaths. The majority above life expectancy and in poor health.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,912 ✭✭✭beggars_bush

Our vaccin task force have yet to even meet. The Uk have already started training their NHS staff and have gotten the army involved. All of Scotland could be vaccinated by spring.

Germany have already asked the 16 states to get the addresses for the vaccination centres picked out. Japan hope to have everyone vaccinated by Summer.

It's going to be 6-12 months of dithering and excuses while we look like the slow kid at the back of the class

Or we might wait to see the vaccine data first

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,947 ✭✭✭0gac3yjefb5sv7

Cases went from circa 200 to 1200 in about one month from mid-Sep to mid Oct. Looks like that's all we will get in December with lockdown early Jan.

And we’ll all suffer.

Meanwhile, only about 2000 deaths. The majority above life expectancy and in poor health.

If only we had reacted more like Belgium or the Czech Republic this Autumn

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,384 ✭✭✭✭hotmail.com

RTE leading with American politics tonight on the 9 News ahead of Irish related Covid news.

A nice deflection from the RTE Covid mess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,466 ✭✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

manniot2 wrote: »
    Trolley numbers down 70% on last year. Well at least we know the HSEs solution to their complete incompetence - frighten the life out of people so they beg for lockdowns.

Correct. This statement from the INMO was on 29th November 2019, 12 months ago.

https://www.inmo.ie/Home/Index/217/13549
    2019 has seen the highest number of patients on trolleys in any year since records began – despite it still being November.

As of today, 108,364 people have gone without beds in 2019 so far – breaking 2018’s record high of 108,227, with a full month left to go in the year.
    “Winter has only just begun and the record is already broken. These statistics are the hallmark of a wildly bureaucratic health service, which is failing staff and patients alike.

“We take no pleasure in having to record these figures for a decade and a half. We know the problem, but we also know the solutions: extra beds in hospitals, safe staffing levels, and more step-down and community care outside of the hospital.

“No other developed country faces anything close to this trolley problem. It can be solved, but a strong political agenda to drive change is needed.

“The INMO has written to the health and safety authorities this week to try force a change from the employers. Hospitals should be a place of safety and care – not danger.”

Thanks to FF and FG for decades of mismanagement.

What are they doing in the Hyacinth House?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,139 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

hmmm wrote: »
    You're giving out because you can't go clubbing - not "writing off 2 years of a life". No-one is enjoying this, but there are more important things.

Tell that to elderly people who can't see their grandkids for a year but sure as long as you can watch your Netflix, why should you give a ****. See the way you can twist everything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,203 ✭✭✭✭hmmm

Our vaccine task force have yet to even meet. The Uk have already started training their NHS staff and have gotten the army involved. All of Scotland could be vaccinated by spring.
    Agreed. No excuse if we mess up the vaccination program - it's a logistics exercise. I'm happy to give them the benefit of the doubt for now, but any delays and the government will rightly be held responsible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,108 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

I heard this statistic last week and it stuck.

There is 4 times more chance of you being diagnosed with cancer in the next 12 months than losing a loved one from COVID in the next 12 months.

#OnlyCovidDeathsMatter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,139 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

And we’ll all suffer.

Excess deaths will probably be in line with most years as well, I know restrictions were a cause of this being so low but did we really need to be the most strict in Europe when up to 70% of deaths happened in nursing homes, we failed our elderly population but nphet will be held up as some sort of hero's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,620 ✭✭✭Tork

manniot2 wrote: »
    Trolley numbers down 70% on last year. Well at least we know the HSEs solution to their complete incompetence - frighten the life out of people so they beg for lockdowns.

Has it crossed your mind that other covid measures such as social distancing, hand washing and mask-wearing will have fed into this as well? We all agree that the HSE is incompetent but to jump to that ludicrous conclusion sounds like something that belongs in the conspiracy theory forum. I doubt many people in this country are (a) terrified out of their minds and (b) praying for lockdowns. Less of the hyperbole ffs.

niallo27 wrote: »
    Excess deaths will probably be in line with most years as well, I know restrictions were a cause of this being so low but did we really need to be the most strict in Europe when up to 70% of deaths happened in nursing homes, we failed our elderly population but nphet will be held up as some sort of hero's.

It was just easier to put close to half a million out of work, mainly young people.

And we’ll be paying for it while pensions won’t be touched.

The younger generations in this country have been shafted again and again over the last 12 years and likely to continue for several more.

Dreading the budget next year. We’ll be getting our reward for been so cowardly during this non event.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,108 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Tork wrote: »
    Has it crossed your mind that other covid measures such as social distancing, hand washing and mask-wearing will have fed into this as well? We all agree that the HSE is incompetent but to jump to that ludicrous conclusion sounds like something that belongs in the conspiracy theory forum. I doubt many people in this country are (a) terrified out of their minds and (b) praying for lockdowns. Less of the hyperbole ffs.

I don't know about terrified, but my mother is a broken women over all this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,394 ✭✭✭✭Professor Moriarty

Tork wrote: »

Hmmm.

If only we had reacted more like Belgium or the Czech Republic this Autumn

People have been saying this nonsense all year. Lockdown forever in Ireland. Pick a country currently struggling and thank our stars it’s not us.

A quick google of Belgium suggests they have just over 5% unemployment, we have over 20%.

Go us.....

Who is saying "Lockdown forever"?

Or we might wait to see the vaccine data first

Why would we do that? Are Germany or Britain waiting for that? It's better to be ready to roll out regardless of what the data says than to get a vaccine and be caught with your pants down. Guess which one Ireland's doing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,135 ✭✭✭Peter Flynt

Come on, it’s embarrassing at this stage. For live trends stuff like 7 and 14 days is appropriate as you can’t call a trend on a couple of days data. But ....

Exactly.

No IFS, No BUTS.

It was just easier to put close to half a million out of work, mainly young people.

And we’ll be paying for it while pensions won’t be touched.

The younger generations in this country have been shafted again and again over the last 12 years and likely to continue for several more.

Dreading the budget next year. We’ll be getting our reward for been so cowardly during this non event.

I don't mean to come across as melodramatic but it feels sometimes like this country actively hates it's young people. Between housing, third level education, infrastructure etc we're about 30 years behind the curve

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭amadangomor

Jaysus will you ever stop moaning and giving out about a hypothetical situation.

• Site Banned Posts: 5,975 ✭✭✭podgeandrodge

Just wondering are many dentists getting it? I know they wear masks but if masks were that good the retail and the pubs/restaurants would be open. So working all day a few inches from other people's mouths must surely be a big risk?

Wondering about Gardaí in pairs in their squad cars too - all day long roaming around with their partner - risky no?

I'm sure there are other examples, but I accept in fairness, that not much compares to the risk of passing the gravy bowl.

People have been saying this nonsense all year. Lockdown forever in Ireland. Pick a country currently struggling and thank our stars it’s not us.

A quick google of Belgium suggests they have just over 5% unemployment, we have over 20%.

Go us.....

Quick Googling results in nonsense more often than not. A quick google suggests our unemployment rate for 2020 is also 5%. It’s only when you read past the first result in google that you find the true picture. Belgium’s unemployment is measured as those actively seeking employment. Those who can’t work due to Covid are not included in the headline unemployment rate.

Jaysus will you ever stop moaning and giving out about a hypothetical situation.

Sorry never realized you were a moderator. And its not a hypothetical situation there's three vaccines right around the corner and there seems to be no preparation at all in Ireland.

If you don't like the harsh truth that the HSE is a mess then I suggest you go outside and clap for them a few times in your driveway rather than having a go at me. It might stop the random outbursts.

Just wondering are many dentists getting it? I know they wear masks but if masks were that good the retail and the pubs/restaurants would be open. So working all day a few inches from other people's mouths must surely be a big risk?

I had a filling during the summer and the dentist wore an N95 mask and a visor. That's not what most people are wearing out and about.

Exactly.

No IFS, No BUTS.

As I said, embarrassed for you, truly.

October’s figures are history not trends. We don’t need a trend to tell us what happened in the past, it’s all there in detail. On the 20th of October you wouldn’t have enough data to call a peak, on the 25th you could be reasonably confident to call it. But on the 24th of November it is clear as day

Quick Googling results in nonsense more often than not. A quick google suggests our unemployment rate for 2020 is also 5%. It’s only when you read past the first result in google that you find the true picture. Belgium’s unemployment is measured as those actively seeking employment. Those who can’t work due to Covid are not included in the headline unemployment rate.
    Our unemployment rate is over 20%

https://www.google.com/url?sa=t&source=web&rct=j&url=https://www.irishtimes.com/business/economy/unemployment-jumps-to-over-20-in-wake-of-new-restrictions-1.4399941%3Fmode%3Damp&ved=2ahUKEwj3psW8kpztAhWMYsAKHVcaCx4QFjAHegQICRAB&usg=AOvVaw1yLbenKSiFVTd7Fp79tZYQ&ampcf=1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,038 ✭✭✭Ficheall

I don't mean to come across as melodramatic but it feels sometimes like this country actively hates it's young people. Between housing, third level education, infrastructure etc we're about 30 years behind the curve
    I'm young..ish... There are few countries I'd rather live in.

You missed the point though. I admitted that was just the quickest google.

You are just picking a country currently doing bad in terms of Covid and saying at least we are not them....

Millions starve to death in Africa, at least we are not them. Right?

Our overall handling of Covid and society in general has been a joke. We actually have a fear meter to track how afraid our population is. People are drinking on the streets in winter because they are desperate for some company.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,487 ✭✭✭circadian

Sorry never realized you were a moderator. And its not a hypothetical situation there's three vaccines right around the corner and there seems to be no preparation at all in Ireland.

If you don't like the harsh truth that the HSE is a mess then I suggest you go outside and clap for them a few times in your driveway rather than having a go at me. It might stop the random outbursts.

Whatever about the spat you two are having, that clapping statement is very cynical.

While I never took part in standing outside and applauding, it's not for the HSE. It's for the staff working in the healthcare system, who despite the general inefficiencies of the system are doing everything they can to help everyone they can.