Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid 19 Part XXVIII- 71,942 ROI(2,050 deaths) 51,824 NI (983 deaths) (28/11) Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,249 ✭✭✭MOR316

No but they now do have the power to issue an on the spot fine for non wearing of masks or violating the travel limit without a valid reason. Enforceing it is another issue though. Hopefully it will be but I wouldn`t be too confident.

What's a valid reason though?

How would they know if you're lying?

Is visiting a sick relative a valid reason?
    Is going somewhere to buy something for your house a valid reason?

Like it's going to be pretty hard to enforce

Zebra3 wrote: »
    You seem to think that there’s logic behind all this!! :)

That is a very good point and an excellent reminder...

Here, have some thanks. It's on the house

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

MOR316 wrote: »
    Just asking out of curiousity, as someone mentioned it earlier to me in conversation

How do Garda checks work if you're hopping on a bus or say, if you're on the DART?
    They can't kick you off the bus or the train

If the Garda are anything like the lads and lasses I meet everyday , I wouldn't worry about it. It's easy to have a valid excuse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,109 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

They make you stick your tongue out to see if there’s a black mark.

If the Garda are anything like the lads and lasses I meet everyday , I wouldn't worry about it. It's easy to have a valid excuse.

I'm not going anywhere, it was just one of those lightbulb moments between myself and my mate..

"Hey, wait a minute..." kinda thing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,191 ✭✭✭stargazer 68

What's a valid reason though?

Is visiting a sick relative a valid reason?
    Is going somewhere to buy something for your house a valid reason?

Like it's going to be pretty hard to enforce

I dont think enforcing it is really the aim. Reading through threads on here some people are afraid to go out of their front door in case it violates some 'rule'. So the aim is that some people will adhere to the rules.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,114 ✭✭✭prunudo

KrustyUCC wrote: »
    It seems to be a fait accompli that we will be back at level 5 in either January or February

Even before this level 5 kicked in NPHET were already making noises about the need for level 5 in January or February

Now you have the great Leo saying it in the Dail even before this level 5 is over and will be lifted very slowly if the reports are accurate

Just another 2 - 3 weeks of staying within your county not seeing friends, family, partners

Sure no biggie from the government

Given the lax adherence to the current restrictions I don't know what benefit another lockdown in the new year will be.
    Unless there is a huge spike in cases and hospitals are swamped I can't see much buy in from the general public.

I dont think enforcing it is really the aim. Reading through threads on here some people are afraid to go out of their front door in case it violates some 'rule'. So the aim is that some people will adhere to the rules.

Yeah, perhaps you're right.

Like, how could they fine someone for say going to get something they need for their house?
    Or visiting an elderly relative?

The term "valid reason" means different things to everybody

• Closed Accounts Posts: 89 ✭✭FinglasFollain

“Flatten the curve” worked first lockdown with probably close to 90% buy in. “Save Christmas” has probably just about worked with I’m guessing around 50-60% buy in. A third lockdown will lose even more support (especially with the optics of threatening/promising another one before this is even over). Also a lockdown after the first roll out of a vaccine may have people wondering what’s the point of both lockdown and vaccines.

Surely the effect a 3rd lockdown would have would be quite limited. It seems government are of this thinking too with the mention of keeping restaurants open for good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,100 ✭✭✭BringBackMick

If nightclubs do not open what was the point of the buy in ???

We all bought in yet us clubbers are cheated...

Do you expect people to buy in for a lockdown when they know they cannot do what they want after it?

BS

Rave to the grave is dead.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

“Flatten the curve” worked first lockdown with probably close to 90% buy in. “Save Christmas” has probably just about worked with I’m guessing around 50-60% buy in. A third lockdown will lose even more support (especially with the optics of threatening/promising another one before this is even over). Also a lockdown after the first roll out of a vaccine may have people wondering what’s the point of both lockdown and vaccines.

Surely the effect a 3rd lockdown would have would be quite limited. It seems government are of this thinking too with the mention of keeping restaurants open for good.

Leo today.

https://www.irishexaminer.com/news/arid-40088729.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,034 ✭✭✭jackboy

If nightclubs do not open what was the point of the buy in ???

We all bought in yet us clubbers are cheated...

Do you expect people to buy in for a lockdown when they know they cannot do what they want after it?

BS

Rave to the grave is dead.

Nightclubs and busy pubs are gone for at least another 6 months and maybe even a year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,315 ✭✭✭CalamariFritti

Mr Varadkar said that he believed that Level 3 restrictions "probably worked better than we thought"

Did they now? I actually have no additional words for that. It seems the absolute fkn idiocy of all this is striving for new heights every day.

jackboy wrote: »
    Nightclubs and busy pubs are gone for at least another 6 months and maybe even a year.

So why should people in those sectors give a flying fcuk about restrictions when they will not help them in the slightest? Only further marginalize them...

If I'm a DJ why the hell would I support these draconian measures?

If...I am a publican why would I support government if I know they are blatantly bias against my industry?

Get it?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 547 ✭✭✭BeefeaterHat

Yes but it will be even more so this time around.

Especially considering the HSE's total failure to keep covid out of the hospitals. Not that they're getting much flack for it off the press

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,150 ✭✭✭TonyMaloney

So why should people in those sectors give a flying fcuk about restrictions when they will not help them in the slightest? Only further marginalize them...

If...I am a publican why would I support government if I know they are blatantly bias against my industry?

Get it?

Because your granny's not a dj

Get it?

Just because such people may not support the restrictions doesn’t mean that lots of them will aggressively resist the restrictions. It’s likely that most of them will complain and then broadly comply.

Because your granny's not a dj

The whole granny sthick is wearing a little thin now 8 months later. It's not the argument winning trump card you think it is

froog wrote: »
    one more lockdown in jan/feb, then a gradual easing of restrictions as we vaccinate.

nearly there lads.

What you think the space cadets in the HSE won't **** up a vaccine like they **** up everything else? I wouldn't trust the HSE to distribute copies of the big issue nevermind a vaccine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 314 ✭✭Golfman64

If Scotland can have their whole population vaccinated by early Q2 next year then I see no reason we cannot do the same! I’d expect Nightclubs to reopen by April.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,203 ✭✭✭✭hmmm

Yes. It's a once in a hopefully 100 year pandemic and people have to make sacrifices to avoid large-scale suffering - some more than others. This could have been like 1918 which killed younger people, and we'd have been asking older people to take care while asking the younger generations to shelter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,216 ✭✭✭khalessi

What you think the space cadets in the HSE won't **** up a vaccine like they **** up everything else? I wouldn't trust the HSE to distribute copies of the big issue nevermind a vaccine.

Well they manage the school vaccination programme so this should be a piece of cake

Golfman64 wrote: »
    If Scotland can have their whole population vaccinated by early Q2 next year then I see no reason we cannot do the same! I’d expect Nightclubs to reopen by April.

April, not a hope in hell. There won’t be many here vaccinated by then.

ElJeffe wrote: »
    Yeah things falling apart in Italy and the UK rapidly now. Our government, NPHET and the HSE have done a wonderful job.

Yeah over 200 cases of covid in hospitals who didn't have it when they were admitted. Bang up job. Not to mention the 20% unemployment, 45% youth unemployment and the 24 Billion that's been pissed down the drain with nothing to show for it.

hmmm wrote: »
    Yes. It's a once in a hopefully 100 year pandemic and people have to make sacrifices to avoid large-scale suffering - some more than others. This could have been like 1918 which killed younger people, and we'd have been asking older people to take care while asking the younger generations to shelter.

I am sorry but this is the blinkered belief of people.

People seem to see their life as entitlement to a 70 or 80yr life span ...

That is not guaranteed whatsoever. You need to live each year the best you can

Writing off 2 years of a life is madness and is not worth it for a disease that kills so few.

Lots of unfortunate souls will not see their 40s or 50s.

Imagine putting off this Christmas and being downed by something else next year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,677 ✭✭✭Happydays2020

hmmm wrote: »

This is like the snow of 2010/2011, we have will have this every year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 962 ✭✭✭alentejo

April, not a hope in hell. There won’t be many here vaccinated by then.

I think if we had 1 million done by April, that would be very positive and the highest risk categories could allow for significant opening up

I heard this statistic last week and it stuck.

There is 4 times more chance of you being diagnosed with cancer in the next 12 months than losing a loved one from COVID in the next 12 months.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,203 ✭✭✭✭hmmm

Writing off 2 years of a life is madness and is not worth it for a disease that kills so few.
    You're giving out because you can't go clubbing - not "writing off 2 years of a life". No-one is enjoying this, but there are more important things.

That is true.
    Cases did peak on the 18th with 1283 cases that day.
    However taking one day for a stat is not reliable.
    This is why trends are quoted - like 14 day average, 7 day average or cases per 100K.

The simple reason for this is that not all cases occur may occur within the same day. 18th October was also a Sunday meaning that a backlog from the weekend occurred. The following day there were 1031 cases. Now no one would seriously try and claim there was a 20% improvement in our situation the following day.

Indeed thereafter the cases did fall.
    This was because level 5 was in operation and all shops/retail (apart from food stores) were closed. There was less activity in the economy.

Still even with schools closed at level five for over a month has still led to 400+ cases per day over the past 14 days.

The research on schools across the world has been done.
    It is clear cut.

Schools contribute to viral spread.
    Of that there is no dispute (except among people who think that viruses do not go to school)

The issue is whether the viral spread is bad enough to close schools.
    In Ireland schools have been kept open.
    Other countries have closed their schools and/or gone online.

Come on, it’s embarrassing at this stage. For live trends stuff like 7 and 14 days is appropriate as you can’t call a trend on a couple of days data. But looking back there is a clear peak on the 18th. Want to hazard a guess as to why the 14 day didn’t stop falling straight away? Because the days either side of the peak will be the next highest. The downward trend started almost a week before schools shut and 2 weeks before any impact would be felt from mid term. And cases continue to fall, and are falling as fast as they did in April/May