Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Opening of "No-Food" pubs pushed out again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,170 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

I hope if they do open again before Christmas they won't give us the runaround with the 9 euro meal bollocks.

Yeah, really wtf was the point of that

The rule is for under 18s who attend a party

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,513 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

PTH2009 wrote: »
    Wouldn't fancy eating a big meal after 9pm

Who said anything about a big meal ?

I know plenty of people who'd go out for dinner in a restaurant around half 8 or 9 at the weekend, its fairly common practise.

Not talking about lads going for pints here.

The whole idea behind the current 11.30 close was to give restaurants the additional sitting, would be a shame to see that taken away from them over Christmas.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 21,778 Mod ✭✭✭✭helimachoptor

If 2m in place I assume there'll be no time limit like last time, people will be in situ for the day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭hynesie08

The rule is for under 18s who attend a party

It allowed pubs to open 2 months early and allowed pubs in Dublin to stay open through the summer.

If you don't understand why it was in place after it was explained 1000 times then you're being wilfully ignorant.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,513 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

If 2m in place I assume there'll be no time limit like last time, people will be in situ for the day
    Technically yes no limit but, can't see it happening over Christmas. Anywhere thats open is going to be busy, they'll be turning over tables bang on the 1hr 45 mins with bookings, more in through the door.

They’ll base it on how much you’re spending.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,484 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

......... Wow!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 763 ✭✭✭doublejobbing 2

hynesie08 wrote: »
    It allowed pubs to open 2 months early and allowed pubs in Dublin to stay open through the summer.

If you don't understand why it was in place after it was explained 1000 times then you're being wilfully ignorant.......

It was nowhere else in Europe

Before lockdown II Britain's highest tier had more tepaxes pub rules than we had over the summer.

It'll be a wait and see exercise for pubs that don't serve food.

Doubt they'll be opening in the first phase, and only allowed to open in the run in to Christmas if the numbers keep trending in the right way.

If cases rise in December they are doomed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

Time for the Vintners to come out swinging their dicks. All pubs to reopen on December 1st with 2hr time limits or they will all open unrestricted and the garda will have to shut down all 7000 pubs in Ireland by force.

The lad who was filling in for Holohan apparently assured the pubs some months ago that going fwd food and wet pubs would be treated as one in the same.

Frankly I think the dry arse bastards will rule that restaurants can open but cant sell alcohol, or can only sell a limited amount of wine. Anything possible to drive the final nail in the pub coffin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,484 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

Lol!

Followed by the Garda swinging their dicks, arresting any publican who would endanger the health of the nation like this and revoking their licences, or refusing to renew when the time comes.

Some entertainment this Christmas eh?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 837 ✭✭✭John O.Groats

You really should stay off the drugs there pal. They are affecting your perception of reality. Unfortunately (unfortunate for you that is) not going to happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,842 ✭✭✭Acosta

For the love of god stop calling them wet pubs!

NPHET can go do one with their "gastro" pubs. I'd sooner swim to Wales than ever dream of entering one of those plastic environments again. Having to order a compulsory meal, and then being surrounded by overdressed ponces at adjoining tables who only go out twice a year. Affected accents, blathering on about their mediocre Christmas bonuses etc. F*ck all that white noise. Just want a regular jar in a regular local with socially distanced regulars, it really isn't too much to ask in December.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,570 ✭✭✭showpony1

Even the most non-food locals had started to have Apache Pizza or whatever it is from down the road deliver up food, but most did it just as they brought in the Dublin specific restrictions closing them all. So I'd say most will open once food pubs are allowed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,840 ✭✭✭Rezident

The longer this goes on, the more BANANAS! we will go when they finally do open. It'll be some craic but it's going to be carnage. There will be casualties.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,095 ✭✭✭gw80

Rezident wrote: »
    The longer this goes on, the more BANANAS! we will go when they finally do open. It'll be some craic but it's going to be carnage. There will be casualties.

Yes, just like what happened after the Spanish flu, we had the roaring 20,s, and what came after that, oh yea, the great depression of the 30s.😄

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,931 ✭✭✭PommieBast

6 wrote: »
    Doubt they'll be opening in the first phase, and only allowed to open in the run in to Christmas if the numbers keep trending in the right way.
    Based on past form I would put money on them not opening. It is too much of the leopard changing its spots for me to seriously believe NPHET et al will permit it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,108 ✭✭✭✭Gael23

They will just bring in food from local takeaways

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭Scoundrel

SteM wrote: »
    Semi-encouraging news in today's Sunday Times. Consideration of L3 rules for 2 weeks then movement to L2 rules in the 2 weeks before Christmas. Talk of 10pm closing time will annoy some though.

That seems perfectly reasonable tell the pubs and business that now so they have certainty and ****ing go with it no flip flopping no bowing to the curtain twitchers just ****ing do it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,457 ✭✭✭Cork2021

Lads doesn’t look like even the pub that gets the local takeaway will be aloud open.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,457 ✭✭✭Cork2021

It’ll be interesting to see how Holahan downplays another great day on the vaccine front. He should be nowhere near the vaccine task force as well

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 57,794 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

Mod:

It shouldn't even have to be said that advocating criminal activity is not permitted. I've deleted a few posts in relation to this.

Further mention and your posting access to this thread will be removed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,595 ✭✭✭✭CIARAN_BOYLE

Cork2021 wrote: »
    It’ll be interesting to see how Holahan downplays another great day on the vaccine front. He should be nowhere near the vaccine task force as well

Has he been given any data we haven't?

Or is it just a one page press brief that went public.

The one page brief is of course positive news but until data has been studied they can't be raising hopes.

Has he been given any data we haven't?

Or is it just a one page press brief that went public.

The one page brief is of course positive news but until data has been studied they can't be raising hopes.

Every other international expert, Fauci etc, lauded the first vaccine report 3 weeks ago.

Holohan was cautiously optimistic but said he wouldn't be celebrating yet.

He bleedin loves the misery.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,208 ✭✭✭LuasSimon

If we can get non retail shops open and restaurants that will do most people . Keep all pubs closed is best unless we want wave 3 in January!

LuasSimon wrote: »
    If we can get non retail shops open and restaurants that will do most people . Keep all pubs closed is best unless we want wave 3 in January!

Open the bloody pubs. If people like you dont want to go near them then stay the fcuk at home and lock yourself in your room. Sick listening to people like you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,479 ✭✭✭SteM

Open the bloody pubs. If people like you dont want to go near them then stay the fcuk at home and lock yourself in your room. Sick listening to people like you

Do you just want them open with no restrictions at all?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,208 ✭✭✭LuasSimon

A bit unfair, come nexy May or June everyone that wants to can drink themselves to death in a pub but for now it makes sense to keep them closed in order to keep infection numbers at low levels.