Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Opening of "No-Food" pubs pushed out again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭hynesie08

PommieBast wrote: »
    Would Sky/BT have allowed them to suspend a subscription without some sort of penality :confused:

Yes, they allowed them to pause it from March till June 29th anyways, not sure after that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,472 ✭✭✭MOH

That you perceive the presence of a narrative shows a strange bias.
    That you choose not to perceive an obvious narrative shows a bias
    There is no narrative. There is no hidden agenda against public houses. There is no grinch taking pleasure in denying the plain people of Ireland their beverage of choice.
    There certainly isn't a hidden agenda. There's a very obvious one.
    The solution is very simple indeed - maybe it is this very simplicity that has people concoct greater and greater fantasy explanations as the truth doesnt lead them to the answer they want to arrive at. The rationale is that people meet in pubs. Reducing people meeting is the key to virus containment. Responsible governments will implement actions with the lowest negative effect, while reducing person to person contact. Closing pubs fits the bill admirably. So they are closed.
    People meet each other in all sorts of locales. Pubs, restaurants, cafes, coffee shops. People spend hours at a time sitting in hairdressers. Children and teenagers spend hours every day in large groups in schools - and frequent in smaller, varied groups afterwards.
    Yet only one of these has been closed since March. On the basis of "best international evidence". Yet only in Ireland - I'm unaware of any other country anywhere which has refused to allow business whose primary sale is alcohol to re-open since the pandemic began.

So while it might seem quite simple to you, I remain somewhat puzzled that a small nation like ourselves is the only one to come to this simple solution which has managed to save us all from the horrors of opening pubs. Maybe we're just lucky to have the most insightful and wisest advisors anywhere in the world. Then again, maybe not.
    It really is as simple as that, and am glad to have helped to clear it up for any here still following the nonsense 'what proportion of cases were traceable to public house settings ?' question.

I'm glad to have cleared that up for any here still following your "let's ignore actual facts and reality" line of argument.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 258 ✭✭show me the money.1

hynesie08 wrote: »
    Yes, they allowed them to pause it from March till June 29th anyways, not sure after that.

My Local had all their sky channels turned off when Level 5 came in, when he rang sky to know why he was told that the government told them to turn off all pub subscriptions. (he wanted to watch a race on racing TV one day he was in cleaning up)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,484 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

MOH wrote: »
    That you choose not to perceive an obvious narrative shows a bias

This sentence is gas! No proof in any way of a "narrative" (this must be Word of the Week) but anyone who disagrees is biased. Brilliant!
    My Local had all their sky channels turned off when Level 5 came in, when he rang sky to know why he was told that the government told them to turn off all pub subscriptions. (he wanted to watch a race on racing TV one day he was in cleaning up)

This is interesting. I hadn't heard this. Any links to something more concrete? Not that I don't believe you of course, it makes perfect sense for those subs to be switched off. After all, it costs a hefty dollar to keep those subs going.

Just wondering was there something official on this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 104 ✭✭the rock29

To a pub sky is about thousand euros a month or little more never less depending on the size of your pub

• Closed Accounts Posts: 685 ✭✭✭keepalive213

I think some pubs are paying considerably less, maybe 600 per month

Still, 600 a month is a lot of money to be paying when your pub isn't open to recoup any of that cost. Makes sense they would be suspended

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭hynesie08

I think some pubs are paying considerably less, maybe 600 per month

Plus 300 for bt/eir and I believe 160 for the racing channels, and that's the absolute lowest band.

So 3 grand "saved" from March-June, if you're in the lowest revenue band, probably covered some pubs putting in perspex screens they never got to use......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,904 ✭✭✭cadaliac

Rubbish.
    Sky allowed any publican who requested a suspension from the bill a suspension. For 3 months.
    It isn't a surprise to the publicans.

For the doubters.

Date: 7th October
    Following the Governments announcement that level three restrictions will be imposed nationwide from Wednesday 7th October, Sky have taken the decision to suspend Sky services and billing for all their impacted hospitality customers in the Republic of Ireland. They will continue to suspend their Sky account until 28th October or until the date the government confirms the restrictions can be lifted.

If you wish to continue showing live sport in line with the new government guidelines and don’t want your account suspended please call 0818 719 888

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,481 ✭✭✭SteM

For the doubters.

Date: 7th October
    Following the Governments announcement that level three restrictions will be imposed nationwide from Wednesday 7th October, Sky have taken the decision to suspend Sky services and billing for all their impacted hospitality customers in the Republic of Ireland. They will continue to suspend their Sky account until 28th October or until the date the government confirms the restrictions can be lifted.

If you wish to continue showing live sport in line with the new government guidelines and don’t want your account suspended please call 0818 719 888

But you said originally it was a government decision.

SteM wrote: »
    But you said originally it was a government decision.

Who imposed level 3???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,395 ✭✭✭GazzaL

I wouldn't be much of a drinker, but with all the talk about takeaway pints this week, we've decided to go out for a few this weekend. I'd say they will be delicious! And we'll be supporting a local business. Win win.

Who imposed level 3???

But they didn't tell Sky to turn off all pub subscriptions which is what you said. Sky made the decision.

he was told that the government told them to turn off all pub subscriptions.

Sky have taken the decision to suspend Sky services and billing for all their impacted hospitality customers in the Republic of Ireland.

Ah, so either he is talking sh*te, you're talking sh*te or it's a simple case of Purple Monkey Dishwasher

Pretty sound of Sky to be proactive and save people money like this. Must be a decent chunk of their revenue!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,931 ✭✭✭PommieBast

MrStuffins wrote: »
    Pretty sound of Sky to be proactive and save people money like this. Must be a decent chunk of their revenue!
    I suspect they may have suspended some of the upstream channels themselves as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 880 ✭✭✭Scoondal

I got Eurosport for €20 for 12 months in my own home. Pubs charging €6 for a lager are finished. I go to pubs to meet people, not to watch British sport.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,602 ✭✭✭2ndcoming

Scoondal wrote: »
    I got Eurosport for €20 for 12 months in my own home. Pubs charging €6 for a lager are finished. I go to pubs to meet people, not to watch British sport.

Fair play to you.

That's grand, if you want to watch curling, dressage and competitive cheese-eating.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,840 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

Eurosport is trash.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,078 ✭✭✭IAMAMORON

That's grand, if you want to watch curling, dressage and competitive cheese-eating.

Or synchronised swimming, my favourite.

British sport is free on BBC in fairness.

Down there for dancing.

Ah, so either he is talking sh*te, you're talking sh*te or it's a simple case of Purple Monkey Dishwasher

Rupert is quite all right, he is a gentleman.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,395 ✭✭✭GazzaL

GazzaL wrote: »
    I wouldn't be much of a drinker, but with all the talk about takeaway pints this week, we've decided to go out for a few this weekend. I'd say they will be delicious! And we'll be supporting a local business. Win win.

A great time was had by all. :)

Had a few take away pints myself yesterday with a few of the lads. Was great to meet up and have a gargle. Freezing as it was it was still enjoyable.

Semi-encouraging news in today's Sunday Times. Consideration of L3 rules for 2 weeks then movement to L2 rules in the 2 weeks before Christmas. Talk of 10pm closing time will annoy some though.

Water being wet would still annoy those people!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,513 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

Can understand it from a restaurants point of view. You'd hope for the 11 or 11.30 closing rules as was in place previously. Means they can get an extra sitting in, which is why the original 10.30 closing was extended to 11.30 during the summer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,172 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Can understand it from a restaurants point of view. You'd hope for the 11 or 11.30 closing rules as was in place previously. Means they can get an extra sitting in, which is why the original 10.30 closing was extended to 11.30 during the summer

Wouldn't fancy eating a big meal after 9pm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,840 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

I hope if they do open again before Christmas they won't give us the runaround with the 9 euro meal bollocks.