Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mayo GAA Discussion - Part 4

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,095 ✭✭✭✭Cartman78

What are the best GAA podcasts at the moment?

I listen to the GAA Hour mainly these days but wouldn't mind broadening my menu

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

Cartman78 wrote: »
    What are the best GAA podcasts at the moment?

I listen to the GAA Hour mainly these days but wouldn't mind broadening my menu

On the money with The GAA Hour

Mayo News is very good

Ditto OTB GAA

Just subscribed to Second Captains

Game On is average enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,048 ✭✭✭Bunny Colvin

Ah Refs podcast is a good listen too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,856 ✭✭✭HBC08

seligehgit wrote: »
    On the money with The GAA Hour

Mayo News is very good

Ditto OTB GAA

Just subscribed to Second Captains

Game On is average enough.

I would substitute Ah Ref in there for Game On.
    The Mayo News is my favourite but maybe that's because its the first podcast I listened to regularly.
    Nothing like putting it on the Monday after a win even a league win,the opening chords of that tune and I'm tapping the foot,puts me in a good mood for the day!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,131 ✭✭✭NabyLadistheman

I don't know where ye get the time to be listening to Podcasts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 964 ✭✭✭homewardbound11

So what are we supposed to do for the next 3 weeks ...........
    After the back door shenanigans of 2016-2019 we are so used of being on the road and games in quick succession. I have to say the traditional route of 3 weeks between matches really takes the wind out of the sails .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,095 ✭✭✭✭Cartman78

The days are long lately working from home in a dark empty house..... listening to fellas shyting on about the Mayo half back line helps fill the void :-)

Just listening to the Mayo News one now....I was subscribed to it before but must have lost it when I changed phone or something. It's a great listen in fairness....the lads are so passionate and earnest....and God help us, you can just get a sense of that little kernel of hope building yet again

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 15 Semi Final Champions

The Mayo news Podcast is excellent even if they are a bit deluded at times. Its great to hear the hype build.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34 Music Box

The Mayo news Podcast is excellent even if they are a bit deluded at times. Its great to hear the hype build.
    Which Semi Final are you the champion of? It must be recent, you have only 2 posts so far

Music Box wrote: »
    Which Semi Final are you the champion of? It must be recent, you have only 2 posts so far

Its a long story, a very long story. I wont bore you!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

Yes it's a very good podcast.

Deluded so you say,care to expand?

I find it quite grounded in general.

Where's all this hype you speak of?:rolleyes:

seligehgit wrote: »
    Yes it's a very good podcast.

Deluded so you say,care to expand?

I find it quite grounded in general.

Where's all this hype you speak of?:rolleyes:

Am I in some kind of trouble?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 34,978 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

Am I in some kind of trouble?

Why would you be?

ShamoBuc wrote: »
    Why would you be?

I sense hostility

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 34,978 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

I sense hostility

How so?

It's a simple question for a new poster with your interesting username whose majority of posts are in the Mayo thread.

No hostility here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,569 ✭✭✭dobman88

I sense hostility
    5cm2x7.gif

ShamoBuc wrote: »
    How so?

It's a simple question for a new poster with your interesting username whose majority of posts are in the Mayo thread.

No hostility here.

I now feel love!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,852 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

Did anyone happen to notice the gloves Keith Higgins was wearing when he came on?
    They caught my nephew's eye and he wants a pair as a Christmas present.

I can't make out a brand name and never saw the design before.

To be honest, they looked like Adidas goalkeeping gloves to me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

padd b1975 wrote: »
    Did anyone happen to notice the gloves Keith Higgins was wearing when he came on?

To be honest, they looked like Adidas goalkeeping gloves to me!

God bless his eyesight!

I would doubt they were goalkeepers gloves, DB Sports have a lot of players wearing their gloves and an image search (below link) shows Keith wearing them previously... but I'm sure they get sent all sorts so it may not have been the brand he was wearing on Sunday.

https://www.newstalk.com/sport/roscommons-donie-smith-hit-one-match-ban-482236

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 571 ✭✭✭Manzoor14

padd b1975 wrote: »

They're the navy and white DB sports ones: https://dbsportsgloves.com/collections/gloves/products/navy-and-white-db-sports-gloves

Spotted them on the sportsfile pics: https://www.sportsfile.com/id/1956146/ and https://www.sportsfile.com/id/1956138/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,048 ✭✭✭Bunny Colvin

I listen to them on the drive to work or when I'm out walking the dog. Passes the time and it's interesting listening to the analysis.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,429 ✭✭✭✭km79

I don’t know if I’d be recommending the gloves Higgins was wearing Sunday :D

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

km79 wrote: »
    Isn’t is feckin brilliant to have an AI semi to look forward to.
    Podcasts. Newspapers
    Sure what else would ya be at on these long evenings ...... ;)

Posting in the Mayo thread :)

BTW don't rise to the new poster. Someone has returned to try rile us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,852 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

Manzoor14 wrote: »
    Great find, thanks!

Not too expensive either...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,705 ✭✭✭✭Green&Red

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,783 ✭✭✭muddle84

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

Green&Red wrote: »

Listened back to back the preview and review of the Mayo News podcast while been blown around Westport quay last night. It was excellent as usual.
    Wonder is Ed Mc a member here :)
    Thought the Galway lad, I can never remember his name, is really good and honest with his assessment and actually called it pretty well in the preview.
    Padden is a decent pundit also.

Its light hearted and interesting. Hats off to them for it.

Who are we calling for the 3 provincials?
    Can't see past Donegal winning by 6-7.
    I really do see Meath given Dublin a run for it for the first 50-60 mins but fitness and bench should see them have a 3-4 point win. It will be the first big test they have had in a lot of months.
    Cork should win, but Tipp have a decent set of players and if they get a run at them then who knows.

For us, to get Cork should be a bigger test which I'd prefer to get, as long as we win it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭TCDStudent1

yop wrote: »
    Listened back to back the preview and review of the Mayo News podcast while been blown around Westport quay last night. It was excellent as usual.
    Wonder is Ed Mc a member here :)
    Thought the Galway lad, I can never remember his name, is really good and honest with his assessment and actually called it pretty well in the preview.
    Padden is a decent pundit also.

Its light hearted and interesting. Hats off to them for it.

Who are we calling for the 3 provincials?
    Can't see past Donegal winning by 6-7.
    I really do see Meath given Dublin a run for it for the first 50-60 mins but fitness and bench should see them have a 3-4 point win. It will be the first big test they have had in a lot of months.
    Cork should win, but Tipp have a decent set of players and if they get a run at them then who knows.

For us, to get Cork should be a bigger test which I'd prefer to get, as long as we win it!

Probably Barry Cullinane. That's who they used to have on it anyway. I have gotten out of habit of listening to it this year. However, I agree with other posters above who say it is a very good podcast.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,783 ✭✭✭muddle84

With work from home ive lost track of all the usual podcasts. what used to be a 2 hour commute is now 5 minutes. I need to make time for it somewhere!

Probably Barry Cullinane. That's who they used to have on it anyway. I have gotten out of habit of listening to it this year. However, I agree with other posters above who say it is a very good podcast.

Thats him yes. Intelligent pundit. Its refreshing to hear his honest side of both teams.
    Conroy 12 yrs with Galway, since the age of 18 when he scored against us down here to win it. As much as he likes the "dark arts" (who we have as well) you have to applaud that he has changed his physique to suit the changing game.