Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mayo GAA Discussion - Part 4

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,429 ✭✭✭✭km79

Ponderous is the word for Zippy today. Totally not at the pitch of things at all.

Was always going to be the case
    Crazy sub imo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,198 ✭✭✭PressRun

Barlett wrote: »
    The better team won overall, winning Connaught means it’s a good year. We’ve someways to go before we match the Mayo teams of the 2010s but making the right moves

Definitely. It's a rebuilding process and I do think winning this title with a mostly new crop was the main aim for this year. Obviously Horan and the older players have been there and done it, but it's important for those young players to have it under their belt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,705 ✭✭✭✭Green&Red

What else can Clarke do but kick it long it there is a full press? Its the midfielders that cant win ball.

I know, Clarke’s kick outs aren’t going to change now but we have no plan B for his kick outs. We look like we’ll lose every one. What happens when the dubs press up? Cause they will. We’ve seen nothing to suggest we can cope with that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,225 ✭✭✭charolais0153

Green&Red wrote: »
    I know, Clarke’s kick outs aren’t going to change now but we have no plan B for his kick outs. We look like we’ll lose every one. What happens when the dubs press up? Cause they will. We’ve seen nothing to suggest we can cope with that

In 2017, we had vaughan, Parsons and 2 osheas and Diarmuid O'connor to contest theirs and win our own, Ruane and Loftus have big boots to fill

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,658 ✭✭✭Blackjack

I think we have to worry about what Cork or Tipp will do is what we need to worry about for the foreseeable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,095 ✭✭✭✭Cartman78

Only after finishing watching it "live" as I was busy earlier in the afternoon.

A tough watch it has to be said but a good result.

Should have been a lot more comfortable - some pretty horrible wides and shot selection in the first half when we were on top.

And all that turgid hand passing and aimless possession in the final third of the pitch is infuriating - I get what we're trying to do but not sure if a heavy pitch and a wet ball is the best place for it.

Did anyone else think the substitutions were a bit slow in coming? Galway were kinda in the ascendancy and some fresh legs a few mins earlier would have helped.

Anyway, I guess finals are all about winning at the end of the day.

Win against Cork and we're in the final.... we'd have all taken that a few weeks ago

Cartman78 wrote: »
    Only after finishing watching it "live" as I was busy earlier in the afternoon.

A tough watch it has to be said but a good result.

Should have been a lot more comfortable - some pretty horrible wides and shot selection in the first half when we were on top.

And all that turgid hand passing and aimless possession in the final third of the pitch is infuriating - I get what we're trying to do but not sure if a heavy pitch and a wet ball is the best place for it.

Did anyone else think the substitutions were a bit slow in coming? Galway were kinda in the ascendancy and some fresh legs a few mins earlier would have helped.

Anyway, I guess finals are all about winning at the end of the day.

Win against Cork and we're in the final.... we'd have all taken that a few weeks ago

Yes on the subs
    I thought Horan got everything spot on last week and I said as much
    I thought he was poor on the line today

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,033 ✭✭✭Euphoriasean

Clarke isn't going to take any risky short kickouts if a man is marked nor is he going to lower the flight of his kickouts. If there is a free man he'll try to hit him but otherwise its boot it long.

Fielding is a huge concern and we'll be against a full press in both the semi and final if we get that far. I don't see any obvious solution bar flooding the middle and just contesting the ball to make it dirty and try to pick up some of the breaking ball. The amount of clean ball we've given up over the last 3 games is unbelievable. Horan has a couple of weeks to come up with some strategy.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

km79 wrote: »
    Yes on the subs
    I thought Horan got everything spot on last week and I said as much
    I thought he was poor on the line today

I think we were in general poor.
    Why was COC so quite I wonder?

We changed our attack too much during the game and negated durcan having him on the FB line.

I think we cost our own game to stop Galway.

But we had two great goal chances so in reality should have seen a 6 or 7 point win.

Where are the semi finals?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,225 ✭✭✭charolais0153

yop wrote: »
    I think we were in general poor.

We changed our attack too much during the game and negated durcan having him on the FB line.

I think we cost our own game to stop Galway.

But we had two great goal chances so in reality should have seen a 6 or 7 point win.

Where are the semi finals?

Croke park

Durcan done a great job on Walsh up until the yellow,
    Not being clinical is going to cost us

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

Ponderous is the word for Zippy today. Totally not at the pitch of things at all.

TBF it is very hard to introduce a player with zero game time.

He was very ring rusty.

Chris Barrett has undoubtedly brought a sorely absent level of solidity to the full back line.

Lee Keegan again was one of our top performers today,Mc Loughlin immense.
    Stephen Coen is very much an unsung hero but I thought he was very good today.

Matthew Ruane delivered in the second half after a relatively poor first half.

Tommy Conroy excites me beyond belief.I think the vast expanses of a well manicured fast pitch like Croke Park will be very much to the liking of this team.

Other newcomers to impress were Ryan O Donoghue most especially in the first half,lovely pass inside for Ruane's first half score and a nice score from his mark.Bryan Walsh got a vital score on his introduction,he did very well.

Parlance made mention of a degree of overcoaching of over forward play.Over complicating would be my thinking.

I am much in favour of a patient approach,using the full width of the pitch and probing an opening but on several occasions we worked good shooting opportunities only for players to abdicate (pass on) the responsibility to take on the shot.Subsequent wides,blocked shots or turnovers.

Ditto our shot selection yet again is miles below that necessary to seriously compete with Dublin whatever about Cork or Tipperary.

3 long weeks to polish things up but the prospect of Oisin Mullin and co. accelerating up a pristine Croker pitch is a something to look forward to.

At this stage we are going to have to accept there is the possibility of a malfunction on our kickouts.It's simply not rectifiable in the short term.

Our lack of physicality in the middle and ability to win clean outside Aidan's forays out to the middle are another concern.Our options outside recalling our old stalwarts are limited.Jordan Flynn did not really get much in the way of an opportunity to stamp his authority in this sector.Fionn Mc Donagh could certainly have come in earlier when we were obviously shipping water.

I will be very disappointed to see James Carr marked absent from the substitutes the next day.

Delighted that one of our long time servants/top players Aidan O Shea finally got the opportunity to lift the Nestor Cup.

seligehgit wrote: »
    TBF it is very hard to introduce a player with zero game time.

He was very ring rusty.

Chris Barrett has undoubtedly brought a sorely absent level of solidity to the full back line.

Lee Keegan again was one of our top performers today,Mc Loughlin immense.
    Stephen Coen is very much an unsung hero but I thought he was very good today.

Matthew Ruane delivered in the second half after a relatively poor first half.

Tommy Conroy excites me beyond belief.I think the vast expanses of a well manicured fast pitch like Croke Park will be very much to the liking of this team.

Other newcomers to impress were Ryan O Donoghue most especially in the first half,lovely pass inside for Ruane's first half score and a nice score from his mark.Bryan Walsh got a vital score on his introduction,he did very well.

Parlance made mention of a degree of overcoaching of over forward play.Over complicating would be my thinking.

I am much in favour of a patient approach,using the full width of the pitch and probing an opening but on several occasions we worked good shooting opportunities only for players to abdicate (pass on) the responsibility to take on the shot.Subsequent wides,blocked shots or turnovers.

Ditto our shot selection yet again is miles below that necessary to seriously compete with Dublin whatever about Cork or Tipperary.

3 long weeks to polish things up but the prospect of Oisin Mullin and co. accelerating up a pristine Croker pitch is a something to look forward to.

At this stage we are going to have to accept there is the possibility of a malfunction on our kickouts.It's simply not rectifiable in the short term.

Our lack of physicality in the middle and ability to win clean outside Aidan's forays out to the middle are another concern.Our options outside recalling our old stalwarts are limited.Jordan Flynn did not really get much in the way of an opportunity to stamp his authority in this sector.Fionn Mc Donagh could certainly have come in earlier when we were obviously shipping water.

I will be very disappointed to see James Carr marked absent from the substitutes the next day.

Delighted that one of our long time servants/top players Aidan O Shea finally got the opportunity to lift the Nestor Cup.
    It would have been nice if rte had bloody shown him lifting it

yop wrote: »

He was playing quite deep at times, which I assume is a side effect of our midfield being unable to cleanly win ball. It's a drum I've been banging for years, but Cillian is best closer to goal imo. This rotation thing is not sustainable in the long term. We're sacrificing cohesion up front to compensate for shortcomings in the middle. Beefing up midfield should be another job added to the list for management when we enter some down time later on.

On a brighter note, 11 of the players involved today have won their very first Connacht medal, so that is great to see.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,087 ✭✭✭Barlett

Worried? who cares about this championship, it’s pointless, but as a fan of football I would like if there was some contest this year. That was a fairly dire display finished off with cheating and it’s applauded by Mayo supporters here, subsequently telling me to post elsewhere. It’s understandable that yis are desperate but this is pathetic, players and supporters.

I think you need to direct your annoyance at the rules, I mean we see various acts of cheating in championship games all over the country. Supporters never call out their own team for it, why would they? Everyone can point to some form of cheating act taken against their own team in the last five years that cost them in some shape or form . Mayo are no different, you’re letting your dislike for the team/ supporters cloud your judgment . If you got this annoyed all the time about cheating in GAA you would never enjoy a game .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,708 ✭✭✭irishgeo

Worried? who cares about this championship, it’s pointless, but as a fan of football I would like if there was some contest this year. That was a fairly dire display finished off with cheating and it’s applauded by Mayo supporters here, subsequently telling me to post elsewhere. It’s understandable that yis are desperate but this is pathetic, players and supporters.
    Dublin in an all Ireland final were dragging men to the ground in the last minute. That's cheating.

irishgeo wrote: »
    Dublin in an all Ireland final were dragging men to the ground in the last minute. That's cheating.

That’s my point exactly, I didn’t hear Dublin fans moaning about it & I would have hoped if we were one point up in 2017 that we would have done the same. People moaning about cheating , give me a break .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,441 ✭✭✭wirelessdude01

Go post somewhere then that is more to your taste. The ref called it as he saw fit. We've plenty of things to give out about when it comes to referee performances over the years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭naughto

Barlett wrote: »
    That’s my point exactly, I didn’t hear Dublin fans moaning about it & I would have hoped if we were one point up in 2017 that we would have done the same. People moaning about cheating , give me a break .

If he hadn't done it it was a sure goal and game over for us.we would be all here saying why didn't he pull him down to stop him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,396 ✭✭✭Higgins5473

Go post somewhere then that is more to your taste. The ref called it as he saw fit. We've plenty of things to give out about when it comes to referee performances over the years.

Ref? Wtf are you on about? I’ve not commented on the ref. Ref called it perfectly, my issue is with the players and the response from “fans” here applauding what a player did. You haven’t a breeze if you think my issue is with the ref.

Okie dokie.

naughto wrote: »
    If he hadn't done it it was a sure goal and game over for us.we would be all here saying why didn't he pull him down to stop him

Exactly, every team will do what they have to do to get over the line. The ones that don’t are the also rans

Anyway moving on, it was a great result & the Championship really has been a great boost over the last few weekends. Great to have a break now & a big game to look forward to

This is one of the few times I miss working in the office. Should be looking forward to heading into the office with a smug face tomorrow but COVID has robbed that from me. The Galway lads will be quiet tomorrow after losing both their games at the weekend

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

Boyle and Carr injured today?

Surprised he didn't bring in parsons to add some height to the middle. We lost a fair bit of ball. Jordan Flynn isn't that tall is he?

We are missing boyle and zippy in their prime mopping up ball.

Surprised McLaughlin didn't get Mom though. He covered serious ground all day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

All teams are cynical in nature,oft mentioned by those who dislike Mayo " the so called darlings of the media ".

As long as the rules are as poor as they currently exist vis a vis such cynical play,ALL teams and managements will use the employ the dark arts.You are letting your all too obvious dislike of Mayo cloud your judgement.

it is laughable to insinuate that there would be any more of a controversy if a Dublin player or any other non Mayo player did same.Nobody is immune from criticism.

I hope some day a rule is put in place that will discourage such foul play by all comers and we all have to adhere fair play.

The penalty will ultimately have to fit the crime.As it presently stands a player will take his black card and meaningless cupla noimead at the death if it'll prevent a goal scoring chance.I don't like it but ...

Great to get the win. Finals are for winning.

When you boil it down we didn't play great as a team. We did what we had to. The good firm sod of Croker should suit us. The likes of Mullin, Durkin and Conroy should thrive on it.

Not sure about the story with Carr. Thought he might have something to offer, but doesn't seem to be in favour this year. Unless there's an injury?

Tell you who we're missing for mopping up dirty ball - Jason Doherty. Was always able to read the breaks very well, would let his man contest unwinnable ball and then anticipate where the ball would spill out. Great in the tackle too. Strength and smarts.

PressRun wrote: »
    Not sure about the story with Carr. Thought he might have something to offer, but doesn't seem to be in favour this year. Unless there's an injury?

Tell you who we're missing for mopping up dirty ball - Jason Doherty. Was always able to read the breaks very well, would let his man contest unwinnable ball and then anticipate where the ball would spill out. Great in the tackle too. Strength and smarts.

A lot of the dirty work definitely. Wont see him back for another few months.

Though kevin mcloughlin was quite today.

PressRun wrote: »

Carr was out of Favour last summer a bit too
    I said it then that I thought Horan had gone full Horan on him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,247 ✭✭✭✭rebel girl 15

Stop the trolling and many of you should know better than to rise to the bait. Cards and bans next up