Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part VI - **Read OP for Mod Warnings**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,591 ✭✭✭✭charlie14

road_high wrote: »
    I’ve a problem with both- both are equally ridiculous OTT nanny state rubbish

Then there are a lot of OTT nanny states around.
    All those you will not be allowed into without evidence you have passed a test first.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,301 ✭✭✭patnor1011

$18 Billion COVID Vaccine Gold Rush Threatens Horseshoe Crabs, Ocean Ecosystem.
    Demand for horseshoe crab blood for COVID-19 vaccines may exterminate the crabs and destroy the shorebirds and the marine ecosystem that depend on them.

The annual spring congregation of egg-laden horseshoe crabs on the east coast provide a vital food source for annual migrations of millions of shore birds.

The $18 billion gold rush for liability free COVID vaccines now threatens that ancient Atlantic coast ritual. COVID vaccine makers plot to harvest tens of thousands of these primitive and beloved sea creatures. The horseshoe crab’s blue blood is the only known natural source of limulus amebocyte lysate, a substance that detects and eliminates a potentially deadly vaccine contaminant called endotoxin.

Every year, pharmaceutical companies corral half a million Atlantic horseshoe crabs, bleed them, and return them to the ocean — after which many will die. This practice, combined with overharvesting of the crabs for fishing bait, has caused a precipitous decline in the species.

In 1990, biologists estimated 1.24 million crabs spawned in Delaware Bay, a main egg-laying nursery grounds and prime collection point for the companies. By 2019, that number had dropped to 335,211. Conservation groups feel that the planned harvest by vaccine manufacturers may lead to the species’ extinction.

Starting in July, Swiss-based Lonza will begin manufacturing a COVID-19 vaccine for human clinical trials. The company will use lysate in the vaccine it plans to sell it in the U.S.

The horseshoe crab is already on the brink of extinction. Conservationists fear that the demand for horseshoe crab blood for COVID-19 vaccines may exterminate the crabs and destroy the shore birds and the marine ecosystem that depend on them.

Conservationists observe that the harvesting of wild animals like sharks and horseshoe crabs for exploding vaccine manufacturing is unsustainable.

"Dr Nick Claydon said the study could lead to mouthwash becoming an important part of people's routines."

Is this another 1 of those additional measures in addition to masks, vaccines etc.? I see Irish govt pushing this mouthwash law tomorrow. Invest in Listerine I tells ya :pac:

Mouthwash is alcohol, right?
    Most of the people I know will stick with vodka and whisky.
    (Don't spit out after rinsing mouth but swallow. It has additional benefits)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,134 ✭✭✭✭Ha Long Bay

patnor1011 wrote: »
    $18 Billion COVID Vaccine Gold Rush Threatens Horseshoe Crabs, Ocean Ecosystem.
    Demand for horseshoe crab blood for COVID-19 vaccines may exterminate the crabs and destroy the shorebirds and the marine ecosystem that depend on them.

The annual spring congregation of egg-laden horseshoe crabs on the east coast provide a vital food source for annual migrations of millions of shore birds.

The $18 billion gold rush for liability free COVID vaccines now threatens that ancient Atlantic coast ritual. COVID vaccine makers plot to harvest tens of thousands of these primitive and beloved sea creatures. The horseshoe crab’s blue blood is the only known natural source of limulus amebocyte lysate, a substance that detects and eliminates a potentially deadly vaccine contaminant called endotoxin.

Every year, pharmaceutical companies corral half a million Atlantic horseshoe crabs, bleed them, and return them to the ocean — after which many will die. This practice, combined with overharvesting of the crabs for fishing bait, has caused a precipitous decline in the species.

In 1990, biologists estimated 1.24 million crabs spawned in Delaware Bay, a main egg-laying nursery grounds and prime collection point for the companies. By 2019, that number had dropped to 335,211. Conservation groups feel that the planned harvest by vaccine manufacturers may lead to the species’ extinction.

Starting in July, Swiss-based Lonza will begin manufacturing a COVID-19 vaccine for human clinical trials. The company will use lysate in the vaccine it plans to sell it in the U.S.

The horseshoe crab is already on the brink of extinction. Conservationists fear that the demand for horseshoe crab blood for COVID-19 vaccines may exterminate the crabs and destroy the shore birds and the marine ecosystem that depend on them.

Conservationists observe that the harvesting of wild animals like sharks and horseshoe crabs for exploding vaccine manufacturing is unsustainable.

More anti-vax nonsense taken from here.

https://childrenshealthdefense.org/defender/covid-vaccine-threatens-horseshoe-crabs/

"Overall, we rate the Children’s Health Defense a strong conspiracy and quackery level advocacy group that frequently promotes unsupported claims. We also rate them low for factual reporting due to the promotion of propaganda as well as several failed fact checks."

https://mediabiasfactcheck.com/childrens-health-defense/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,447 ✭✭✭Ginger n Lemon

growleaves wrote: »
    No Charlie what's very strange is that there is anyone at all who has no problem with their confidenial medical records being shared with commercial entities like concert promoters.

Before March 2020 I didn't know that people as blasé as you are about some of the most basic forms of privacy even existed. Let alone that they could form some kind of societal trend.

Great post.

That in bold is very true.

It's pretty amazing how much common sense is lost during this hysterical nonsense.

Also, all that money spent on that covid tracker app, contact tracers, all of the good stuff, well bloody cases are still 450 + daily even in level 5 lockdown. Useless beyond belief.

john4321 wrote: »

https://childrenshealthdefense.org/defender/covid-vaccine-threatens-horseshoe-crabs/

"Overall, we rate the Children’s Health Defense a strong conspiracy and quackery level advocacy group that frequently promotes unsupported claims. We also rate them low for factual reporting due to the promotion of propaganda as well as several failed fact checks."

So be so kind and tell me where you want to take that amount of limulus amebocyte lysate to vaccinate the whole planet 2 doses a year.

If anybody is talking nonsense it is you. I have taken more vaccines than you I can pretty much guarantee that.
    Since when is pointing out a simple logistic problem which makes covid vaccination of whole planet impossible antivaxx?

And while you are at it fact-check this:

https://www.forbes.com/sites/nishandegnarain/2020/06/28/big-pharmas-u-turn-threatens-450-million-year-old-species-on-front-line-of-coronavirus-defense/

https://www.scientificamerican.com/article/medical-labs-may-be-killing-horseshoe-crabs/

https://uk.finance.yahoo.com/news/blue-blooded-crabs-heart-pharma-072904676.html

https://tbsnews.net/environment/pricey-blue-blood-causes-horseshoe-crabs-own-crisis-43155

https://www.inquirer.com/science/climate/horseshoe-crabs-new-jersey-delaware-bay-red-knots-20201102.html

https://www.theatlantic.com/science/archive/2018/05/blood-in-the-water/559229/

https://www.reuters.com/article/us-lonza-crabs-focus-idUSKCN1UR3LL

So be so kind and tell me where you want to take that amount of limulus amebocyte lysate to vaccinate the whole planet 2 doses a year.

If anybody is talking nonsense it is you. I have taken more vaccines than you I can pretty much guarantee that.
    Since when is pointing out a simple logistic problem which makes covid vaccination of whole planet impossible antivaxx?

You are lucky. People in this thread been called "Gemmaroids" in the past. Getting called antivaxx is like cloudy weather, its there, its unpleasant but you just get on with it.

But you raise very interesting point. What is used to make covid vaccine? Crabs? Surely theres a limited amount of crabs out there before they start substituting them with something else, lower quality?

You are lucky. People in this thread been called "Gemmaroids" in the past. Getting called antivaxx is like cloudy weather, its there, its unpleasant but you just get on with it.

But you raise very interesting point. What is used to make covid vaccine? Crabs? Surely theres a limited amount of crabs out there before they start substituting them with something else, lower quality?

Yeah, it seems some people are just dumb. Thing is that horseshoe crab was in problems several years ago even before covid. Their blood as of this moment cant be substituted for anything else. Covid craze is going to pretty much end them as it seems if they really think the whole planet is going to take these new covid vaccines.

If some people would have at least a bit of critical thinking or be able to do some basic research and analysis they would not scream antivaxx lol.

john4321 wrote: »

More antivaxx nonsense taken from here:
    https://ted.europa.eu/udl?uri=TED:NOTICE:506291-2020:TEXT:EN:HTML&src=0

UK is looking for rapid implementation of AI system to deal with comming flood of adverse vaccine reactions and injuries. The MHRA is fully aware that these adverse events will harm and kill many patients. They specifically warn of, “a direct threat to patient life.”

More antivaxx nonsense taken from here:
    https://ted.europa.eu/udl?uri=TED:NOTICE:506291-2020:TEXT:EN:HTML&src=0

UK is looking for rapid implementation of AI system to deal with comming flood of adverse vaccine reactions and injuries. The MHRA is fully aware that these adverse events will harm and kill many patients. They specifically warn of, “a direct threat to patient life.”

Fk you are right

II.1.4)
    Short description:
    The MHRA urgently seeks an Artificial Intelligence (AI) software tool to process the expected high volume of Covid-19 vaccine Adverse Drug Reaction (ADRs) and ensure that no details from the ADRs’ reaction text are missed.

How did this harmless discussion about crabs turn into this, quite unpleasant and worrying development?

Now that we have established that level 5 does not bring new cases down to <100 a day, can we please go back to level 3? Level 2 if you are feeling like common sense today?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,445 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

Fk you are right

II.1.4)
    Short description:
    The MHRA urgently seeks an Artificial Intelligence (AI) software tool to process the expected high volume of Covid-19 vaccine Adverse Drug Reaction (ADRs) and ensure that no details from the ADRs’ reaction text are missed.

How did this harmless discussion about crabs turn into this, quite unpleasant and worrying development?

Now that we have established that level 5 does not bring new cases down to <100 a day, can we please go back to level 3? Level 2 if you are feeling like common sense today?

This has been discussed multiple times on the vaccine thread. An ADR is everything from a sore arm or a fever upwards. Imagine how long it would take to work through manually looking at who had a fever or a sore arm.
    You need some sort of AI to help group everything

This has been discussed multiple times on the vaccine thread. An ADR is everything from a sore arm or a fever upwards. Imagine how long it would take to work through manually looking at who had a fever or a sore arm.
    You need some sort of AI to help group everything

Phew. Thank you.

Sore arm? That sounds sore. :pac:

Stephen when are we going to level 2?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54 ✭✭troched

Lundstram wrote: »
    What really pisses me off is the fact we had on the news, yes on our useless national TV channel, RTE, a group of clowns in Ballina, Mayo out celebrating "their own" Joe Biden's victory on the street drinking Champagne, very little social distancing. Not a word said or eye-lid batted but outrage, outrage, outrage at a group of granny killing young people drinking in Dublin at the weekend.

We had it back in the summer with the BLM protests, thousands there. Not a word about that. But more outrage at a bar in Dublin which was attended by about 40 people. Talk of removing licences forever and all that bullsh1t.

It shocks me how we talk about and treat young people in this country during this pandemic and I'm neither under 25 or have children. They have been hit the hardest in terms of restrictions and they will be paying for this for years to come. The dickheads moralising about them on Facebook on Twitter no doubt have hardly had their already sad and miserabe curtain twitching lives affected.

The BLM protesters were mostly younger people, though :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 453 ✭✭TRANQUILLO

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DZjtiqujql8

Pfizer’s former Chief Scientific Advisor Dr Mike Yeadon believes 50% of the UK population was already immune to Covid-19 by the time infection rates reduced in June.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,870 ✭✭✭✭road_high

troched wrote: »
    The BLM protesters were mostly younger people, though :confused:

Were the sinful Dublin drinkers all OAPs or something?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,445 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

Phew. Thank you.

Sore arm? That sounds sore. :pac:

Stephen when are we going to level 2?

Give me all the sore arms to end this crap haha

Are there still levels? Any notion of levels seems to have gone out the window a long time ago, that plan isn't worth the paper its written on. Mix and match whatever they want

Give me all the sore arms to end this crap haha

Are there still levels? Any notion of levels seems to have gone out the window a long time ago, that plan isn't worth the paper its written on. Mix and mat whatever they want

And it’s usually max- like moths to a flame lockdown and closing the usual suite of perfectly safe businesses is all either Nphet talk about, lecture, threaten and then implement (without review)

This ain’t ending anytime soon- https://m.independent.ie/irish-news/we-have-two-weeks-to-drive-down-community-transmission-as-11-further-deaths-and-366-new-covid-19-cases-confirmed-39757994.html
    Just shows what a waste of time and resources this “strategy” is.

And our alleged “government “ dont want to even discuss it it appears- what a complete and utter farce yet again https://m.independent.ie/news/government-to-decide-on-exit-from-level-5-restrictions-next-week-39758627.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,065 ✭✭✭funnydoggy

Jesus christ they've done the two week shtick again :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,318 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

NPHETS advice should be that Advice and MM needs to grow a pair and tell them 'thanks for your advice but we have to look at this and that' . Economic and Mental health need to be looked at

But you just know MM and Leo will bow to King Tony/NPHETs orders and keep many restrictions esp the Elephant in the room that is the Pubs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,857 ✭✭✭✭thebaz

Superman Tony seams in a permanent state of concerned - either deeply or increasingly - other issues in Irish life seam to matter little to this well paid secure elite - while thousands of less secure citizens are deeply concerned about other issues - mental health / financial issues / housing and other serious medical issues - but just keep threatening us or putting us into lockdown , the most severe in europe, nearly 8 weeks in Dublin.

thebaz wrote: »
    Superman Tony seams in a permanent state of concerned - either deeply or increasingly - other issues in Irish life seam to matter little to this well paid secure elite - while thousands of less secure citizens are deeply concerned about other issues - mental health / financial issues / housing and other serious medical issues - but just keep threatening us or putting us into lockdown , the most severe in europe, nearly 8 weeks in Dublin.

Yes pretty shocking that this individual calls himself a “Dr” actually. He’s a complete one trick Covid pony. And a very poor one at that

Put me back to work lads. Nobody likes being stuck in this limbo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,857 ✭✭✭✭thebaz

road_high wrote: »
    Yes pretty shocking that this individual calls himself a “Dr” actually. He’s a complete one trick Covid pony. And a very poor one at that

as we are scolded once again , why is nobody quizzing NPHEt /HSE why they didnt create more ICU facilities over the summer - and why is Ireland still the longest and most severe lockdown in Europe ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,517 ✭✭✭RobitTV

Tony Holohan is going to have a fit of rage :pac::pac::pac:

Ryanair adds sleigh full of additional Christmas flights

RTE Breaking: Superhero Tony Holohan has tonight been placed in Garda custody after an incident took place at a NPHET meeting this evening. It is understood Lord Holohan saw an announcement from Ryanair about additional flights for Christmas. He then lashed out at several NPHET officials and he was restrained by security.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,948 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

PTH2009 wrote: »
    MM needs to grow a pair

Is he still around? Does he even know that he is supposed to be in charge?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 547 ✭✭✭BeefeaterHat

as we are scolded once again , why is nobody quizzing NPHEt /HSE why they didnt create more ICU facilities over the summer - and why is Ireland still the longest and most severe lockdown in Europe ?

Why ask those difficult questions, just blame the public. Not once have I heard Holohan praise the publics efforts or show any degree of sympathy or empathy for them. I don't want his pity but his arrogant attitude would irk you for sure.

Because we don’t have journalists that ask any hard questions anymore. If Holohan wants time be front and centre then he should be made fully accountable to the public

PTH2009 wrote: »
    NPHETS advice should be that Advice and MM needs to grow a pair and tell them 'thanks for your advice but we have to look at this and that' . Economic and Mental health need to be looked at

But you just know MM and Leo will bow to King Tony/NPHETs orders and keep many restrictions esp the Elephant in the room that is the Pubs

Of course- the elected government of the day should be communicating, justifying and quantifying all this to the public. I’ve never seen such a dereliction of duties. Even in the dark days of 09/10 FF despite the immense unpopularity stuck with and mostly stood over their actions.
    M Martin is easily the most spineless Taoiseach I’ve endured

Even the main COVID thread on here started to talk a bit of sense today.