Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Opening of "No-Food" pubs pushed out again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,485 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

Take away pints are of no interest to me, why not just open a can it’s stupid. I want to sit in my local with the heat on and have a chat and a pint

Yeah I'm with you there. Hope the pubs open to for the festive period. I'd eat the f*ck out of a €9 succulent meal for the privilege!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,714 ✭✭✭ThewhiteJesus

MrStuffins wrote: »
    Yeah I'm with you there. Hope the pubs open to for the festive period. I'd eat the f*ck out of a €9 succulent meal for the privilege!

Haha me too, turkey and ham for 9 euro !!

I think some people just have an issue believing anyone can think differently to them without having "an agenda". Like I'm some sort of Deep State actor, an agent provocateur sent by George Soros to bring down the pubs.

Not the case. I love pubs. And it's not pubs that are the problem. 95% of people who go to the pub will be fine. It's the selfish 5% who ruin it for the rest of us. Many of them are on this thread and they don't see that their actions have consequences.

There's not much the rest of us can did TBH! But hopefully we can all be in the pub by Christmas!

Pubs are great!

Pints!!

Delicious creamy pints!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,931 ✭✭✭PommieBast

The problem is the 80something minute time limit that came with it. Pre-Covid the only places that would do stuff like that were poncy places I would not want to deal with.

Pubs are great!

Pints!!

Delicious creamy pints!!!

Amen brother!

PommieBast wrote: »
    The problem is the 80something minute time limit that came with it. Pre-Covid the only places that would do stuff like that were poncy places I would not want to deal with.

The limit was only in place if you couldn't assure minimum social distance.

If the tables were sufficiently spaced, you could stay as long as you wanted as long as the table hadn't been booked. Any of the pubs I was in had proper distances, which led to proper sessions!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,110 ✭✭✭Dickie10

wow i kind of have a half morbid fascination at this thing the longer it goes on. just wondering when it will end but i definitely see the medical crowd using this as thier big chance to put the boot into pubs and try to change them forever. can anyoone see this happening? i really dont think people in the british isles are built that way. why would young people rather going to a cafe to sit around and chat rather than nightclubs , pubs or concerts.when your young that makes you feel alive, surely it wouldnt cchange. i think the european thing is overplayed, do they not have nightclubs in holland, sweden, germany? i thought they were home to loads of famous djs? or is it the case people in their late 20s and early 30s give up pubs, nightclubs and generally getting sloshed way before people in the British Isles? i think we have a few things that lend themselves to drinking culture such as hen parties, stags and horse raacing events that are massive in british isles with people from 19-50 but people in europe probably would recoil at that thought if they were over 26.

What’s succulent about a fake menu and some empty pizza boxes?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,340 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

What’s the general consensus? I think it’s unlikely pubs will be allowed to open. NPHET will definitely advise against it anyway. Cases starting to go up again and we’re not even out of this lockdown yet.

MadYaker wrote: »
    What’s the general consensus? I think it’s unlikely pubs will be allowed to open. NPHET will definitely advise against it anyway. Cases starting to go up again and we’re not even out of this lockdown yet.

If they’re not open the public can shoulder all the blame for not adhering to this at all. Nobody else to blame.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,639 ✭✭✭completedit

Dickie10 wrote: »
    wow i kind of have a half morbid fascination at this thing the longer it goes on. just wondering when it will end but i definitely see the medical crowd using this as thier big chance to put the boot into pubs and try to change them forever. can anyoone see this happening? i really dont think people in the british isles are built that way. why would young people rather going to a cafe to sit around and chat rather than nightclubs , pubs or concerts.when your young that makes you feel alive, surely it wouldnt cchange. i think the european thing is overplayed, do they not have nightclubs in holland, sweden, germany? i thought they were home to loads of famous djs? or is it the case people in their late 20s and early 30s give up pubs, nightclubs and generally getting sloshed way before people in the British Isles? i think we have a few things that lend themselves to drinking culture such as hen parties, stags and horse raacing events that are massive in british isles with people from 19-50 but people in europe probably would recoil at that thought if they were over 26.

They seem to get over drinking earlier from what I've seen
    I lived in Czech, it wasnt unusual to see trendy young families walking on a Sunday morning with a can of beer in hand, this is czech, the land of beer but this image would be virtually non existent here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,934 ✭✭✭✭fin12

I think I read somewhere two weeks before Christmas and then obviously shut again in January.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,472 ✭✭✭MOH

Classic case of people just not being able to control themselves. This is why we can't have the pubs open. These are the idiots who ruin things for the rest of us by acting the maggot

https://www.rte.ie/news/2020/1116/1178483-takeaway-pints-debate/

But they weren't in a pub - all the pubs are closed, as they have been since March.

They were quite obviously on a street, so clearly it's time to close all the streets immediately, and ban public access. I presume you're in favour of that?

The pandemic and gathering of large crowds to do it is my issue.

Totally agree. There's a place just down the road from me where large crowds of young people gather for long periods every day. Then after split into smaller groups (typically 6 or so) and wander around close together, not a mask in sight.

MOH wrote: »
    But they weren't in a pub - all the pubs are closed, as they have been since March...........

I'm sure some of the drink was purchased take away from pubs. Pubs who are happy to sell the 2nd, 3rd and 4th drink etc knowing that they are being consumed in the near vicinity.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

Augeo wrote: »
    I'm sure some of the drink was purchased take away from pubs. Pubs who are happy to sell the 2nd, 3rd and 4th drink etc knowing that they are being consumed in the near vicinity.

Oh, well if you are sure.

Were you one of the people who "were sure" that the pubs in Dame Lane were to blame for the people congregated there in the first lockdown??

When it turnt out that the pubs had closed due to the amount of people and the people had then just bought cans from the local Spar/Centra.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,925 ✭✭✭✭rob316

The Gaurds should be doing their ****ing job and breaking up these congregations. I live in Cork city centre and the crowds have been getting bigger and bigger for the last 4 weeks, it should of been nipped in the bud but they left it go on. Its not all takeaway pints either, plenty drinking cans and bottles bought from off licences.

I'm blue in the face from saying it, restrictions are useless without enforcement. We are going to try get away with whatever we can especially young people.

Hammering the pubs again over this is just sad at this stage.

MOH wrote: »
    But they weren't in a pub - all the pubs are closed, as they have been since March.

Pubs haven't been closed since March. There were many many pubs open during the summer.

Oh, well if you are sure. ........

I'm sure
    ...............Were you one of the people who "were sure" that the pubs in Dame Lane were to blame for the people congregated there in the first lockdown?? ...........

No, I wasn't.

https://www.rte.ie/news/coronavirus/2020/1117/1178635-coronavirus-ireland/

It's good to see that publicans are starting to come around to the reality that the real villains here are the "few" idiots ruining it for everyone else.

It's been this way since the start. If these people could only behave themselves, we'd be able to enjoy the pub and we'd all be grand. Not the case though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,135 ✭✭✭I see sheep

It's good to see that publicans are starting to come around to the reality that the real villains here are the "few" idiots ruining it for everyone else.

It's been this way since the start. If these people could only behave themselves, we'd be able to enjoy the pub and we'd all be grand. Not the case though!

If a few people weren't drinking pints outside, the lock down would end and we'd be back at level 2? You really think so?

"a terrible war imposed by the provisional IRA"

Our West Brit Taoiseach

Pubs would be closed whether people drink outside or not, but you knew that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,783 ✭✭✭Macy0161

Optics of the on-street drinking is awful for the pubs.

However, my experience over the weekend was of large groups (mixed ages), large multiple family groups, well outside their 5km limit, not physically distancing/ masks, nowhere near pubs or alcohol. Meeting up for a walk must give you an exemption, but having a pint on an urban street doesn't?

A number of work places, working effectively remotely since March, are also putting the pressure on to go back to the office.

Those in Dublin and Cork having pints are handy fall guys for this. The reality is, if numbers are not going as hoped, it's a wider societal issue.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

What a load of nonsense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,925 ✭✭✭✭rob316

Its just social media driven hysteria as usual. No problem with 10's of thousands congregating for a BLM protest. Not a ****ing peep from leo and simon then, I'm actually sure they supported it.
    There isn't a shred of evidence to support outbreaks in these settings, Glynn even said so yesterday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,100 ✭✭✭BringBackMick

How dare dey be out having fun when we are inside miserable

everybody should feel miserable like me

this is the mentality rife in Ireland at the moment, so sad and barely a politician or public figure standing up against it

Barry Cowen and McNamara about the extent and they arent even getting into the bones of the issue

If the tables were sufficiently spaced, you could stay as long as you wanted as long as the table hadn't been booked. Any of the pubs I was in had proper distances, which led to proper sessions!!
    One way or another all the places I visited had the time limit :(

Leaving aside those bending the rules I think non-food pubs will stay closed until a vaccine has been fully rolled out.

NPHET seem to be doing the same wait-and-see charade they did all summer when the curve was flat as a pancake.

Augeo wrote: »

If people were drinking in the pubs, then the pubs would be responsible for moderating their behaviour. Since the pubs are closed, the pub's responsibility is to to sell drink on the condition it's not drunk within 100m. They don't have any more responsibility for on-street drinking than the many supermarkets or off-licenses on the area, where I'm sure some of the drink was also purchased.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭hynesie08

How dare dey be out having fun when we are inside miserable

everybody should feel miserable like me

this is the mentality rife in Ireland at the moment, so sad and barely a politician or public figure standing up against it

Barry Cowen and McNamara about the extent and they arent even getting into the bones of the issue

People come in every form, but I don't know a single person in my circle who's idea of fun is standing outside on a November's night, drinking €6 guinness from a plastic container, hoping my piss doesnt freeze before it hits the side wall of gogan's......