Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid 19 Part XXVIII- 71,942 ROI(2,050 deaths) 51,824 NI (983 deaths) (28/11) Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,139 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

nofools wrote: »
    Show us your calculations Niallo

Hang do you think restrictions have no affect on the spreading of flu's and viruses. Australia's flu season was practically non existent this winter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 608 ✭✭✭nofools

niallo27 wrote: »
    Not as normal no, nobody is saying that but do we really need guards going into dunnes saying you can't buy a pair of jeans. A lot of us think they are killing further parts of the economy who could actually function in this pandemic, namely retail.

I agree there. If we had some normality like small shops and full compliance it would be a better mix.

But a minority ruined the craic for the rest of us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,979 ✭✭✭Russman

Overall deficit of 21bn estimsted for the year isn't exactly small to be fair now.

While thankfully not at the higher end of the estimate which was 30bn its still large

It’s a big chunk of change alright but as long as Europe as a whole is in this situation we’ll be ok. The ECB won’t burn it’s own house down. A way will be found or a new “fund” set up to ring fence Covid related finances across the euro zone. It’s not like the bank guarantee when we did a solo run.

Hang do you think restrictions have no affect on the spreading of flu's and viruses. Australia's flu season was practically non existent this winter.

Yeah sure but still not following your maths here. Spell it out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,059 ✭✭✭✭spookwoman

Arghus wrote: »
    Thread has gone a bit loo-lah this evening.

Car crash TV

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

It might be useful to mass test the entire population in early January to manage the inevitable spike in cases caused by Christmas gatherings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,784 ✭✭✭froog

Let's keep full restrictions and save 500 lives that would have died of flu after the covid vaccine comes in. Do you think keeping restrictions would be worth saving those 500 lives.

we have a seasonal vaccine for the flu and the flu is much less deadly and infectious than COVID. so no, covid restrictions are not appropiate for the flu. but you know all that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 979 ✭✭✭Thierry12

Let's keep full restrictions and save 500 lives that would have died of flu after the covid vaccine comes in. Do you think keeping restrictions would be worth saving those 500 lives.

My nurse friend told me an interesting story yesterday

A 93 year old resident in her nursing home who was in perfect health, walking herself, fully independent was given the flu vaccine last week and immediately got sick and weak, fever went sky high and poor woman died 5 days after the vaccine

Obvious to everyone the vaccine killed her, but no one will talk about it.

Should she have been given the vaccine at 93?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,016 ✭✭✭✭Goldengirl

It is a no brainer that those who do not observe the restrictions and are asymptomatic are bringing the virus into hospitals and care settings. Community transmission is huge.

It is probable but more likely that those asymptomatic cases have been infected in the community / at home , through no fault of their own , and regular staff screening doesn't pick it up until they have passed it on .

Yeah sure but still not following your maths here. Spell it out

Is it not an interesting question though, let's say 200-500 die from the flu each year, I'm not comparing the flu to covid before anyone comes in what that ****e. With restrictions we could nearly eradicate the flu in this country and save up to 500 lives. Would it be worth it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,129 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

cyber fun is all we have left now, apart from the supermarket.

I enjoy the banter, good or bad, and I am no angel either, as mods know too lol.

Is it not an interesting question though, let's say 200-500 die from the flu each year, I'm not comparing the flu to covid before anyone comes in what that ****e. With restrictions we could nearly eradicate the flu in this country and save up to 500 lives. Would it be worth it.

More than likely not.

This is different, we are holding off an avalanche.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,450 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

Russman wrote: »
    It’s a big chunk of change alright but as long as Europe as a whole is in this situation we’ll be ok. The ECB won’t burn it’s own house down. A way will be found or a new “fund” set up to ring fence Covid related finances across the euro zone. It’s not like the bank guarantee when we did a solo run.

While I agree, regardless its extra debt and has to be paid off at the some point, already hints coming from government this week that they'll have to look at revenue generation to pay for it and we all know what that means, while money still comes cheap the borrowing levels aren't an issue, if that stops then its an issue.

Anyway I digress off topic of thread

Goldengirl wrote: »
    It is probable but more likely that those asymptomatic cases have been infected in the community / at home , through no fault of their own , and regular staff screening doesn't pick it up until they have passed it on .

So what to do now? Weekly testing of hospital/care staff is vital.

froog wrote: »
    we have a seasonal vaccine for the flu and the flu is much less deadly and infectious than COVID. so no, covid restrictions are not appropiate for the flu. but you know all that.

Why not though, do you not care about those lives. My point is we accept some level of mortality in life, we just need to find that level for covid without being told we don't care if old people die or not.

It might be useful to mass test the entire population in early January to manage the inevitable spike in cases caused by Christmas gatherings.

Good suggestion, it'd be great if we could set up some mass testing plan, we seem to be resting on our laurels with regards testing. You could reduce the level of disease in the community massively by actively finding and isolating carriers and potential carriers.

Russman wrote: »

NTMA said as much this week .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,317 ✭✭✭CalamariFritti

froog wrote: »
    absolute nonsense. 200-500 people die of the flu in ireland every year. there's been 2000 covid deaths so far this year under widespread restrictions and lockdowns and we still have 6 weeks left. if there was zero restrictions, it would have been many multiples of that.

Every year about 3,000 to 4,000 people die in Ireland from respiratory illnesses. Its a natural cause when you get really old and frail.

Thierry12 wrote: »

A 93 year old resident in her nursing home who was in perfect health, walking herself, fully independent was given the flu vaccine last week and immediately got sick and weak, fever went sky high and poor woman died 5 days after the vaccine

People have reactions to drugs and vaccines for various reasons , and her age alone would not necessarily be the reason that is what happened .

Why not though, do you not care about those lives. My point is we accept some level of mortality in life, we just need to find that level for covid without being told we don't care if old people die or not.

Yeah so what is your number?

Your favourite R number, case number and death number please and how you would set out to balance it all.

Goldengirl wrote: »
    NTMA said as much this week .

Hopefully that is the case. As long as the world is dealing with it, we are ok regarding funding I think. So I am not worried in that regard at all. For now anyway.

We have been through worse on our own with no back up apart from IMF. And we survived.

So what to do now? Weekly testing of hospital/care staff is vital.

Yes, especially if they are going to open up for Christmas, which I hope they will .
    As another poster said just back a few ( I always get it wrong so won't say who ! :) ) , we should come out of this testing the bejaysus out of everyone to try to halt any increases in January and February .

Edit : @ Woollyredhat , it was you this time , I think ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,421 ✭✭✭Wolf359f

Thats's from whatsapp and debunked at this stage.
    https://www.thejournal.ie/factcheck-did-care-home-residents-die-flu-vaccine-5245979-Nov2020/

Yeah so what is your number?

Your favourite R number, case number and death number please and how you would set out to balance it all.

500 deaths. I'd be ok with 500 deaths, would you be ok with 500 deaths.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,551 ✭✭✭Widdensushi

Good suggestion, it'd be great if we could set up some mass testing plan, we seem to be resting on our laurels with regards testing. You could reduce the level of disease in the community massively by actively finding and isolating carriers and potential carriers.

What's the point, open border, we are a small part of Europe, pointless talking about it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,464 ✭✭✭bikeman1

It seems to me that we are back to being overly obsessed with daily case numbers. Remember that not every positive case is actually sick. Secondly the number of cases being reported in hospitals shows that that’s where the problem is now, so the HSE should get their house in order.

Our focus must be on the hospitalisations and ICU capacity. The hospitals are thankfully coping well and probably quieter than this time last year. Deaths are running at near normal levels, again good work by all. We are nearly top of the class in Europe.

All this taken into account, we should be happy to get rid of the stupid things in this Level 5 nonsense.

> Remove the County / Distance rule and those pointless checkpoints creating unnecessary traffic jams.

> Open up retail on a manageable level. We all know what to do. I can’t see how buying a phone in a shop or some booze is different to buying a shirt for Christmas.

> Allow outdoor activities like golf, tennis, football to return.

> Allow outdoor dining, however impractical that would be in the Irish weather.

> Keep the ban on household visits

This would show that controlled measures can work. The plan to swing open the doors of everywhere just 3 weeks from Christmas sounds like a disaster.

People need to live and have some hope in life, even if that means the virus for some. Life is full of risks and ****ty problems, but we survive and get by.

500 deaths. I'd be ok with 500 deaths, would you be ok with 500 deaths.

If we had a magic wand to cap it at that that, but we don't.

Italy had 546 today, that's 45 scaled to our population. We would max out in less than two weeks.

Not too mention they have a load of rules right now too.

What's the point, open border, we are a small part of Europe, pointless talking about it

You are on to something there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,834 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

WE ? Who is WE ?

By your logic we could do away with various other behaviors that enable the safety and wellbeing of citizens through evaluating and assessing risk and providing a safety net...

We have restrictions on.....

Speeding on our roads... for example, it works, keeping people safe and well...

Why don’t we get a load of people out, claiming their rights are being trampled on and businesses should be allowed to say a courier company, exceed the speed limits and get more deliveries completed and have less cost to have to hire more drivers and more vans..to get every box and letter delivered within the time in the delivery contracts ?

No, we put the health, safety and wellbeing of our citizens first... don’t like it tough, break the regs ? A few weeks inside. Soften your cough. Do it again, months to a year, soften more than a cough :)

So did a " nurse friend " of yours really tell you that ?

Or are you spreading fake sxxx from an antivaxx site ?