Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part VI - **Read OP for Mod Warnings**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,229 ✭✭✭✭normanoffside

It is simply astounding that Tony Holohan continues to be left in charge of the states response to Coronavirus, we are putting our faith in a man who has already shown huge errors of judgement with regards to this virus. A reminder that this is the man who could not see what was obvious to everybody else at the time, that older people in nursing homes were at huge risk from coronavirus:

And to make it worse, he is making the same mistakes again. Over 85s are once again the age group with the highest rate of infection.

https://twitter.com/RiochtConor2/status/1326975891738603522

A lot of this comes down to the NPHET decision on the reduction of testing of Nursing home staff and residents from once a week to once a fortnight.
    They should have been introducing more testing for this sector, maybe even antigen testing as well as PCR testing.

Hospitals are also now the main drivers of infections and hospitalised patients with Covid due to infection outbreaks inside hospitals.

Both of the main problems are caused by NPHET and health service failings, come under their remit and yet they are trying to sweep them under the carpet as usual.
    Tony is more concerned about Joe Soap buying clothes in Dunnes or that Mary comes home for Christmas to see her family.

He should really be taking care of things that he's supposed to be in charge of and keeping his nose out of other people's business.

On 98FM they were talking about how take away pints and street parties / get togethers are now popular in Blackrock and Ranelagh.

And some people still think there’d be no demand for pubs right now as people are afraid of Covid... lol!

You close the pubs, people will get together in houses. You criminalise house parties, people will get together on the streets.

This government and NPHET won’t stop people socialising.

I hope people arrive in large numbers from abroad for Christmas.

Time to show these fools that we don’t care about their nonsense restrictions anymore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,678 ✭✭✭Multipass

And to make it worse, he is making the same mistakes again. Over 85s are once again the age group with the highest rate of infection.

A lot of this comes down to the NPHET decision on the reduction of testing of Nursing home staff and residents from once a week to once a fortnight.
    They should have been introducing more testing for this sector, maybe even antigen testing as well as PCR testing.

Hospitals are also now the main drivers of infections and hospitalised patients with Covid due to infection outbreaks inside hospitals.

Both of the main problems are caused by NPHET and health service failings, come under their remit and yet they are trying to sweep them under the carpet as usual.
    Tony is more concerned about Joe Soap buying clothes in Dunnes or that Mary comes home for Christmas to see her family.

He should really be taking care of things that he's supposed to be in charge of and keeping his nose out of other people's business.

Exactly right. All of this hammering on about Christmas, buying clothes, whether 2, 3 or 4 households are ‘allowed’ to meet - it’s all to distract from the failure to protect the nursing homes and hospital patients. After spending 30 billion we have a situation where more than half of the people in hospital with covid caught it in there!
    They have to keep the population in terror so we don’t get outraged.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

_Kaiser_ wrote: »
    So one of the headlines on R1 this morning mentions that Holohan said yesterday that people coming home for Christmas will be considered non-essential travel.

The arrogance of the man is astounding, never mind that virtually all of the "rules" are advisory anyway but being treated as though they're actual law.

I'm sure if Tony had his way we'd have Gardai randomly stopping people and asking "your papers please" like something out of a Cold War era KGB officer.

More ridiculous that there’s even any commentary on his advice. His comments are all over the news, radio, prime time, and people are debating the merits of it as if he has any authority on anything.

Book the bloody flights and never mind him.

I’m thinking you could possibly start a separate thread to discuss issues like this and the hospital numbers if you wanted.

Such important points should be highlighted as best as possible.

The figures show a clear failure of those in charge. And punishing the people as a result of their own failures.

There will be some pro government/NPHET/HSE types that will claim its impossible to perform better in these areas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 594 ✭✭✭3xh

We’ve gone from, in September, a patient with a broken leg and Covid positive being included in the hospitalisation figures to a patient with a broken leg and negative but contracting Covid in hospital being included in the hospitalisation figures!

All on Tony’s watch.

And he recommends restrictions on us in society because the hospitalisation figures are rising. Sorry Tony, grow a spine and say, ‘folks, I’ve messed up, we’re under resourced again, the increased figures are actually mainly hospital acquired not from the barbers, restaurants, etc but I can’t ask a whole country to bail my mistakes out so hence why I’m deflecting the blame onto you people......’

Of course successive governments are to blame too.

But enough of this brow beating towards us.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 117 ✭✭zf0wqv9oemuasj

Book the bloody flights and never mind him.

Hi, and in the process bring back the virus and infect and possibly kill loved ones and so on??

It’s solid advice from Tony Holohan who in the eyes of most has and is doing a great job. There is a small minority, a lot of whom appear to have found this thread who don’t like his advice so they like to throw dirt at him and think they know more. Sad really.

Look at how the numbers are falling thanks to the foresight and management of the virus by nphet and the government, we are beating most if not all of Europe also in getting ahead of this wave and have shown how wise it was to remain with restrictions over the summer as I have seen one or two other boards posters mention in their posts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭Captain_Crash

On 98FM they were talking about how take away pints and street parties / get togethers are now popular in Blackrock and Ranelagh.

I live in D6 and can confirm this. Any given Friday or Saturday the side streets around the pubs are packed and if they were open I doubt you’d fit everyone inside anyway! But the ones who do get in would atleast be warm lol!

All the restaurants and bars are open and it’s a jovial atmosphere around the village after 7. Guards nip up and down the every half hour or so making sure no one is acting the maggot

• Closed Accounts Posts: 608 ✭✭✭nofools

rob316 wrote: »
    I read an article today of a woman warning people to take the virus seriously and wear a mask as her father and mother died of Covid. They were both 89. That's a fantastic age like, many don't reach that. Are we supposed to be deeply saddened by someone well above the average life expectancy dying?

Have heard the same testimony from people of all ages.

In a nutshell, this is quite correct, and I have given you one of those thumbs up thanks notes.

On the upside, the virus must be looked at and dealt with on a macro level. While those not following guidelines display a selfishness and antisocial spirit, the majority following the restrictions are sufficient for an overall curtailing, controlling, and suppression of the virus.

Give them an inch and they take a mile.

I disagree Melbourne Man, this style of complacency and exuse making is why we are still are where we are.

It is simply astounding that Tony Holohan continues to be left in charge of the states response to Coronavirus, we are putting our faith in a man who has already shown huge errors of judgement with regards to this virus. A reminder that this is the man who could not see what was obvious to everybody else at the time, that older people in nursing homes were at huge risk from coronavirus:

I am confident in stating that if the nursing homes had been properly addressed and protected that Irelands covid death rate would be less than half than it currently is. It is a national disgrace what happened there, yet instead of him being sacked and censured like he would have been in any other industry, instead we still have people listening to his words as if he knows what he is talking about.

Tony Holohan says we need more restrictions. I say that there is a pile of bodies that show that the words of Tony Holohan shouldn't be gospel.

That is some melodrama

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,469 ✭✭✭ShyMets

nofools wrote: »
    Give them an inch and they take a mile.

I disagree Melbourne Man, this style of complacency and exuse making is why we are still are where we are.

A parody account replying to a parody account. Ironic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭paw patrol

Have heard the same testimony from people of all ages.

they take statistical anomalies extreme cases and present them as "this can happen to you too" , it's tabloid trash.

The notion of developing public policy for a population over handful of tragic but outlier cases is madness and very poor civic policy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,229 ✭✭✭✭normanoffside

I was visiting a friend last night in D8 and the local pub was doing a roaring trade selling takeaway pints there were Queues for pints. the Barman said they are selling 1000 pints a day.
    Great atmosphere on the street, everyone very friendly and sticking to their local groups.
    The bar closes up at 10 to make sure not to annoy the residents (the majority of whom are getting the pints anyway) and Gards driving past but not hassling anyone.

Walking back through town to get the bus home it seems to be the same everywhere. great to see, maybe it was just the weather being so mild last night,

The only parody is the fools criticising Tony for the situation they contributed to en masse.

I can go back through this thread and find example after example of you all pushing each other to do the wrong thing.

There is someone talking about how great and free it was in the Czech Republic, that has aged extremely badly.

You people have it all wrong, at least the smarter ones have flipped from saying restrictions are a joke to saying the vaccine will be.

Look in the mirror.

paw patrol wrote: »
    they take statistical anomalies extreme case and present them as "this can happen to you too" , it's tabloid trash.

The notion of developing public policy for a population over handful of tragic but outlier cases is madness and very poor civic policy

Sure they are anecdotal, there is also a wealth of case data worldwide that prove the prevailing view in this thread to be tragically wrong.

The common opinion here is tabloid, facebook, paranoid conspiracy trash.

The other side of it, outlier statistics are fine but it in no way prevents you from being one yourself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

3xh wrote: »
    JDD, it’s the GSK Pandemrix issue you need to review.

7-8 years later and affected people are only getting properly sorted out financially.

GSK are also attempting to make a Covid vaccine.

Not to mention Covid "curers" are all fully indemnified by govts.

The only parody is the fools criticising Tony for the situation they contributed to en masse.

I can go back through this thread and find example after example of you all pushing each other to do the wrong thing.

There is someone talking about how great and free it was in the Czech Republic, that has aged extremely badly.

You people have it all wrong, at least the smarter ones have flipped from saying restrictions are a joke to saying the vaccine will be.

Look in the mirror.

i've been consistent since may early june.

this covid lark is over blown.

nothing i see yet demonstrates the re-action of the government in Ireland is justified. Nothing.

Since summer everything should have been normal.

As a sparely populated country compared to others in the EU and an island , we should have had the least restrictions but we had the most. weird.

paw patrol wrote: »
    i've been consistent since may early june.

this covid lark is over blown.

nothing i see yet demonstrates the re-action of the government in Ireland is justified. Nothing.

Since summer everything should have been normal.

As a sparely populated country compared to others in the EU and an island , we should have had the least restrictions but we had the most. weird.

Consistently wrong in that case :)

i've no issue with that to be honest.

it would be a boring thread if we all sang from the same hymn sheet - especially if it was about the canonization of Saint Tony H as Christs new right hand man.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

I live in D6 and can confirm this. Any given Friday or Saturday the side streets around the pubs are packed and if they were open I doubt you’d fit everyone inside anyway! But the ones who do get in would atleast be warm lol!

All the restaurants and bars are open and it’s a jovial atmosphere around the village after 7. Guards nip up and down the every half hour or so making sure no one is acting the maggot

Was the same where I'm from in the summer. Everyone got cans and sat on the harbour drinking. Garda would do a few drive bys make sure everything was ok. Occasionally would stop for a chat and we'd let them know that the place would be spotless when we left, as it was.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,260 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Attaboy, but keep it up says Micheal
    The Taoiseach has appealed to people to continue to adhere to Level 5 Covid-19 restrictions for the next three weeks.

In a statement to mark the mid-point of the Level 5 restrictions, which were introduced on 22 October, Micheál Martin said data suggests that the effort to suppress the virus is working.

"I would like to pay tribute to the great national effort that is under way to suppress the virus and bring down the rate of infection across all communities," Mr Martin said.

He added that "we are one of the leaders in Europe in terms of our progress in pushing back the virus".

However, the Taoiseach said "we must see this through", adding that by driving down the incidence of the disease, "we give ourselves the best chance to reopen parts of our society and to enjoy a meaningful Christmas".

Firstly, I doubt anyone gives a toss that "we're leaders in Europe" on this - no actually, considering the inbuilt need that many seem to have for validation and approval from others maybe he has a point! :rolleyes:

Secondly, again with the nonsense of "if ye keep it up boys and girls, maybe we'll let you have Christmas"

Fook... Right... Off with this condescending shyte :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,517 ✭✭✭RobitTV

Covid-19: Irish abroad should abandon plans to come home for Christmas, Holohan says.

Medical officer rules out festive international travel even on compassionate grounds

Irish Times

CervicalCheck Holohan is laying down the law to the pheasant class.

I hope as many people as possible book flights and come home and ignore this moron.

Why hasn't he resigned yet?

RobitTV wrote: »
    Covid-19: Irish abroad should abandon plans to come home for Christmas, Holohan says.

Medical officer rules out festive international travel even on compassionate grounds

Irish Times

Even I can agree that is crazy.

Either shut the border or shut your mouth. "Not recommended" is just half in half out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,260 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Either shut the border or shut your mouth. "Not recommended" is just half in half out.

The other key point is it's not up to him to be issuing edicts like this - that's why we have an elected Government (weak as they are) to make the decisions

All he's doing is putting pressure on them in advance of the next meeting/decision point - which he'll know will work as they don't want to be seen to be going against the "expert" medical advice.

The guy needs to be put back in his box immediately. If we had a strong Taoiseach they'd be on the phone to him asking what the hell he thinks he's at.

EDIT to add: Seeing as we know FF/FG are monitoring social media commentary, to any reading this post - why don't you ask Micheal who's in charge now? Him or Tony? I couldn't see the likes of Haughey taking this stuff somehow!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭CruelSummer

The Government as a matter of urgency should:
    1. Open retail now and avoid the crowds & faux outraged social media videos of said crowds in December.
    2. Reopen barbers & hairdressers now also, they’re controlled environments & it avoids big queues building.
    3. Reopen restaurants for December and allow people to catch up and meet in controlled environments where contact tracing would be easier, it’s going to happen either way so why not control it rather than turn a blind eye.

The Government as a matter of urgency should:
    1. Open retail now and avoid the crowds & faux outraged social media videos of said crowds in December.
    2. Reopen barbers & hairdressers now also, they’re controlled environments & it avoids big queues building.
    3. Reopen restaurants for December and allow people to catch up and meet in controlled environments where contact tracing would be easier, it’s going to happen either way so why not control it rather than turn a blind eye.

Some retail I agree.

Barbers should be outdoors!

Restaurants....not worth it. Is a few nice meals worth a couple of extra months of this?

Everything that happened between June and October was a mistake in hindsight. Go back to the drawing board on how we can go about our daily business.

Restaurants are in no way essential.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭CruelSummer

Dr Holohan is on another solo run with no one to answer to it seems. I’m concerned re the reaction of media when Varadkar stood up to him, why vilify Varadkar instead of the person who swanned in from leave calling for a Level 5 with zero consultation with anyone.
    Is there any other high level member of Government willing to publicly call this behaviour out? Or are the Government scapegoating NPHET and parading them out to the media to be Scrooge’s re Christmas to avoid the flack themselves?
    Looking at the Ryanair prices, it seems his & Varadkar’s talk re Christmas is putting up prices. People are booking...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 633 ✭✭✭mikekerry

Some retail I agree.

Barbers should be outdoors!

Restaurants....not worth it. Is a few nice meals worth a couple of extra months of this?

Everything that happened between June and October was a mistake in hindsight. Go back to the drawing board on how we can go about our daily business.

Restaurants are in no way essential.

There were close to 0 cases of covid coming from the above environments.
    Madness keeping them closed.
    I think most people with any rational thought know that by now.

mikekerry wrote: »
    There were close to 0 cases of covid coming from the above environments.
    Madness keeping them closed.
    I think most people with any rational thought know that by now.

A plate of food in front you has no magical protective properties.

Too close, too indoors and in the scheme of things not a priority.