Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Liveline Lockdown: a second squirt will keep dat scrolling finger safe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,276 ✭✭✭readyletsgo

Sorolla wrote: »
    Christmas is an awful lonesome time of the year if you are alone.

However, the virus is very active and Leo has done the right thing.

Every adult should realize that they have to make a sacrifice and stay away.

If we all have a long life of 75 years - is it really a big ask to stay away and write off this year as a crappy year and hopefully when we beat this voirus we will have better days and our childre and their childer and their childers childer will thank us in years to come so to speak

People all over the planet are pretty selfish, so, Covid is going no where for a long time yet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,415 ✭✭✭generalgerry

"What do you think of the way that the Tánaiste said that today".

Such f**king leading questions, trying to get her to dog Varadkar. I dislike the man, but at least let her air her own opinions, don't be trying to push her into saying what you want her to say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,990 ✭✭✭✭dvcireland

Singapore to Ireland get onto Rome2Rio missus.

v1.bTsxMTE2ODk2MjtqOzE4NjY5OzEyMDA7ODAwOzEyMDA

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,886 ✭✭✭✭Roger_007

I hope that whoever it is she’s talking about being their last Christmas, isn’t listening!

Could be anyone's last Christmas old or young

Stupid argument

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 14,279 Mod ✭✭✭✭pc7

Well lets be honest, if its last Christmas you come home, test, isolate and do it safely. If you are coming home with the plan of the 12 pubs it won't be happening so stay put unless you are ok with that.

jelutong wrote: »
    What a nation of whingers and moaners.

Joe is stirring it up to look like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,469 ✭✭✭jetfiremuck

Then the 3 o clock news kick off..........leaky leo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 540 ✭✭✭tv3tg4

Could be anyone's last Christmas old or young

Stupid argument

People want it every way.

Cait Jim went to America with little fuss.

Did she ever make it home?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,028 ✭✭✭✭ButtersSuki

I don't have time to read the whole thread (or is it "the hole thread" as I'm now on the throne so to speak? Don't worry, I'll wash me hands, and clean de phone) but deeze 2 comments stood out to me.

pays no tax here

gives out about the state of the country

fcuk off

Joe or the caller? :pac:

I'd hope car inshurdance prices will drop next year due to the national fleet being mothballed most of the year.

I personally used to hate paying de car inshuredance, but ever since de well know financial advisor and Matty Matticks expert Mr. Duffy informed us dat we get all de inshuredance payments back at de end of de term i can't wait for the bonanza of cash dat awaits when I retire from driving! I've 20+ years of premia paid now and at a minimum of €500 per year I've at least €10k waiting for me! Throw in de house inshuredance money to and I'll be in de money! Ching ! Ching!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 108 ✭✭golondrinas1

BPKS wrote: »
    Strangely enough road deaths are up to date this year, despite people not meant to be travelling more than 2km and then 5km from their home for weeks and weeks.

Fado fado I remember road safety ads that informed us that most accidents happen within a short distance from home. Something to do with complacency being off guard or comfy getting close to home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,344 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

The quality items available on the Doubalin stalls in previous years...

Note the knock off Game Of Thrones character t-shirts that some arsehole must have thought was fine to use his image to make money from without his permission...
    0015acd5-800.jpg

McGregor tack
    5fad54266f073.jpg

General rubbish that would fit in better at a car boot sale
    CC%20CHRISTMAS%20SCENES%20

https://www.rte.ie/news/regional/2020/1112/1177780-street-traders-ban/
    https://www.q102.ie/news/q102-news/no-christmas-business-for-henry-street-traders/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,028 ✭✭✭✭ButtersSuki

The quality items available on the Doubalin stalls in previous years...

Note the knock off Game Of Thrones character t-shirts that some arsehole must have thought was fine to use his image to make money from without his permission...
    0015acd5-800.jpg

I can just imagine our esteemed host saying something like:

Shure what harm do day do be do be do be doin’ and dat? It’s a Dubalin tradition so to speak, it duz brighten up de city centre and de traders are wunderful fantastic brilliant brilliant brilliant characters so to speak as they say...........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,829 ✭✭✭✭Dan Jaman

Fado fado I remember road safety ads that informed us that most accidents happen within a short distance from home. Something to do with complacency being off guard or comfy getting close to home.
    Also that the vast majority of car trips are local ones.
    Hard to have an accident a hundred miles away when you're at the local shop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

Being mischievous as they are, the Shinners should ask "Tánaiste, are you saying that Santa Claus should not travel to this country this Christmas?"

We have been told that Santa was on to Tubbs and said he was immune.
    On Tipp FM about the death of her father.

On Radio One about the death of her uncle.

Who has to die before she gets on the BBC?

Herself
    Christmas Mass will be an all ticket affair. They should do it on the hour every hour for €20 admission fee, would build the funds back up.

Like Larry David buying synagogue tickets off the scalpers. Then getting caught and fcuked out mid-sermon.

imme wrote: »
    He has one eye on CNN the other on the goings on in Downing Street and one ear on New York radio.

And both eyes on Leo
    She could hire a car in London and get the ferry home.

30 years ago most people her age used to get a bloody bus home from London for Xmas.

32 years ago I had to get home in a hurry. I bought a 10 yr old Honda CB 550 for a hundred quid and took it from Northampton to Nenagh with just a 2 year out of date provisional licence for "paperwork". I ran out of petrol in the middle of the night on the way back and a kindly copper in North Wales gave me a gallon to get me further down the road.

I can just imagine our esteemed host saying something like:

Shure what harm do day do be do be do be doin’ and dat? It’s a Dubalin tradition so to speak, it duz brighten up de city centre and de traders are wunderful fantastic brilliant brilliant brilliant characters so to speak as they say...........

Alright Butters, admit it. You are Joe and you troll us every day from the studio.

There's many a slip between cup and lip.

Back in my biking days, one of the most common accidents among my contemporaries was hitting their parents' pier or gate on the way home after a gallon or so of porter.

aM54BuW.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,574 ✭✭✭KevRossi

Not sure if this was mentioned to day; but a few years back - 10 or so, one of those traders rang Joe, complaining that Revenue, Customs, Social Welfare and the Gardai were checking up on those manning the stalls. Joe went off on one, having digs at the Gardai looking for soft targets, they should be out catching real criminimals etc. etc.

The trader freely admitted that he was on the dole and not declaring his income from the stalls. Joe's opinion was 'sure it's only a lickle top up for the Christmas' and a bit of SW fraud is OK.

Joe also asked incredulously why Customs were there looking out for forged and unlicensed goods, as he had never seen such things for sale on any of the stalls.

He also questioned again why the Gardai were there, when told it was because the SW and Revenue lads had been threatened and intimidated in the past he let off at the caller saying the inner city traders would never do such a thing.

It was around the time they filmed the Mrs Browns Boys film in Moore St, there was no way he was for changing on it, the traders could do no wrong and the State were a shower of b'stards for trying to implement the law.

IMO they are a pain in the backside, they sell ripped off shlte, if you want a Christmas market, then move it to Wolfe Tone Square and do a proper job on it. The space simply is not there on Henry St for them, especially in the couple of weeks before Christmas, the space from Dunnes down to the ILAC is far better suited.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,344 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

KevRossi wrote: »
    Not sure if this was mentioned to day; but a few years back - 10 or so, one of those traders rang Joe, complaining that Revenue, Customs, Social Welfare and the Gardai were checking up on those manning the stalls. Joe went off on one, having digs at the Gardai looking for soft targets, they should be out catching real criminimals etc. etc.

The trader freely admitted that he was on the dole and not declaring his income from the stalls. Joe's opinion was 'sure it's only a lickle top up for the Christmas' and a bit of SW fraud is OK.

Joe also asked incredulously why Customs were there looking out for forged and unlicensed goods, as he had never seen such things for sale on any of the stalls.

He also questioned again why the Gardai were there, when told it was because the SW and Revenue lads had been threatened and intimidated in the past he let off at the caller saying the inner city traders would never do such a thing.

It was around the time they filmed the Mrs Browns Boys film in Moore St, there was no way he was for changing on it, the traders could do no wrong and the State were a shower of b'stards for trying to implement the law.

IMO they are a pain in the backside, they sell ripped off shlte, if you want a Christmas market, then move it to Wolfe Tone Square and do a proper job on it. The space simply is not there on Henry St for them, especially in the couple of weeks before Christmas, the space from Dunnes down to the ILAC is far better suited.
    If people started sharing copies of his buke so to speak in PDF format on lion he would be playing a different tune.

You look at the millions Arnotts must be investing in their store each year to only find their display window taken out of view at their busiest time of the year by vermin selling their tacky sheite right in front of the store. They should withold rates until they are banned, ditch them over to an ultra kip like Moore Street where they will fit in with the smell of piss, rotten fish and stale meat.

Doobalin has never managed to run anything remotely resembling a continental Christmas Market, and I've been to a few of the latter. Barna sheds selling non-Christmas tat are nearest they get to the proper cabin type stalls selling traditional Christmas decorations. In Germany, as well as the standard glühwein & bratwurst stalls, you have the beeswax craft house, tons of cribs, moss, mistletoe, proper woollen hats, mittens, scarves, table runners. Norway has its traditional dried Christmas Ribs dinners in vacuum packs, a fire pit for sitting out and enjoying relatively affordable grog (€5 is affordable for Norway). Belfast has the nearest thing on this island to a continental market in front of City Hall. The continental markets are full of couples, grandparents, children... no salt a d'eerts buying knock-offs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,530 ✭✭✭PieOhMy

https://www.thesun.ie/news/6142841/gardai-smash-plot-flood-dublin-stolen-counterfeit-goods-christmas/

Possible topic today to praise the gardai for stopping these bad bad bastards?

GARDAI have smashed a plot to flood the capital with over €100,000 worth of stolen and counterfeit goods over the Christmas period.

The Irish Sun can reveal investigators from the Street Crime Unit and Pearse Street station recovered the items during a raid on an ‘Aladdin’s Cave’ in the north inner city area on Wednesday evening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,530 ✭✭✭PieOhMy

Doobalin has never managed to run anything remotely resembling a continental Christmas Market, and I've been to a few of the latter. Barna sheds selling non-Christmas tat are nearest they get to the proper cabin type stalls selling traditional Christmas decorations. In Germany, as well as the standard glühwein & bratwurst stalls, you have the beeswax craft house, tons of cribs, moss, mistletoe, proper woollen hats, mittens, scarves, table runners. Norway has its traditional dried Christmas Ribs dinners in vacuum packs, a fire pit for sitting out and enjoying relatively affordable grog (€5 is affordable for Norway). Belfast has the nearest thing on this island to a continental market in front of City Hall. The continental markets are full of couples, grandparents, children... no salt a d'eerts buying knock-offs.

There may not be traditional Norwegian dried Christmas ribs caller but de Dubalin market could have fresh bowls of christmas coddle! And genuine locally handcrafted bent teaspoons and tin foil for preparing heroin! All set to the relaxing and idilic background audio of racist attacks on tourists, seagulls squawking and women who smoke 40 a day roaring about cheap wrapping paper.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,064 ✭✭✭✭Odyssey 2005

PieOhMy wrote: »
    https://www.thesun.ie/news/6142841/gardai-smash-plot-flood-dublin-stolen-counterfeit-goods-christmas/

GARDAI have smashed a plot to flood the capital with over €100,000 worth of stolen and counterfeit goods over the Christmas period.

The Irish Sun can reveal investigators from the Street Crime Unit and Pearse Street station recovered the items during a raid on an ‘Aladdin’s Cave’ in the north inner city area on Wednesday evening.

Salt-o-de-eert people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,064 ✭✭✭✭Odyssey 2005

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,040 ✭✭✭✭BPKS

Sadie the Whackerette trader from Henry St is on with Pat Kenny now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,495 ✭✭✭✭2smiggy

Dooblin Christmas 'trader' on Pat Kenny now whining !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,040 ✭✭✭✭BPKS

PieOhMy wrote: »

I'd take anything the Scum reports with a pinch of salt

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 14,279 Mod ✭✭✭✭pc7

2smiggy wrote: »
    Dooblin Christmas 'trader' on Pat Kenny now whining !!

Just came onto post this, the waffle of Pat that he loved going in to see it :rolleyes: