Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

The John Delaney Story (RTE One)

• 09-11-2020 10:38pm
    Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 11,780 Mod ✭✭✭✭

Just started now on RTE One, Brian Kerr just compared him to Trump :eek:

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 11,780 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

Gaudy Celtic Tiger sh1te, and this was 2017.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,338 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

The FAI paid for his birthday party. Bigger eijits they were.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,426 ✭✭✭KaneToad

Itssoeasy wrote: »
    The FAI paid for his birthday party. Bigger eijits they were.

The point is that the FAI was effectively John Delaney.

KaneToad wrote: »
    The point is that the FAI was effectively John Delaney.

At that point it was but still 80k.

The apple didn’t fall far from the tree clearly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,862 ✭✭✭un5byh7sqpd2x0

John Delaney decided that the FAI would pay for John Delaney’s 50th birthday party.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,172 ✭✭✭screamer

What a joke, and he was earning 30k a month and the FAI going under water.......

Jesus Saipan.

I know it’s hindsight but that mick McCarthy answer should have been a clue.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,484 ✭✭✭Andrew00

Big wigs

Run uefa and fifa ?

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 11,780 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

Heard that DOB soundbite a thousand times on the Second Captains podcast.

Run uefa and fifa ?

Yeah but run them where?

screamer wrote: »
    Yeah but run them where?

Into the ground.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,644 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Is anyone actually shocked, white collar crime at its finest.....
    Imagine how more out there are like him and creaming the tax payer.

Is anyone actually shocked, white collar crime at its finest.....
    Imagine how more out there are like him and creaming the tax payer.

Indeed, charities come to mind, getting money from government and tax free donations, no governance and rife with people lining their pockets.

• Registered Users Posts: 657 ✭✭✭CorkFenian

Indeed, charities come to mind, getting money from government and tax free donations, no governance and rife with people lining their pockets.

100% plenty more examples like what happened with Console out there...

• Registered Users Posts: 347 ✭✭Dr Devious

The eejit has the dress sense of a clown. Some of the suits and coats he’s worn down the years beggars belief.

Dr Devious wrote: »
    The eejit has the dress sense of a clown. Some of the suits and coats he’s worn down the years beggars belief.

I’d bet they weren’t bought in Dunnes either

The charity industry is a monumental waste of money. How many homelessness charities are there in Dublin ? Each with a CEO, a CFO, office space, clerical staff, etc...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,644 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Dr Devious wrote: »

So much money he could choose to be different, that stuff wasn't cheap at all.

Jaaaa dev assed for det reially

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,357 ✭✭✭Negative_G

CorkFenian wrote: »
    100% plenty more examples like what happened with Console out there...

https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.thejournal.ie/angela-kerins-pac-timeline-3214906-Jan2017/%3famp=1

How many more are out there like this.

A pair of eijits in blatter and Delaney.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,309 Mod ✭✭✭✭mzungu

The 33rd team at the World Cup. Total cringe!!!

Jesus he was some piece of work. I know Brian Kerr compared him to trump and that shafting of the SFA CEO is very trump like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,209 ✭✭✭✭Grandeeod

Recording it. I couldn't watch it before bed. I wouldn't sleep after watching all the prick's crap over the years and his father before him.

If Tighe didn't get that letter God knows how much longer he'd spend running it into the ground.

He’d still be there.

Oh this oireachtas hearing was an utter farce.

Why are we, the taxpayers of Ireland supporting this corrupt ****show? The soccer squad are crap, the FAI are a disgrace, disband it to hell, and be done with it all # defundfai

A treasurer of an organisation not knowing how many bank accounts they have. Feck sake. There’s healy Rae.

Healy Rae showing his true colours again...
    Followed swiftly by another Kerry gombeen saying how great Delaney was for Kerry🙄

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 602 ✭✭✭thebronze14

He’d still be there.
    Would have used Covid as an excuse for Financial Meltdown

Oh well once you can’t complain that’s alright then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,950 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

Very revealing about Denis O Brien in my opinion that he thinks John Delaney is a good businessman.

Treasurer was absolutely clueless.

ChikiChiki wrote: »
    Very revealing about Denis O Brien in my opinion that he thinks John Delaney is a good businessman.

Treasurer was absolutely clueless.

Indeed. Although one must be careful about what one says about DOB, even on an internet forum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,630 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

That Healy-Rae fawning was cringeworthy then and even more so now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 693 ✭✭✭Uncle Mclovin

KaneToad wrote: »
    Healy Rae showing his true colours again...
    Followed swiftly by another Kerry gombeen saying how great Delaney was for Kerry🙄

That's John O'Regan. Secretary and Joint Treasurer of the Kerry District League and not a brain in his head.

Embarrassing.

That Healy-Rae fawning was cringeworthy then and even more so now.

But a very apt summation of the character of the man (Healy Rae, that is).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,133 ✭✭✭Mervyn Skidmore

The FAI should have been left to go bust. Complete and total clear out and start again. If that meant being kicked out of FIFA for a couple of campaigns then so be it. It also may have led to an all island team.

That's John O'Regan. Secretary and Joint Treasurer of the Kerry District League and not a brain in his head.

Embarrassing.

I thought it odd that he presumably knows the full story now, and was aware of the intention of the documentary makers, yet still chose to praise Delaney. Maybe it was selective editing.

• Registered Users Posts: 813 ✭✭✭Macdarack

Did the program leave out the bit after his resignation that he'd continued as a executive advisor or some shiit.

The book is a great read. Has a lot more detail.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,784 ✭✭✭KungPao

Macdarack wrote: »
    Did the program leave out the bit after his resignation that he'd continued as a executive advisor or some shiit.
    Nein.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,674 ✭✭✭obi604

What’s the bollox at these last few months?

obi604 wrote: »
    What’s the bollox at these last few months?

Working in the uk I believe

• Registered Users Posts: 5,674 ✭✭✭obi604

At what do you know?

f00ker should be in prison.

And making lots of money according to his auld fella. Almost a Fcuk you to the FAI.

Apparently he is doing some management consulting work there. No doubt bluffing away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,959 ✭✭✭con747

How many of the elite in this country ever get what they deserve after being found out as corrupt?. I could count on one hand with room to spare. Slap on the wrist and here's a big payoff and lucrative pension as you laugh your way to a luxury retirement.

Don't expect anything from life, just be grateful to be alive.