Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

Are you adhering to the Households rule?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭bb1234567

I doubt that. The mood music is changing rapidly in relation to this virus. People are not happy with the Level 5 overreaction and they are very worried about the economy and other illnesses that are going undetected including the mental health impacts.

I think the world will wake up and smell the coffee in 2021 and just get on with "living with covid". Some restrictions yes but nothing like the nonsense we have today.

People have been saying that since late April. It's looking pretty obvious that Irish people will largely comply with any restrictions the government put in place, no matter how overreactive or unreasonable and no matter how negative the impact of them is

• Closed Accounts Posts: 164 ✭✭Jimson

Lockheed wrote: »
    I did get out once in August, counted it wrong, 4 months then.

Common sense has to prevail in the end with all these restrictions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,182 ✭✭✭MrMusician18

AdamD wrote: »
    Have seen a couple of people outside my household. Hardly massive risk stuff. Most people I talk to are the same, largely adhering to the rules, no mad parties etc. but not going to apologise for meeting a mate or two for an outdoors pint. We can't just put our lives on hold for months on end, work all week then see nobody at the weekend.

Expecting the population to sit at home and not see anyone for another 6 weeks was never reasonable, the government should be encouraging safe outdoor activities.

If the government encouraged save outdoor activities you'd certainly have groups taking liberties with the exception, and pretty much doing their own thing.

At the moment it is only, generally individuals taking liberties, not groups.

What happens at Christmas will be interesting. Many posters say they are fed up with 2020 and want to see the back of this year and will gather with family and friends as normal - yet their very actions will ensure that 2021 starts just as **** as 2020 ended.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,944 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

I visited a relatives house once in June and about a week before they brought in the restrictions.
    I didn’t get any take-aways between Mid March and Mid August.
    We did cut down on our trips to the shops briefly in April once about June hit we went back to normal and whilst we get a big weekly shop but we’re not going to feel guilty about going to the shops for a few non essential items during the week..
    Yes we go to the shop together. In a smaller town where you don’t get queues.
    We obeyed all travel restrictions.
    We’ve also gone back having takeaway again.
    I wear my mask and do the best out in public

I know when the restrictions came in the first place people obeyed them fairly well.
    This time around people aren’t tough. I’ve seen several people breaking them. People simply have had enough.
    Even some who say they are obeying them aren’t.
    People are very careful who they tell stuff to and not everybody would admit to doing things to some encase that person tried to cause them hassle.
    I’ve no issue with people visiting family and going places. I wouldn’t dream in a million years on causing hassle once the person wasn’t doing something really wrong.( ie visiting when they had Covid).
    If you are visiting people and doing stuff your not meant to be doing don’t let angel's online make you feel guilty once your not acting the total maggot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,403 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

bush wrote:
    Did you shame them?

Definitely, more so for driving the few seconds up from the village, but I guess we done the same!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

utmbuilder wrote: »
    I think we have reached a point that if they close schools, the people just cant handle it.

This weekend was tough for me I have to admit.

‘The people’? Which people?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,480 ✭✭✭Blondini

utmbuilder wrote: »
    I think we have reached a point that if they close schools, the people just cant handle it.

This weekend was tough for me I have to admit.

Don't worry about the schools. They will not be closing under any circumstances.

The numbers show the lockdowns work even when so many tramps don’t follow it, so they’re not going anywhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,306 ✭✭✭✭Drumpot

What are peoples rules with regards to children in other houses?

We don’t let ours in anybody else’s house but our eldest who is just pre teen is losing touch with friends. Certainly some close by are being allowed into each other’s houses so our son isn’t going out much now and is often on his own playing with his toys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,482 ✭✭✭VonLuck

SusieBlue wrote: »
    They aren’t babysitting so mam can go off for a manicure and dad can play a game of soccer, they are looking after the children so the parents can work. Quite a difference.

And maybe, just maybe, all the adults involved assessed the risk together and deemed it to be acceptable for the grandparents to continue minding the kids.
    And if that’s the case it’s frankly none of our business.

It becomes everyone's business if people get admitted to ICU as a result of a family who "assessed the risk together".

It shouldn't just be a personal decision whether you care or not if you get infected. It affects everyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,268 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

VonLuck wrote: »
    It becomes everyone's business if people get admitted to ICU as a result of a family who "assessed the risk together".

It shouldn't just be a personal decision whether you care or not if you get infected. It affects everyone.

Essential childcare is allowed under the guidelines . As is going to school or creche and shopping and going for a walk .As is caring for a family member . Its not just a personal decision to do any of that its the guidelines

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,268 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

SusieBlue wrote: »
    They aren’t babysitting so mam can go off for a manicure and dad can play a game of soccer, they are looking after the children so the parents can work. Quite a difference.

And maybe, just maybe, all the adults involved assessed the risk together and deemed it to be acceptable for the grandparents to continue minding the kids.
    And if that’s the case it’s frankly none of our business.

Also I doubt very much that children are being left in the care of an 85 year old nana ! Many grandparents are in their 50's or early 60's .

I think people ought to be ashamed of themselves for not visiting elderly parents, grandparents or in laws and then acting holier than thou about it.

Very easy for elder family to say everything is “grand” over the phone because they don’t want to burden you.

But people open up more when you visit in person. I’ve been asked for a lift to the GP, help buying Christmas presents online, going to the pharmacy to get prescriptions, help with getting shopping and overall just happy to have some company / help.

I wonder how many elderly have died alone now, wishing that someone would have visited.

But at least we didn’t spread Covid to them... Right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭paw patrol

The numbers show the lockdowns work even when so many tramps don’t follow it, so they’re not going anywhere.

your comment doesn't really make sense.

Lockdown works but many people/tramps don't follow it.

something else is happening other than lockdown so.

I think people ought to be ashamed of themselves for not visiting elderly parents, grandparents or in laws and then acting holier than thou about it.

Very easy for elder family to say everything is “grand” over the phone because they don’t want to burden you.

But people open up more when you visit in person. I’ve been asked for a lift to the GP, help buying Christmas presents online, going to the pharmacy to get prescriptions, help with getting shopping and overall just happy to have some company / help.

I wonder how many elderly have died alone now, wishing that someone would have visited.

100%.

Even if you believe Covid19 is this big terrible granny killing plague - at almost 9 months later and I'm still stumped how people can put their relationships with close family and friends on hold (or permanent end) for the imagined benefit of people they don't know or even like and for a pat on the back from the government.

Remember this , Micheal Martin's praise will be cold comfort when you are remembering your granny having missed the last year of her life.
    It's an amazing thing, what people will give up cos the man on the telly told them too

paw patrol wrote: »
    100%.

Even if you believe Covid19 is this big terrible granny killing plague - at almost 9 months later and I'm still stumped how people can put their relationships with close family and friends for the imagined benefit of people they don't know or even like and for a pat on the back from the government.

Remember this , Micheal Martin's praise will be cold comfort when you are remembering your granny having missed the last year of her life.
    It's an amazing thing what people will give up cos the man on the telly told them too

I couldn't agree more and I've said this for months. Some BIG GUY on the TV or in Government decrees if you can see your loved ones. While that might have worked in the beginning it beggars belief that people would still not have seen older relatives or loved ones right up to now!!! To think that your personal sacrifice is saving lives is naive. That is only assuming that you have Covid. Most of us don't and have paid this huge price for nothing, for the greater good, to keep the small minority happy, to not be labelled as a "granny killer".

Will Tony Holohan hold your hand or listen to you crying when you have to deal with the aftermath of not seeing someone who has died in your family? Will he be there when you get a cancer diagnosis that was delayed because you were afraid or unable to go to the GP? (2 people I know have received terminal diagnosis since August, due to earlier symptoms in March not being attended to, both are under 50).
    Will he be there with you when you go to MABS to try and deal with your mortgage arrears and restructured re-payments until you are 70.... because you lost your job?

These are the realities that many ordinary people are now dealing with. I have seen my Mum once since March. She is slowly dying from lack of living ....she is in a nursing home, no visits, no seeing her grandchildren, no little gifts or a walk around the grounds of the nursing home, no music or singing in the recreation hall , no bingo, nothing.

Go and see your parents and grandparents if they are lucky enough to live in a house and not a nursing home. Wear a mask, keep your distance, wash your hands...... but visit them in person. You are allowed under these restrictions to do so!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,441 ✭✭✭bladespin

We are but unconsciously really (we never visited other households very much), it's pretty pointless IMO as our kids are at school and mixing, which effectively means we're mixing with 6+ other households every day lol.
    Untitled Image

MasteryDarts Ireland - Master your game!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,787 ✭✭✭mohawk

I have cut down on visits to my grandparents but since about May we do visit them. They are in their 80’s and I have a child in Primary School so I don’t pop in much anymore. He used to go there after school until Covid hit. They miss him he was great company for them.

I ring them and it’s not the same as a visit. On my last visit we talked and laughed and most importantly I listened to them. They are feeling lonely and from listening to them I know they fear loneliness more then Covid. My grandparents are in great health for the age. If they want us to stop visits then we will. They are perfectly able to make decisions for themselves and I will respect their decisions like I always have.

There are thousands of older people living alone who will tell you on the phone they are fine but open up and tell you how they really are when you see them in person.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,455 ✭✭✭Beanybabog

This is a big issue. It’s fine saying lock down for X amount of time but right now
    There’s no end in sight. My grandparents (80s and 90s) are miserable. Scared of covid buy also the fact Granny is unwell and won’t last much longer and can’t see people.
    I have an elderly relative in a nursing home who put herself in, she’s totally mobile and goes to town on the bus, visits friends, came and went as she pleased, and she’s been locked in her room weeks on end throughout this and was only allowed out of the home for 4 days before they banned it again. She regrets selling her house and considering giving up her space and renting an apartment so she can get out again. It’s no life and she’s not even any safer from Covid because it keeps getting in and spreading in the home. Also she genuinely is not afraid of it- she says she’s in her 80s and so be it. But she’s not being given any choice and the last years of her life are being ruined. People go visit and stand at the window but that’s not enough unless there’s some end in sight.

Beanybabog wrote: »
    This is a big issue. It’s fine saying lock down for X amount of time but right now
    There’s no end in sight. My grandparents (80s and 90s) are miserable. Scared of covid buy also the fact Granny is unwell and won’t last much longer and can’t see people.
    I have an elderly relative in a nursing home who put herself in, she’s totally mobile and goes to town on the bus, visits friends, came and went as she pleased, and she’s been locked in her room weeks on end throughout this and was only allowed out of the home for 4 days before they banned it again. She regrets selling her house and considering giving up her space and renting an apartment so she can get out again. It’s no life and she’s not even any safer from Covid because it keeps getting in and spreading in the home. Also she genuinely is not afraid of it- she says she’s in her 80s and so be it. But she’s not being given any choice and the last years of her life are being ruined. People go visit and stand at the window but that’s not enough unless there’s some end in sight.

Their last years been spend like it's in jail f that. any chance a relative can put them up for a few weeks/month?

iamwhoiam wrote: »
    Essential childcare is allowed under the guidelines . As is going to school or creche and shopping and going for a walk .As is caring for a family member . Its not just a personal decision to do any of that its the guidelines

Oh I understand that. Perhaps I misread the situation. I just meant the general restrictions that people seem to opt in and out of as they please. If it's following government guidelines then by all means, as long as you are also happy with taking that risk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,455 ✭✭✭Beanybabog

Their last years been spend like it's in jail f that. nay chance a relative can put them up for a few weeks/month?

Not really, she’s very independent so probably wouldn’t, only people she’s ever stayed with over Christmas etc is my parents who would have her no problem but they’re not in Dublin which defeats the point, she wants to get out and potter in town and the library etc (when open obviously).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,878 ✭✭✭robbiezero

Why does it? ICU is in no danger of being overrun.

your comment doesn't really make sense.

Lockdown works but many people/tramps don't follow it.

something else is happening other than lockdown so.

Meaning it's working despite so many not following it. Numbers would be a lot lower if they did. Simple.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,441 ✭✭✭bladespin

It doesn't though, if you're following the guidelines then the actions of someone else won't affect you either way, even better if they're responsible enough to consider any risks in the first place.
    Untitled Image

MasteryDarts Ireland - Master your game!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,268 ✭✭✭✭How Soon Is Now

Ive hardly seen my best friends this year since March really. The odd meet up here and there but nothing recently. Other then my mother father and two brothers haven't seen any other family since probably last year.

The original lock down we all kept our distance if i seen me ma and da at all it was literally just them calling up and standing at the stairs outside my place with there masks on and we have a chat.

This time around obviously we have limited numbers again but i am not stopping them from calling down and i call down to them the odd time as well. I was down on Saturday evening to watch the Gaa with me da had a bit of dinner then went home. I could tell they where delighted and i am not giving these kinds of things up whats the point?

All i do these days is wake up go to work and come home i have more chance of catching something from some ****ing yoke on Luas then i do anyone else!

Life is to bloody short to be hiding away from your family unless there is serious reason to. One of my best friends his mother and father both died within the last year nothing to do with Covid no one knows whats around the corner ffs.

The government can bring in level 100 for all i care i will be doing the same thing i do every year this Christmas and if everyone else can they should do the same.

Covid is statistically no threat to the vast majority of you. So..

get-busy-living-two.jpg

robbiezero wrote: »
    Why does it? ICU is in no danger of being overrun.

Why do you think that is? Because of the restrictions!
    bladespin wrote: »
    It doesn't though, if you're following the guidelines then the actions of someone else won't affect you either way, even better if they're responsible enough to consider any risks in the first place.

It certainly can affect you. If you or a loved one have a serious accident and need to be admitted to ICU I think you'd be very concerned about it being over capacity due to Covid patients.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,944 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

The biggest issue for people who question anything about this is they are compared to Gemma O Doherty and her gang if they do and they get no where.
    Part of me feels she is paid by they government to stop people from questioning them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,677 ✭✭✭frozenfrozen

we only have extra strong restrictions because people weren't respecting the earlier levels.

people aren't being called gemma o doherty for questioning, they're being called selfish.

If everyone followed the rules perfectly it would be over by now