Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Covid 19 Part XXVII- 62,002 ROI (1,915 deaths) 39,609 NI (724 deaths) (02/11) Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 280 ✭✭wellwhynot

I know mate. They do the same with HIV. It's ridiculous!!!

If we didn't test for asymptomatic HIV cases there would basically be nobody with HIV/AIDS and the virus would surely just disapear.

Completely different as you must be aware? Perhaps you are not, mate.

Covid for the under 70’s is mostly a mild virus, similar or less than a cold for the majority. Hence the advice, if positive, is to stay at home. Do you think they advise the same with HIV? HIV is a life threatening illness without treatment.

wellwhynot wrote: »
    Completely different as you must be aware? Perhaps you are not, mate.

Covid for the under 70’s is mostly a mild virus, similar or less than a cold for the majority. Hence the advice, if positive, is to stay at home. Do you think they advise the same with HIV? HIV is a life threatening illness without treatment.

Just a heads up. He was taking the piss out of you.

Just a heads up. He was taking the piss out of you.[/

Is this the level of debate allowed on boards?

Just a heads up. He was taking the piss out of you.[/

Is this the level of debate allowed on boards?

Ireland could double it's ICU capacity tomorrow by the way. ICU's are designed to be able to hold double the amount of patients for a short period of time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,150 ✭✭✭TonyMaloney

I presumed he was taking the piss.

I was using the much vaunted sarcastic approach.

Just as HIV can become AIDS, SARS-CoV-2 can become COVID-19 (I may have that backwards).
    And similarly to HIV, if you've got SARS-CoV-2 and are asymptomatic, you can still be infectious.

That's why for both viruses, an asymptomatic case is still a case.

is_that_so wrote: »
    It's actually a staffing issue not money. It's very hard to attract the hundreds even thousands needed when a lot of other health systems are dipping into the same pool to recruit.

75,000 or so answered Ireland’s call but only a tiny amount were used.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,218 ✭✭✭snowcat

I see a few studies that report that a mouthwash significantly reduces the transmission of Covid from an infected person. Should this be used in conjunction with sanitising hands as it seems to be obvious that surfaces are not a huge factor in transmission and that aerosols are the main culprit. Should we have gargling points outside supermarkets etc?

https://www.washingtonpost.com/lifestyle/wellness/mouthwash-inactivate-covid-study/2020/10/22/1735cdd4-13c5-11eb-bc10-40b25382f1be_story.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,132 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

75,000 or so answered Ireland’s call but only a tiny amount were used.
    Using people in a pandemic and employing them are two different things. The HSE regularly admits the challenges of recruitment of medical personnel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,132 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

snowcat wrote: »
    I see a few studies that report that a mouthwash significantly reduces the transmission of Covid from an infected person. Should this be used in conjunction with sanitising hands as it seems to be obvious that surfaces are not a huge factor in transmission and that aerosols are the main culprit. Should we have gargling points outside supermarkets etc?

https://www.washingtonpost.com/lifestyle/wellness/mouthwash-inactivate-covid-study/2020/10/22/1735cdd4-13c5-11eb-bc10-40b25382f1be_story.html
    Nah, the spittoon would be a well of germs!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,833 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

pjohnson wrote: »
    Hey last nights "solution" to covid was referenda for some reason. That appeared to be the "open up" solution.

God knows what tbf but thats apparently what country needs to sort covid :pac:

you think maintaining cancer screening is some sort of hyperbolic anti mask wearing "open up" agenda item?

that type of response makes you just as ridiculous as an anti mask protestor on Grafton street to be honest

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,999 ✭✭✭Russman

With all due respect, but this is where we find ourselves? Giving them a get out of jail card in the auld oirish way "ah shure they're great lads dem big top docs and de people running de country...shure what would an aul gombeen like me or the likes of me know about any of this complicated bisnis, begorah begorah"

Sorry but I dont buy in. This is their JOB!! And if the government or the people they employ in these roles as advisorsbe that medical advisors or political ones, can say litereally "Shure look lads, we've run out of options. We creamed the taxpayers for years in office and our buddies in the HSE did likewise, but now that its a sh1t show, yis are on your sweeney"

Likewise, with all due respect, that’s absolute horsesh1t. You mention the tone of an earlier post and then come out with the likes of that ?? Really?

No government in Europe did well or managed this situation back in the spring. Everyone was flying blind and doing what they thought was best. Just because these top doctors etc are saying things I might not like doesn’t make them wrong.
    I don’t actually disagree with much of the second part of your post, but we can’t go back to 2005 and invest more or not cream the taxpayer. They were dealing in the here and now at the time (back in March)

I was using the much vaunted sarcastic approach.

Just as HIV can become AIDS, SARS-CoV-2 can become COVID-19 (I may have that backwards).
    And similarly to HIV, if you've got SARS-CoV-2 and are asymptomatic, you can still be infectious.

That's why for both viruses, an asymptomatic case is still a case.

Yes but the death rate for AIDs without treatment is 90%.

The death rate for Covid in the under 70’s (with underlying conditions) is 0.05%.

We don’t routinely swab for any other respiratory virus including flu or colds and they are infectious. Flu CFR is 0.1%.

The death rate for Covid in the under 70’s (with underlying conditions) is 0.05%.

We don’t routinely swab for any other respiratory virus including flu or colds and they are infectious. Flu CFR is 1%.
    Everybody who comes into hospital as an in-patient with flu like symptoms will get screened for flu. You are been disingenious.
    It's a highly infectious disease.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,074 ✭✭✭kittensmittens

Russman wrote: »
    Likewise, with all due respect, that’s absolute horsesh1t. You mention the tone of an earlier post and then come out with the likes of that ?? Really?

No government in Europe did well or managed this situation back in the spring. Everyone was flying blind and doing what they thought was best. Just because these top doctors etc are saying things I might not like doesn’t make them wrong.
    I don’t actually disagree with much of the second part of your post, but we can’t go back to 2005 and invest more or not cream the taxpayer. They were dealing in the here and now at the time.

I can assume you work for the HSE or some body similar?

Edit just to note, it was you who said their hands were tied, not me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,095 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

We don’t routinely swab for any other respiratory virus including flu or colds and they are infectious. Flu CFR is 1%.

The Flu CFR is not 1%, more like 0.1%.

And why are you comparing the (wrong) total Flu CFR with a wrong figure, to a selective slice of Covid CFR?

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

I can assume you work for the HSE or some body similar?

You couldn’t be more wrong if you assume that.

Everybody who comes into hospital as an in-patient with flu like symptoms will get screened for flu. You are been disingenious.
    It's a highly infectious disease.

So only the sickest, yeah?

odyssey06 wrote: »

And why are you comparing the (wrong) total Flu CFR with a wrong figure, to a selective slice of Covid CFR?

Typo 0.1%

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 410 ✭✭Icantthinkof1

There is now a 3 YEAR BACKLOG in breast cancer screening. It only reopened yesterday.

There are 153 THOUSAND women affected by this. Have a wee read of that number again. 153 THOUSAND. And you can bet your bottom dollar, within that figure there will be deaths due to late detection and treatment due to covid taking precedent.

But hey, I'm sure that when those women are dying and leaving husbands, children and families behind for what may have been avoidable if they had of been treated, that they will die knowing they "held firm".

After discovering a lump I’m now waiting 8 weeks and have not had a screening I’m sure they’re are others waiting longer

ETA as luck would have it I just received a call and thankfully have an appointment next week

Russman wrote: »
    You couldn’t be more wrong if you assume that.

Well then thats slightly more worrying :D

As I said, it was you who said their hands were tied and we just have to accept that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,756 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

odyssey06 wrote: »

You know why.

pjohnson wrote: »
    You know why.

I said it was a typo. My CFR for both are from the Who.

Well then thats slightly more worrying :D

As I said, it was you who said their hands were tied and we just have to accept that.

I’m not sure I get the point, but hey.
    FWIW I work in the private sector.

Hands are tied was referring to front line staff. I meant I’ve no issue with the nurses, doctors etc at the coal face, so to speak. Any issue I’d have with the HSE would be the layers of bureaucracy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,592 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

'Death rate of Flu is 1%, the majority of people in ICU with Covid are young men who tried to commit suicide'

Think I'll come back later.

After discovering a lump in now waiting 8 weeks and have not had a screening I’m sure they’re are others waiting longer

There was someone posted in response to my post a couple of pages back that anyone with lumps or family history as still being seen. I thought "What shillery"!
    They are in their backside seeing women. I know of one woman with a lump waiting 12 weeks and has family history and another friend has had her treatment for removing cells cancelled 3 times since march.
    But again, what do we know? I'm sure someone will be along very shortly to correct me and let us know that we are cancer moaners and covid is the thread topic here and what ever we do......dont have the audacity to question the powers that be

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,139 ✭✭✭What Username Guidelines

Decent enough dip as expected after Bank Holiday, 40 discharges, albeit with 19 admissions. ICU remains stable at 38.

https://covid19ireland-geohive.hub.arcgis.com/pages/hospitals-icu--testing

Boggles wrote: »
    'Death rate of Flu is 1%, the majority of people in ICU with Covid are young men who tried to commit suicide'

I can’t wait for your next one liner.

I said it was a typo. My CFR for both are from the Who.

What about the young men who committed suicide in in ICU? Could you actually explain what your point is here?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,376 ✭✭✭Funsterdelux

Boggles wrote: »

How can you be so callous, a nurse said it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,592 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

What about the young men who committed suicide in in ICU? Could you actually explain what your point is here?

Typo.