Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Covid 19 Part XXVII- 62,002 ROI (1,915 deaths) 39,609 NI (724 deaths) (02/11) Read OP

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,950 ✭✭✭polesheep

So if vaccine got HPRA, MHRA and EMA approval? Would you take it?

That would be one of the criteria I would use. Another would be the fact that I am not in an at-risk group. I also would be reluctant to take a rushed vaccine until it had been in general use for a period of time and demonstrated to be safe. Nothing unreasonable there. If, on the other hand, I was very vulnerable, I would be first in the queue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,752 ✭✭✭✭Supercell

No he was "retired" from practice for 1) calling out the initial nursing home fiasco and 2) having an opinion.

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/health/gp-to-close-practice-after-threat-of-suspension-over-anti-mask-views-1.4375726

That's quite sad, this is supposed to be a free country, he has a different opinion which should be countered with facts not threats to stop him practising medicine which he is qualified to do. It undermines the HSE/NPHET when they lash out like a petulant child in this way.

Have a weather station?, why not join the Ireland Weather Network - http://irelandweather.eu/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,563 ✭✭✭SeaBreezes

The needs of the many outweigh the needs of the few. We are facing economic oblivion that will ruin many many lives for decades.

Its happening globally. Really, you think Governments ALL OVER THE WORLD havent weighed up the balance and lockdown is the option that will ruin LESS lives?

Or have they just not googled enough?
    Not as informed as you obviously are :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,593 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

Ah yes because in my work if I was wrong 30% of the time and caused a major issue I'd probably be shown the door.
    Clown

According to Public Health, Glynn when he was acting CMO wrote to Reid 3 times to relay the concerns about contact tracing.

According to Reid himself he didn't notify the Health Minister.

But he is sorry and will aim for 60%-70%.

He should be fired out of a fúcking cannon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,298 ✭✭✭prunudo

Allinall wrote: »
    What's misleading?

This lockdown is nothing like the first one.

Schools open.
    Construction open.
    Hardware and DIY shops open.
    Inter-county GAA going ahead.
    Various health services which were stopped in March
    5k exercise limit instead of 2k.

Exactly, its not level 5 lockdown at all, its a level 4 with a 5km travel restriction tagged on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

SeaBreezes wrote: »
    Its happening globally. Really, you think Governments ALL OVER THE WORLD havent weighed up the balance and lockdown is the option that will ruin LESS lives?

Or have they just not googled enough?
    Not as informed as you obviously are :)

Well it looked like we were doing that when NPHET first whipped out their dicks and slapping it around the media. But when they did it the second time Micheal Martin cowed to their pressure. In January they are going to have to lockdown again or admit they messed up. And we all know how reluctant politicians are to admit they were wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 860 ✭✭✭OwenM

Boggles wrote: »
    According to Public Health, Glynn when he was acting CMO wrote to Reid 3 times to relay the concerns about contact tracing.

Would Ryanair take over contact tracing, only half joking, they have a vested interest in seeing work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,468 ✭✭✭wirelessdude01

Boggles wrote: »

And if he hadnotified Donnelly he in turn probably wouldn't have bothered letting the Taoiseach know.

Supercell wrote: »
    That's quite sad, this is supposed to be a free country, he has a different opinion which should be countered with facts not threats to stop him practising medicine which he is qualified to do. It undermines the HSE/NPHET when they lash out like a petulant child in this way.

The medical council is not the HSE/NPHET. It's an independent regulator.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,951 ✭✭✭✭rob316

Its not near as severe as Lockdown 1.0 but I don't think its supposed to be. That was literally stay in your house unless you need food or medicine. Loads still open today

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,427 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

I suspect the almost global, intermittent lockdowns may be having a teensy weensy effect too !!!
    Of course they are bad but the longer the lockdown the worse it gets..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,351 ✭✭✭CruelSummer

Can someone explain the logic of people not being allowed to play golf, tennis, heck even swim in a pool full of chlorine. The health benefits of these activities which involve no contact with others far outweigh the benefit of their closure.

rob316 wrote: »
    Its not near as severe as Lockdown 1.0 but I don't think its supposed to be. That was literally stay in your house unless you need food or medicine. Loads still open today

Incremental steps. I fully expect a further tightening in a couple of weeks.

rob316 wrote: »

It never could have been. They always knew that they would only get one shot at that.

Can someone explain the logic of people not being allowed to play golf, tennis, heck even swim in a pool full of chlorine. The health benefits of these activities which involve no contact with others far outweigh the benefit of their closure.

Thought tennis Ireland had announced last night that clubs could remain open?

Edit: I see TI put out a statement just 5 minutes ago telling clubs to suspend all activities with immediate effect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,178 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

Can someone explain the logic of people not being allowed to play golf, tennis, heck even swim in a pool full of chlorine. /QUOTE]

You could probably say the same about a lot of 'nonessential retailers,' libraries, cinemas etc. If you make an exception for everything you'll end up with a very porous lockdown...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

That is a fitness to practice issue. If I said the same things without evidence, my regulator (the PSI) would be questioning my fitness to practice. He took the coward's step of resigning rather than standing up for his convictions. If I held so steadfast views, I'd welcome my day in the tribunal.

Also, the medical council is not the HSE.

What has his opinion got to do with his fitness to practice? How many complaints had they received from patients? There were none mentioned in their letter, only complaints from other doctors.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,802 ✭✭✭✭ACitizenErased

You’d have to start to consider Reid’s position being untenable now. Not letting the Minister for Health know that tracing has basically collapsed is criminal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

Supercell wrote: »

4 jobs gone and hundreds of patients without a doctor now, for daring to question the status quo.

polesheep wrote: »
    That would be one of the criteria I would use. Another would be the fact that I am not in an at-risk group. I also would be reluctant to take a rushed vaccine until it had been in general use for a period of time and demonstrated to be safe. Nothing unreasonable there. If, on the other hand, I was very vulnerable, I would be first in the queue.

Reasonable. You wouldn't be offered the vaccine early doors anyway though as you are not an at risk category.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,132 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

You’d have to start to consider Reid’s position being untenable now. Not letting the Minister for Health know that tracing has basically collapsed is criminal.
    Not sure about that, he's not the only one not telling him things!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,524 ✭✭✭harr

The problem with golf is not walking around the course on your own it the groups of normally lads who would get together and play and probably car pool to drive to the course I would presume club house would need to be open as well .. same goes for swimming pool , most have have an hour’s session at a time so it would mean a lot of people using changing rooms at same time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 433 ✭✭rafi bomb

The more I think of it the more I think this lockdown wont do much. So much still open.

I was very militant during the last lockdown and I am considering still visiting my partner who is about 10KM away so if I am considering that the people who were less likely to comply the first time must not even consider sticking to it this time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,427 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

Did Reid say he didn't tell him?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,802 ✭✭✭✭ACitizenErased

is_that_so wrote: »
    Not sure about that, he's not the only one not telling him things!

There’s a big difference between not telling “things” and not saying “oh ya by the way our entire tracing system collapsed for the weekend”

What has his opinion got to do with his fitness to practice? How many complaints had they received from patients? There were none mentioned in their letter, only complaints from other doctors.

https://www.thetimes.co.uk/article/coronavirus-in-ireland-marcus-de-brun-claims-healthy-people-should-not-be-wearing-masks-l929n8hwd

Likely this, his comments aren't scientific in nature and are a risk to public health. Rather than apologise and say he got it wrong. He resigned his registration to save his reputation/ been recorded as been "struck off".

In my opinion, if he went to tribunal and refused to admit he was wronga bout his mask convictions, he would have been struck off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 713 ✭✭✭manniot2

Mcdaid talking sense on newstalk despite Pat's best efforts to interrupt him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,539 ✭✭✭Icyseanfitz

rafi bomb wrote: »
    The more I think of it the more I think this lockdown wont do much. So much still open.

I was very militant during the last lockdown and I am considering still visiting my partner who is about 10KM away so if I am considering that the people who were less likely to comply the first time must not even consider sticking to it this time

I was also very strict with everything up until now i suppose, being told to continue working in school with 700 close contacts and in the same breath telling me i cant travel outside 5km to go mountain biking in the woods by myself is not sitting too well. Its the whole mixed message that they are sending out, this thing is okay but this is not even though it should be.

Reasonable. You wouldn't be offered the vaccine early doors anyway though as you are not an at risk category.

I imagine I'll be well down the list, which is as it should be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,578 ✭✭✭✭Turtwig

4 jobs gone and hundreds of patients without a doctor now, for daring to question the status quo.

How you question things actually matter. Especially if you have a position of responsibility. This is entirely different from disagreeing (or agreeing) with the status quo.

Even if there was no covid it kind of felt like a matter of time before things came to a head.