Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Opening of "No-Food" pubs pushed out again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,524 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

MOH wrote: »
    This is just nuts. It's very possible I'm misreading this, but the SI they published today appears to say, in relation to licensed premises:
    - in general, only allowed on the premises to order/collect takeaway food or non-alcoholic drink (11.3.b)
    - in Dublin, no alcohol consumption on the premises without a substantial meal (11.3.d)
    - in Dublin, record the details of the substantial meals ordered by each person in a group (12.1.c)
    - in general, don't serve food or drink to anyone unless they're sitting at a table (12.1.d)

So combined: you can't get anything in any licensed premises except takeaway or non-alcoholic drink, you have to eat a substantial meal with your alcohol if you're in Dublin, and you can't get served any of it anywhere unless you're sitting at a table.

I can only assume I'm misreading it as otherwise it's totally self-contradictory.

Haven't read the full thing but they were definitely told last night takeaway only including "wet pubs". But I do think its still as you were so no wet pubs doing takeaway in Dublin, i think.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,078 ✭✭✭IAMAMORON

PTH2009 wrote: »
    Are the Government trying to prove how good they are to the other EU nations for not allowing pubs open ??

Pubs all over Europe were open months before us and even in places who had very high covid numbers ??

The entire reason for their closure is purely political.

The gov do not want to be seen to being negligent. I was speaking to pals in Germany last Friday, all of them back from the pub.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,472 ✭✭✭MOH

IAMAMORON wrote: »
    The entire reason for their closure is purely political.

The gov do not want to be seen to being negligent. I was speaking to pals in Germany last Friday, all of them back from the pub.

A German court overturned a government ruling last week closing bars from 11pm on the grounds there was no evidence it would help curb coronavirus:
    Ruling on a case brought by 11 restaurant owners, the administrative court noted that new infections in Germany currently stem from private gatherings of family and friends, at community facilities, meat-processing plants, religious gatherings or in connection with travel.

But obviously it's a completely different scenario since none of those other sources of infection have ever applied here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,190 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

MOH wrote: »
    A German court overturned a government ruling last week closing bars from 11pm on the grounds there was no evidence it would help curb coronavirus:

But obviously it's a completely different scenario since none of those other sources of infection have ever applied here.

Yeah its disgraceful the way publicans are been treated here and the ****e today is not inspiring confidence

All the government/NPHET are predicting between themselves is it will be piss up galore in December and they can't be having that. House parties will happen but some older folk won't get the chance to have there few Christmas drinks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,211 ✭✭✭✭Suckit

I don't get this whining. Non stop.
    Would you like us to rub your back for you, or tell you that we are sorry you had to go through this, God love you.
    some older folk won't get the chance to have there few Christmas drinks.

Yes they will. They just mightn't be able to have them in a pub, but I would imagine the way that people are acting in the pubs, most of them probably wouldn't want to.

I am guessing here, but if restrictions are eased before Christmas, they will just be lowered to level 3. That means idiots can have their pints, and everyone else can also have a drink knowing that they are a little bit safer.
    I don't know anyone that doesn't know of at least one pub that didn't flout the restrictions. I also don't know anyone that doesn't know where there have been some parties, where there are people who 'don't give a shit about covid' and/or where there have been people ignoring lockdown restrictions and for example, crossing borders.

If people cannot have a drink at Christmas, I know exactly who I believe is to blame for the restrictions preventing them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,844 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

Everyone completely ignoring the fact that lockdowns don't work.

So the plan is to get cases down, shut the country down for 6 weeks grand.

Then what, open up again and cases go up again. This is absolutely pointless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,486 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

I think it's geared towards us having a kinda half-decent Christmas. The idea is if we get cases down enough we can ease restrictions enough to enable us to visit each other's houses over the festive period.

In lieu of a vaccine, I'm not sure there are too many realistic options to keep cases down whilst also allowing us to spend time with family this Christmas

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,110 ✭✭✭Dickie10

so will people head for spain or portugal for christmas , might go carribbean.

MrStuffins wrote: »
    I think it's geared towards us having a kinda half-decent Christmas. The idea is if we get cases down enough we can ease restrictions enough to enable us to visit each other's houses over the festive period.

In lieu of a vaccine, I'm not sure there are too many realistic options to keep cases down whilst also allowing us to spend time with family this Christmas

I just can't see it though... 6 weeks brings up til the start of December, typically the busiest times for retail and pubs etc, I can just see the gov turning around and saying "January lads"... and that will be that. At this stage I'm not even overly fussed with the pubs opening, just to get back to some sort of normality would be nice. I just can't see it happening in 2020.

Nope. We won't get any normality until there's a vaccine ready unfortunately

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,110 ✭✭✭Dickie10

i honestly cant see it happening in 2021 either , i really think we will still be under level2/3 this time next year

I partly would agree with you, but mainly in spring - summer.

The damp cold conditions that we are expecting between now and March/April are expected to make cases more severe, and with a few vaccines close to release - it seems more pointless to not enter lockdown for a short while.

I think/have always thought, we should have locked down fully in March, or any time that a lockdown may have been required. There is no point in partial lockdown and leaving the virus room to move around.

But now, for now, I think a lockdown is required.

The March lockdown was always destined to fail because of open border/airports. Was chatting to a buddy in New Zealand this evening and he was saying how seriously they treated people flying into the country, two week stay in a special hotel that cost 3k... that stopped a tonne of people coming in and if they did just stopped the virus dead while we had feck all. It was pointless, as is this sham lockdown.

The March lockdown was pointless. It was like holding water in a sieve with cellotape.
    But now it is seemingly a bit more serious. We should be under full lockdown for a couple of weeks, it is uttelry pointless locking us down for 6 weeks while still allowing flights to come in etc.
    But we definitely need it to slowdown.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,673 ✭✭✭✭Fitz*

If that's what happens, then a whole extra demographic of people across the nation are just gonna say 'fxck this' and go to house parties for the month. The same people who have been abiding by the rules and guidelines will say what's the point anymore.

And I will be one of them. I've been to one party since March, which was an outdoor garden party. A small one with people from 5 households, around 10 people. Except for that, I have largely followed all rules and guidelines, wearing a mask before they were compulsory. I'll be going to a lot more house parties, indoors, in December if retail opens and pubs don't. Sick of being cooped up at home for 23 hours a day. I have absolutely zero social interaction with anybody while working from home and all public areas a no-go area now. Even the last 4-6 weeks have felt like level 5.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,931 ✭✭✭PommieBast

I just can't see it though... 6 weeks brings up til the start of December, typically the busiest times for retail and pubs etc, I can just see the gov turning around and saying "January lads"... and that will be that.
    Closing retail for the xmas shopping season is going to massively accelerate the trend towards online shopping, and that means losing business permanently to better adapted US/UK retailers. In short killing off one of the things that I think makes Ireland a better place to live :(

MrStuffins wrote: »
    Nope. We won't get any normality until there's a vaccine ready unfortunately

Had a few jars tonight in the local, they were creamy and sumptuous. Those who want to flippantly knock the hospitality sector with "sure the vaccine is only around the corner" can go do one.

Not sure why you quoted my post here but....... Ok!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,564 ✭✭✭The White Wolf

Dickie10 wrote: »
    i honestly cant see it happening in 2021 either , i really think we will still be under level2/3 this time next year

Realistically even an approved vaccine doesn't mean the world takes a magic pill that makes the virus disappear. I think the use of vaccines will conincide with restrictions for awhile.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,885 ✭✭✭DeanAustin

The March lockdown was always destined to fail because of open border/airports. Was chatting to a buddy in New Zealand this evening and he was saying how seriously they treated people flying into the country, two week stay in a special hotel that cost 3k... that stopped a tonne of people coming in and if they did just stopped the virus dead while we had feck all. It was pointless, as is this sham lockdown.

When you say lockdowns are pointless and destined to fail, what do you mean? Are you expecting lockdowns to get rid of the virus?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 634 ✭✭✭mikekerry

DeanAustin wrote: »
    When you say lock downs are pointless and destined to fail, what do you mean? Are you expecting lock downs to get rid of the virus?

anyone who doesn't recognise that the effects of lock downs are much worse than the gains they make by temporarily bringing cases down for a while needs to do a bit more thinking.
    We already had a lockdown.
    Martin came out yesterday and said we would be having more lock downs.
    There will be no business left to open.
    People mental health is going off the cliff.
    It's madness.
    They are just going to sink the country into a deeper hole.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,885 ✭✭✭DeanAustin

mikekerry wrote: »
    anyone who doesn't recognise that the effects of lock downs are much worse than the gains they make by temporarily bringing cases down for a while needs to do a bit more thinking.
    We already had a lockdown.
    Martin came out yesterday and said we would be having more lock downs.
    There will be no business left to open.
    People mental health is going off the cliff.
    It's madness.
    They are just going to sink the country into a deeper hole.

I’m not a fan of them but it’s not that cut and dry. The lockdown is to keep the numbers down so the health service doesn’t get overwhelmed which could result in a lot more Covid and non Covid deaths. That’s reasonable logic for implementing them. It’s not madness at all. It’s just a logical decision I disagree with.

I err on your side of the argument. I think the negative effects of a lockdown outweigh the benefits. But there are no good choices here. Just a government trying to find a balance between letting an economy die and letting vulnerable people die. A lockdown will never get rid of the virus if that’s people’s expectation. This is probably going to be the cycle until a vaccine is found.

I have my opinions on this but, they’re largely uneducated opinions like most on here. I think we should trust the government and NPHET because I really believe they are doing what they think is right and they are better placed to make those calls than you, me or anyone on here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 634 ✭✭✭mikekerry

I’m not a fan of them but it’s not that cut and dry. The lockdown is to keep the numbers down so the health service doesn’t get overwhelmed which could result in a lot more Covid and non Covid deaths. That’s reasonable logic for implementing them. It’s not madness at all. It’s just a logical decision I disagree with.

I err on your side of the argument. I think the negative effects of a lockdown outweigh the benefits. But there are no good choices here. Just a government trying to find a balance between letting an economy die and letting vulnerable people die. A lockdown will never get rid of the virus if that’s people’s expectation. This is probably going to be the cycle until a vaccine is going.

I have my opinions on this but, they’re largely uneducated opinions like most on here. I think we should trust the government and NPHET because I really believe they are doing what they think is right and they are better placed to make those calls than you, me or anyone on here.

Fair points but lockdowns are going to cause a lot more deaths than covid.
    Suicides must be going through the roof, depression from jobs losses, domestic abuse, people not getting treatment for non-related covid cases.
    There is a tsunami of the above on the way.
    I know they have to try and manage the hospitals but a doctor working in cork
    this week said they were managing fine.
    They only changed the rules last week to stop people calling to other peoples houses give this time to work.
    Whats the point jumping from 1 level to a level that doesn't even exist.
    Sure cases are high but thats throughout europe and hospitalisations and deaths are no where near now what they were at the start and this is without people being more compliant with hand washing, face masking etc.
    From talking to people living in some different countries abroad the panic abroad is nothing like here.
    It's a state of fear .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,361 ✭✭✭SAMTALK

I err on your side of the argument. I think the negative effects of a lockdown outweigh the benefits. But there are no good choices here. Just a government trying to find a balance between letting an economy die and letting vulnerable people die. A lockdown will never get rid of the virus if that’s people’s expectation. This is probably going to be the cycle until a vaccine is found.

This X 100 ..

The amount of people saying the Government are doing this wrong, NPHET are doing this wrong is unreal.

Yes there are a lot of things I dont agree with but who am I to question them on decisions made for the safety of people.
    Could i do a better job, not a hope.
    Could 99% of people here do a better job, not a hope

People saying Oh I'm not doing what they recommend is not helping at all

What's the point of 80% of people doing what's asked and 20% doing what they like. All this will do is prolong the lockdowns and keep the virus spreading

We cannot overwhelm our healthcare system, and that is the bottom line ( regardless of your views on the inaction of Government re healthcare )

SAMTALK wrote: »
    This X 100 ..

The amount of people saying the Government are doing this wrong, NPHET are doing this wrong is unreal.

Yes there are a lot of things I dont agree with but who am I to question them on decisions made for the safety of people.

One of the issues is that a lot of the people "questioning" are the type who have the words "Question Everything" in their Twitter bio. They spend so much time questioning everything that it ends up in them believing 5G is turning the frogs gay and chemtrails are causing Ireland to draw 0-0 in every international match.

Not to mention those who just have a problem with authority. The Govt. are asking me to to something? I'm not doing it!

We have people with no medical conditions making excuses to doctors in order to get out of wearing masks. They think they're too smart for the rest of society.

"Want me to wear a mask? Well here's my doctor's note! Checkmate, supermarket manager who is putting his/her health on the line every day in work. I'm smarter than you"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,215 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

It is indeed not pointless.

And lockdowns do work. It depends on the goal, of course. Australia is almost covid free at the moment - due to its very successful lockdown.

The point, in case some people have missed it, is mostly to allow hospitals to deal with all the patients. Once numbers go down and hospitals have extra capacity, they can open up the economy a bit. Then cases will go up again and when the hospitals come close to capacity they will lock down again. And so on until either here is an effective vaccine rolled out across the country and the world, or the virus disappears.

The lack of reality and critical thinking some people use when thinking about the future of covid, is astonishing. Do some people think the numbers will just go down when we reopen the economy and start mixing again? Do people think we'll all be able to mingle and fill sports events and concerts next year before almost everyone has been vaccinated? Do people think about these things at all?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,472 ✭✭✭MOH

Suckit wrote: »
    I don't get this whining. Non stop.
    Would you like us to rub your back for you, or tell you that we are sorry you had to go through this, God love you.
    So why do you keep whining? It's tiresome

I don't know anyone that doesn't know of at least one pub that didn't flout the restrictions.
    If people cannot have a drink at Christmas, I know exactly who I believe is to blame for the restrictions preventing them.

I know a couple of pubs which were openly flouting the restrictions for months and should have been been closed down and had their license renewal refused. Gardai completely ignored them, no consequences. Anecdotally, a couple of them were visited on Saturday and told to keep the numbers down, but that was it.
    I know a greater number of pubs which followed all the rules, didn't try to exploit any food loopholes, kept waiting for the various promised reopening date which never came, and are almost certainly gone for good now.

I know exactly who to blame if people cannot have a drink at Christmas - the incompetent government and health advisors who have repeatedly lied to the public and businesses, and are now flapping at the barn door while all the horses are halfway down the N11.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 378 ✭✭newuser99999

IAMAMORON wrote: »
    I doubt employees will get the option. You will be forced to either inoculate or don't come to work.

See how that pans out.

That would NEVER happen. Even in the HSE you don’t have to get the flu shot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,202 ✭✭✭stargazer 68

That would NEVER happen. Even in the HSE you don’t have to get the flu shot.

Not at the moment - however that is being bandied about at the moment. If you don't get it you may not be allowed to work in the clinical areas. Now its just being casually dropped into meetings and I can see the Unions jumping all over it but still!

Not at the moment - however that is being bandied about at the moment. If you don't get it you may not be allowed to work in the clinical areas.

We all know the people who are saying this. We can hear them clearly because they're not wearing masks and are screaming at people in their hundreds outside Leinster House on alternating Saturdays.

Now its just being casually dropped into meetings.......

Source?