Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid 19 Part XXVII- 62,002 ROI (1,915 deaths) 39,609 NI (724 deaths) (02/11) Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,450 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 387 ✭✭Goldrickssan

manniot2 wrote: »
    they will blame the public

"The last 6 weeks were crucial, now you're all ****ed"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 396 ✭✭quartz1

alentejo wrote: »
    Did I hear that Clare Byrne is having a countdown to level 5 on her RTE Radio 1 show tomorrow morning?

Yes you heard correctly and the TV announcer for her intro wrong and said " join Clare for all the laughs " then corrected herself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 247 ✭✭CoronaBlocker

theguzman wrote: »
    Anything I ever bought in Pennys has to be XL as it shrinks so much in the wash, I have one Jeans from Penny's it bled so much dye on its first wash that it ruined two towels I had in the same wash.

Arnott's is just down the road. I never have that problem with items from there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,231 ✭✭✭dmakc

Cases are dropping pre level 5, hopefully that trend will continue.

Exactly. But level 5 will be accredited with the potential success even though not required.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,134 ✭✭✭Jinglejangle69

rob316 wrote: »
    NPHET are going to look like fools in a few weeks time when the cases aren't dropping and they are wondering why after moving us to level 5. Couldn't be the schools they said they're safe!

Cases already dropping the last 3 days.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 225 ✭✭JimToken

The obsession in here over RTE is very funny in fairness.

Close second to obsession with uk

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,089 ✭✭✭Non solum non ambulabit

Source?

You have 3 months to register a death. I'm sure some miss that date. If they didn't then up to June 30th is 100% correct.

Happy?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 842 ✭✭✭Hego Damask

Stheno wrote: »

ah jaysus!!!!!!!!!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,084 ✭✭✭statesaver

alentejo wrote: »
    Did I hear that Clare Byrne is having a countdown to level 5 on her RTE Radio 1 show tomorrow morning?

Tomorrow ? Thought it was midnight Wednesday / Thursday

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 14,657 Mod ✭✭✭✭marno21

It would seem to me anyway that this is the primary reason why we are gone to Level 5. The house of cards collapsed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,551 ✭✭✭Widdensushi

Yes, edited post. Only first 6 months fully complete. but July is probably 90% complete at this stage.

3 months to register a death.

But we barely have had any Covid deaths until this month in that period.

We will have a normal level of deaths this year, bar outliers the majority of the deaths had little time left with a quality of life that most of us would prefer to never see, dementia, incontinence etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,488 ✭✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

marno21 wrote: »
    It would seem to me anyway that this is the primary reason why we are gone to Level 5. The house of cards collapsed.

Yep, the track and trace system has buckled under the growing numbers. Test result times have lengthened considerably. Not good enough.

What are they doing in the Hyacinth House?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,189 ✭✭✭Cilldara_2000

Yes, edited post. Only first 6 months fully complete. but July is probably 90% complete at this stage.

3 months to register a death.

But we barely have had any Covid deaths until this month in that period.

This analysis of RIP.ie backs up the lower level of deaths in May and June: https://www.hiqa.ie/sites/default/files/2020-07/Analysis-of-excess-all-cause-mortality-in-Ireland-during-the-COVID-19-epidemic.pdf

Is there any commentary on why the deaths are lower than normal in this period? Lockdown being equal to less accidental deaths or something?

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 18,045 Mod ✭✭✭✭ixoy

So, as much as is it might embarrass some people, would it not be better to ask people to let anyone they know they've been in close contact with that they've tested positive? If the contact tracers can't do it, farm it out to people. Better surely than nobody doing it?

Very much seems like it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,134 ✭✭✭caveat emptor

Cases already dropping the last 3 days.

Really. Doesn't look like it.

530016.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 627 ✭✭✭Mullaghteelin

frank8211 wrote: »
    Didn't hear the gardai were there but I know there were mad parties in the parishes where the winning teams are based. And allegedly some went to a night club across the border afterwards. The school in one of those villages now is in trouble

Apparently, there were also mad parties where the losing teams were based. There was a poster on here who claimed he was drinking until 7am.

ixoy wrote: »
    So, as much as is it might embarrass some people, would it not be better to ask people to let anyone they know they've been in close contact with that they've tested positive? If the contact tracers can't do it, farm it out to people. Better surely than nobody doing it?

Looks like that's what's going to happen now

https://twitter.com/gavreilly/status/1318662134235058178?s=19

We will have a normal level of deaths this year, bar outliers the majority of the deaths had little time left with a quality of life that most of us would prefer to never see, dementia, incontinence etc.

I would certainly choose death if I was living such a poor quality existence in an end of life state. I reckon I am not alone in that.

Very big chance deaths will be well below average this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,188 ✭✭✭✭Eod100

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,134 ✭✭✭caveat emptor

This analysis of RIP.ie backs up the lower level of deaths in May and June: https://www.hiqa.ie/sites/default/files/2020-07/Analysis-of-excess-all-cause-mortality-in-Ireland-during-the-COVID-19-epidemic.pdf

Is there any commentary on why the deaths are lower than normal in this period? Lockdown being equal to less accidental deaths or something?

That's amazing. Is due to the pubs being closed? Maybe people started taking their health seriously.

I know there were very few premature births and it's not yet explained. Perhaps this could be another silver lining of a horrible year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,839 ✭✭✭Doctors room ghost

statesaver wrote: »
    Tomorrow ? Thought it was midnight Wednesday / Thursday

Is that you Leo??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

A friend of mine his child was a close contact in school. He tells me they cannot get a test and that it's the same for the rest of kids in the pod and the families.

theguzman wrote: »
    Penny's produce rubbish clothing bad for the environment and human rights, thrashy women would prefer to buy €100 worth of crap in there than buy something of quality, for me Penny's is the lowest common denominator of bad disposable fashion. 80% - 90% of floor space is dedicated to women.

The amount of floor space given to the women's section in nearly all mixed clothing stores is always the highest, the next largest amount of space is for children's clothing.

As for being bad for the environment and human rights, clothing for 99% of brands is made in the same few countries and in some cases the same factory. One thing I will say in Penny's favour is that they treat their staff better than Dunnes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,757 ✭✭✭✭ACitizenErased

Jesus Christ that's an absolute disaster from the HSE. Holy crap.

Accidental deaths would be tiny.

Could be due to deaths that happened in April were going to happen anyway come June July and August. Most deaths happened in nursing homes where life expectancy is always counted more in months rather than years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 387 ✭✭Goldrickssan

Jesus Christ that's an absolute disaster from the HSE. Holy crap.

On form so for them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,558 ✭✭✭Leftwaffe

Apparently, there were also mad parties where the losing teams were based. There was a poster on here who claimed he was drinking until 7am.

Drinking until 7am? Jesus Christ. Needs locking up.

On a other note, is there any way we could fully restrict people from enjoying themselves while we are at it? Permanently maybe. I'd prefer that.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

iamwhoiam wrote: »
    Does anyone else think that 6 weeks was just too much to land on a very stressed nation ? I understand why we need this and am well aware of rising numbers but 6 weeks is like a sentence and too much to handle mentally
    My husbands family phoned from Germany to say it was all over their news how long Irelands lockdown is . They were astonished at the 6 week duration

All my colleagues in other countries today (Poland, Mexico, Netherlands, US, India) who normally wouldn't have the faintest idea how we were doing commented on it on every call I was on.

All countries doing worse than us. One small thing that was actually really nice was how many of them asked how I was feeling today, which was kind

Last night I was OK with six weeks given the statement that 6 weeks would give us three months before another lockdown

The news today that at best the govt believe we will go down to level 3 was a kick in the teeth tbh, and I felt very down

I've gone beyond anger at the lack of planning by the HSE, I've gone beyond being angry at people choosing not to obey the rules.

I am however furious at the government. It is the absence of hope, and admittance via their statements today that living with covid means continual restrictions at best for an indefinite period, that I found shocking, there appears to be no ownership and a decision that they take the crude lockdown option is a cop out to me

The complete lack of enforcement to date has imo lead to this, had we had oversight of this we might still be at level three and working to level2. The GAA are also forever tarnishec in my eyes

Now I'm not badly impacted, I've a fairly secure job in IT and can fully work from home, I'm not very social so I can live without parties.

But my partner who is a very social being is really finding this hard. The past few weeks our one social contact a week was meeting his son outside in a pub for dinner and now thats gone.

Before today we had the most rigorous restrictions in Europe as per the EU. Tomorrow night we go beyond that

And the message from government is if we all behave we might get back to where we are now in six weeks time

Its hugely dissappointing