Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Opening of "No-Food" pubs pushed out again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,192 ✭✭✭dominatinMC

https://mobile.twitter.com/McConnellDaniel/status/1318543412107399169

Interesting, but then again this is probably Leo leaking that as usual. "Senior government sources"

If that transpires as it's alleged in that tweet, it will be a devastating step too far. I expect every hospitality group/representative body will be lobbying the government hard on this issue - and with legitimate grounds to do so. If the government attempt to keep the hospitality sector closed over Christmas, there will not be one there in the new year. Ridicilous over the top, nanny-statism at it's finest worst.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,472 ✭✭✭MOH

Bizarrely, according to level 5 as it's currently written:

- Pubs outside Dublin can do takeaway or delivery (drink)
    - Pubs in Dublin are closed
    -Restaurants and food pubs (everywhere) can do "Take away food or delivery only." So a restaurant or pub that serves food can not do take away drink, with or without food.

Great coherent planning there

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,078 ✭✭✭IAMAMORON

Unless you live across the road or upstairs this concept of take away pubs is complete nonsense. A lot less hassle to buy a few cans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,065 ✭✭✭Santy2015

No Christmas Eve pints this year or a few pints watching the early premier league games on st Stephen’s day!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 634 ✭✭✭mikekerry

Santy2015 wrote: »
    No Christmas Eve pints this year or a few pints watching the early premier league games on st Stephen’s day!

you've got to wonder how many of them will reopen after this or when they will actually get the go-ahead to open again.
    This is the death knell for some many.
    And why is ireland the only country where many pubs have been closed since march.
    Serious questions should be asked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,524 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

mikekerry wrote: »
    you've got to wonder how many of them will reopen after this or when they will actually get the go-ahead to open again.
    And why is ireland the only country where many pubs have been closed since march.

Quite simply put unless they were doing a decent turnover before lockdown its doubtful they'll reopen, even at that some of the bigger ones will probably struggle.

Huge amount won't reopen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,215 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

Quite simply put unless they were doing a decent turnover before lockdown its doubtful they'll reopen, even at that some of the bigger ones will probably struggle.

Huge amount won't reopen

Yes. I think we all know some businesses will suffer during covid and some won't survive it. I'd support government help for people who llse their jobs and businesses during covid. Grants to help people retrain, start new businesses, employment support and so on. It will all be funded through tax at some point or another but that's the way of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,852 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

I understand why the gov are doing it but absolutely winds me up is the gobshïtes saying “if we only obeyed the rules”... the finger has to be pointed squarely at this gov and previous for not doing one solitary thing to help the health service. Continually throwing money at it hasn’t done a thing but make consultants richer. Where are all the extra ICU beds since March? They still haven’t done shït apart from buying PPE.

Huge amount won't reopen

The amount that won’t reopen will have severe knock on affects on other businesses as well. It’s an absolute **** show. Last night MM should’ve had the end game spelled out to all of us at least then you don’t see ****e being leaked and pessimistic Leo and Paschal saying level 3 for Xmas. That isn’t good enough. Every citizen deserves a hell of a lot more and fûck Christmas is where we all come together for the craic, food and drink. Let us have it!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,486 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

Santy2015 wrote: »
    Every citizen deserves a hell of a lot more and fûck Christmas is where we all come together for the craic, food and drink. Let us have it!!

While every citizen deserves it, it's those who have been having their craic at the expense of everyone else who have been contributing to the high numbers we're seeing at the moment.

They'll probably still be having their gaff parties at Christmas and not giving a rats while the rest of us suffer. Sad really!

MrStuffins wrote: »
    While every citizen deserves it, it's those who have been having their craic at the expense of everyone else who have been contributing to the high numbers we're seeing at the moment.

They'll probably still be having their gaff parties at Christmas and not giving a rats while the rest of us suffer. Sad really!

It is the house parties that have caused the majority of this and work placed clusters!! It’s just shows what the government and public health think of the hospitality industry. Willing to let it drown!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,211 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

any chance the EU could jump in and help ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,931 ✭✭✭PommieBast

My view is that only around 25% will reopen under the same management.

PTH2009 wrote: »
    any chance the EU could jump in and help ?

Don't think the EU will be concerned with closing down house parties in Clondalkin, but if you want to ask fire away!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 396 ✭✭Open the Pubs

I think the Vintners have not served their members well in some ways. They should not be talking about closing off licenses or off licensing closing times.

To most people that looks utterly cynical, and it is not their remit. It just looks like an attempt to take down offies with them. I am far more of a pub man than cans but other people aren't, why do Vintners even get involved in that discussion? Leave it to politicians

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 396 ✭✭Open the Pubs

Also I read an article today about Vintners on about sheebens and home bars, and how they want more Gardai enforcement and how there are hundreds now around the country.

That is nothing to do with Vintners how does that help struggling publicans?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,192 ✭✭✭dominatinMC

PommieBast wrote: »
    My view is that only around 25% will reopen under the same management.
    A bit on the pessimistic side! It's not as if the market has disappeared overnight, people still want to frequent pubs - there was plenty of evidence of that for the few weeks that they were actually allowed open. I think it's the uncertainty of the whole situation (not knowing when you can reopen, buy stock, etc.) that's going to result in people calling it a day.
    The only remaining chink of light on the horizon is a vaccine, and if the government can provide an end date for restrictions, you'd hope that publicans will persist until then.

IAMAMORON wrote: »
    Unless you live across the road or upstairs this concept of take away pubs is complete nonsense. A lot less hassle to buy a few cans.
    Why not give a publican a few bob too though?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,564 ✭✭✭The White Wolf

I think people just do it more for patronage than anything else. People know they're not getting value and that's not the point of it.

Wouldn't be for me personally either. It's sad seeing pubs reduced to it through no fault of their own.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 496 ✭✭Maxpfizer

So the young and the old are more likely to do their bit for society and get the vaccine. The middle aged more likely to be anti vaxers (by whatever name they call themselves).

Like I said earlier, the anti vaxers will all have terribly clever reasons why they won't get the vaccine. They're far too clever to be vaccinated - but don't call them anti-vaxers for their anti-covid vaccination stance.

How did folk who are skeptical about a vaccination, developed in under 12 months and for a virus that they may not present a significant danger to them personally, get bundled in with eejit parents who don't want their kid to get an MMR vaccination because they think it causes Autism?

For years "anti-vaxxer" was used to refer to these people specifically and, since many of them appear to be raving loons, is kind of an insult term in a lot of ways.

You are doing nothing more than attempting to apply that baggage and the connotations that come with the label to people who have genuine concerns.

Hey you know that virus we just found out about a year ago?
    You know how vaccines usually take a decade to develop?
    Well, guess what!? Medicine Corp has spent billions making this new vaccine and will make many more billions selling it! Isn't that great?
    The Miracle Cure is here and the best people worked on it. Just the best. You'll be bigly cured in no time!

What's that? You're not convinced? ANTI-VAXXER!

Are the Government trying to prove how good they are to the other EU nations for not allowing pubs open ??

Pubs all over Europe were open months before us and even in places who had very high covid numbers ??

PTH2009 wrote: »
    Are the Government trying to prove how good they are to the other EU nations for not allowing pubs open ??

Pubs all over Europe were open months before us and even in places who had very high covid numbers ??

And for Varadkar to come out today to say they wouldn't be open for Xmas after informing us about the lockdown lady night is just so blasse. No information on an end game or reopening time frame. Jyat 'they won't be open for xmad:. It's sickening

Maxpfizer wrote: »
    How did folk who are skeptical about a vaccination, developed in under 12 months and for a virus that they may not present a significant danger to them personally, get bundled in with eejit parents who don't want their kid to get an MMR vaccination because they think it causes Autism?

I agree with this. I'm very much pro vaccines. I've taken many vaccines in my life.

Vaccines don't cause Autism and they're not making the frogs gay.

However, I won't be top of the queue for this one. I'm not in the at-risk group so i'll be waiting to see what the effects might be before I have it stuck in my arm.

you can be sure the Government and NPHET will have a christmas piss up in the private dail bar :mad::mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,472 ✭✭✭MOH

This is just nuts. It's very possible I'm misreading this, but the SI they published today appears to say, in relation to licensed premises:
    - in general, only allowed on the premises to order/collect takeaway food or non-alcoholic drink (11.3.b)
    - in Dublin, no alcohol consumption on the premises without a substantial meal (11.3.d)
    - in Dublin, record the details of the substantial meals ordered by each person in a group (12.1.c)
    - in general, don't serve food or drink to anyone unless they're sitting at a table (12.1.d)

So combined: you can't get anything in any licensed premises except takeaway or non-alcoholic drink, you have to eat a substantial meal with your alcohol if you're in Dublin, and you can't get served any of it anywhere unless you're sitting at a table.

I can only assume I'm misreading it as otherwise it's totally self-contradictory.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,465 ✭✭✭✭hynesie08

I like craft beer and supporting local lads tryna make a few Bob, rather walk 15 minutes and buy 4 cans for 13 than walk 5 and give tesco a tenner..... Growlers are ****ing delicious as well.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,078 ✭✭✭IAMAMORON

I think people just do it more for patronage than anything else. People know they're not getting value and that's not the point of it.

Wouldn't be for me personally either. It's sad seeing pubs reduced to it through no fault of their own.

It is a total gimmick.

Cold Guinness out of a can tastes the same as draught Guinness in a plastic glass.

The off licenses are making a small fortune, they will never have seen sales like it.

The biggie for the brewers is what they do about their supply chain? I mean they are used to producing X amount of kegs per month. What are they doing since the lockdown began? Surely there is a completely different process around filling kegs as opposed to cans?

Some flutes posting around here harping on about social distancing and house parties, they don't get the half of it. Think about the delivery drivers out of work. Lab technicians. Quality Control. Bar staff. Waiting staff. Hotel staff. None of these people will get the luxury of working from home behind a laptop and a camera. These people are now looking at being on the scratch since last March, potentially a year without work and a total loss of their livelihoods. It is a disaster.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,931 ✭✭✭PommieBast

A bit on the pessimistic side! It's not as if the market has disappeared overnight, people still want to frequent pubs - there was plenty of evidence of that for the few weeks that they were actually allowed open. I think it's the uncertainty of the whole situation (not knowing when you can reopen, buy stock, etc.) that's going to result in people calling it a day.
    I expect most pubs will reopen, but with a year of unpaid rent/bill coupled with publicans who are simply fed up, a lot of them will be under new management.

PommieBast wrote: »
    I expect most pubs will reopen, but with a year of unpaid rent/bill coupled with publicans who are simply fed up, a lot of them will be under new management.

And is there a bunch of people lining up just to take over these, places? I doubt that somehow.
    The country is going to be a wasteland after this.
    The main plus about living in Ireland was the crack.
    That's now gone

Maxpfizer wrote: »

For years "anti-vaxxer" was used to refer to these people specifically and, since many of them appear to be raving loons, is kind of an insult term in a lot of ways.

You are doing nothing more than attempting to apply that baggage and the connotations that come with the label to people who have genuine concerns.

Hey you know that virus we just found out about a year ago?
    You know how vaccines usually take a decade to develop?
    Well, guess what!? Medicine Corp has spent billions making this new vaccine and will make many more billions selling it! Isn't that great?
    The Miracle Cure is here and the best people worked on it. Just the best. You'll be bigly cured in no time!

What's that? You're not convinced? ANTI-VAXXER!

Exactly. It's the usual tactic of trying to apply silly labels to people, in hope they will 'give in' and go along with what said person desires. I personally couldn't care less about such labels, and I don't see why anyone else would. In fact, I genuinely only became of aware of the term 'anti-vaxxer' very recently, so it doesn't mean anything to me.
    Like, if a friend offers me a cocktail of mixed spirits he's just created himself, and I politely decline, am I suddenly "anti-drink"? Nah, I'm just sensible :pac: