Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid 19 Part XXVII- 62,002 ROI (1,915 deaths) 39,609 NI (724 deaths) (02/11) Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,454 ✭✭✭mloc123

So it's just a rumour that there are 6 cases.

Like all these local stories, yes it is word of mouth

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,450 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

Do people advocating for the lockdown genuinely believe that things will be OK on the 1st of December?

We are floating at around 1000 cases a day. The numbers will go up in the next couple of weeks. The talking heads on TV are saying the target is between 50-100 cases per day for the start of December and then accepting it to go up around 300 per day in January.

The last time it took 2 months from us to peak and get down to double figures. This time the numbers are bigger.

Shops will be closed for the run up to Christmas. Pubs will be closed for as long as NPHET can swing their dicks. Christmas is cancelled.

Firstly we have absolutely no idea what the actual case numbers were in March/April.

Secondly pubs will more than likely be closed thats a given, retail however won't be, 1st December appears to be a deadline from government, back to level 3 for December, retail reopens, there's not a hope in hell government close them for the run up to Christmas. What government want and what NPHET want appears to be quite different come 1st December.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,759 ✭✭✭✭ACitizenErased

OwenM wrote: »
    Any idea why https://covid19ireland-geohive.hub.arcgis.com/pages/hospitals-icu--testing

shows an uptick in the 7-day positivity rate from 7.2 to 7.3%

Tks
    The positivity rate on the 13th was 5.67%, today's is 6.17%
    The 5.67 drops from the 7 day average and the 6.17 is added, raising the average

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Oranage2 wrote: »
    Hopefully shops will open, online shopping would be an absolute kick in the teeth with the money leaving the country to the likes of Amazon and wish.

Probably too late at this stage or they'll have a stop start lockdown.

Also I can't believe people were laughing at the people 'panic' shopping at the likes of smyth's. It's called foresight

There's actually a huge amount of small businesses in Ireland online if people search them out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,784 ✭✭✭froog

niallo27 wrote: »
    What country has harsher. Nobody has answered me yet.

Did it ever occur to you we need harsher restrictions than most countries because our hospital and ICU capacity is so bad?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,591 ✭✭✭bennyl10

why does what any other country having done have any effect on what we should do?

Independent country, independently bad health service that needs measures that others don't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,249 ✭✭✭MOR316

Gruffalux wrote: »
    What do you suggest?

Oh I don't know...

The Government could have taken action in March, April, May and even June to prevent this happening again. I'm friends with Nurses who feel let down by their pretty much non existent approach to it.

"Expert advice is lockdown" is what NPHET have been saying since March...That's not expert advice at all, that's what any moron would say and has been saying! There has been no alternative methods or anything! Why isn't the Garda Commissioner part of NPHET?

They could have put measures in educational institutes whilst they were off but, didn't...They're letting the GAA rule the roost

They're pretty much throwing **** at the wall to see what sticks. If this is the "expert" advice and direction, well **** me, we are in serious trouble!

Not sure if you were being serious or condescending in your reply to me. If the latter, I won't be wasting my time again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,841 ✭✭✭quokula

Stheno wrote: »
    There's actually a huge amount of small businesses in Ireland online if people search them out

The government really should be supporting a publicity / education campaign on this to get people buying Irish online.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,536 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

Firstly we have absolutely no idea what the actual case numbers were in March/April.

That's not strictly true.

We would have a fair idea extrapolating up from hospitalizations.

The problem is the headline figures now are far less accurate than they were 2-3 weeks ago when we were finding probably every 7/8 cases out of 10.

God knows what that figure is now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,197 ✭✭✭✭Eod100

In France 20m are under a nighttime curfew from 9pm-6am with fines if breached. In Hungary police call around daily to make sure anyone who has entered country from abroad is restricting their movements. That's just 2 examples off the top of my head.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,139 ✭✭✭What Username Guidelines

Do people advocating for the lockdown genuinely believe that things will be OK on the 1st of December?

We are floating at around 1000 cases a day. The numbers will go up in the next couple of weeks. The talking heads on TV are saying the target is between 50-100 cases per day for the start of December and then accepting it to go up around 300 per day in January.

The last time it took 2 months from us to peak and get down to double figures. This time the numbers are bigger.

Shops will be closed for the run up to Christmas. Pubs will be closed for as long as NPHET can swing their dicks. Christmas is cancelled.

I'm not advocating for a lockdown, but I'm in support of some action to quell this where possible. It's not an easy problem to solve, and even harder to keep the vast majority happy.

But, in my opinion, the powers that be are taking the easy way out. Throwing money at the problem can help, but like almost every Irish government, it's all short term and narrow focused thinking. The lads in power now won't have to clean up the mess or repay the debt.

They've also managed to avoid bolstering the health service, testing, and tracing. They ignore those that have bent over backwards to bring in protocols in businesses to make them safer. They've blamed the public, who for the most part abided by the restrictions, while not giving sufficient powers to enforce rules to stop those ignoring restrictions. They've made decisions based on questionable data and questionable modelling.

The only hope I have of a level 5 actually working is that the true numbers in April were orders of magnitude larger than we knew, and the numbers will fall at a faster pace. If we're confident of those double digit days in June, then maybe it will have a more apparent impact now that we're catching more cases.

Whether you're an advocate of harsh lockdown, open it up and let her rip, or somewhere in the middle (yes, there is a spectrum between the two :cool:), if you don't already realise that Christmas is effectively cancelled no matter what action we take, then you need to come up for some air.

Btw, I think we all know that there'll be a minority that see Christmas as their 'right' and will do all the normal stuff, except pubs, anyway... Micheal promising the country some form of Christmas wont help that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,586 ✭✭✭4068ac1elhodqr

The tabloids had a story today on what is effectively a 'baby shampoo (1%) nose wash' (for prevention of China Flu).

Via a study from a distinguished professor of microbiology and immunology and obstetrics and gynecology, College of Medicine, Penn State
    The results showed that the 1% baby shampoo solution, which is often used to rinse sinuses, inactivated more than 99.9% of the virus after two minutes.
    Meanwhile, several of the mouthwash and gargle products were shown to inactivate more than 99.9% of the virus in just 30 seconds.

Only the Express and Star have the story running (so take with some salt)
    https://www.dailystar.co.uk/news/latest-news/baby-shampoo-mouthwash-could-protect-22875499

Would not want to accidently swallow either chemicals, surely a simple salt soloution would pose less risk, aside from a slight sting.

Sakana wrote: »
    Gemma bullying an old guy on the street into taking his mask off.

How can this not be a Garda matter?

https://twitter.com/i/status/1318234233052237830

Vile. Her voice is head wrecking. So is she of course.

March was like "The Walking Dead", now it's more like 1984

Band Aid's, Do They Know It's Christmas came out.
    Michael Jackson was still smashing it with Thriller
    Spandau Ballet were "Gold"
    Football was still a pie and mash game

And there was no Covid...

Good times

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,071 ✭✭✭MarkY91

How is Christmas cancelled? You can do your food shopping not a bother and you can order every single thing you would have bought in town online. Only a fool will be sitting alone on Christmas following the no household visit rule. The only person ruining your Christmas is yourself. Have some cop on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,321 ✭✭✭CalamariFritti

Stheno wrote: »
    A cheaper spec ICU?

Now I'm not a medical professional but my understanding is those that get very sick in ICU need huge amounts of supports over and above ventilation so would be getting the most high spec beds available, with huge amounts of equipment required, along with the staff of course

But it is a very specific condition they needs to be cared for.

I have no idea what an ICU setup looks like but I would imagine its decked out for all sorts of trauma and other possibilities. Couldnt literally anything arrive on an ICU bed? Like a car crash victim or a heart attack or a stroke or anything really. This isn't really the case with a covid only setup one would imagine. But obviously I could be 100% wrong.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭Gruffalux

For one thing, the government could have spent the whole summer building up ICU and hospital capacity.
    Our hospitals are incapable of dealing with normal winters.
    I know doctors in the HSE who are furious with their inaction. The waste money on everything else.

This is November 2019

https://www.rte.ie/news/health/2019/1105/1088787-trolley-figures/

The FF and FG governments have neglected the health service for decades. The HSE is a bureaucratic wasteful disaster.

You think I don't know that. What can I do about that?

I meant what does anyone suggest starting from where we actually in real life ARE.

MarkY91 wrote: »
    How is Christmas cancelled? You can do your food shopping not a bother and you can order every single thing you would have bought in town online. Only a fool will be sitting alone on Christmas following the no household visit rule. The only person ruining your Christmas is yourself. Have some cop on.

Christmas means different things to others.
    It's not always about "sitting around a fire, with the mulled wine and the family" for individuals

And no, I'm not talking about pints

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,554 ✭✭✭Widdensushi

Eod100 wrote: »
    Vile. Her voice is head wrecking. So is she of course.

If she has covid and that man got it (nearly impossible outside for a short length of time) what would happen?

quokula wrote: »
    The government really should be supporting a publicity / education campaign on this to get people buying Irish online.

Yeah maybe something like a site registry that you can find a list by product category say. Presume the stay and spend scheme is dead before it even got going. Could use the money from that to sort something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,190 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Any idea why https://covid19ireland-geohive.hub.arcgis.com/pages/hospitals-icu--testing

shows an uptick in the 7-day positivity rate from 7.2 to 7.3%

Tks
    There was a freakishly low day last Tuesday of 5.69%. It was a blip. So realistically anything above 5.69% today would have brought the 7-day average up.

If tomorrow we have exactly the same day we had today, the rate will drop to 7.05%

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,190 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Yeah maybe something like a site registry that you can find a list by product category say. Presume the stay and spend scheme is dead before it even got going. Could use the money from that to sort something.

https://justbuyirish.com/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,251 ✭✭✭speckle

froog wrote: »
    Did it ever occur to you we need harsher restrictions than most countries because our hospital and ICU capacity is so bad?
    Surely you mean the goverment and Hse/nephet failed to increase the ICU beds and capacity after 8 months. And failed regarding contract tracing etc.

Very easy to blame the public, the vaste majority who are doing the best.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 577 ✭✭✭gibgodsman

This lockdown won't really be a lockdown, everyone I know says their employers are all finding ways to stay open during the lockdown, lots of them abusing the click and collect excuse which nearly none have. My own boss is attempting to get us to stay open, which I straight up said absolutely not and refused to do anything but work from home during a Level 5.

You will be very surprised next week when the government has to come out again and shut absolutely everything down because everyone is taking liberties

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,250 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

In France 20m are under a nighttime curfew from 9pm-6am with fines if breached. In Hungary police call around daily to make sure anyone who has entered country from abroad is restricting their movements. That's just 2 examples off the top of my head.
    I would happily stay indoors from 9pm till 6am if we had more freedom during the day
    I cant see that as a huge hardship in the winter ?

seamus wrote: »

Ah that's handy, never knew it existed! Nice one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 859 ✭✭✭OwenM

MOR316 wrote: »

Band Aid's, Do They Know It's Christmas came out.
    Michael Jackson was still smashing it with Thriller
    Spandau Ballet were "Gold"
    Football was still a pie and mash game

And there was no Covid...

Good times

I was thinking of the book.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,143 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

MOR316 wrote: »
    I think some of us, myself included, have to hold our hands up and admit we got it wrong...

We said back in March, April and May that the Government and NPHET were doing a great job in handling this...I was wrong! They've made a complete bollocks out of it

In and out of restrictions for the next 12-15 months is not good for people! It's an absolute nightmare!

Well I think it’d be more correct to say that people(and I include myself in that) felt the government handled the initial stages of the restrictions well and they had more or less full cooperation from the public. So they’ve made a compete bollocks of the last few months but did a good job in March, April, May. I mean the lockdown was to give the government the time to beef up capacity in the health service for what was likely to be a second wave of some kind around this time of the year. The fact they haven’t is on them, not us the public.

It’s worrying that they(government and nphet) seem to have only one play and that’s lockdown. Isn’t living with covid meant to be a way of moving along but not locking down ? I’ll fully admit I was pissed off last night over what the government was doing, not because I’m against lockdowns but I felt the government and all political parties honestly had squandered the time they were given. It felt like a slap in the face for the effort all of us regardless of your views on the virus had put in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,454 ✭✭✭mloc123

What are the swab numbers today?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,904 ✭✭✭Ten Pin

This made me laugh, a journo in the Indo giving out about George Lee :D

https://www.independent.ie/opinion/comment/am-i-the-only-person-tired-of-george-lees-scare-the-bejaysus-out-of-the-nation-reports-39640031.html

...Lee obsessing about Covid-19 can make The Grim Reaper appear as cuddly as Thelma Mansfield.

The Grim Lee-per