Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part VI - **Read OP for Mod Warnings**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,687 ✭✭✭Penfailed

Only Covid no other health issues.

The clue is in the name - National Public Health EMERGENCY Team. I'm sure, when other health emergencies come to the fore, they'll be all over them.

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Pixies, Ride, Therapy?, Public Service Broadcasting, IDLES, And So I Watch You From Afar

Gigs '25 - Spiritualized, Supergrass, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Queens of the Stone Age, Electric Picnic, Vantastival, And So I Watch You From Afar

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,109 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Penfailed wrote: »
    The clue is in the name - National Public Health EMERGENCY Team. I'm sure, when other health emergencies come to the fore, they'll be all over them.

Very true, but the full name is rarely used.

People hear the phrase "Chief Medical Officer" and a substantial percentage will think this person is over all medical issues, kinda like a medically qualified version of the minister for health.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 385 ✭✭AUDI20

darconio wrote: »
    You are comparing a deadly disease, a mutation that is the second-leading cause of death in the world, with a virus that is not fatal unless you have underlying conditions. And even if you do have any, you are likely to be cured and survive.

Not sure who needs a psychologist

If your going to make a statement, at least get your facts right. There is plenty of examples of people with no underlying conditions dying from Covid as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,005 ✭✭✭Captain_Crash

Actually, their remit specifically states that they're to consider public health as a whole.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,447 ✭✭✭Ginger n Lemon

I dont see how 1 person dying per day with covid on average since July in a country of 4,900,000 can be classed as emergency.

Maybe there is something we dont know about covid currently - thats why its an emergency?

Maybe HSE dont have PPE? Thats why its an emergency?

Pen help me out please, why is current situation classed as "emergency"?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,380 ✭✭✭✭martingriff

darconio wrote: »
    You are comparing a deadly disease, a mutation that is the second-leading cause of death in the world, with a virus that is not fatal unless you have underlying conditions. And even if you do have any, you are likely to be cured and survive.

Not sure who needs a psychologist

And the reason there death was hastened was Covid. My mother had cancer. However why she died in the end was lungs filling up but she died of cancer. That's the point

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

Allinall wrote: »
    Why would you email Revenue?

They look after pub licenses and renewals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,109 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

I dont see how 1 person dying per day with covid on average since July in a country of 4,900,000 can be classed as emergency.

Maybe there is something we dont know about covid currently - thats why its an emergency?

Maybe HSE dont have PPE? Thats why its an emergency?

It was rightfully labelled an emergency back in March.

However that time has passed.

We are far more knowledgeable about it now and we know it won't wipe out humanity or come close to.

But it'll take real political leadership to explain to a lot of people why this is so.

Soundbites win, be it "granny killer", "take back control", "MAGA" or "hope".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 87 ✭✭greengrass88

Regarding underlying issues...my auntie who is mid 50s, very bad asthma her whole life, and is overweight tested positive (teenage son brought it home from school). She had no symptoms and is absolutely grand. Wonder how many others like her are petrified for their life due to the scaremongering

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,249 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Zebra3 wrote: »
    It was rightfully labelled an emergency back in March.

However that time has passed.

We are far more knowledgeable about it now and we know it won't wipe out humanity or come close to.

But it'll take real political leadership to explain to a lot of people why this is so.

Soundbites win, be it "granny killer", "take back control", "MAGA" or "hope".

Have RTE gone back to STAY LOCAL yet?

Or maybe they'll go with the new narrative SAVE XMAS instead?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,302 ✭✭✭Allinall

They look after pub licenses and renewals.

The temporary closing of "your" pub has nothing to do with licencing.

I'd imagine the recipient of your email had a good chuckle, before hitting the delete button.

Regarding underlying issues...my auntie who is mid 50s, very bad asthma her whole life, and is overweight tested positive (teenage son brought it home from school). She had no symptoms and is absolutely grand. Wonder how many others like her are petrified for their life due to the scaremongering

She's lucky.

Not everyone has been, or will be as lucky as your aunt.

She's lucky.

Not everyone has been, or will be as lucky as your aunt.

I acknowledge others havent been as lucky, but it's also important to acknowledge that testing positive with numerous underlying issues and being above a certain age is not the death sentence many want to make out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19 galway_cowboy

I know of 5 people who've definitely had it. I just had contact with them via zoom but all excpet one described it as "meh".

And of course while RTE are scaring the beejesus out of everyone, let's return to the death rates

0-19 years: 0.00003%
    20-49 years: 0.0002%
    50-69 years: 0.005%
    70+ years: 0.054%

Reckon Tubs will read that out ever? Nah, me neither.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

The temporary closing of "your" pub has nothing to do with licencing.

I'd imagine the recipient of your email had a good chuckle, before hitting the delete button.

Ah well, at least it would have brightened up their day a bit.

Nox, Ciara Kelly is an ACTUAL Doctor, not a Fisher Price one like yourself.

What’s her PhD in? Medical doctors are not actually doctors you know and shouldn’t have ever been allowed use the title.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,250 ✭✭✭joeguevara

How many cases were linked back to pubs? And how many cases are linked back to schools? Because ones been closed and the other “isn’t a significant factor in the rise of cases”

Regarding licences, Berlin D2 for their licence renewed despite Garda objection!

From every published article, the case has been put forward for hearing on the 28th October. The licence has not been renewed as far as I am aware and waiting for evidence to be heard.

https://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/court-challenge-to-berlin-bar-licence-1018870.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 935 ✭✭✭darconio

AUDI20 wrote: »
    If your going to make a statement, at least get your facts right. There is plenty of examples of people with no underlying conditions dying from Covid as well.

That was probably back in March, not the case anymore now

Is not my fault if the mantra of this "crisis" is: protect the vulnerable.

It is either the vulnerable that are risking it or they aren't, every measure and every lockdown is to protect the vulnerable: so who are these vulnerable?

Yesterday 0 deaths, nobody with or without underlying condition died of this fatal virus, the truth is that we are learning to deal with corona, the sooner we acknowledge it the better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,687 ✭✭✭Penfailed

Oh, I don't know. I'd guess it's that Covid pandemic thing that's going on. Maybe you don't realise...it's why NPHET were set up.

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Pixies, Ride, Therapy?, Public Service Broadcasting, IDLES, And So I Watch You From Afar

Gigs '25 - Spiritualized, Supergrass, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Queens of the Stone Age, Electric Picnic, Vantastival, And So I Watch You From Afar

joeguevara wrote: »
    From every published article, the case has been put forward for hearing on the 28th October. The licence has not been renewed as far as I am aware and waiting for evidence to be heard.

https://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/court-challenge-to-berlin-bar-licence-1018870.html

It’s been renewed, and the guards objected to the renewal and it’s going to a hearing. But as of now, they have a licence. This is effectively an appeal of that renewal!

On another note! Stand up and take a bow Ciara Kelly

https://youtu.be/0-3caTzOpOU

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,249 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

What’s her PhD in? Medical doctors are not actually doctors you know and shouldn’t have ever been allowed use the title.

2a : a person skilled or specializing in healing arts
    especially : one (such as a physician, dentist, or veterinarian) who holds an advanced degree and is licensed to Practice

https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/doctor

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,494 ✭✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

Many people are furious today. And with good cause.

What are they doing in the Hyacinth House?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,788 ✭✭✭✭josip

Thanks for the advice.

Might run a hot bath with bubbles as well

Make sure he gets the tap end.

P2X4lZ4.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,222 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

Latest from Europe as restrictions gather pace and lock downs are being announced

Germany imposes local lockdown on Alpine hotspot

Germany is putting the Bavarian municipality of Berchtesgadener Land under lockdown from 2pm today, as the picturesque Alpine region becomes the country’s main coronavirus hotspot.

Schools, nurseries and restaurants will remain closed from today and after 2pm residents will not be allowed to leave their homes unless they have a strong reason to do so, such as work commitments, groceries shopping or outdoor exercise. The local lockdown is the first of its kind in Bavaria since April.

Navarre placed in lockdown for at least 2 weeks

In Spain, the government of the northern region of Navarre has announced that a two-week lockdown will come into effect from Thursday in a bid to slow a massive surge in Covid-19 cases in the area.

Spain recorded almost 38,000 new cases on Monday and has now logged almost 975,000 in total.

While the number of cases per 100,000 people across Spain is 312.2, the figure rises to 945.4 in Navarre.

Is just the start. Ireland is just ahead of the curve this time.

https://www.theguardian.com/world/live/2020/oct/20/coronavirus-live-news-who-says-failure-to-quarantine-behind-soaring-case-rises

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,537 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

On another note! Stand up and take a bow Ciara Kelly

https://youtu.be/0-3caTzOpOU
    I can't wait for her follow up video with her alternative solution outlined in detail!

gmisk wrote: »
    I can't wait for her follow up video with her alternative solution outlined in detail!

You don’t need to have a solution to an issue recognise the approach taken as being of little benefit!

Thinking of leaving Dublin today or tomorrow and heading to the folks (other side of the country) for the duration of this lockdown...if I get stopped at a checkpoint can I just say I'm heading home?

Go for it.

They're not going to say anything if you tell them what you're doing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19 galway_cowboy

You're going to see a grave, right? Yes, you are. No stopping for you.