Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part VI - **Read OP for Mod Warnings**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 720 ✭✭✭FrStone

MadYaker wrote: »
    More crying about the economy. You realise 30% of the population are over 60 or have a condition that puts them at higher risk? These aren't people in nursing homes. Teachers, senior doctors and nurses, gardai, judges etc The country can't function with 30% of its population under house arrest.

If we can't function with 30% of our population cocooning (a figure that I am skeptical of), we certainly can't function with rolling lockdowns which lockdown a much larger percentage of our population.

Lets look after the people and open up safely, keep the gyms open, keep the pubs open and accept that we are going to have cases until a vaccine comes along. With 31 in ICU nationwide the hospitals are not overrun more than a regular October.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,628 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,687 ✭✭✭Penfailed

I stand corrected on that so.

No worries. That's what happens when you believe everything Fintan posts in here.

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Pixies, Ride, Therapy?, Public Service Broadcasting, IDLES, And So I Watch You From Afar

Gigs '25 - Spiritualized, Supergrass, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Queens of the Stone Age, Electric Picnic, Vantastival, And So I Watch You From Afar

Not according to R.Glynn

https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.irishexaminer.com/news/arid-40057658.html%3ftype=amp

88 was mentioned at the one of the sittings in the Dail

...and, right on cue. He doesn't have the specifics and said he would need to check. I checked.

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Pixies, Ride, Therapy?, Public Service Broadcasting, IDLES, And So I Watch You From Afar

Gigs '25 - Spiritualized, Supergrass, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Queens of the Stone Age, Electric Picnic, Vantastival, And So I Watch You From Afar

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,668 ✭✭✭walus

Rrrrrr2 wrote: »
    There’s 60 ish years olds I train with in my gym. Train me under the table anyday! I’m sure they’d be delighted to hear they’re so vulnerable. Hard to believe I guess for the hypochondriac brigade that age doesn’t equal being at threat of Covid deaths door

Believe it or not but I have a 39 year old colleague at work who considers herself ‘vulnerable,. I was concerned thinking we would have to implement some extra measures for her, she said she had pneumonia 10 years ago. FFS.

”Where’s the revolution? Come on, people you’re letting me down!”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,630 ✭✭✭RoryMac

Penfailed wrote: »

92% of the deaths over 65 with a median age of 83 and 88% of them had underlying health conditions.

Remind me again why we are locking down??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 982 ✭✭✭Rrrrrr2

Sorry, I've read that ^^^ four times and I can't understand your question.

You said “pubs are open”- I’ve asked you under what circumstances they are open.

I stand corrected on that so.

That link is up until mid May, it seems to have been revised.

walus wrote: »
    Believe it or not but I have a 39 year old colleague at work who considers herself ‘vulnerable,. I was concerned thinking we would have to implementation some extra measures for her, she said she had pneumonia 10 years ago. FFS.

I can imagine. Let’s hope she never gets near the stapler

You said “pubs are open”- I’ve asked you under what circumstances they are open.

Table service outdoors to a maximum of 15 people (and I live in a level four county).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91,249 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Will it be level 4 or level 5 nationwide tomorrow?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,956 ✭✭✭Pentecost

Both and neither.

JP Liz V1 wrote: »

I'd say 4.

...and, right on cue. He doesn't have the specifics and said he would need to check. I checked.

No, you didn’t, you posted a link almost 6 months old.

Glynn has specifically said the median age is almost 90.

Now as bad as he is, I’ll still put more weight in his words, than a poster who spends months repeating “pubs are open”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,400 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

JP Liz V1 wrote: »

Level 4.75

No, you didn’t, you posted a link almost 6 months old.

Glynn has specifically said the median age is almost 90.

Now as bad as he is, I’ll still put more weight in his words, than a poster who spends months repeating “pubs are open”

He specifically didn't say that.

Months? They haven't even been open for a full month yet. Do you understand how I find it really difficult to believe anything you post?

I can imagine. Let’s hope she never gets near the stapler

We still implemented the measures. I thought at this stage with all the sh1t RTÉ broadcasts it was to reduce her anxiety more than anything else.

He specifically didn't say that.

Months? They haven't even been open for a full month yet. Do you understand how I find it really difficult to believe anything you post?

https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.irishexaminer.com/news/arid-40057658.html%3ftype=amp

“In a robust exchange with Fianna Fáil TD Jim O’Callaghan, Dr Glynn said the median age of those who died is near 90.“

You don’t make it difficult to discredit your arguments

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,533 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

Are you not concerned about the economic fallout from all the lockdowns and borrowing?

we are concerned yes, but not as concerned as we would be had we not implemented the measures we have, because at least they are protecting most of the economy.
    there was always going to be an economic fall out whatever we did, so the choice was between a fallout and a potential really big one, and we chose a basic fallout.

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

PTH2009 wrote: »
    Level 4.75

You are madly wrong there. It will be 4.33 and I’m certain of it.

walus wrote: »
    We still implemented the measures. I thought at this stage with all the sh1t RTÉ broadcasts it was to reduce her anxiety more than anything else.

I worked with a dithering hypochondriac before. When the company wasn’t going great- guess who got the bullet when the redundancy program was implemented- or should I say mutually pushed out...never make things too awkward for an employer or you’ll find your cards will be marked

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,336 ✭✭✭CruelSummer

MadYaker wrote: »
    Yeah the HSE are poaching staff from nursing homes to try and keep the hospitals going, more people are being admitted to hospital every day with covid, but sure lets just ignore all that and keep going, be grand.

https://www.hse.ie/eng/services/news/newsfeatures/covid19-updates/covid19-daily-operations-update-2000-17-october-2020.pdf

https://www.rte.ie/news/2020/1018/1172325-nursing-home-staff/

I never suggested that and suggested better enforcement of level 3, just while this wave a lasts.
    I was under the impression hospitals were under serious pressure with the usual busy October plus Covid patients also. It turns out this isn’t the case, it’s the usual busy October. I understand some control of virus spread is needed but the impact these restrictions will have, now far outweigh their benefit. Especially level 4+5.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,517 ✭✭✭RobitTV

Feel defeated this evening. It's hard to think positive when the nation is in a never-ending frenzy of panic and hysterical reactions to the new daily case figures and the new lockdown measures being announced tomorrow.

I'm surrounded by people who demand a new lockdown to 'save Christmas' - so many people believe in this nonsense its just utterly absurd at this rate. No critical thinking, thought process, debate, questioning the reasoning behind it all...

Imagine just for one second people demanding a second lockdown, demanding tighter restrictions on their own lives - we have reached the bottom of the barrel.

Even the barrel has given up...

there was always going to be an economic fall out whatever we did, so the choice was between a fallout and a potential really big one, and we chose a basic fallout.

No we had one of the worst job losses in Europe and the hardest hit domestic economy in Europe.

GDP is artificially inflated by multinationals, a phenomenon know as leprechaun economics. Produce that doesn’t benefit Ireland.

Ireland are also a contributor to other EU nations so this will not be a “basic fallout”

Most of Europe reopened last May and June for the benefit of the domestic economies while Ireland allowed citizens visit the barbers on June 29th.

RobitTV wrote: »
    Feel defeated this evening. It's hard to think positive when the nation is in a never-ending frenzy of panic and hysterical reactions to the new daily case figures and the new lockdown measures being announced tomorrow.

I'm surrounded by people who demand a new lockdown to 'save Christmas' - so many people believe in this nonsense its just utterly absurd at this rate. No critical thinking, thought process, debate, questioning the reasoning behind it all...

Imagine just for one second people demanding a second lockdown, demanding tighter restrictions on their own lives - we have reached the bottom of the barrel.

Even the barrel has given up...

Yea exactly how I feel. Luckily I've a ton of work projects to get stuck into between now and spring. Feel sorry for all those about to be thrown onto the dole for nothing though.
    At this stage all you can do is let the **** show play out. The restrictions will be an utter failure but you and I already knew that. As for Christmas that’s already dead

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,533 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

FrStone wrote: »
    If we can't function with 30% of our population cocooning (a figure that I am skeptical of), we certainly can't function with rolling lockdowns which lockdown a much larger percentage of our population.

Lets look after the people and open up safely, keep the gyms open, keep the pubs open and accept that we are going to have cases until a vaccine comes along. With 31 in ICU nationwide the hospitals are not overrun more than a regular October.

we can absolutely function with rolling lock downs as we have already proven, not as much as we would like to but that's the reality of a very contagious virus, not that our lock downs are even real lock downs anyway, and none of us i suspect would want a real lock down, i certainly don't.
    living with the virus means restrictions, that is the only way we can live with it as it has to be suppressed in some form to allow everything to keep going.
    if it is safe to keep non-essential stuff open such as pubs and jymns then they will be kept open, as we are doing all we can to try and open up, however throwing open the doors isn't going to happen until it can actually do so.

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 57 ✭✭FrogmanBegins

No we had one of the worst job losses in Europe and the hardest hit domestic economy in Europe.

GDP is artificially inflated by multinationals, a phenomenon know as leprechaun economics. Produce that doesn’t benefit Ireland.

Ireland are also a contributor to other EU nations so this will not be a “basic fallout”

Most of Europe reopened last May and June for the benefit of the domestic economies while Ireland allowed citizens visit the barbers on June 29th.
    Worst part is people are calling for the shutdown of ports/airports outside of the transportation of goods. God knows where the country is going to be in the next 12 months.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,087 ✭✭✭✭Johnboy1951

has something convinced me that the virus needs suppressing? is that a serious question? really?
    how about the high possibility that by not doing so we could have ended up with a ridiculous amount of cases requiring a ridiculous amount of isolation meaning the economy does actually crash because lots of workers can't actually work? yes currently unemployment has increased but at least anyone who can work is doing so and that is the majority.

So the answer is no ...... just a fear of what might be possible.

Why would your ridiculous number of isolations be necessary in the circumstances outlined? ...... Answer they wouldn't!

No reason for absence from work for the majority, so no great effect on the economy which is in stark contrast to your preferred lockdowns/restrictions.
    if we threw open the doors, then that increases the risks of a high number potentially isolating at the same time which in turn will seriously effect more work places and will do actual real economic damage which what we have currently would likely be a pussy cat in comparison to.

More unnecessary isolations!
    not to mention our hospitals actually being over run.
    yeah, i think there is plenty there to suggest to me that absolutely a strategy of trying to suppress the virus is a better one then simply letting it run rampent, and nobody has been able to convince me otherwise so far, funnily enough.

Not my place or intention to convince you of anything.
    the pandemic hasn't passed, rather our approach has left us in a position where admissions are thankflly low and deaths even lower.
    the approach absolutely is about minimising damage, economically at least and in turn even greater long term societal damage, both of which we would not escape, hence minimising it as much as we can was the only option available to us.

Apparently a very large number of those who track these things disagree with you. But that too is ok. We are all entitled to our opinion.
    if everyone but the vulnerable were going about their business, then even with such measures, the transmission rate would be ridiculously high in the community, that no matter what the vulnerable and those looking after them did the risks would be ridiculous, that is just simply logic and everything seems to back this, you can't protect the vulnerable without lowering community transmission, that is just reality.

You have some links to support this view?
    Transmission rates are meaningless where the vast majority are not at risk, the vulnerable having been 'isolated' and warned and being supported.
    the economy wouldn't thrive, because with a high community transmission rate there would not be enough activity for it to do so, dispite there being more out and about then would be under restrictions.

With the vast majority at work of course the economy would thrive.
    In addition the negative impacts of 'isolation' would be confined to a small percentage of the populous who could much more easily be assisted than the huge numbers in a lock down.
    protect the vulnerable while the rest of us do whatever we like is just unworkable, it doesn't matter what way one tries to spin it, absolutely everything that can be seems to be against it.

I suggest you reread what I originally wrote.
    There was NO suggestion of anyone doing whatever they like. Quite the contrary!

It appears you need to create imaginary scenarios to support your view.

“In a robust exchange with Fianna Fáil TD Jim O’Callaghan, Dr Glynn said the median age of those who died is near 90.“

You don’t make it difficult to discredit your arguments

...but what he specifically said was, “I would have to get the specific figures but it is in the late 80s,” Dr Glynn told Mr O’Callaghan.

Airports are all but dead now anyhow. They’re a red herring with regard to “Covid cases”