Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid 19 Part XXVI- 50,993 ROI (1,852 deaths) 28,040 NI (621 deaths) (19/10) Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 293 ✭✭AVFC.Stephen

So the party across the road from me went on until around 4am when the Gardai eventually arrived and broke it up. Seems half of UCD decided it was the place to be on a Saturday night in the middle of a pandemic.

This is the crap that really gets me. Folks are trying to stick to guidelines yet others think ah sure I dont know anyone that has it so I'm grand

Jim_Hodge wrote: »
    You do realise that for most of this many of us couldn't, and weren't supposed to, pop out to grandparents with the kids anyway! Many haven't seen their grandparents since March. Is that what you want compo for?

Plus, there were essential workers and there were Essential workers,

I understand exactly what you are saying but folks imo that work in environments that restricts them since march from seeing there family. Personnelly I feel should be compensated... mentally this is damaging

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭Gruffalux

It is kind of crazy that the authorities have not done precise studies of infection rates in the whole population. These should be ongoing in fact. We have a small enough population for this to be a great contribution to global research.

The last I heard of was the risible study in July which put it at 1.9%. I think in all probability we have experienced a lower end of population infection rates, probably 5 or 6%. Globally it is about 10% averaged out, according to WHO. There will be places where it was massive and places where it was low.

At 5 to 6% we could say 300,000 have had it here and 1800 dead is 0.6% which matches a consistently proposed by experts Infection Fatality Rate (not Case Fatality Rate which looks much higher).

This IFR number is dispersed very unevenly between age groups. It is very small in young people thank goodness and quite high in the elderly. For example if my early 30s year old son gets it and I get it I would be multiples times more likely to be in trouble than him as I am in my early 50s, and even though I am in good health. Just statistically.

The IFR is multiples that of flu. It also appears to be much more infectious than flu. The super spreading events such as one hears about have never been matched by similar flu spreading events.The flu itself is a dangerous virus. I had it once and I could not believe how hard it hit me. But we also have a good chance of having excellent immunity to flu or other viruses - I know that every year people all around me come down with various stuff and I do not catch it. So there are big differences. IFR, infectiousness, no immunity.

For all the agonising back and forth on this thread giving out about this and that, minimising and belly aching, Covid 19 is a serious public health issue with a reasonably high IFR and associated poorly researched comorbidity, all of which is a threat to the proper functioning of our health system and thus society.
    Deal with it. This is where we are. Those are the cards that were dealt. We have to fully protect the health system so that those fellow people who are sick with other things get the full treatment they need. If you are healthy and young be grateful and put up with the crap way things unfortunately are for a while so that others can be minded. I am going up a mountain now because it is sunny so I won't hear your giving out about this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 872 ✭✭✭Sofa King Great

So the party across the road from me went on until around 4am when the Gardai eventually arrived and broke it up. Seems half of UCD decided it was the place to be on a Saturday night in the middle of a pandemic.

No accountability from anyone - that includes the people at the party and the Gardai- no point in having long queues on the n7 as enforcement if they aren't going to even try break up a house party.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,566 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

274 confirmed cases in hospital 18 admissions 8 discharges.

Current rate of growth 400+ by end of the month.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,038 ✭✭✭Ficheall

Hellrazer wrote: »
    Well they did predict 100,000 deaths in the beginning.
    They were fairly close on that one!!
    You mean in the beginning when there was feck all info?
    And you now, with the benefit of eight months' extra info, are still messing up?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,105 ✭✭✭Kivaro

It's odd reading about bonuses and extra compensation for people who feel they deserve it ..... for doing the jobs that they are getting paid to do.
    That mindset must be all part of the very expensive "entitled" country that we live in.

Kivaro wrote: »
    It's odd reading about bonuses and extra compensation for people who feel they deserve it ..... for doing the jobs that they are getting paid to do.
    That mindset must be all part of the very expensive "entitled" country that we live in.

Yep it is lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91 ✭✭Munsterman12

They should all be thrown in jail for a week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,038 ✭✭✭Ficheall

I guess some part-time workers could easily be earning less than if they were on the pandemic payment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,065 ✭✭✭Santy2015

We didn’t ask for anything, was just getting on with things and bonus was in contract anyway due to results.
    Not one staff member went to management looking for more

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,591 ✭✭✭bennyl10

mjp wrote: »
    Have gotten appointment for myself and my wife for today but as have small baby at home would rather we split the appointments despite requesting this with doctor lastnight. The text gives option to cancel and reschedule appointment but wondering if there's a number to ring to rearrange a time that suits or can gp's see available time slots and pick one to suit. There is also a further testing centre closer to one I got appt for. Is it possible to request cancellation slot in other testing centre.

The system will give you the first available slot, gp can’t change that.

It will also give ya the first available at the closest test centre possible.your nearest one is more than likely full

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,376 ✭✭✭Funsterdelux

Gruffalux wrote: »
    It is kind of crazy that the authorities have not done precise studies of infection rates in the whole population. These should be ongoing in fact. We have a small enough population for this to be a great contribution to global research.

The last I heard of was the risible study in July which put it at 1.9%. I think in all probability we have experienced a lower end of population infection rates, probably 5 or 6%. Globally it is about 10% averaged out, according to WHO. There will be places where it was massive and places where it was low.

At 5 to 6% we could say 300,000 have had it here and 1800 dead is 0.6% which matches a consistently proposed by experts Infection Fatality Rate (not Case Fatality Rate which looks much higher).

This IFR number is dispersed very unevenly between age groups. It is very small in young people thank goodness and quite high in the elderly. For example if my early 30s year old son gets it and I get it I would be multiples times more likely to be in trouble than him as I am in my early 50s, and even though I am in good health. Just statistically.

The IFR is multiples that of flu. It also appears to be much more infectious than flu. The super spreading events such as one hears about have never been matched by similar flu spreading events.The flu itself is a dangerous virus. I had it once and I could not believe how hard it hit me. But we also have a good chance of having excellent immunity to flu or other viruses - I know that every year people all around me come down with various stuff and I do not catch it. So there are big differences. IFR, infectiousness, no immunity.

For all the agonising back and forth on this thread giving out about this and that, minimising and belly aching, Covid 19 is a serious public health issue with a reasonably high IFR and associated poorly researched comorbidity, all of which is a threat to the proper functioning of our health system and thus society.
    Deal with it. This is where we are. Those are the cards that were dealt. We have to fully protect the health system so that those fellow people who are sick with other things get the full treatment they need. If you are healthy and young be grateful and put up with the crap way things unfortunately are for a while so that others can be minded. I am going up a mountain now because it is sunny so I won't hear your giving out about this.

Hopefully you wont meet with the same fate as The Merchant or yourdeadwright!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,677 ✭✭✭Happydays2020

Santy2015 wrote: »
    We didn’t ask for anything, was just getting on with things and bonus was in contract anyway due to results.
    Not one staff member went to management looking for more

Indeed if you are hired on the basis of a bonus to meet targets then expecting to get paid for meeting those targets is pretty reasonable and certainly not entitled.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,608 ✭✭✭jaffa20

Do you ever just wake up and forget about Covid altogether. Then, 5 mins later with your coffee in had, you switch on the TV or open laptop and it's back with bang. Really tiring.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

jaffa20 wrote: »
    Do you ever just wake up and forget about Covid altogether. Then, 5 mins later with your coffee in had, you switch on the TV or open laptop and it's back with bang. Really tiring.
    Start your day on other sites first! Like some sport to start myself!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,190 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Perhaps. But the experience should teach us something about the value we place on different groups of workers.

A pandemic hits and suddenly it's not architects, solicitors and programmers on six figures that we're relying on to keep food on our tables, stop our rubbish piling up and keep our heating on.

When the chips were down it was the lowest paid, poorest treated workers who kept the show on the road. We know economically why their pay isn't great, but hopefully we've learned that they are as integral a cog in the economy as anyone else and deserve not only social respect, but the protections of the law that the rest of us take for granted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,260 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

seamus wrote: »
    Perhaps. But the experience should teach us something about the value we place on different groups of workers.

A pandemic hits and suddenly it's not architects, solicitors and programmers on six figures that we're relying on to keep food on our tables, stop our rubbish piling up and keep our heating on.

When the chips were down it was the lowest paid, poorest treated workers who kept the show on the road. We know economically why their pay isn't great, but hopefully we've learned that they are as integral a cog in the economy as anyone else and deserve not only social respect, but the protections of the law that the rest of us take for granted.

I worked in a large hospital with a very intelligent , amazing surgeon . He always said that he could do his job well because of the many cogs that made it possible
    He would say the porters, nurses, physios, cleaners , suppliers, buyers, all were essential so he could do the best job
    . If ever anyone thanked him for his work he would always say it was due to a well trained team .

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,980 ✭✭✭s1ippy

Any people facing job at the moment carries much more risk than it one did. Most of that work is now much more complicated. The least employers should be offering is some sort of hazard pay bonus to people who take the chance and work in those environments.

I read that many, many nursing home staff either became infected and had to cease working or just quit due to fear earlier in the year. That is a sector where they're going to have an incredibly hard time finding employees unless they seriously improve the conditions, pay and perks in the job.

• Site Banned Posts: 5,975 ✭✭✭podgeandrodge

In relation to the vaccine stories, such as Times this morning on UK, hopeful of first vaccines at end year/early next year - "The first vaccines will be given to the elderly and vulnerable and to vaccinate those most at risk will take several months. Most people will not be given the jab."

If the elderly and vulnerable get the vaccine, will this likely mean restrictions being rowed back a lot, as remaining population able to "deal with" getting Covid?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,071 ✭✭✭MarkY91

jaffa20 wrote: »

Yes during the summer when we were getting 5 cases per day. Unfortunately it's been at the forefront of my day everyday since we started getting into the hundreds And now the thousands

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,613 ✭✭✭OscarMIlde

I been working all through the pandemic. Anyone get extra pay cause you are essential?

Nope, and I don't believe I should have anyway. Apart from changes in my shift schedule to facilitate social distancing and the requirement to wear a mask at all times my work has not altered. It has been slightly more challenging as due to the nature of my work it was fairly quiet in March/April but extremely busy in the summer and I ended up staying late a lot to get all my results out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,114 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

seamus wrote: »

It'll be all forgotten about in no time when things get back to normal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭MerlinSouthDub

In relation to the vaccine stories, such as Times this morning on UK, hopeful of first vaccines at end year/early next year - "The first vaccines will be given to the elderly and vulnerable and to vaccinate those most at risk will take several months. Most people will not be given the jab."

If the elderly and vulnerable get the vaccine, will this likely mean restrictions being rowed back a lot, as remaining population able to "deal with" getting Covid?

You would hope and expect so. In addition, there should be some treatments coming on stream, so even those who go to hospital should have a significantly lower mortality rate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,435 ✭✭✭mandrake04

GazzaL wrote: »
    120,000 jobs to be lost, 120,000+ families will struggle to pay their bills.

That's a tough pill to swallow coming up on Xmas, really when you consider the amount of people who ran off to Europe on holidays in August...contracted the virus and brought it back and now people who maybe were striving since the last lockdown are now jobless through no fault of their own.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,114 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

mandrake04 wrote: »
    That's a tough pill to swallow coming up on Xmas, really when you consider the amount of people who ran off to Europe on holidays in August...contracted the virus and brought it back and now people who maybe were striving since the last lockdown are now jobless through no fault of their own.

Don't forget about all those who staycationed and spread the virus around as well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭amadangomor

mjp wrote: »
    Have gotten appointment for myself and my wife for today but as have small baby at home would rather we split the appointments despite requesting this with doctor lastnight. The text gives option to cancel and reschedule appointment but wondering if there's a number to ring to rearrange a time that suits or can gp's see available time slots and pick one to suit. There is also a further testing centre closer to one I got appt for. Is it possible to request cancellation slot in other testing centre.

One of you go earlier than the other. I turned up a half hour before and got tested immediately. Or if you have two cars one wait in car with the baby and transfer the baby when on is finished.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,190 ✭✭✭✭seamus

You would hope and expect so. In addition, there should be some treatments coming on stream, so even those who go to hospital should have a significantly lower mortality rate.
    Yep. Since the primary goal here is keeping the health system afloat, not eliminating the virus, then once the main vulnerable groups have been vaccinated, we can begin to lift restrictions.

Which in theory could be as early as Easter, but that assumes everything goes swimmingly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭amadangomor

No accountability from anyone - that includes the people at the party and the Gardai- no point in having long queues on the n7 as enforcement if they aren't going to even try break up a house party.

Breaking it up is pointless, we need to deter them from happening. 500 euro on the spot fine for all attendees and 2000 fine for the hosts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,480 ✭✭✭Blondini

mandrake04 wrote: »
    That's a tough pill to swallow coming up on Xmas, really when you consider the amount of people who ran off to Europe on holidays in August...

You don't have to look beyond this thread to read examples of users boasting about not following guidelines etc. One tulip in particular boasting about how his imaginary elderly parents would ignore advice on household visits.

That is the reality of the limits of intelligence of some; the very same who "know their rights" and would clog up A and E for a paper cut.