Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid 19 Part XXVI- 50,993 ROI (1,852 deaths) 28,040 NI (621 deaths) (19/10) Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,065 ✭✭✭Santy2015

So all going well with the oxford vaccine it seems(paywall) article in the Times this morning

https://www.thetimes.co.uk/article/hope-for-covid-vaccine-at-new-year-25b52b86s

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 293 ✭✭AVFC.Stephen

I been working all through the pandemic. Anyone get extra pay cause you are essential?

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 11,086 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hellrazer

Of course its important.The poster was using every means possible to quote statistics which validated his argument and just threw in the flu comparison at the end just to basically give the impression that its not a whole lot worse that an average flu.If you are dismissing our Covid death numbers as exaggerated then its surely valid to query the method of calculating the flu numbers.

That's not what I was doing and not what I meant for posters to assume - apologies.

I posted that from my phone and actually left out a complete sentence which should have read
    Assuming that our deaths from covid are over exaggerated and this year I haven't heard of anyone dying from flu can the rest be down to something else. ie common cold or flu and being reported as covid??

For transparency Ive edited my original post.

FWIW if I were given a guess as to what numbers died from COVID-19 my layman's guess would be around 1000 also.

So you agree that the deaths from covid are over exaggerated?
    Can the rest be attributed to something else and just be reported incorrectly?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,677 ✭✭✭Happydays2020

is_that_so wrote: »
    In terms of management of the disease not so much but it is a way for people to resort to statistics to prove a point that is really only of interest to statistics.

I am not sure. If decisions are being made on this basis that 3 in every 100 people who get the virus will die then that is misleading.

I expect at this stage they (NPHET and Govt) are not making decisions on this metric only, but rather it is the damage that having 10000 cases a day will do to our health system and society more broadly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,123 ✭✭✭Ellie2008

I been working all through the pandemic. Anyone get extra pay cause you are essential?

I don’t think anyone should get extra pay purely for being classed as essential. If Covid created extra work for your role that’s different. I think Covid has also highlighted issues such as nurses pay etc.

Santy2015 wrote: »
    So all going well with the oxford vaccine it seems(paywall) article in the Times this morning

https://www.thetimes.co.uk/article/hope-for-covid-vaccine-at-new-year-25b52b86s

That is great if it is the case and that is the vaccine that Ireland through the EU purchasing will be receiving. I expect that we will make an absolute administrative mess when it comes to the vaccine (but this will end up being someone else’s fault).

Got €50 one for all voucher every two weeks. So got about €400 over the worst of the pandemic

Ellie2008 wrote: »
    I don’t think anyone should get extra pay purely for being classed as essential. If Covid created extra work for your role that’s different. I think Covid has also highlighted issues such as nurses pay etc.

But if I cant see my family due to I have to work in an environment where i may get c19.... isnt that worth something ?

A while back they were prepared to pay care workers to look after medical folks kids an extra 5 euro... what's the difference?

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 11,086 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hellrazer

is_that_so wrote: »
    In terms of management of the disease not so much but it is a way for people to resort to statistics to prove a point that is really only of interest to statistics.

I agree with you but the ordinary person is believing every single thing they hear on the news / social media and those "statistics" on social media are incorrect...Only on this thread a few pages back a poster said we had a 4% death rate when in reality its probably only around .5%

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

I am not sure. If decisions are being made on this basis that 3 in every 100 people who get the virus will die then that is misleading.

I expect at this stage they (NPHET and Govt) are not making decisions on this metric only, but rather it is the damage that having 10000 cases a day will do to our health system and society more broadly.
    If you are protecting those deemed most at risk, stats are less of an issue, even wrong ones. The differing opinions are down to different perspectives. So far the HSE is OK. I doubt that NPHET are looking at society anywhere beyond their epidemiological view of keeping people safe. The government has much a bigger set of questions to resolve.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 513 ✭✭✭The HorsesMouth

Hellrazer wrote: »
    Are you saying that we`re only testing 10% of cases?

If we are really only at .3% then the call for another lockdown is even more ridiculous!!!

A the beginning I'd imagine we were testing even less than 10% of cases.

Got €50 one for all voucher every two weeks. So got about €400 over the worst of the pandemic

That's an insult

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,038 ✭✭✭Ficheall

Hellrazer wrote: »
    The death rate from covid 19 is roughly 1.4% (and that's being generous - some sources say between 0.5 and 0.65%) ie out those that have a positive test 1.4% will die.

With a population of 700k over 65s then that equates to 9800 deaths.@1.4% - at 0.5% its 3500.
    Are you extremely disingenuously applying the fatality rate for all people to the most at-risk people here?
    And you are ****ting on NPHET's predictions?

That's an insult

To add fuel to the fire. I got 300 euro in April. Other than that nada

That's an insult

Era it’s what was expected to be honest,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,878 ✭✭✭bush

Id be delighted just to be working

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,236 ✭✭✭✭Jim_Hodge

That's an insult

It depends on what they were earning. And it's tax free.
    How much do you want for being still employed?

Era it’s what was expected to be honest,

If you were getting something then... do you not feel you should be getting something now?

I do lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 410 ✭✭Icantthinkof1

I’m an essential worker and I would not expect anything extra working through a pandemic except perhaps a safe as possible working environment
    I am grateful to have a job
    I would never want to see nurses; among others stand at a picket line ever again though

Ficheall wrote: »
    Are you extremely disingenuously applying the fatality rate for all people to the most at-risk people here?
    And you are ****ting on NPHET's predictions?

Well they did predict 100,000 deaths in the beginning.
    They were fairly close on that one!!

I’m just getting on with it. Due to get my bonus soon so will be grand

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,100 ✭✭✭BringBackMick

A vaccine for New year will be a game changer even if its efficacy is limited , it will change the mood music and bring back confidence , maybe 2021 can return to some normality by Spring

Jim_Hodge wrote: »
    It depends on what they were earning. And it's tax free.
    How much do you want for being still employed?

Well I feel if it is that folks like myself are keeping the country ticking over. It should be considered. For example these lads working in meat plants are doing that job to make ends meat lol

I’m an essential worker and I would not expect anything extra working through a pandemic except perhaps a safe as possible working environment
    I am grateful to have a job
    I would never want to see nurses; among others stand at a picket line ever again though

I can respect that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

Well I feel if it is that folks like myself are keeping the country ticking over. It should be considered. For example these lads working in meat plants are doing that job to make ends meat lol

Essential is a broad enough term. I'm just greatful to still have a job to go to.

I was planning to request a pay increase which I'm entitled to in July gone and scrapped the idea entirely as I didn't want to rock the boat with budgeting etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭mjp

Have gotten appointment for myself and my wife for today but as have small baby at home would rather we split the appointments despite requesting this with doctor lastnight. The text gives option to cancel and reschedule appointment but wondering if there's a number to ring to rearrange a time that suits or can gp's see available time slots and pick one to suit. There is also a further testing centre closer to one I got appt for. Is it possible to request cancellation slot in other testing centre.

I’m just getting on with it. Due to get my bonus soon so will be grand

Happy days. Nothing wrong with being praised for the work you do in these trying times. If like me and use to pop out to see the mother once every couple of weeks with the kids and now that idea is blown out of the water because of where you work... personnelly I think that is worth something

• Closed Accounts Posts: 477 ✭✭AlphaDelta1

So the party across the road from me went on until around 4am when the Gardai eventually arrived and broke it up. Seems half of UCD decided it was the place to be on a Saturday night in the middle of a pandemic.

We really do need to have more stringent noise regulations. In normal times too - not acceptable to have sleep disturbed like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,236 ✭✭✭✭Jim_Hodge

Happy days. Nothing wrong with being praised for the work you do in these trying times. If like me and use to pop out to see the mother once every couple of weeks with the kids and now that idea is blown out of the water because of where you work... personnelly I think that is worth something

You do realise that for most of this many of us couldn't, and weren't supposed to, pop out to grandparents with the kids anyway! Many haven't seen their grandparents since March. Is that what you want compo for?

Plus, there were essential workers and there were Essential workers,