Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid 19 Part XXVI- 50,993 ROI (1,852 deaths) 28,040 NI (621 deaths) (19/10) Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,715 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

Wombatman wrote:
    I accept your point about the economic disruption, but we are either going to try to get on top of it or we are not.
    If we don't get on top of it the damage to the economy will be far worse in the long term.

The want it now brigade never see that of course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,317 ✭✭✭✭hynesie08

Necro wrote: »
    https://www.rte.ie/news/coronavirus/2020/1016/1171882-coronavirus-ireland/

'A number of Government sources have confirmed details of the recommendations to RTÉ News.'

Directly from the article. Of course they're leaking it, they need to gauge the public opinion on it
    Boggles wrote: »
    Ger Roe wrote: »
    Just announced on RTE Radio News at One.

'A number of government sources have confirmed the NPHET recommendations to RTE."

If the leak was government, would they not use "revealed" instead of "confirmed"

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 56,889 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

rob316 wrote: »
    There will be riots at level 5, the public demeanor is not what it was back in March.

:D Where do you think we live exactly?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,222 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

There will be riots at level 5, the public demeanor is not what it was back in March.

The same loop the loops currently at it will continue but most understand why its happening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,591 ✭✭✭bennyl10

Vast majority will understand

Those rioting would be the same idiots who sat on grafton street 2 weeks ago

We can do without them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,152 ✭✭✭Jinglejangle69

:confused: Unsure of what you think is leaking then?

Sorry I mean RTÉ asked them about the details and some government officials confirmed it.

Who leaked it to RTE?

Sorry maybe I'm getting mixed up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭amadangomor

Don't know what yer all freaking out about, currently in school with full numbers, on lunch now no masks to be seen, sure everything is normal and grand.....

Are they staggering lunchtimes? Can everyone stay 2m apart with masks off?

Stay safe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,843 ✭✭✭Nermal

froog wrote: »
    I'm not seeing any alternatives ideas from people here. Given that the health service is already starting to collapse.

The health service is not starting to collapse.

But the solution to limited healthcare resources is and always has been to focus the resources one does have where they will get the best results.

We did that before COVID-19 and will do it again afterwards. We do it in drug purchasing decisions. It's only under our current fevered delusion that this fact seems to be unpalatable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,804 ✭✭✭snotboogie

Zero Covid cannot work in Ireland unless you expect us to put up a hard border with the North. It's just not possible. And I'd be largely in favour of the strategies employed by Australia and New Zealand tbh.

Joint strategy with the North could be implemented, Wales have banned travel from England recently. No reason the North couldn't do the same

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,251 ✭✭✭speckle

THE_SHEEP wrote: »
    So , if you were offered a contract , stating that none of the anti virus measures were to be applied to you , seeing as " you wanted to suck it up " , with the caveat that once you caught the virus , you not not allowed access hospital / GP services , you'd gladly sign such mentioned contract ?

Thats pretty much what happened to people misdiagnoised early on . And happens pretty much if your poor in this country and can't afford private healthcare.

JDxtra wrote: »
    No, I am saying NPHET should offer the advice - then the government should decide on what is appropriate based on the overall picture. Then release that information and explain if there is a deviation from the advice and explain reasons why.

Lockdown recommendation news getting into the media before any decision just causes panic.

Taoiseach in Brussels so no Cabinet meeting today to make decision. Let them get on a Zoom and make the bloody decision and let Taoiseach pick a nice spot in Brussels and announce the damn thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 651 ✭✭✭440Hertz

I feel very sorry for the Dublin City Centre traders. As if they don’t have enough problems without a weekly mob of protesters chasing off the bit of footfall they have on the busiest shopping day of the week.

I know loads of people who are saying they’re specifically avoiding the city centre because of the anti mask protests.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,088 ✭✭✭✭BonnieSituation

snotboogie wrote: »
    Joint strategy with the North could be implemented, Wales have banned travel from England recently. No reason the North couldn't do the same

There is a massive reason for it.

D

U

P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,742 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

dont welsh Scottish and northern Ireland have different levels of powers though. not so sure it's that simple.

My weather

https://www.ecowitt.net/home/share?authorize=96CT1F

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,134 ✭✭✭caveat emptor

Zero Covid cannot work in Ireland unless you expect us to put up a hard border with the North. It's just not possible. And I'd be largely in favour of the strategies employed by Australia and New Zealand tbh.

We need to start thinking outside the box if we want any semblance of normality for the foreseeable.
    • We've been told it cannot work here by various lobby groups.
    • We were also told there wouldn't be a second wave.
    • We were told local restrictions would work.
    • We were told that we can't align on measures with the north. We are having to do this along the border whether we like it or not.
    The north wants it, Scotland wants it, Wales is in the process of banning the English. England is getting worse by the day.

People are realising that living with the virus translates to 'lots of people dying with the virus" and rolling harsh lockdowns.

All of these things update our understanding. The vast majority of people followed the restrictions to the letter and spirit of the law and it's done nothing but bring us back to square one. People will only get more pissed off and if there is an election hopefully the politicians will be held to account.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,454 ✭✭✭mloc123

Don't know what yer all freaking out about, currently in school with full numbers, on lunch now no masks to be seen, sure everything is normal and grand.....

Get off your phone if you are on yard duty :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,190 ✭✭✭✭seamus

froog wrote: »
    I'm not seeing any alternatives ideas from people here. Given that the health service is already starting to collapse.
    The health service is nowhere near collapse.

We have a considerable amount we can do in an emergency situation, which we did back in March/April.

We don't want to have to do that again, obviously. The idea is that we should be able to cope with Covid without enacting any emergency capacity plans, without having to take over private hospitals, without having to bounce non-covid patients out of ICU.

What we can do, right now, is wait. We have the health capacity to wait. Wait for the effect of restrictions to kick in, and if they don't, then we enact our emergency plan and move to level 5.

We suppress the infections again, and then keep a tighter leash on it. We need very specific metrics where we take action; e.g. if any county has a positivity rate over 2% for a week, it moves to level 3.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 477 ✭✭AlphaDelta1

Few crusties that's about it.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 56,889 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

Possible, but highly unlikely. Hey I'd absolutely be for it if the North were on board but I just don't see it happening.

And because of that we have to go with the rolling lockdowns as herd immunity is the talk of crackpots and weirdos.

There is a massive reason for it.

D

U

P

Yup, only the other night on Prime Time the DUP were on saying that they will do what they want and the south should do the same and not be worrying about them.

There’s no reason other than there’s an irrational and very paranoid side to Northern Irish politics that is already seeing this as a “power grab” by nationalists, trying to isolate them from mother England. If being ridden with COVID-19 is good enough for Manchester, they’ll see it as good enough for Belfast and Derry.

You might as well be trying to herd cats as talk to that aspect of politics up there. Everything, including totally pragmatic life / death health issues will ultimately be seen through a unionist vs nationalist and sectarian lens by those in power.

Anything that involves deep cooperation with the republic is a major problem to them. Look at Brexit. They were offered special status that would have seen them simultaneously in the EU and the UK and they went out of their way to ensure that wouldn’t happen smoothly, if at all, so the result is likely to be regional poverty and huge self inflicted damage to agrifood, manufacturing, private sector services, FDI etc etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 201 ✭✭trixi001

Proximity to Northern Ireland was always going to be one of our main problems. It wouldn't have mattered how low we managed to keep the rate of infection 'down south' so long as the North were following Borris's game plan, and the border between the north and the south remained open.

Also, failure to enforce a rule of 2 weeks mandatory self isolation on entering the country was a big mistake.

Finally, the rule that we are not allowed to visit each other's houses, but at the same time its ok to send our children to school where they can spend 5 - 6 hours in other children's company, pretty much defeats the purpose of restricting house visits.. or am I wrong?

Where do people get this idea that the North is following Boris's rules?

Stormont make their own regulations

Restaurants in the North opened later than the South (And have closed again as they have in the South)

Wet Pubs in the North opened later than the South (And in England they opened 2 months earlier)

The North has had a ban on household visits since 22nd September (and earlier for Belfast) - whereas this is only being implemented in the South now.

Yes, the North have to rely on Boris for funding - but other than that if you actually check the rules, they seem to be following the timings of the South for re-opening and closing things - or actually the more restrictive scenario between Britain and the South!

We need to start thinking outside the box if we want any semblance of normality for the foreseeable.
    • We've been told it cannot work here by various lobby groups.
    • We were also told there wouldn't be a second wave.
    • We were told local restrictions would work.
    • We were told that we can't align on measures with the north. We are having to do this along the border whether we like it or not.
    The north wants it, Scotland wants it, Wales is in the process of banning the English. England is getting worse by the day.

People are realising that living with the virus translates to 'lots of people dying with the virus" and rolling harsh lockdowns.

All of these things update our understanding. The vast majority of people followed the restrictions to the letter and spirit of the law and it's done nothing but bring us back to square one. People will only get more pissed off and if there is an election hopefully the politicians will be held to account.

I just don't see the appetite in the North for an all-island approach. Even their restrictions announced the other day are very different to our own levels.

It's for another thread but yeah England's response in particular is speeding up the eventual break up of the United Kingdom as we know it.

Brexit will finish that off in a couple of years too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,150 ✭✭✭TonyMaloney

Dublin hospital numbers by week (total covid patients across all Dublin hospitals)

17/09: 49
    24/09: 69
    01/10: 65
    08/10: 84
    15/10: 70

Not looking like exponential growth to me. Give level 3 a chance lads.

There's definitely evidence that level 3 will have some sort of beneficial effect, and pretty soon too you'd hope.
    Will it be enough? I sincerely doubt it but of course can't know for sure.

Would you be in favour of following NPHET's advice and moving to level 5 with the caveat that if level 3 is seen to be working within the next week, that we can move back down to 3?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,464 ✭✭✭landofthetree

pjohnson wrote: »
    The same loop the loops currently at it will continue but most understand why its happening.

What about when cases rises again? Another lockdown?

What about when a vaccine comes along but doesnt return things to normal? That not my opinion btw. The Oxford team developing the vaccine are saying it.

What about when cases rises again?

What about when a vaccine comes along but doesnt return things to normal? That not my opinion btw. The Oxford team developing the vaccine are saying it.

Seems likely that the solution will be vaccines AND effective treatments. We are going to need to have a break through on the drugs side.

What about when cases rises again? Another lockdown?

The vaccine manufactures are being very clear that it will not be full protection. Hopefully it will be enough to slow transmission to a manageable level through test and trace and isolate, but that is not a given. They, and the WHO, are certainly starting to manage expectations both in terms of rollout and efficacy

Crazy to think one guy eating a bat has caused so much disruption and time spent worrying about the outcome.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭bb1234567

There clearly won't be, anti restriction protest or any visible public opposition to them is still very minor in Ireland and didnt seem to experience any uptake even a few weeks ago with threat of a second level 5/lockdown. There will never be big riots or protests against restrictions in Irleand no matter what, I think we could say with confidence at this stage. We are not a country that riots about things

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,153 ✭✭✭✭Gael23

trixi001 wrote: »
    Where do people get this idea that the North is following Boris's rules?

Stormont make their own regulations

Restaurants in the North opened later than the South (And have closed again as they have in the South)

Wet Pubs in the North opened later than the South (And in England they opened 2 months earlier)

The North has had a ban on household visits since 22nd September (and earlier for Belfast) - whereas this is only being implemented in the South now.

Yes, the North have to rely on Boris for funding - but other than that if you actually check the rules, they seem to be following the timings of the South for re-opening and closing things - or actually the more restrictive scenario between Britain and the South!

The DUP follows the U.K. measures not the Irish ones