Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid 19 Part XXVI- 50,993 ROI (1,852 deaths) 28,040 NI (621 deaths) (19/10) Read OP

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Gruffalux wrote: »
    If doorbells are a vector worth noting by the Tanaiste then any surface anywhere is potentially a noteworthy vector.

Its a wonder postal workers and couriers aren't sick in their droves

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 12,530 Mod ✭✭✭✭igCorcaigh

Seriously though if people pressing doorbells is significant then people touching the mangoes in the supermarket is significant.

Yeah exactly. We would have seen growing spread during the summer from retail etc. We didn't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,698 ✭✭✭Signore Fancy Pants

The sooner Covid catches Covid the better.

M'fcukin' covid!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 713 ✭✭✭manniot2

Stheno wrote: »
    Its a wonder portal workers and couriers aren't sick in their droves

I’d rather be dropped into D day than be a postman in Covid world.

Quick , clear the tracks !!

There'll be a " Leo " along shortly , in full reverse !!

Body language at today's briefing :

" Fcuking told y'all !! "

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,599 ✭✭✭✭CIARAN_BOYLE

feelings wrote: »
    Is there a source for daily ICU numbers? I'd like to see the numbers for the last 2 months. Cheers.

https://covid19ireland-geohive.hub.arcgis.com/pages/hospitals-icu--testing

Well you can see charts here. You won't get a list of the numbers but the charts will paint the picture.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,394 ✭✭✭✭Hurrache

sabat wrote: »
    And this marks the moment when Varadkar went full retard.

It's obvious logic since the outset, why are people amazed about this? It's one of the main reasons people were to go into isolation at home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,162 ✭✭✭autumnbelle

France 30.621 cases 😳

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,885 ✭✭✭DeanAustin

THE_SHEEP wrote: »
    Quick , clear the tracks !!

There'll be a " Leo " along shortly , in full reverse !!

Body language at today's briefing :

" Fcuking told y'all !! "

I know this will happen if we enter Level 5 but it'd really just show the stupidity of those peddling it more than anything else.

Leo never said Level 5 wasn't an option. He never rubbished the circuit breaker strategy. He said that the speed at which NPHET moved from Level 2 to Level 5 recommendations (3 days) wasn't right and they hadn't thought it through because they couldn't answer government questions on what would happen after a hard lockdown.

If we do need to go into Level 5, questions should be asked of NPHET and why they were recommending Level 2 only three days before they wildly swung the other way.

But the cheap shot and headline will be "Leo has to backtrack".

one does not know the time or the place,

what one does know is it will occur sooner than we think

and this pandemic will bring this into sharper focus to our people,

death is just a step away, an unfortunate diagnosis or a bad call

Our mortality is important and lots of people have forgotten this...

we are mortal beings and must make the most of now...

The sun will rise tomorrow shortly before 8am, go outside and breath in the fresh air and the glow of the sun as rise on the horizon,,,, you are alive and living ....enjoy it

A lucrative career as a motivational speaker awaits.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

manniot2 wrote: »
    I’d rather be dropped into D day than be a postman in Covid world.

My posties kept me sane during the first lockdown with online shopping deliveries

If I wasn't in they would put stuff in random places and leave a note

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,130 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

It is all so depressing, since there doesn't appear to be an end in sight. That is what kept us going in March, sure we will be fine in a few weeks.

Not so, and it really is terrible now what with the dark nights, freezing damp cold weather, and flu season. Jaysus :eek:

I am very puzzled by the 3.567 level or whatever the feck it is now. Some people are very confused. But common sense should win out.

Why they introduced 5 levels and continue to tweak them is not good. Clear concise messages are needed. Blast it out in easy to understand language please.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,152 ✭✭✭Jinglejangle69

DeanAustin wrote: »
    I know this will happen if we enter Level 5 but it'd really just show the stupidity of those peddling it more than anything else.

Leo never said Level 5 wasn't an option. He never rubbished the circuit breaker strategy. He said that the speed at which NPHET moved from Level 2 to Level 5 recommendations (3 days) wasn't right and they hadn't thought it through because they couldn't answer government questions on what would happen after a hard lockdown.

If we do need to go into Level 5, questions should be asked of NPHET and why they were recommending Level 2 only three days before they wildly swung the other way.

But the cheap shot and headline will be "Leo has to backtrack".

Only seems like people want level 5 to stick it to Leo.

Whatever happened to the good of the country.

Pathetic.

igCorcaigh wrote: »
    Oh, I thought they were considering the advice from nphet today. Just catching up on the news now.

You're correct. Dr Hoholan repeatedly referred at this evening's briefing to report gone to the Government and that he wouldn't be discussing the contents of that report at all. At all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,152 ✭✭✭Jinglejangle69

Rumour has it Leo walks on water. Your FG bias is showing.

And your anti FG bias is showing.

All about how Leo was wrong when it was a 3 party decision.

But but Leo Leo.

Just dreaming of level 5 and putting 1000s of businesses into shutdown forever.

But at least you can say, see Leo was wrong and I'm great.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,584 ✭✭✭Widdensushi

France 30.621 cases ��

With 12.6 % positivity

Jesus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,760 ✭✭✭stockshares

This is funny.

It sums up our Govs position on pubs, not just the Uk's.

If you subbed a football for the drink you could include the Gaa too.

https://twitter.com/JimMFelton/status/1316685565790740481?s=19

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,394 ✭✭✭✭Hurrache

This is funny.

It sums up our Govs position on pubs, not just the Uk's.

If you subbed a football for the drink you could include the Gaa too.

https://twitter.com/JimMFelton/status/1316685565790740481?s=19

But the approaches are not similar at all?!?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,137 ✭✭✭c montgomery

Seriously though if people pressing doorbells is significant then people touching the mangoes in the supermarket is significant.

Stop talking sence, this thread is for hysteria only !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭MerlinSouthDub

With 12.6 % positivity

Wow. With that positivity rate, there could be 100000 cases in reality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,760 ✭✭✭stockshares

Hurrache wrote: »
    But the approaches are not similar at all?!?!

Yes they are, they gave in to the pub lobby. This wouldn't have glared if all pubs and gaa were closed down until under control.

There are other factors but they were a major factor this flare

You could also sub a Ham for the drink for the Meat Factories

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,197 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

Has this been inevitable regardless of what any of us did ? I see the numbers around the world bar a few places going back up so I said I’d start my post with a question. We got the numbers down and that was great and it certainly give me and I’m sure others that “light at the end of the tunnel” but sure what hope are either the politicians giving us or any public health leaders giving the country as we stand in mid October when it’s dark and in general just ****e ?

People need hope or something to hold on to because winters in Ireland can be long enough without this covid crap on top of all that. Bar my post in the previous thread I’d be at least outwardly keeping positive but tonight again I’m anxious about the rest of the year and my parents and my family. I don’t know lads I really don’t. Christmas is the last thing on my mind being honest. Let’s get to next week with some change first.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,733 ✭✭✭✭rob316

manniot2 wrote: »
    I agree. His track record is flawless. His treatment of nursing homes in March was impeccable, his handling of cervical check outstanding. Can we nominate him for a Nobel peace prize, special achievements include destroying lives and livelihoods.

Excellent post

Only seems like people want level 5 to stick it to Leo.

Whatever happened to the good of the country.

Pathetic.

I see the " Leo cohort " have arrived .

Leo overruled Tony and co / stuck the boot in / publicity stunt .

The buck stops with Leo .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭Gruffalux

Stop talking sence, this thread is for hysteria only !

You and others may misunderstand me. Since the beginning of this sheisse storm fomite transmission is a thing. I have been aware of it and made easy changes like wearing a glove using petrol pumps or leaving non perishables to sit. No big deal or inconvenience. Fomite transmission is not a big deal when viral load in the community is low which it has been for many months. Talk of it has also been muted for economic reasons.. Now home doorbells are suddenly suspect but not cash machine buttons, shop door handles, sugar sachets in cafes. It seems peculiar and political to be so specific. The story is not doorbells, the story is increasing viral loads in the community.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭fleet_admiral

Drive for a living. Traffic in Dublin and the M50 in particular is nowhere near peak levels. I'd hazard a guess it's as much as 40% down on same time last year.

I got from Airton Road at the monarch industrial estate through Tymon to nutgrove in half an hour at 5 o clock yesterday. Couldn't believe how quick I did it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,139 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

THE_SHEEP wrote: »
    I see the " Leo cohort " have arrived .

Leo overruled Tony and co / stuck the boot in / publicity stunt .

The buck stops with Leo .

Overruled Tony, I thought nphet just gave advice and it was government's choice to accept it or not, but now he overruled tony.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 12,530 Mod ✭✭✭✭igCorcaigh

The number of cases as a result of community transmission is included in the daily numbers, but it was always going down and was never raised as a concern.

But now we have widespread transmission in the community according to NPHET.

Is this metric useless so?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7 John45

"Ding Dong the witch is dead" one of the munchkins said.