Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Farming Chitchat 10/10- Now VIRUS-FREE!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,294 ✭✭✭Hard Knocks

Could a cow 6 months in calf show a false heat? Had one show heat & was cursing her, but watched her like a hawk between days 19-21 after that & not a birdie out of her then. The 'heat' was between testing & reading days of our herd test if that makes any difference. Suppose I should have gotten the vet to dip her!

Yes
    Don’t dip get her scanned

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 4,306 Mod ✭✭✭✭Siamsa Sessions

Water John wrote: »
    If President XI with a stroke of a pen decided to extend maternity leave to breastfeeding mothers then you'd be right.

You couldn't predict any specific event like this happening but it could well be a "black swan" event that changes milk price or any other commodity price.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Black_swan_theory

The world is a random place and the more globalised and interconnected it gets, the more random stuff on one side of the planet affects something 1000s of miles away.

Trading as Sullivan’s Farm on YouTube

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,181 ✭✭✭Lady Haywire

Yes
    Don’t dip get her scanned

No, I meant should have got the vet to dip her the day she was coming off test, last year he checked one for me when she was in the crush:pac:

We'll likely scan in Nov, worked out well last year knowing what was coming. Just the guy we use doesn't like scanning them too late on in calf so I'll just watch her again at the dates & warn him of her possibly being late on in calf.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

Could a cow 6 months in calf show a false heat? Had one show heat & was cursing her, but watched her like a hawk between days 19-21 after that & not a birdie out of her then. The 'heat' was between testing & reading days of our herd test if that makes any difference. Suppose I should have gotten the vet to dip her!

They can. I have a family of them feckers here showing regular heats up to when they go inside and the odd random heat then. Calve away fine but you never know if they're still in calf until they start bagging up.

Perfect, thanks. Was cursing her so much I'm surprised she didn't go up in flames on the spot. Will hold off on the cursing for now then :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 196 ✭✭Mossie1975

Nice out this morning. Couldn't stop looking at the sky bringing in the cows ... anybody else think it was unusual this morning or do I need to go and see a doctor? Have a good day lads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,687 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Mossie1975 wrote: »
    Nice out this morning. Couldn't stop looking at the sky bringing in the cows ... anybody else think it was unusual this morning or do I need to go and see a doctor? Have a good day lads

Raining here. Bull we have with sucklers broke out again. 4 strands of barbed and electric fence each side of fence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,974 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

whelan2 wrote: »
    Raining here. Bull we have with sucklers broke out again. 4 strands of barbed and electric fence each side of fence.

When they get the habit it’s hard broke. We had one wee Angus cow here years ago and she would break your heart. That was pre electric fence times and it was maddening.

_Brian wrote: »
    When they get the habit it’s hard broke. We had one wee Angus cow here years ago and she would break your heart. That was pre electric fence times and it was maddening.

He just puts his head under it and bulls through. Cnut

No, I meant should have got the vet to dip her the day she was coming off test, last year he checked one for me when she was in the crush:pac:

We'll likely scan in Nov, worked out well last year knowing what was coming. Just the guy we use doesn't like scanning them too late on in calf so I'll just watch her again at the dates & warn him of her possibly being late on in calf.

I got cows dipped by a vet a testing time and think it’s expensive and not accurate
    I got scan guys out to do a few for the same price as the vet was for 1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,499 ✭✭✭✭wrangler

He just puts his head under it and bulls through. Cnut

We had one too and we hung a chain out of the ring for a short while, solved the problem any way

I got cows dipped by a vet a testing time and think it’s expensive and not accurate

Ah ours wouldn't charge you for dipping one, we'd only dip if unsure of an animal, never dip them all!!

Pissing rain here, didn't think that was forecast.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,343 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

Can ye explain what dipping is to our non farming people?

Us farming people of course all know what it is.
    But just so the non farmers can feel included..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 994 ✭✭✭NcdJd

All I learnt from this forum so far is that certain members like to go off skinny dipping in the dead of night. Apart from that and sheep being dipped i never heard of cow dipping or seen cows been driven through a car wash. But it might be common enough in Leitrim I suppose. :p

Probably not explaining right
    This is where a Vet or AI person feel the ovaries of a cow/heifer for the presence of a fetus

Probably not explaining right
    This is where a Vet or AI person feel the ovaries of a cow/heifer for the presence of a fetus

Yes, but isn't it the womb, not ovaries....no calf in an ovary!! We just call it dipping here, presume there's local terms elsewhere too.

Have only heard it called “handling” here.

Occasionally when vet was out we’d ask them to “handle” a cow to see if she was in calf.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

Dipping is already in use in sheep areas.

Have only heard it called “handling” here.

Occasionally when vet was out we’d ask them to “handle” a cow to see if she was in calf.

We'd handle a cow when she's calving, but when we say 'Will you dip that heifer'? it encompasses, 'Handle her and tell me if she's incalf or not!'

Fork, sprong, grape springs to mind

Language is such an interesting versatile thing really. Small local areas will have terms that just a few parishes away seem almost foreign to us.

It's a freakin' PIKE!!!:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 470 ✭✭Mrs cockett

It's a freakin' PIKE!!!:p

Don't be ridiculous, its a FORK

I say fork for two tines, three prong for three tines & graipe for four tines. Bit of a mongrel in us somewhere wherever the three prong bit came out of!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,642 ✭✭✭✭Base price

Language is such an interesting versatile thing really. Small local areas will have terms that just a few parishes away seem almost foreign to us.
    I met an elderly farmer at the agri store yesterday, I was wearing my face mask and I said hello to him. He asked me my name and I told him. He said I didn't recognise you wearing the gubbin (not sure how to spell it). I laughed when I heard the word cause it's 40 odd years since I heard it last.
    A gubbin was used to cover the muzzle of a scouring foal or calf to stop them sucking their dam. Normally made from the leg of a wellie boot and tied to their head.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,128 ✭✭✭I says

Typical the contractors tractor pumping the slurry for umbilical spreading decides to breakdown before it starts. Bollox anyways.

I says wrote: »
    Typical the contractors tractor pumping the slurry for umbilical spreading decides to breakdown before it starts. Bollox anyways.

That’s a balls.
    Forecast looks good into Monday but doesn’t calendar say no after tomorrow

That’s a balls.
    Forecast looks good into Monday but doesn’t calendar say no after tomorrow

Today, Brian. Tomorrow is outside the directive.

Worse luck so 😔

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,128 ✭✭✭I says

Worse luck so 😔

Will be a late night