Opening of "No-Food" pubs pushed out again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,395 ✭✭✭VeVeX

Nor bus passengers when buses were still rammed with people. Windows closed. No masks.
    VeVeX wrote: »
    The statistics might suggest that if you can get on a bus you've more chance of perishing on said bus than dying of Covid19.
    MrStuffins wrote: »
    Bus passenger deaths in 2020 v Covid deaths in 2020. I wonder which is higher?
    How many of the people who died of Covid19 were well enough to use public transport prior to infection?
    Lol...... wut?

Good answer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,577 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

Good answer.

You suggested the stats might suggest what you suggested...... do they or don't they?

1,800 + deaths due to Covid in 2020.

Not sure how many people have died as a direct result of getting on the bus but I'll guess it's less!

My guess is zero? Willing to be corrected

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,105 ✭✭✭conor05

Going by the crowds in Dundalk Town as I drove through last night at 11PM, plenty of pubs are open and they all couldn't have been outside drinking

Different rules apply in El Paso. The guards drink in most of the pubs there and not much is said

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,202 ✭✭✭✭hmmm

Yyhhuuu wrote: »
    I note the lack of social distancing in many supermarkets. No marshalls to ensure rules enforced. A uk city council actually issued an ASBO against several UK supermarkets for not policing covid rules. I wonder are Supermarkets now becoming high risk for infection transmission? Absolute and utter rubbish to suggest no Covid in Supermarkets. They are no different to any other enclosed space not well ventilated either where SARS cov 2 is transmitted via droplet or aerosol through respiration.
    Most people are in and out of supermarkets pretty quickly, and aren't going to take part in extended conversations with other people where there is the risk of droplets being transferred and supermarkets are usually pretty open with high ceilings . Plus most people are wearing masks. A very different risk environment to a busy pub for both customers and staff. I'm sure there have been infections in supermarkets, but you aren't likely to see 20 and 30 people infected as can happen in a some indoor locations.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,499 ✭✭✭emo72

1,800 + deaths due to Covid in 2020.

1800+ deaths of people that died with covid in their blood, but that might not have been the reason why they died. If you died of a massive heart attack, but covid was in your blood, it counts as a covid death.

I don't think this information is being presented honestly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,748 ✭✭✭windy shepard henderson

Aaaaaaaah ballax!

https://www.rte.ie/news/politics/2020/0715/1153499-politics-cabinet/

I get it, I really do, but why the focus on pubs?
    I got a haircut today in the Grafton Barber where a nice barber cut my hair with no social distancing (Completely within guidance)
    I just don't get the focus on the boozer...

This one is obvious, you don't have 100s of people congregating outside a barber at 1am jumping on top of each other ect...

emo72 wrote: »
    1800+ deaths of people that died with covid in their blood, but that might not have been the reason why they died. If you died of a massive heart attack, but covid was in your blood, it counts as a covid death.

Even so, the stats still don't show you're more likely to die from riding on the bus. Even if one person genuinely died of Covid

Dickie10 wrote: »
    Can anyone genuinely see pubs open before 2021?

Yeah, you are being hopelessly naive. Don't mind drastic alarmism, in my home town a half dozen are operating presently. And they'll remain open unless the hammer comes down. Business as usual this week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,840 ✭✭✭hetuzozaho

emo72 wrote: »

How many people died on our buses this year out of interest?

Even so, the stats still don't show you're more likely to die from riding on the bus. Even if one person genuinely died of Covid

It's a disgraceful argument to be fair, most people that bring it up are just thinking of themselves

hetuzozaho wrote: »
    How many people died on our buses this year out of interest?

How many of them bugs were contagious, hence the regulations

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,672 ✭✭✭bassy

hey lads was to meet up with friends for a nite away in a hotel next month,is that a non runner now?.

bassy wrote: »
    hey lads was to meet up with friends for a nite away in a hotel next month,is that a non runner now?.

Hotels are still in bounds I believe, they still serve residents in bars and restaurants but things could change

How many of them bugs were contagious, hence the regulations

Sorry?

Sorry?

You made it sound like it was a common thing, huge difference between pubs and buses

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭bigpink

conor05 wrote: »
    Different rules apply in El Paso. The guards drink in most of the pubs there and not much is said

So the guards drink in the majority of pubs in Dundalk and they let the publicians break the rules?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,477 ✭✭✭MOH

What is stealth edited? When I look it says it was edited on Wednesday

I mean edited with no indication of what's being changed, or announcement of changes. There's a timestamp, but that's about it. This was supposed to be a well thought out plan that gave everyone a clear picture in advance of what restrictions would be in place at every level and what would be expected of them. And that would be consistent.
    If specific individual cases required implementing a stage with amendments, that's not ideal but what they did for Dublin and Donegal made sense, where those differences were highlighted.
    But if it's being changed will-nilly on a regular basis it's not a plan, it's just a log of whatever was decided yesterday.
    Suckit wrote: »
    But the people in the supermarkets weren't sitting for any length of time with each other and passing the same items around. In fact I think I remember reading a study that had found no traces of covid in the supermarkets.
    People were standing in checkouts literally breathing down each other's necks for 10-15 minutes at a time.
    I didn't agree with non food pubs being closed when other pubs were open, but understand it was a loophole that was exploited when they were trying to slow it down. Had that loophole not been found, the government possibly would have opened all the pubs at the same time at another date.
    It's hardly an obscure loophole, it's blindingly obvious. If the government hadn't been willing to allow them to open they could have implemented the restrictions differently. Or even done so after the pubs serving food had reopened.
    I will be surprised if they are, between landlords that "massaged" the rules and customers that didn't care about anything other than their pints, the final nail is that it's becoming clear from a number of reports that there have been significant numbers of cases that have originated in pubs.

You keep banging this drum, and yet there are no figures backing this up. I think at this stage the number of times you have claimed that pubs are to blame for a significant proportion of cases is actually greater than the number of clusters attributed to pubs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,843 ✭✭✭celt262

Hotels are still in bounds I believe, they still serve residents in bars and restaurants but things could change

As long as it is within your own county.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,553 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

bigpink wrote: »
    So the guards drink in the majority of pubs in Dundalk and they let the publicians break the rules?

Sure its happening all over the country, 1 pub in a well known village near me, full time Garda Station, even when it was €9 meals if you wanted food into the lounge if you just wanted a drink into the bar. Even know its outdoors but there's a few sitting inside, not many now but a few.

A few Gardai drink in it so have they been in at all, not a chance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 385 ✭✭AUDI20

bassy wrote: »
    Your okay if the Hotel is in the County that you live in, If its not then you have a problem. I had to cancel a weekend away next week due to this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

Can't wait for his breakdown of the stats tonight with Jamie Carragher!

Hospitality is a workplace and a high risk one from contact perspective. I wonder how they are handling that in that graph.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 396 ✭✭Open the Pubs

Interesting in England it is the Left wingers opposing the hospitality restrictions in the North, various city mayors etc. In Nevilles case he owns a couple of hotels I believe.

Whereas here the left seem to be baying for full lockdown and cheerleading more restrictions and hospitality closures.

Sinn Fein have been utterly useless during the pandemic, they have not said boo about any restrictions. They are so scared to take a position now because they are polling well. Pathetic.

I heard Pierce Dougherty on Newstalk over the weekend and he said they support the restrictions (more or less) and if needed they would not be against more restrictions.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 396 ✭✭Open the Pubs

I heard Pierce Dougherty on Newstalk over the weekend and he said they support the restrictions (more or less) and if needed they would not be against more restrictions.

Basically they will sit on the fence and moan about whatever happens

Oh for sure, a basket case of a party by all accounts and never to be taken seriously.

Can't wait for his breakdown of the stats tonight with Jamie Carragher!

He'll need to cut down on the spitting at people for sure :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,211 ✭✭✭✭Suckit

MOH wrote: »
    People were standing in checkouts literally breathing down each other's necks for 10-15 minutes at a time.
    10-15 minutes? Where? I never saw anything even close to those times in any supermarket I went to. The worst single line may have been almost 10 minutes and nobody was breathing down anyones neck. People just swapped checkouts.

TBH, experts say that contact with someone positive for the virus for about 10 minutes or longer can result in transmission. So it would be highly unlikely that it was spread in supermarkets, and not even close to a 'high risk' area as was mentioned. It is amlost preposterous to suggest that they are.
    MOH wrote: »
    It's hardly an obscure loophole, it's blindingly obvious. If the government hadn't been willing to allow them to open they could have implemented the restrictions differently. Or even done so after the pubs serving food had reopened.
    It was a loophole. Nobody suggested it was obscure or otherwise. A loophole is still a loophole. When the government introduced the restrictions they did so hoping people and businesses would follow them, not look for ways to get around it.

The virus will spread, it is inevitable, the restrictions are all about slowing it down, and not putting too much pressure on the hospitals so that we don't end up dealing with a very high number of deaths.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 442 ✭✭freak scence

Kasey_Don wrote: »
    The vast majority of the pubs in non rural Ireland towns must be laughing.

Big grants, no rates, drop in VAT, subsidised employees, payment breaks, locals going out of their way to support them, PUP etc.

They've never had it so good! And more money being thrown at them tomorrow. I think it's a disgrace.

bollox most of then are closed