Opening of "No-Food" pubs pushed out again

Had a enlightening night in the local, teamed up with a Welsh barman on the precipice of signing on for the first time in his life. Through no fault of his own, vulnerable to the auspices of an indifferent government. Chris is a gentleman of the first order, devastated having to rely on assistance to see him through the winter. This is what our leaders fail to grasp, the devastating implications on hard working folk down the country. They ought to be utterly ashamed of themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,477 ✭✭✭MOH

Suckit wrote: »
    Social distancing came in because the numbers had risen so quickly when everything was still open. Also IIRC there was a large horse racing festival on that week and the pubs were heaving. Roll forward two weeks from the 15th of March and there were over 2500 cases and almost 50 deaths, if the pubs had been still open not a single doubt in my mind that would have been a lot higher.

The supermarket panic buying probably did contribute, but nothing like the numbers that the pubs did.

By the time the panic buying started, there were many that were not going out and panic buying and being very careful..

I'll agree with you that some pubs during Cheltenham were wedged and definitely contributed. As did all the people returning from Cheltenham, which even at the time clearly should never have been held. But that last sentence is totally untrue.

I was in one pub on Thursday 12th where people were starting to be a bit wary and generally keep their distance, and two on Friday 13th which were very subdued compared to normal numbers and everyone was being a lot more careful. So clearly even by then a lot of people were not going out and many of those who were were being very careful (notwithstanding Temple Bar but that frankly I wouldn't consider anything there a pub anyway).

On the other hand, the panic buying started in earnest on Thursday March 12th and supermarkets were absolutely wedged for the next week until limits and queueing had to be introduced because people were showing zero common sense.( You could probably have opened the pubs quite safely since I'm not sure there was anyone left who wasn't either barricaded at home or crushed in a shop).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,477 ✭✭✭MOH

Just noticed that the Level 3 restrictions were once again stealth edited on Wednesday.

The separate section for "wet pubs" has now been removed.

The first sentence in the section headed "Bars, cafes and restaurants (including hotel restaurants and bars)", the title of which remains unchanged, now begins with "Restaurants and cafes (including bars or pubs serving food or wet pubs) ..."

So pubs are apparently restaurants or cafes.
    Discos and nightclubs have also been moved into this section.

Don't get too excited - there is a separate sentence saying "wet pubs in Dublin are to remain closed".

To ensure lack of consistency, the other levels have not been changed and still have a separate section for wet pubs.

There's also additional text in the "Retail and services" and advice for the over 70s sections, and the bit in the Weddings section barring guests travelling has been pointlessly reworded to make less sense. It previously said something along the lines of "guests may not travel to a wedding in another country", but now reads "It will not be possible to attend a wedding in another county.".
    It's absolutely possible, it just might not be legal.

I'm really glad we have a hard-working, competent government and medical executive who went to the time and effort of preparing a detailed, well thought out 5 stage plan so that everyone would always know in advance exactly what each stage meant. As opposed to a haphazard, vague, badly worded set of half-baked ideas that require setting a daily alarm to check what today's restrictions actually are.

Had a enlightening night in the local, teamed up with a Welsh barman on the precipice of signing on for the first time in his life. Through no fault of his own, vulnerable to the auspices of an indifferent government. Chris is a gentleman of the first order, devastated having to rely on assistance to see him through the winter. This is what our leaders fail to grasp, the devastating implications on hard working folk down the country. They ought to be utterly ashamed of themselves.

Utterly ashamed? You would think they are doing it for craic the way you are talking. We are in the middle of a pandemic which requires these measure to try contain the spread of the virus.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

Jesus, red wine is the devil!! Great craic last night. Think I might have pinned the lips on my mates neighbour too haha. Time for a walk, a haircut, and the shops for cans for round 2 tonight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,730 ✭✭✭RocketRaccoon

Jesus, red wine is the devil!! Great craic last night. Think I might have pinned the lips on my mates neighbour too haha. Time for a walk, a haircut, and the shops for cans for round 2 tonight.

John, I know you're on the windup in this thread and have been for months but have you considered AA meetings? Are they still going on at the moment?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,241 ✭✭✭This is it

Did you mistake boards for your dear diary?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,840 ✭✭✭hetuzozaho

MOH wrote: »
    Just noticed that the Level 3 restrictions were once again stealth edited on Wednesday.

What is stealth edited? When I look it says it was edited on Wednesday

If you can't remember what happened... maybe a new hobby wouldn't be the worst idea, even for a week or two?

Thing is its nothing to do with drinking from my perspective - the night described above sounds like a mild one and only starting on the cans this evening and not on them already means it’s not that “mad” of a weekend at all (by my standards anyway). I cannot wait to go back on mad sessions in the pub etc but for now even if they were open it’s just the wrong thing to do and the very same goes for meeting in groups in houses.

Just drink at home like most of us are and don’t be out mixing with others risking catching this virus and spreading it or spreading it to the people you meet. As for people out kissing strangers on a night out at the moment? Darwin awards come to mind if there are actually people doing this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

Thing is its nothing to do with drinking from my perspective - the night described above sounds like a mild one and only starting on the cans this evening and not on them already means it’s not that “mad” of a weekend at all (by my standards anyway). I cannot wait to go back on mad sessions in the pub etc but for now even if they were open it’s just the wrong thing to do and the very same goes for meeting in groups in houses.

Just drink at home like most of us are and don’t be out mixing with others risking catching this virus and spreading it or spreading it to the people you meet. As for people out kissing strangers on a night out at the moment? Darwin awards come to mind if there are actually people doing this.

Do you understand Darwinism? It might apply if I were 86

He's trying to wind people up, anyone who knows John knows he was nowhere near other people last night let alone kissing someone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,651 ✭✭✭US2

Just home from a decent party. Met around 40 people from 40 different households. This would not have happened in a pub.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,691 ✭✭✭Tenzor07

US2 wrote: »
    Just home from a decent party. Met around 40 people from 40 different households. This would not have happened in a pub.

Me too!

The highlight of that party last night was when Bono turned up wearing an Orange sash with Jon Bon Jovi following him banging a Lambeg drum !!

What a Seshhhhhh!

Tenzor07 wrote: »
    Me too!

The highlight of that party last night was when Bono turned up wearing an Orange sash with Jon Bon Jovi following him banging a Lambeg drum !!

What a Seshhhhhh!

The drugs must have been good?

Yea, thanks for that, you're the best dealer of them in town...

Tenzor07 wrote: »
    Yea, thanks for that, you're the best dealer of them in town...

I think you need some sleep ?

I think you need a test for Covid19... :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,773 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

A young fella in our village was renting one of the pubs and had put a lot of money into it but this closure has finished him and he can't affort to try an open again.

Thats him and the people he was employing out of a job, sad times we live in.

A young fella in our village was renting one of the pubs and had put a lot of money into it but this closure has finished him and he can't affort to try an open again.

He put a lot of money into doing up the rental property is it?

hetuzozaho wrote: »

I didn't ask the man his personal business on what he did or didn't spend it on but the place got a facelift when he took it over and was talking to him this week and he told me he couldn't afford to keep going after this.

Yeah sounds like he probably invested in the facelift then? Yikes. I guess the landlord did alright out of it! Is the landlord local?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,620 ✭✭✭✭hynesie08

Do you know many pubs where the landlord decorates it?

hynesie08 wrote: »
    Do you know many pubs where the landlord decorates it?

A few decorations be grand. An investment that puts you under into another lads property is a mess though. Such unlucky timing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,620 ✭✭✭✭hynesie08

A few decorations be grand. An investment that puts you under into another lads property is a mess though. Such unlucky timing.

It's the reality unfortunately, it's how most post recession places lost their bollocks, get a great deal on the rent, spend six figures doing it up......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,577 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

Sad times.

And we still have people having house parties, not wearing masks and spreading this stuff around without a care for how it affects people like this. Horrible!

Yeah sounds like he probably invested in the facelift then? Yikes. I guess the landlord did alright out of it! Is the landlord local?

The landlord was from here but living in Dublin now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,885 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

I think the gov will use this whole thing to finally end the pub culture we have here. Can see the cost of a pub licence go bananas after this. They’re secretly delighted the pubs are on their knees and will make sure they stay there after all this.

It might help with the workloads in hospitals every night.

How much is the average pub paying now?