Covid 19 Part XXV-44,159 ROI (1,830 deaths) 21,898 NI (598 deaths) (13/10) Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,132 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

Russman wrote: »
    He could well be proved right, but what a gamble to take if the medical and science people are right and it all goes pear shaped for the hospitals.
    It's really one we have to take if we are living with the virus. This is not March and the HSE claim to have a surge plan to deal with increased numbers. We'll have to wait and see there. The medical and science people wanted Level 5. That should be a last resort and leaves no other tools. It's also the end of 2020, 10 weeks early.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,595 ✭✭✭✭CIARAN_BOYLE

Can you tell me - is that typical?

112 tests in the week no positives compared to 3 positives in the same week last year.

They don't do enough testing to have a clue. Usually they judge number of flu cases based on the influenza like illness index but that's at record highs due to covid.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,719 ✭✭✭dundalkfc10

UrbanFret wrote: »
    Every county will go to level 4 or none will. Usual bull**** from the news outlets in this country.

But what about the big 1 to 5 plan, with a 2.5 and 3.5 throwing in for the craic.

Was it not to be used, based on county by county stats.

But what about the big 1 to 5 plan, with a 2.5 and 3.5 throwing in for the craic.

Well, Dublin was a 3+ plan, with the pubs closed so there's no reason it can't be tweaked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,085 ✭✭✭UrbanFret

The one thing that is coming from these readings is we need to close the border and close it fast. There is a surge of cases coming from the border counties.

The cases actually came from fresher week in Galway. Brought back by members of the football team who then passed it on to teammates at training some of whose partners worked in the hospital. Locking the border would have been a fat lot of good there.;)

They haven't a clue what their at to be honest.
    Aint no stopping it now. still at least we have the extra beds that the first lockdown give us time to organise. Oh Wait.:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,587 ✭✭✭Floppybits

Are there some area's going to level 4 lockdown but its not being publicised? In my area the GAA and Soccer club have shut up shop for the next couple of weeks and other clubs have gone back to the restrictions that were in place when coming out of the last lockdown.

They haven't a clue what their at to be honest.
    Aint no stopping it now. still at least we have the extra beds that the first lockdown give us time to organise. Oh Wait.:eek:

Not completely idle.

https://www.hse.ie/eng/services/news/media/pressrel/hse-winter-plan-20-21-published.html
    It is proposed to open an additional 251 Acute beds and 89 Sub Acute beds in Q4 2020 and an additional 232 Acute beds in Q1 2021.

Floppybits wrote: »
    Are there some area's going to level 4 lockdown but its not being publicised? In my area the GAA and Soccer club have shut up shop for the next couple of weeks and other clubs have gone back to the restrictions that were in place when coming out of the last lockdown.
    I think certain sports have dirtied their bibs due to members' over-exuberance. A wise call at present IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,080 ✭✭✭✭titan18

is_that_so wrote: »
    He's said it twice already and it ties in with Martin's attitude. Things will not get a whole lot better in these two weeks but if rate of transmission begins to slow he may be proved right on that.

I know of a school in Cork that is down 14 teachers today as they're all in self isolation. Good luck keeping schools open when all the teachers can't go in

I think certain sports have dirtied their bibs due to members' over-exuberance. A wise call at present IMO.

I agree it is a wise call but no one is being up front about it. There is veil of silence about the place but everyone seems to know what went on but there will be no sanctions on these clubs that have caused the problems. Just wondering if there are things going on in the background to get them to close up. Also where are Gardai in all of this surely they should be breaking these things up?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,595 ✭✭✭✭CIARAN_BOYLE

Floppybits wrote: »
    I agree it is a wise call but no one is being up front about it. There is veil of silence about the place but everyone seems to know what went on but there will be no sanctions on these clubs that have caused the problems. Just wondering if there are things going on in the background to get them to close up. Also where are Gardai in all of this surely they should be breaking these things up?

GAA announced that all club games were cancelled until further notice. They did this before nationwide level 3.

No veil of silence.

titan18 wrote: »
    I know of a school in Cork that is down 14 teachers today as they're all in self isolation. Good luck keeping schools open when all the teachers can't go in
    It was the same in Longford too I believe. It is going to happen and is unsurprising, but it is not expected to be a widespread issue.

Proposing it is all very well. They should have had them available at this stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭bb1234567

Almost 3% of the entire American population have now tested positive, wold be interesting to hear estimates on the actual percent of the country that have been infected so far

Proposing it is all very well. They should have had them available at this stage.
    Some of them will come as a result of shutting other services down. It's not the beds that are an issue, it's the staffing requirements.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,128 ✭✭✭10000maniacs

The cases actually came from fresher week in Galway. Brought back by members of the football team who then passed it on to teammates at training some of whose partners worked in the hospital. Locking the border would have been a fat lot of good there.;)

Do you notice the trend here in this map? These are the latest figures.

covid.jpg

They are 6 months too late
    It's a Winter Plan for 2020/2021 so on time!

covid.jpg

Whats your point? I have told you were the outbreak in west Cavan originated. Nothing whatsoever to do with the border. I believe those are cases per 100000 in those counties. Considering their isn't 100000 in them it's slightly misleading.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,014 ✭✭✭Miike

They are 6 months too late

What?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,116 ✭✭✭bazermc

covid.jpg

Who else has a strong urge to print that off and colour it in???

Whats your point? I have told you were the outbreak in west Cavan originated. Nothing whatsoever to do wioth the border. I believe those are cases per 100000 in those counties. Considering their isn't 100000 in them it's slightly misleading.
    The three counties with the biggest border to NI have double the national average for cases. And when we were down to single figures for most counties a month back, where did the huge surge come from? Donegal of course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,014 ✭✭✭Miike

bazermc wrote: »

Its paint by numbers.

GAA announced that all club games were cancelled until further notice. They did this before nationwide level 3.

No veil of silence.

Not talking about the GAA itself, it was a good move by the GAA to cancel all the games are they seen what was happening. I am talking about at a local level and the impact the reckless behavior of these clubs have had on communities. It would be fine if it only affected the GAA club involved but it affects everyone and yet at local level nobody is saying about it. In my own community due to the behavior of a club there are 40+ cases of Covid and rising.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,568 ✭✭✭Icyseanfitz

Isn't there still quite a large backlog from last week?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,296 ✭✭✭Deusexmachina

I wish our politicians and media spokespeople, epidemiologists, commentators et al would stop saying everything Covid is 'deeply worrying', 'very worrying', 'very concerning' etc.

Worrying is pointless. It might make the politicians look all serious and grave but it does sweet feck all for anyone.

To quote 'Psychology Today:
    Worry is the excess emotion that remains after all reasonable measures are taken to safeguard your family and personal interests. Worry may actually drive you to make bad decisions, such as in the case of adopting any new health fad that comes along irrespective of evidence supporting its effectiveness or potential for harm. Worrisome thinking increases anxiety but does not help you focus on finding effective solutions.

Enough of the 'worry'. We need proper calm short and medium term planning, honest and open communication and a balance between our health needs and our economic needs.

Miike wrote: »
    What?

The beds we were told in Feb/March would be needed now, We havnt got them

They promised us them (well they said they would get more)

The winter plan you are talking about now promises "There will be 17 extra critical care beds to add to the existing 282 Intensive Care Unit beds"

We need WAY more than that

The three counties with the biggest border to NI have double the national average for cases. And when we were down to single figures for most counties a month back, where did the huge surge come from? Donegal of course.

So they came home from Galway via bundoran. Fair enough.:cool:

bazermc wrote: »
    I remember that, that's what the mental guys in the class used to love doing back in the day. Ah memories. Pity there was no Leaving Cert colouring in exam. It would have got them into Anco at the very least.