Covid 19 Part XXV-44,159 ROI (1,830 deaths) 21,898 NI (598 deaths) (13/10) Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,595 ✭✭✭✭CIARAN_BOYLE

owlbethere wrote: »
    Are you sure the flu vaccine is being rationed to those most at risk?
    I thought the health authorities want a big uptake of the flu vaccine this year in case someone comes down with both flu and covid together.
    Australia went down the road of a public health campaign encouraging flu vaccines during their winter.

Ireland ordered 1.4 million flu vaccines this year. They ordered 1.2 million last year and 1 million was used.

Boots demanded I explain why I was an at risk person or a close contact of an at risk person before they gave it to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 949 ✭✭✭Renjit

Thierry12 wrote: »
    We had 150 in the ICU with covid in April

30 now and 5000 cases a week

Its not gonna go back to that level

You seem to discount the criteria and level of testing at that time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,145 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

hmmm wrote: »
    If our ICUs are going to be over-run, the government will have no choice but to lockdown everything, no matter the damage.

No civilised society will allow their hospitals to be overwhelmed.

Covid numbers in icu are about 20% of what they were at the peak though so we have a long way to go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 522 ✭✭✭ax530

Navanboyo wrote: »
    Final was only last Sunday though so would be surprised that would result in so many cases this week?

Not saying you are wrong just am surprised.

There may be other factors as well?

I would have thought same however a poster here earlier has tested positive along with many they know following a final last weekend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,445 ✭✭✭mloc123

If its Level 2 you know we can do that. Just do it with a bit of cop on this our Christmas is ruined is scaremongering at the finest

This is the problem... even under level 2 you should not be doing this, but people were. Level 2... a total of 6 people from 3 households max.

Renjit wrote: »

More testing now shouldn't affect the numbers in icu though, if we had next to zero testing we would still have the same numbers going to icu

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,973 ✭✭✭OscarMIlde

There was a writer in the Irish Times making the good bit that we need to focus on stopping the superspreading events.

The odd person might get the virus when outside, or when shopping somewhere, but 30 people won't get it at once in those environments. That sort of thing happens inside in poorly ventilated places with lots of people in close contact.

Level 3 shuts pubs & restaurants which unfortunately fall into the "risk of superspread". Level 4 & 5 looks to me like a huge cost with little impact on how the virus spreads.

I agree with you about level 4 or 5, particularly with regard to retail, as I doubt there is much spread between staff and customers (although there may be between staff themselves). However one thing people may not be considering is the social aspect of non-essential retail, e.g that friends or family may be meeting up to visit the hardware shop, garden centre, Dundrum etc, and thus these businesses being open is encouraging people to increase their number of contacts. I know on my bus home from work, I often see groups of friends who clearly met up to go round the shops together.

There is also the issue of how non-essential retail is accessed. Since the start of the pandemic public transport was supposed to be limited to essential travel only. During the height of the lockdown there was no policing of this, and no need to. The only people on the buses were people going to work. As soon as shops opened up the buses were crammed with people. The more people travelling by public transport the greater the risk of super spreading events (especially given the poor compliance with mask wearing I witness).

The only way we can keep non-essential retain open is if people cop on and act responsibly. For example meet your two friends to go to Penneys, but ensure you restrict your contacts for a week after. Or get on the bus to go to town, but wear your mask and keep the windows open. Unfortunately a lot of people won't do these simple measures.
    “Never argue with an idiot. They will drag you down to their level and beat you with experience.”

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭Gruffalux

niallo27 wrote: »
    Covid numbers in icu are about 20% of what they were at the peak though so we have a long way to go.

I would say true case numbers are about the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,192 ✭✭✭✭Jim_Hodge

Yeah completely agree you have to take the border counties figures with a pinch of salt - it looks like the north have just given up

Border counties, midland or Cork can't just be dismissed to suit a narrative, they're still part of the national figures and data.

More testing now shouldn't affect the numbers in icu though, if we had next to zero testing we would still have the same numbers going to icu

I believe the suggestion was that 1000 cases detected in March was around 5000 cases in the community while 1000 cases now is maybe 1100 or 1200 cases in the community.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,817 ✭✭✭✭martingriff

Your asking people with one or two good years left to sacrifice them so they don't die. I think a lot of grandparents are done with it especially if there grankids are close by. They cocooned done everything was asked of them now there back living come what may.

Where did I say sacrifice I said the exact opposite I said go on living your life but with some cop on on safety. As for this 1 or 2 years WTF can they not go on there holidays have a heavy night out with the boys.

Also what is this just grandparents. You know anyone with low immunity can be effected badly. People with cancers, asthma, heart defects, other lung diseases obesity and autoimmunity conditions. Do you actually know how many people that is.

People are asking to be a bit more careful for the health of the nations to actually pretend you actually care about others and not be a me feiner. I can tell you grandkids are been a lot more careful them supposed ADULTS

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,192 ✭✭✭✭hmmm

OscarMIlde wrote: »
    The only way we can keep non-essential retain open is if people cop on and act responsibly. For example meet your two friends to go to Penneys, but ensure you restrict your contacts for a week after. Or get on the bus to go to town, but wear your mask and keep the windows open. Unfortunately a lot of people won't do these simple measures.
    All great points. None of the Levels are going to make much difference if there is no enforcement or if people ignore them.

I'm surprised the government doesn't put a few hundred million into Garda overtime for the next 6 months - it'd be cheaper than a Level 5 lockdown.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭owlbethere

Ireland ordered 1.4 million flu vaccines this year. They ordered 1.2 million last year and 1 million was used.

Boots demanded I explain why I was an at risk person or a close contact of an at risk person before they gave it to me.

My god. Lasts years 1 million uptake was pitiful. There should really be more of an uptake for the flu vaccine especially this year. Just in case someone gets flu and covid together. Disappointed to learn that it's been rationed.

Our medical staff won't get a choice about treating them & risking their lives if they end up in ICU. Our economy will be shutting down if large numbers end up in ICU. Young people are making incredible sacrifices in education and work and their social lives to reduce the numbers.

Frankly tough if some older people are "done with it", everyone is being asked to make sacrifices.

I don't think older people are done with it I say a they are as cautious as ever

You need to rethink what I said.

Yes. And if they do then what happens in a few weeks? House parties allowed again or will they be told to hold off for another few weeks. You see where this is going.....

There are ways of meeting a few friends and having the craic and a few beers then these house parties and no opening bars (which I have no problem opening) is the answer as the fast majority of young people going to the pub will already have most of there drinking done (or with them in a bag) as it is so dear

My god. Lasts years 1 million uptake was pitiful. There should really be more of an uptake for the flu vaccine especially this year. Just in case someone gets flu and covid together. Disappointed to learn that it's been rationed.

I believe the majority of Ireland's order is still to arrive so the first round of vaccination is for at risk peoples. More available later maybe.

You need to rethink what I said.

Were you talking about icu numbers or case numbers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 917 ✭✭✭Thierry12

Are you sure the flu vaccine is being rationed to those most at risk?
    I thought the health authorities want a big uptake of the flu vaccine this year in case someone comes down with both flu and covid together.
    Australia went down the road of a public health campaign encouraging flu vaccines during their winter.

Its being rationed because we didn't order enough and are now short of flu vaccines

Our supply chain specialists were surprised by the demand lol

Who would have thought a flu vaccine for an ilness with similar symptoms to a virus that's stopped the world would have been sought after

Were you talking about icu numbers or case numbers

Case numbers based on criteria and extent of testing. We may not still see same until we reach 10k or so cases per day. Death count will still be somewhat lower because people are prepared this time.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,980 ✭✭✭s1ippy

Beasty wrote: »
    We are now though in a phase of living with this. It's a matter of containment rather than elimination. A complete lockdown will probably create as many problems/issues as it solves. Yes it means we have to accept there will be more deaths, but this is something we all "live" with anyway. None of us know how much time we have left. Some high risk individuals manage to fight off this disease when the odds are heavily stacked against them - again that is part of "life"
    That is very cold. This view seems to me to be incredibly short-sighted. Even healthy people can have bad outcomes from this. What do you think about school staff and people with children in schools, is it acceptable to you that their level of risk is increased by so much? Is it acceptable the way transparency has gone in the toilet about these institutions and there's a refusal to admit that there's huge amounts of transmission which puts those attending and working in schools at risk? Like, you can't make an informed choice if you don't have the information.
    In another 6 months we may be into "wave" 3, or we may be in a position where we are starting to banish this virus. None of us can know at this stage. We must be prepared to make further sacrifices for the good of ourselves as well as others, but there is no point in sacrificing everything else to fight this. There is a balance to be struck. I think that to date Ireland has done quite well in comparison to some of our international neighbours. However ultimately we are all in this, including those neighbours, and we actually need to work together to try and come up with a coordinated approach. I think the scientists have adopted such an approach, although we continue to see politicians trying to score points rather than focus on finding a way through this
    I couldn't agree more with the last part but as for balancing life and risk, my family and I are avoiding risk in order to preserve more life... What might have been regarded as mundane before is the option I now choose habitually. I actually can't understand how people can enjoy going out and chancing it, I'd be paranoid about every symptom for two weeks afterwards and wouldn't be able to enjoy myself at all.

Plus there are loads of fun things still available to do at home!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 220 ✭✭Qiaonasen

Thierry12 wrote: »
    Its being rationed because we didn't order enough and are now short of flu vaccines

Our supply chain specialists were surprised by the demand lol

Who would have thought a flu vaccine for an ilness with similar symptoms to a virus that's stopped the world would have been sought after

Well, it should have been obvious that the flu vaccine would be more in demand this year. Poor planning.

You do know that there is more in ICU and high dependency then just Covid right!!! Id the capacity gets overwhelmed then unpalatable decisions of what to do with some people might have to be made are you going to go to those hospitals to do it. Where will all your thanks to the front line staff be then and worth what. I saw a great phrase today from some hospital. We are not the front line for this we a the last line everyone else is the front line.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 671 ✭✭✭Will Yam

Which website? As you say something is wrong with those figures so I want to check your source.

It’s the Covid official website. Covid 19 data hub.

Yesterday they reported 1992 over 65s hospitalised. Today it’s 2204. Both figures are cumulative since March. So 2204 - 1992 = 212 in one day.

But TOTAL cases hospitalised today is 201.

So how can there be 212 extra oldies in hospital when the total extra is only 201?

I may be reading the numbers wrong, but I don’t think so.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭mountgomery burns

You do know that there is more in ICU and high dependency then just Covid right!!! Id the capacity gets overwhelmed then unpalatable decisions of what to do with some people might have to be made are you going to go to those hospitals to do it. Where will all your thanks to the front line staff be then and worth what. I saw a great phrase today from some hospital. We are not the front line for this we a the last line everyone else is the front line.

Was there anyone else in ICU without Covid back in April or what happened there?

Not having a go, but I've seen that point mentioned before yet nobody has mentioned how people in ICU care for non-covid related issues were treated during the peak?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,568 ✭✭✭Icyseanfitz

JP Liz V1 wrote: »

So another one in a single week, cant be real though, #privatehome

mloc123 wrote: »
    This is the problem... even under level 2 you should not be doing this, but people were. Level 2... a total of 6 people from 3 households max.

You can still go and visit people at there house have a chat or a dinner or a drink. I am not talking about doing to all 1 house. People can meet at a pub and have a good time and have a few. It is not ruined a bit more taught perhaps and especially for the kids

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 713 ✭✭✭manniot2

Qiaonasen wrote: »
    Well, it should have been obvious that the flu vaccine would be more in demand this year. Poor planning.

Eircom Reid couldn’t plan a sh*t in a toilet

• Closed Accounts Posts: 917 ✭✭✭Thierry12

True

We would have had 10,000 - 15,000 cases a day then?

What are we worrying about with 800 a day now

To get 50 deaths a day and 150 in ICU it had to have been everywhere or a different virus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 713 ✭✭✭manniot2

Was there anyone else in ICU without Covid back in April or what happened there?

Not having a go, but I've seen that point mentioned before yet nobody has mentioned how people in ICU care for non-covid related issues were treated during the peak?

There was no illness pre covid