Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part VI - **Read OP for Mod Warnings**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 594 ✭✭✭3xh

Penfailed wrote: »
    Not that I should have to explain myself but I have travelled plenty over the years. I considered it a privilege to do so.

Why? Were they free junkets at others’ expense?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,156 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

hynesie08 wrote: »
    What good is a vat cut?

"here's a reduction on stock you're not buying cause you can't open"

It will clearly be of use for the businesses that survive.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,351 ✭✭✭NegativeCreep

Badly need these

Anti protesters protesting is a bit strange no?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,896 ✭✭✭sabat

https://twitter.com/hugosrest/status/1314907510755688453

I believe a VAT cut is coming in the budget

Every pub and restaurant in the country should ban the entire cabinet and NPHET for life.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,705 ✭✭✭Cheerful Spring2

snowcat wrote: »
    Jaysus. More people died in Road Traffic Accidents in the last 3 months then directly died of Covid and this Drink driving Advocat wants to shut the economy down. Put the car keys down and cut out the Guiness should be his priority. Alcohol itself kills many multiples of what Covid will kill in any year.

There's a lot of scaremongering people on media sites.With the Reality there is very few people who die from the disease in actual reality. We are decent humans mostly so we try to protect the vulnerable.

I don't think the correct course to take is forcing every county to implement level 5 restrictions. The cases are very high in some counties, mid in others and low in others. The Level 5 restrictions should only be there to reduce high numbers in some counties.

Unnecessary travel restrictions only thing i agree with should be at level 5 for the whole country. There no department in Ireland to deal with each county case by case base, and seems it's just shock and awe for the whole country policy right now. This needs to change. You can't have every person restricted to being a hermit because some counties can't reduce their covid numbers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,683 ✭✭✭Penfailed

3xh wrote: »
    Why? Were they free junkets at others’ expense?

Eh? No. Saved up and headed off.

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Pixies, Ride, Therapy?, Public Service Broadcasting, IDLES, And So I Watch You From Afar

Gigs '25 - Spiritualized, Supergrass, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Queens of the Stone Age, Electric Picnic, Vantastival, And So I Watch You From Afar

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

The government are asleep at the wheel, we need level 5 or higher now, not tomorrow not in two weeks. Schools cannot be allowed to open on Monday it’s madness if they do. We need fines for all breaches and fast and we need the army on the streets to combat these mindless idiots protesting, any force necessary to disperse them.

The back patting anti restrictions minority in here would make your blood boil reading their idiotic posts, denying the reality of this virus, supporting anti -vax and anti mask scum. It’s depressing reading but luckily only a very small minority of the country despite what they think themselves.

Be grand. Stop worrying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 594 ✭✭✭3xh

Penfailed wrote: »
    Eh? No. Saved up and headed off.

Exactly. You earned it. That’s not a privilege, Penfailed.

Dionaibh wrote: »
    Not complaining, but rather surprised that so few people have protested.

Protest against what? Very necessary restrictions is it? Because the vast majority of people realise they are very much necessary.

The only people protesting are absolute low life’s and should be treated as such.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,417 ✭✭✭arctictree

The Government need a different approach here, not more of the same. We should give the people 3 weeks notice and then do a full level 10 lockdown for the month of November. Nobody can leave their house, airports/border closed. Kill the virus stone dead and then open up fully again in December.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 982 ✭✭✭Rrrrrr2

sabat wrote: »
    Every pub and restaurant in the country should ban the entire cabinet and NPHET for life.

They should all reopen en masse. They can’t arrest or close everyone down. We’re long passed that stage in my opinion. You have to stand up for yourself or be walked on by the public service and government minions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,029 ✭✭✭SusieBlue

arctictree wrote: »
    The Government need a different approach here, not more of the same. We should give the people 3 weeks notice and then do a full level 10 lockdown for the month of November. Nobody can leave their house, airports/border closed. Kill the virus stone dead and then open up fully again in December.

Never mind the fact that closing the border with the north would violate the good Friday agreement and cause a whole new set of problems, all it would take would be one asymptomatic person to start the spread again and we’d be in a far worse position than before, having destroyed the country with the ‘level 10 lockdown.’

How would it work anyway, surely gardaí, medical staff, fire brigade and the clerical staff needed to support their operations would be needed?
    What about supermarket staff, warehouse staff, truck drivers, supply chain and logistics, pharmacists and chemists? What if those employees spread it among themselves while we’re locked in our homes hiding under our beds at level 10?

Lockdown is a suppressant and not a cure.
    A lockdown will not eradicate this virus or ‘kill it stone dead’. The only thing that has a chance of doing that is a vaccine.
    In the meantime are only wasting time, public funds, and flushing the economy down the toilet with these fruitless endeavours.

arctictree wrote: »

So we open up again and cases reappear (you can’t “kill a virus” stone dead, without a very effective vaccine). This is the kind of nuts thinking had us where we are quite frankly.
    So op, how does it effect it you financially? Will you be on the PUP needing a mortgage break? This the kind of information we need to test your credibility- you’ve pitched a radical solution so let’s see you stand over it please.

Badly need these

Indeed. And they’d be as useful as the Covid muzzles have proven to be too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,251 ✭✭✭✭hynesie08

Rrrrrr2 wrote: »
    They should all reopen en masse. They can’t arrest or close everyone down. We’re long passed that stage in my opinion. You have to stand up for yourself or be walked on by the public service and government minions

I'd go one step further, enforced rectal temperature checks....... Anyone with a fever over 103, take them out the back and shoot them.....

So we open up again and cases reappear (you can’t “kill a virus” stone dead, without a very effective vaccine). This is the kind of nuts thinking had us where we are quite frankly.
    So op, how does it effect it you financially? Will you be on the PUP needing a mortgage break? This the kind of information we need to test your credibility- you’ve pitched a radical solution so let’s see you stand over it please.

You are of course incorrect. If you get rid of it on tbe island and important no more of it then it’s gone. The virus doesn’t just hide in corners. The north is the major issue in this but you are still incorrect. An island nation which isolates itself could be COVID free.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,896 ✭✭✭sabat

I suggested it because it's just about the only power left for them to use and it's proportionate to what's been done to them-even as a small act of revenge. Varadkar would have to drink cans in the park for the rest of his life.

You are of course incorrect. If you get rid of it on tbe island and important no more of it then it’s gone. The virus doesn’t just hide in corners. The north is the major issue in this but you are still incorrect. An island nation which isolates itself could be COVID free.

And then we're an island with no covid (we won't be, that's impossible) and a destroyed economy with a million people out of work.

It's amazing how the lockdown crew don't have an open up strategy.....

And there we're an island with no covid (we won't be, that's impossible) and a destroyed economy with a million people out of work.

We could be fully open internally under such a strategy just no ports or airports.

And the hundreds of thousands out of work? Or do they not matter.....

Come on nox, how do you open up......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,331 ✭✭✭bloopy

Has this whole thing been a more subtle Paddygreen all along?

And the hundreds of thousands out of work? Or do they not matter.....

Come on nox, how do you open up......

You “don’t open up” ever. For some reason these people won’t come out and say that but that’s what their supposed “strategy” amounts to plus the wing and a prayer of a vaccine (that may never come)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,878 ✭✭✭bush

bloopy wrote: »
    Has this whole thing been a more subtle Paddygreen all along?

Either that or he needs to be signed in

And then we're an island with no covid (we won't be, that's impossible) and a destroyed economy with a million people out of work.

Open up isn’t part of it. They’re not interested in opening up. They’ve* this weird obsession with closing everything down and reciting phrases like “new normal” or “things will never be the same again”. They’ve this weird urge to punish and alter society as we knew and enjoyed it. In unison they appear to take delight in extra restrictions. Some of them even throw in little bits about climate change to underscore how wonderful it all is.
    *Invariably those in secure well paid employment in the professions and PS

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,163 ✭✭✭✭JRant

Watching the rugby earlier, Leinster playing over in northern Italy, and incredibly there were actually people (or as they would be described here "granny killers") at the game.

This is the same northern Italy that was ground zero for this virus in europe not so long ago. It's almost like they have decided to get on with life. I know that's a radical idea in this country but surely to jaysus it has to dawn on people sooner rather than later that we can't keep going on like this.

"Well, yeah, you know, that's just, like, your opinion, man"

JRant wrote: »
    Watching the rugby earlier, Leinster playing over in northern Italy, and incredibly there were actually people (or as they would be described here "granny killers") at the game.

This is the same northern Italy that was ground zero for this virus in europe not so long ago. It's almost like they have decided to get on with life. I know that's a radical idea in this country but surely to jaysus it has to dawn on people sooner rather than later that we can't keep going on like this.

Granny killers perhaps a tad extreme. I prefer something more clinical like Virus Vectors like kids are to these people

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,991 ✭✭✭growleaves

At the session, Dr Michael Ryan, the WHO’s Head of Emergencies revealed that they believe roughly 10% of the world has been infected with Sars-Cov-2. This is their “best estimate”, and a huge increase over the number of officially recognised cases (around 35 million). [..]

The global population is roughly 7.8 billion people, if 10% have been infected that is 780 million cases. The global death toll currently attributed to Sars-Cov-2 infections is 1,061,539.

That’s an infection fatality rate of roughly 0.14%. Right in line with seasonal flu and the predictions of many experts from all around the world.

Link

JRant wrote: »

I genuinely think things are going to come to a head economically in the new year. If they yo yo in and out of lockdowns the costs are going to be (even more) crippling and it’s obvious from what is being said our borrowing capacity is far from secure going forward.
    We’re still very much in the fools paradise territory (has the PUP been still cut to €300?)

It’s certainly possible on paper but ultimately futile and virtually impossible given the practicalities of life, commerce and trade- for example do you tell the almost 20% foreign born population they cannot leave to see family or they come see them?- Indefinitely until we “might” get a vaccine. This is fantasy land thinking but I’ve no doubt you know that already