Covid 19 Part XXV-44,159 ROI (1,830 deaths) 21,898 NI (598 deaths) (13/10) Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,336 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

cadaliac wrote: »
    Can you elaborate here? Genuinely like to see how it should have been done any differently versus what actually happened.

Our tracing has basically collapsed at 4% positivity rate.

Our tracing is fair basic to say the least.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,414 ✭✭✭xhomelezz

Boggles wrote: »
    Our tracing has basically collapsed at 4% positivity rate.

Our tracing is fair basic to say the least.

And that's understatement imo

Hit the switch to keep the lights on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 42,971 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

US2 wrote:
    Please get a dictionary and look up the word exponential.
    I know it very well thanks. All curve calculations are exponential.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

OK, now I have heard all I need from you to know that you are the problem, as you seem to think you can carry on as if nothing is happening around you, and you refuse to accept and acknowledge that life has massively changed for a short period of time for all of us as a direct result of the arrival of a new pandemic called Covid 19.

So be it, and unfortunately, there are too many other people like you that are denying that there has to be massive change for a short period of our lives.

Just to clarify things.

IF IT HAPPENS, CURFEW IS NOT ABOUT ME LIVING TO 95, IT'S ABOUT ALL OF US DOING EVERYTHING WE CAN TO PREVENTING COVID KILLING A LARGER NUMBER OF PEOPLE OF ALL AGES AS A RESULT OF THE HEALTH SERVICE BEING OVERWHELMED AND BEING UNABLE TO ADEQUATELY TREAT BOTH COVID AND NON COVID PATIENTS AS A RESULT OF A SHORTAGE OF BEDS AND A SHORTAGE OF STAFF WELL ENOUGH TO TREAT THOSE PATIENTS.

I too don't like the things we have to do to stay safe, I don't want to be spending money on masks, sanitiser, gloves etc.

I like even less that I've not been able to see some of my family for over 9 months.

I don't like that we can't give our grand children the hugs and friendship and attention that they are used to and are wanting to give us.

I don't like that we were unable to attend a wedding of a very close friend because of the limits on numbers.

I don't like that we can't attend things like music concerts.

I don't like that we can't have a meal out with a few friends, maybe to celebrate a special occasion.

I don't like that I can't have a relaxing drink in a local pub with a few friends after an event that we've all been part of.

I don't like that a huge number of events we were supposed to be part of this year have been cancelled and may not now ever happen.

I don't like that I have to be very careful about what I touch when I am out of the house, as I have no way of knowing who else has been touching the same thing.

I don't like that Covid is revealing just how fractured society has become, and how brutal the effects of Covid have already been on some groups in our supposedly caring society.

I don't like that there are too many ignorant slobs that dump their masks and other protections on the ground or in the supermarket trolly after they've been used.

There are plenty of other things I could add to the list above, but given what I'm hearing about the way Covid is spreading at the moment, wether I like it or not is irrelevant.

As a caring society, which most of us were the last time I checked, we ALL have to do a hell of a lot more to prevent Covid killing signifcantly more OF ALL AGES than it has so far, and to help reduce the workload on hospitals that will struggle to deal with their normal work load if overloaded by covid.

And yes, I am repeating myself, in the forlorn hope that it might actually get through to you and others that seem to be unable to accept that "normal" can't happen for quite some time to come.

I also don't like the longer term financial and mental health implications of what has been happening, and what's coming yet before things can start returning to something approaching a normal life.

Curfew is a better alternative to closing even more of the economy down, we need to keep as much of the economy going as possible, to avoid even bigger problems for a larger number of people.

You are not "being imprisoned", and certainly not by me, you are possibly going to be expected to stay at home for 8 hours a day, and for most of those hours, if you are anything like normal, you will be asleep anyway.

If it happens, it will because people who DO have a better understanding of how to limit the damage that Covid is doing have decided that they have no choice left if they want to limit the problems that Covid is causing.

Curfew is nothing new, it has been used in (among other places) Melbourne, and they are now at last seeing the result of the hard actions they have taken.

And in closing, given your recent hostility towards me in multiple posts from you, I will be adding you to my ignore list in a few moments, your verbal diarrhoea of posts that are almost exclusively in the Covid section over the last few months have said nothing that I want to hear, and I have neither the time or interest to read the all of the massive volume of posts that are arriving in this thread.

Post of the year. Thank you, and I for one feel better for reading it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,382 ✭✭✭petes

US2 wrote: »
    Please get a dictionary and look up the word exponential.

You've already been asked what you think exponential means but you haven't commented on that particular post.

Go on, and use the post that you were quoted when asked to explain it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,950 ✭✭✭polesheep

Ficheall wrote: »
    I think they're asking you to stay home and watch netflix, as opposed to donate a kidney or something.

No, they are very clearly in favour of MAKING me stay in my home for 8 hours per day. That's 33% of my life. Are you in favour of a curfew?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,336 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

niallo27 wrote: »
    In 3 days, we went up a whole 3 levels.

Again though, the levels are aspirational bollix.

But again it is playing out in front of us.

Since that Thursday hospitalizations have jumped 87%.

ICU admissions 55%.

4500 confirmed infections with another 500+ swabs to hand out yet.

The numbers are the numbers and it looks to me they identified a very worrying trend at the start of it.

polesheep wrote: »
    No, they are very clearly in favour of MAKING me stay in my home for 8 hours per day. That's 33% of my life. Are you in favour of a curfew?

Shìt you must hate your home..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,145 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

eagle eye wrote: »
    It's entirely possible they had no leadership and were being leaned on by the government. Tony returns and they have somebody who'll stand up and be counted and they are not afraid to give their recommendations.

Sure they are only giving advice, what are they afraid of. A team setup with our best doctors and advisors and they are afraid. If that's the case they should be disbanded immediately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,167 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

Why hasn’t Cork gone to Level 5 yet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,298 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

It's entirely possible they had no leadership and were being leaned on by the government. Tony returns and they have somebody who'll stand up and be counted and they are not afraid to give their recommendations.

So most of NPHET aren't up to their job then?

P45 o'clock so.

OK, now I have heard all I need from you to know that you are the problem, as you seem to think you can carry on as if nothing is happening around you, and you refuse to accept and acknowledge that life has massively changed for a short period of time for all of us as a direct result of the arrival of a new pandemic called Covid 19.

So be it, and unfortunately, there are too many other people like you that are denying that there has to be massive change for a short period of our lives.

Just to clarify things.

IF IT HAPPENS, CURFEW IS NOT ABOUT ME LIVING TO 95, IT'S ABOUT ALL OF US DOING EVERYTHING WE CAN TO PREVENTING COVID KILLING A LARGER NUMBER OF PEOPLE OF ALL AGES AS A RESULT OF THE HEALTH SERVICE BEING OVERWHELMED AND BEING UNABLE TO ADEQUATELY TREAT BOTH COVID AND NON COVID PATIENTS AS A RESULT OF A SHORTAGE OF BEDS AND A SHORTAGE OF STAFF WELL ENOUGH TO TREAT THOSE PATIENTS.

I too don't like the things we have to do to stay safe, I don't want to be spending money on masks, sanitiser, gloves etc.

I like even less that I've not been able to see some of my family for over 9 months.

I don't like that we can't give our grand children the hugs and friendship and attention that they are used to and are wanting to give us.

I don't like that we were unable to attend a wedding of a very close friend because of the limits on numbers.

I don't like that we can't attend things like music concerts.

I don't like that we can't have a meal out with a few friends, maybe to celebrate a special occasion.

I don't like that I can't have a relaxing drink in a local pub with a few friends after an event that we've all been part of.

I don't like that a huge number of events we were supposed to be part of this year have been cancelled and may not now ever happen.

I don't like that I have to be very careful about what I touch when I am out of the house, as I have no way of knowing who else has been touching the same thing.

I don't like that Covid is revealing just how fractured society has become, and how brutal the effects of Covid have already been on some groups in our supposedly caring society.

I don't like that there are too many ignorant slobs that dump their masks and other protections on the ground or in the supermarket trolly after they've been used.

There are plenty of other things I could add to the list above, but given what I'm hearing about the way Covid is spreading at the moment, wether I like it or not is irrelevant.

As a caring society, which most of us were the last time I checked, we ALL have to do a hell of a lot more to prevent Covid killing signifcantly more OF ALL AGES than it has so far, and to help reduce the workload on hospitals that will struggle to deal with their normal work load if overloaded by covid.

And yes, I am repeating myself, in the forlorn hope that it might actually get through to you and others that seem to be unable to accept that "normal" can't happen for quite some time to come.

I also don't like the longer term financial and mental health implications of what has been happening, and what's coming yet before things can start returning to something approaching a normal life.

Curfew is a better alternative to closing even more of the economy down, we need to keep as much of the economy going as possible, to avoid even bigger problems for a larger number of people.

You are not "being imprisoned", and certainly not by me, you are possibly going to be expected to stay at home for 8 hours a day, and for most of those hours, if you are anything like normal, you will be asleep anyway.

If it happens, it will because people who DO have a better understanding of how to limit the damage that Covid is doing have decided that they have no choice left if they want to limit the problems that Covid is causing.

Curfew is nothing new, it has been used in (among other places) Melbourne, and they are now at last seeing the result of the hard actions they have taken.

And in closing, given your recent hostility towards me in multiple posts from you, I will be adding you to my ignore list in a few moments, your verbal diarrhoea of posts that are almost exclusively in the Covid section over the last few months have said nothing that I want to hear, and I have neither the time or interest to read the all of the massive volume of posts that are arriving in this thread.

1. Your first piece of nonsense comes right after I stated how I follow all of the guidelines.

2. Then you contradicted yourself in the same sentence.

3. But you DO have the time to post a long-winded diatribe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,134 ✭✭✭caveat emptor

niallo27 wrote: »
    Apology accepted. We all get things wrong.

Indeed we do. That looks pretty exponential to me.

528867.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12 Lolabear2020

Well clearly not everyone is doing their bit. I’m Currently Staying in a hotel for essential work.

Last night a golf party of 15 men, all drunk in the bar singing and clapping.

Hen party of at least 12 today, all drinking and eating away together indoors.

Loads of groups clearly not from the Same household here clearly for a party.

Locals arriving for swimming and food without bookings.

This could last a long time!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,445 ✭✭✭mloc123

Well clearly not everyone is doing their bit. I’m Currently Staying in a hotel for essential work.

How? I thought all bars and restaurants were closed, including hotels?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,133 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

A quick couple of 30 second clips on your phone, contact your local Gardai.... ;)

xhomelezz wrote: »
    Shìt you must hate your home..

Most childish comment of the year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 387 ✭✭Goldrickssan

Where was this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,962 ✭✭✭✭ACitizenErased

The hotel is just as at fault imo

I know it very well thanks. All curve calculations are exponential.

No they aren't. If the icu numbers are rising by 1 or 2 then 0 then 1 or 2, that is not exponential.

I think we need to ban the word exponential from this thread - seems like every petty argument has the word stuck somewhere in it.

Indeed we do. That looks pretty exponential to me.

528867.png

Its not, rising by 20 over 20 or so days is not rising exponentially. You can say its rising rapidly fair enough but not exponentially.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,133 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

ceadaoin. wrote: »
    even amongst the most vulnerable, such as the elderly, there is still more of a chance that they will survive than not. Don't know why people insist on pretending this virus is a death sentence for literally everyone who gets infected. Its far from it.

A ‘chance’... call me old fashioned, but when I get up in the morning, I prefer to have more then a ‘chance’ that I’ll get to see the 9 o clock news.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 917 ✭✭✭Thierry12

Nice

Fair play to that hotel

I hope many others follow that example

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,791 ✭✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

I remember the 'fear' people had back in March/April/May when going to the shops and even walking down the road.
    People really were scared of the virus. The worldwide media reports reinforced the message. People wouldn't let anyone near them.
    They were showering themselves in hand sanitizer etc. I know one person that stripped down, threw their clothes in a 60C wash and took a long shower after going to the shops.

Now...the fear is gone It's just seen as a chore now. People are just jaded or apathetic when it comes to Covid. I don't know if the fear will ever return, I doubt it. Quite the opposite, many people will ignore the warnings and restrictions.

So scaring people will not work to the same extent that it did before. I am not sure what will work to be honest. I expect us to float between Level 3 and Level 5 until end of March at least.

What are they doing in the Hyacinth house?

Graces7 wrote: »
    Post of the year. Thank you, and I for one feel better for reading it.

Me too, well said

polesheep wrote: »
    Most childish comment of the year.

Sure it is. Just out of curiosity, how many hours a day you spend in your home?

Thierry12 wrote: »
    Nice

Fair play to that hotel

I hope many others follow that example

And I hope they are sanctioned for allowing idiots on the premises

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,306 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

Because the counter measures have already been taken, the enemy is dealing with a broken supply line and you know they will be low on supply soon

... Yeah it was a joke see.

I remember the 'fear' people had back in March/April/May when going to the shops and even walking down the road.
    People really were scared of the virus. The worldwide media reports reinforced the message. People wouldn't let anyone near them.
    They were showering themselves in hand sanitizer etc. I know one person that stripped down, threw their clothes in a 60C wash and took a long shower after going to the shops.

Now...the fear is gone It's just seen as a chore now. People are just jaded or apathetic when it comes to Covid. I don't know if the fear will ever return, I doubt it. Quite the opposite, many people will ignore the warnings and restrictions.

So scaring people will not work to the same extent that it did before. I am not sure what will work to be honest. I expect us to float between Level 3 and Level 5 until end of March at least.

Of course people the absolute fear of the early days won't return. The media turned this into a virus that was going to kill us all. It's not that.

It's still ****e but being afraid constantly isn't healthy either.