Covid 19 Part XXV-44,159 ROI (1,830 deaths) 21,898 NI (598 deaths) (13/10) Read OP

Boggles wrote: »
    Yes by ignoring science and not properly tracing.

From the DOE back to school document.

We had a user confirmed positive today.

He either got it off his kids or a breakfast roll.

There will be no tracing back to school.

Even though a school in longford was closed due to tracing, and thousands of kids and teachers have been tested due to tracing, with a lower rate of positive cases coming out of that tracing activity.

And on the user earlier, who I hope is getting better, he may have gotten off his kids or may not, thankfully he did not mention his kids having symptoms so if they were the source they may well have been asymptomatic, however they did say they had the their takeaway breakfast Saturday and was tested yesterday, right in the range of incubation

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,134 ✭✭✭caveat emptor

Surprised hospitality is only 4% considering most pubs and restaurants are open over there.

Uk pubs tend to have social distancing built in. Zero craic.

source.mp4

lol referring to public health England who seem to be a bit more transparent.

We have all the same data available widely

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,193 ✭✭✭✭Jim_Hodge

Thierry12 wrote: »
    Risk of death at 80 is about 10% in general life

At 80 you generally have months left

We have to die

What utter tosh.

Months left at 80?

Crass and insulting comment.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 13,894 Mod ✭✭✭✭igCorcaigh

Not even that, 28 days after a positive test result.
    They have been fudging their numbers since day one.

Their ONS figures don't match their daily numbers either. I not sure if we have something like ONS figures.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,139 ✭✭✭What Username Guidelines

igCorcaigh wrote: »
    What's up with the UK reporting on covid deaths only up to 28 days after infection?

If someone dies of covid after 6 weeks of infection, their death is not registered as such?

Seems like a way of concealing death rates to me.

They were recording any death as covid if that person ever had a positive covid test. People complained that in theory you could recover and get hit by a bus and you’d be a covid death in the statistics. So they “fixed” it by putting a 28 day limit on it.

I’ve no idea what the real solution should be, but the 28 day limit won’t necessarily fix this issue as plenty of people can end up in hospital for longer and some of those may die from it more than 28 days after test. Not that the first method of counting was even nearly accurate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,376 ✭✭✭Funsterdelux

Goldengirl wrote: »
    Do you mean 'user' here ? Or teacher ?

Does he work in a needle exchange program?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 58,679 ✭✭✭✭Necro

2Mad2BeMad wrote: »
    Can anyone tell me the turn around time from getting a covid test and getting your result? I've to be tested tomorrow (shortness of breath and chest pains feels like lungs but it's very mild pain)
    Will I know the result by Sunday?

I was tested Wednesday. My doc got the results yesterday. Still haven't heard from HSE, doctor rang to follow up and see how I was this afternoon and was surprised I hadn't had contact yet.

Now thankfully, I can count my close contacts on one hand so I've informed them all myself already and they're all self-isolating.

But nothing from contact tracers or HSE yet. Granted they're busy, but if I was laissez faire about this my close contacts could still be out and about roaming and potentially infecting others.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭Gruffalux

Nice

She sounds like a lovely woman and will probably be perfectly fine if she gets Covid.

What does she think about this current situation?

All the job loses

All the kids with life on hold

Genuinely curious of how the old feel

She thinks its the fcuking eegits who won't be careful who are driving reinfection. She wore a mask from day 1 and ate the head off ignoramuses who did not stay back from her in queues. There have been far worse times in terms of jobs. The 80s were really rough. The kids lives are generally fine and will be fine. We are not in Yemen or Syria. We are not scrabbling in the dirt for roots to eat. In terms of "old time", as she calls it, this is a blip and has to be put up with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,304 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

We have to die

Gruffalux wrote: »
    Sick of this sh1t. My mother is a short few years off 80. She walks miles every day. Loves style. Maintains a house including painting rooms when she gets the notion. Mows a half acre of lawn every week. Maintains her flowerbeds. Likes whiskey and wine and has a vast number of friends to whom she is always talking on the phone. Reads. Likes the news. Gives out vigorously about all the current affairs. Is hugely interested in her many grandchildren all of whom love her a lot.
    This creeping casual eugenicism is disgusting actually. And I am fed up of it.

Someone call the police!!!

A boardsie's just been murdered :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 917 ✭✭✭Thierry12

Jim_Hodge wrote: »
    What utter tosh.

Months left at 80?

Crass and insulting comment.

Sorry you had to find out this way

Death is close at 80

We don't live long

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,578 ✭✭✭✭Turtwig

Unsettled by dept of Ed releasing statistics on COVID safety and not mentioning rates among their own staff. :confused:

Compared to other professions how likely is a school worker to contract COVID since the reopenings?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,463 ✭✭✭shinzon

One of the journalists on Twitter mentioned there's a faster more reliable test launching on Monday anyone hear anything about this.

Shin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,304 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

Sorry you had to find out this way

Death is close at 80

We don't live long

The oldest person in Ireland is 28 years older than that :cool:

Someone call the police!!!

A boardsie's just been murdered :eek:

Shes not 80 yet

What was wrong with my post?

At 80 your odds of dropping dead in that year are 10%

igCorcaigh wrote: »
    What's up with the UK reporting on covid deaths only up to 28 days after infection?

If someone dies of covid after 6 weeks of infection, their death is not registered as such?

Seems like a way of concealing death rates to me.

This was talked about before. The 28 days only applies to people who had COVID and recovered. People who die in hospital due to COVID are still counted regardless of timeframe.

The oldest person in Ireland is 28 years older than that :cool:

Lotto odds

Nice

She sounds like a lovely woman and will probably be perfectly fine if she gets Covid.

What does she think about this current situation?

All the job loses

All the kids with life on hold

Genuinely curious of how the old feel

What an unpleasant post, way off the compassion scale. You are asking the poster to ask his elderly mother, who has been and is a valued member of out society, how she cares about "kids hold on life", job losses etc. I'm sure she probably cares a hell of a lot, possibly a lot more than you care. Do you suggest she take herself off to a mountain and make way for likes of, perhaps, your good self?

My mind boggles at the sociopathy manifest in some people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 713 ✭✭✭manniot2

odyssey06 wrote: »
    See "a reasonable excuse for travelling from the county of residence in the case of a relevant person" on page 13 of this Statutory Instrument e.g.

(j) attend to vital family matters (including providing care to vulnerable persons)

https://assets.gov.ie/87618/0dbd8b72-3958-43bb-b7ec-9a200d8861f1.pdf

thanks for this. have screenshoted for my encounters with the police.

Turtwig wrote: »
    Unsettled by dept of Ed releasing statistics on COVID safety and not mentioning rates among their own staff. :confused:

Compared to other professions how likely is a school worker to contract COVID since the reopenings?

Breakdown by occupation contained in the 14 day epidemiological report published daily

https://www.hpsc.ie/a-z/respiratory/coronavirus/novelcoronavirus/surveillance/covid-1914-dayepidemiologyreports/COVID-19_14_day_epidemiology_report_20201008%20-%20website.pdf

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,363 ✭✭✭prunudo

Given the state of the public finances now compared to earlier in the year, has there been any indication if the list of people who are allowed work during level 5 will remain the same as last time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,523 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

We have to die

No, you have completely misunderstood the statistics.
    Life expectancy at birth is 82.
    Life expectancy for those who have attained the age of 80 is much higher.

To suggest that at 80 you generally have months to live is utterly wrong.

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

Shes not 80 yet

What was wrong with my post?

At 80 your odds of dropping dead in that year are 10%

At 80 there is an almost 50% chance of reaching 90

Gruffalux wrote: »
    She thinks its the fcuking eegits who won't be careful who are driving reinfection. She wore a mask from day 1 and ate the head off ignoramuses who did not stay back from her in queues. There have been far worse times in terms of jobs. The 80s were really rough. The kids lives are generally fine and will be fine. We are not in Yemen or Syria. We are not scrabbling in the dirt for roots to eat. In terms of "old time", as she calls it, this is a blip and has to be put up with.

Thank you, that's a nice perspective

Can't argue with any of it, she's right.

What an unpleasant post, way off the compassion scale. You are asking the poster to ask his elderly mother, who has been and is a valued member of out society, how she cares about "kids hold on life", job losses etc. I'm sure she probably cares a hell of a lot, possibly a lot more than you care. Do you suggest she take herself off to a mountain and make way for likes of, perhaps, your good self?

My mind boggles at the sociopathy manifest in some people.

I didn't suggest anything

I asked questions and she gave great answers

Necro wrote: »
    I was tested Wednesday. My doc got the results yesterday. Still haven't heard from HSE, doctor rang to follow up and see how I was this afternoon and was surprised I hadn't had contact yet.

Now thankfully, I can count my close contacts on one hand so I've informed them all myself already and they're all self-isolating.

But nothing from contact tracers or HSE yet. Granted they're busy, but if I was laissez faire about this my close contacts could still be out and about roaming and potentially infecting others.

Hope you will be ok, look after yourself and stay rested.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,634 ✭✭✭MerlinSouthDub

prunudo wrote: »
    Given the state of the public finances now compared to earlier in the year, has there been any indication if the list of people who are allowed work during level 5 will remain the same as last time.

I really can't imagine them shutting down construction again. I don't think the level 5 plan is clear on this though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,067 ✭✭✭Ficheall

I think everyone recognises what a dumb post that was, but here are the figures, just in case:

At age 80, males have an average of 7.92 years left and women have an average of 9.41 years left, which correspond to risks of about 6% and 4%, respectively, of dying during the year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 18,547 ✭✭✭✭Goldengirl

That’s fine. Keep them open, Just admit it’s a problem and advise people that any school going child should not be in contact with granny or grandad because the spread is undetectable and unstoppable for the most part.

Totally agree.
    Do the tracing properly and let everyone know exactly the risk.
    We are all entitled to know the risks and deal with it.

However they know that if the risks of everything were clear for everyone to see there would be a bigger hoo haa about some things than they want to deal with .
    They have been very selective about what is a risk and what is not, all along, xtarting with the risk of asymptomatic and/ or presymptomatic transmission , to airborne transmission now .
    When I say" they " I am not sure who " they " are , the government, or NPHET or both ?
    We have found out after the fact, when firepower has been needed for different restrictions, that different activities are risky and are leading to increased spread .
    At this stage most of us can read the graphs and use our cop on to discern those risks also , but if the information is not being recorded and published for us, we are at a distinct disadvantage.
    So if children going to school is a risk, not to them , but to their families and teachers , then we should be told , so it can be dealt with , not obfuscating the risks in order to keep the noise from parents and unions down .
    (As they tried a couple of times with healthcare workers earlier in the pandemic )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,183 ✭✭✭✭spookwoman