Covid 19 Part XXV-44,159 ROI (1,830 deaths) 21,898 NI (598 deaths) (13/10) Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 464 ✭✭john why

they can do this in Dublin too

Only with food.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,840 ✭✭✭hetuzozaho

they can do this in Dublin too

Not without food.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,296 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

manniot2 wrote: »
    If **** goes really downhill in Europe surely they have to consider fast tracking even more some of these vaccines. Horse it out to fook.

You can go first.

Let us know how it works out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 713 ✭✭✭manniot2

Zebra3 wrote: »
    You can go first.

Let us know how it works out.

Grand. I’ll take whatever ****e they are giving out. Anything to get out of this never ending cycle of misery, one way or the other.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,194 ✭✭✭Polar101

manniot2 wrote: »
    If **** goes really downhill in Europe surely they have to consider fast tracking even more some of these vaccines. Horse it out to fook.

That sounds like a very bad idea, there's a reason why there are strict protocols in place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,101 ✭✭✭BringBackMick

People on here literally suggesting putting out a phase 2 vaccine to the public for a disease that killes about 0.1% of who it infects whom are generally over 80, sums things up.

We need to get a grip

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,232 ✭✭✭Ger Roe

So. the country is rampant with it, so rte decide to send Marty and god knows how many cameramen, makeup artist, etc to Donegal to talk sh1te about a match that isn't happening, and Perry to Derry for absolutely no good reason, the mind boggles. Neither is a necessary journey and well outside the Dublin boundary order

email : complaints@rte.ie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,374 ✭✭✭CruelSummer

AUDI20 wrote: »
    Funny this as a lot of posters on here were ridiculing their own Country and pointing to how different and relaxed the restrictions were in Europe

I for one, would very much welcome a co-ordinated response with Europe. We would be less of an outlier, better for the citizens of this island as a whole.

People on here literally suggesting putting out a phase 2 vaccine to the public for a disease that killes about 0.1% of who it infects whom are generally over 80, sums things up.

We need to get a grip

I agree, it’s totally overblown and a massive overreaction from governments. But they ain’t backtracking so this seems the only way out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,145 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

We need to get a grip

If it stops the overreaction and gets us back to normal, I'm sll for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,483 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

hetuzozaho wrote: »
    Not without food.

Ah ok. And is there a 15 person limit outside Dublin too?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,006 ✭✭✭appledrop

Ger Roe wrote: »

Thanks I'm currently composing my complaint! Seriously though how they hell did someone not cop that this was a ridiculous idea to send Catriona + all the camera crew etc up the North?

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,685 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Yes, the only difference is that in Dublin you have to have food with the pints

niallo27 wrote: »
    If it stops the overreaction and gets us back to normal, I'm sll for it.

Yea all about psychology at this stage,

we could be peddled a sugar cube dressed as a covid vaccine and it could make a significant difference to our lives...

hopefully this will happen and enable life to return to normal from the spring.

Stheno wrote: »

Is that actually still true? I think that is no longer the case, might not have been updated but certainly no longer enforced.

Stheno wrote: »

It's all so ridiculous. At this stage why is Dublin subjected to this but not Cork?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 16,358 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

8 into ICU in the last 24 hours is the most concerning statistic this long time. And I am in no way a doom merchant.

32 admissions to hospital. God be with the days when people used to claim we wouldn't see a rise in hospital admissions. There was some ejit on here a day or two ago saying hospital admissions weren't rising. And he got a few thanks too. You wonder about people.

It's all so ridiculous. At this stage why is Dublin subjected to this but not Cork?

It is not, you can get a pint without food now in Dublin, even in pubs Gards drink in etc.

It looks like it was an oversight not to update the guidance to dublin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 596 ✭✭✭majcos

We need to get a grip
    There was a 40% increase in the total number of deaths in Europe in those aged 45 to 64 in early April. Hardly a coincidence.

https://www.economist.com/graphic-detail/2020/07/15/tracking-covid-19-excess-deaths-across-countries?utm_campaign=coronavirus-special-edition&utm_medium=newsletter&utm_source=salesforce-marketing-cloud&utm_term=2020-05-02&utm_content=cover_text_url_2?utm_campaign=coronavirus-special-edition&utm_medium=newsletter&utm_source=salesforce-marketing-cloud

Yep.

To be fair they probably should've just put the whole place up to the same restrictions to make it easier for us ha

And it would actually suit any bars opening for 15 to enforce this as most wont survive off a few lads sitting down for 3 or 4 pint, they need the meal aswell to make it half worth it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,762 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

It is not, you can get a pint without food now in Dublin, even in pubs Gards drink in etc.

Legally you can't. In Dublin €9 meal still required

Just because Dublin never came out of them being closed. So the "Wet Pubs" (ugh) never opened in Dublin. It will probably all align again at some stage.

So "wet" pubs can now open in Dublin if they can serve outside?
    That's news to me! Maybe I'll be able to find somewhere tomorrow, I already know of one place where I managed to have pints a couple of weeks ago, but that was a Wednesday so wasn't busy.

Yea all about psychology at this stage,

we could be peddled a sugar cube dressed as a covid vaccine and it could make a significant difference to our lives...

hopefully this will happen and enable life to return to normal from the spring.

Been saying it for months. Give them fooking Ribena at this stage, anything to stop the madness.

Legally you can't. In Dublin €9 meal still required

See no one actually seems to know. Some are saying you can serve without food now in Dublin, legally, and you're saying otherwise.
    I wish we could get to the bottom of this!

It's not.

https://www.gov.ie/en/publication/ad569-level-3/?referrer=http://www.gov.ie/level3/#bars-cafes-and-restaurants-including-hotel-restaurants-and-bars

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 18,500 ✭✭✭✭Goldengirl

I mentioned Kerry and Meath and somehow that means I was defending Cork :confused:

This thread has gone to the dumps. Any sort of normal, measured discussion is long gone.

On a day when Cork has one if the highest numbers it has had so far .....
    Yes nothing normal or measured in this .